Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Orange March

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Bee View Post
    Oi, I'm from West Calder, 45 years and counting and I know a good 85% of the people here and I can categorically state that there's probably less than 100 people that way inclined if that,maybe a couple of decades ago there was a surge and they formed a flute band but most of those idiots have either grown up or deceased. I've no idea why they choose to walk our Main St, a few years ago there was apparently 108 bands marching down West Calder Main St and I've no idea why. I could understand if it was Harthill or Larkhall but I'm lost as to why West Calder. Obviously Broxburn has the same problem.
    My apologies. It's easy to make a generalisation of a whole town just because a small portion of the town cling to the past.

Their traditions are dying out and they know it.

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    My apologies. It's easy to make a generalisation of a whole town just because a small portion of the town cling to the past.

Their traditions are dying out and they know it.

yes indeed, like you did by mentioning Bathgate, a poxy wee march a year and all of a sudden it's labelled orange county

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    yes indeed, like you did by mentioning Bathgate, a poxy wee march a year and all of a sudden it's labelled orange county
    My point exactly!

First Team Regular GORDONSMITH7's Avatar
    I worked in SAI, Leith Docks from 1970 to 1990. These ****ing cavemen did in fact congregate on Leith Links. I was on 6-2pm one Saturday waiting for my amigo Jimmy a good Jambo to come in to let me away.The plant we were on was a continuous computerised process so you could not simply walk away. For early,back and nights the convention was to come in 30 minutes beforehand to let your mate away. I was going to see Hibs and thought it odd when Jim did not appear. At the back of 2 he stagerred in, his face battered tae **** and bloodied. He had the audacity to try to get to his work on time crossing at Duke Street only to be battered by morons in the parade. He said the cops did nowt.

I hate these bullying hard men *******s.
    Scotland's Shame indeed.

BIG G
    Last edited by GORDONSMITH7; 12-07-2019 at 12:03 AM.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    I've lived here nearly 20 years. There is 1 annual march which closes the main street for a couple of hours.

In the time I have lived here its become obvious that there is far less enthusiasm for this one and only march per year. Indeed I'd say I've yet to meet anyone here who doesn't think the whole thing is rather silly and pointless.

If you've had first hand experience of sectarianism here than I cant say much about that but to use it to say 'Broxburn is Orange' is pushing it too far in my experience.

Having seen the likes of West Calder, Boness, Bathgate and oh my Armadale in action I know for a fact that Broxburn is nowhere near as bad as them at this time of the year.

If it was I'd have moved out a long time ago.

You're entitled to your opinion. I absolutely disagree with it.
    I can’t attest to just what Broxburn is like, but Bathgate is nowhere near approaching “Orange”. I grew up in Bathgate, lived there for 18 years, and i can count on one hand the number of times i experienced an orange walk.

I always viewed Bathgate as a frontier before you get into places like Armadale and Harthill - sectarianism wasn’t an issue at any school or football club in Bathgate and as many people went to Easter Road, Tynecastle, Falkirk or Livingston each week to watch the football as they did through to Glasgow (because it was that much easier to get east before they built the new railway). Any town to the east of Armadale and Whitburn are typically not “orange” in my experience. I know West Calder had the big march last weekend but i mostly read about locals being pissed off about the entire thing rather than it being celebrated as some kind of cultural day out.

We had an orange walk in Lanark last week, which is the first time ive encountered one here. Despite it being a “Royal Burgh”, it’s mostly a rugby town with a mix of Motherwell, Sevco, Celtic, Hibs and Hearts fans: there wasn’t a crowd following it or anyone lining the streets to watch, it was mostly just ignored.
    It's hard to stitch my own back with these shaky hands
    But even harder to accept the scars you left were planned

I've lived here nearly 20 years. There is 1 annual march which closes the main street for a couple of hours.

In the time I have lived here its become obvious that there is far less enthusiasm for this one and only march per year. Indeed I'd say I've yet to meet anyone here who doesn't think the whole thing is rather silly and pointless.

If you've had first hand experience of sectarianism here than I cant say much about that but to use it to say 'Broxburn is Orange' is pushing it too far in my experience.

Having seen the likes of West Calder, Boness, Bathgate and oh my Armadale in action I know for a fact that Broxburn is nowhere near as bad as them at this time of the year.

If it was I'd have moved out a long time ago.

You're entitled to your opinion. I absolutely disagree with it.
    I'm sure you are right. You live there and know more about it than I, and I wouldn't want to give the impression that every last man and his dug in Broxburn is a Hun/loyalist/Orangeman. However, there is, shall we say, a 'tradition' of staunchness there, along with its wee brother Uphall, though I'm sure there are many good folk too.

Anyway, it's the twelfth - the band will be on the high street

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I'm sure you are right. You live there and know more about it than I, and I wouldn't want to give the impression that every last man and his dug in Broxburn is a Hun/loyalist/Orangeman. However, there is, shall we say, a 'tradition' of staunchness there, along with its wee brother Uphall, though I'm sure there are many good folk too.

Anyway, it's the twelfth - the band will be on the high street
    Theres no march today.

Have I missed it? I've got my Sergeant Pepper outfit ready, a couple of bottles of Buckie, and an Ireland flag to burn. Now I'll have to drive all the way to Larkhall

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Have I missed it? I've got my Sergeant Pepper outfit ready, a couple of bottles of Buckie, and an Ireland flag to burn. Now I'll have to drive all the way to Larkhall
    They are all over northern Ireland today.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

'We're not racist we just hate ******s' was the message of choice on a few of the bonfires in Northern Ireland last night. Coupled with the burning of Ireland, Vatican, Palestinian and Pride flags it's good to see everyone embracing cross community relations......

So isn't just n****** they hate at all. Quelle surprise.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    ****s sake! Cavemen.

@hibs.net private member Newry Hibs's Avatar
    Just the four ambulance crews attacked last night and a 40% drop in fire brigade call outs in NI.

Just shows you doubters that they aren't a bad bunch really!

Quote Originally Posted by Newry Hibs View Post
    Just the four ambulance crews attacked last night and a 40% drop in fire brigade call outs in NI.

Just shows you doubters that they aren't a bad bunch really!
    The dregs of humanity, NH. Not all of them, but I am speaking of loyalist 'culture' as a whole. It is a poisonous, brazenly far right disgrace. Their behaviour would never be tolerated anywhere else in the UK. Yes we have its offshoots in Scotland, but the wanton violence wouldn't be allowed here.

Broxburn has a very orange disposition.

The civilising effect of Edinburgh will eventually radiate outward and encompass this primitive outpost.

Some of the imagery from last years event was quite staggering too :-(

https://wingsoverscotland.com/towers...te/#more-96403

Quote Originally Posted by Curried View Post
    Some of the imagery from last years event was quite staggering too :-(

https://wingsoverscotland.com/towers...te/#more-96403
    Holy mother of God!! It's impossible to sink lower.

Where are the Eco-warriors now. Instead of lying in the streets they should be over in the six counties pulling apart every bonfire as 'each one is a cataclysmic disaster for the environment'.Why are they not banned ? Teach children to protect the planet but allow dozens of large bonfires to be lit. Lets see those Eco guys superglueing themselves to those.

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    Where are the Eco-warriors now. Instead of lying in the streets they should be over in the six counties pulling apart every bonfire as 'each one is a cataclysmic disaster for the environment'.Why are they not banned ? Teach children to protect the planet but allow dozens of large bonfires to be lit. Lets see those Eco guys superglueing themselves to those.
    You'd just get the jakeys sniffing their hands.

Trying not to get into 'Whataboutery', but next month the nationalist internment bonfires will happen. Not as prevalent as the 12th but still has similar imagery of flag burning.

Are those held annually, NH? You must all be pyromaniacs over there. Can't they commemorate anything without torching stuff?

Not sure when the bonfires started but it would be from early 1970s I would think. Every year in early August.
    Used to be marked by women banging dustbin lids alerting the area. Probably still happens as a commemoration.

https://twitter.com/GerardFitzsimo2

i just simply can't find the words to describe this terribly sad individual, astonishing

Not sure when the bonfires started but it would be from early 1970s I would think. Every year in early August.
    Used to be marked by women banging dustbin lids alerting the area. Probably still happens as a commemoration.
    Replying to my own post, but it's the green sides turn for nonsense...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-49277109

Was out for a spin on the motorbike this morning and foolishly went through bathgate where the streets were all closed off as hundreds of obese knuckle draggers marched the streets playing their kkkulchural tunes.
    Absolute state of them, they are an utter embarrassment.

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    Was out for a spin on the motorbike this morning and foolishly went through bathgate where the streets were all closed off as hundreds of obese knuckle draggers marched the streets playing their kkkulchural tunes.
    Absolute state of them, they are an utter embarrassment.

One of several reasons I was quite happy to move out of Bathgate

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    One of several reasons I was quite happy to move out of Bathgate
    I don't even know how or why I ended up there

Replying to my own post, but it's the green sides turn for nonsense...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-49277109
    Link isn't working, mate.

Link works fine mate

Quote Originally Posted by MSK View Post
    Link works fine mate
    Aye, working in the quote section. Not sure what happened there

From that report, it seems many local residents don't want these August bonfires, but a group of youngsters are determined to go ahead, using the fires as cover for violence. Is their reasoning as inane as "they (loyalists) have bonfires, so we need them"? I don't see the connection between commemorating internment and lighting bonfires; surely there are more constructive and educational methods.