Page 34 of 116 FirstFirst ... 2432333435364484 ... LastLast
Results 991 to 1,020 of 3467
    Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by James310 View Post
    Can you clarify, are you suggesting a guilty Alex Salmond is equivalent to the current gaffe prone and buffoon Boris Johnson?
    It doesn't need to be equivalent. Boris Johnson has openly done quite enough already not to be anywhere near the top job. He doesn't need to be found guilty of anything else, he's openly guilty of things that should stop him in his tracks. But England is full of mentalists just like the US and the more openly criminal and racist he is, the more the white people of middle England love "good old Bojo".

Alex isn't openly guilty of anything thus far. So it's impossible to compare him to Boris at this moment in time. However, if he is found guilty, you can be sure he won't be near a top job ever again in Scotland, because we're not complete nutjobs up here.

Quote Originally Posted by Fife-Hibee View Post
    It doesn't need to be equivalent. Boris Johnson has openly done quite enough already not to be anywhere near the top job. He doesn't need to be found guilty of anything else, he's openly guilty of things that should stop him in his tracks. But England is full of mentalists just like the US and the more openly criminal and racist he is, the more the white people of middle England love "good old Bojo".

Alex isn't openly guilty of anything thus far. So it's impossible to compare him to Boris at this moment in time. However, if he is found guilty, you can be sure he won't be near a top job ever again in Scotland, because we're not complete nutjobs up here.
    You love the English don't you.

But you do agree a guilty Alex Salmond is nowhere near the level of a pretty stupid and gaffe ridden, but non criminal, Boris Johnson?

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974

But you do agree a guilty Alex Salmond is nowhere near the level of a pretty stupid and gaffe ridden, but non criminal, Boris Johnson?
    Is Alex Salmond inline to be UK PM?

Always petty points scoring on here

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Just the minority non-racist ones.

If you want to write off openly racist comments as "gaffe ridden", then that's your business. Although i'd imagine most people in Scotland would disagree with you.

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    Is Alex Salmond inline to be UK PM?

Always petty points scoring on here

He was First Minister of Scotland for seven years, twice leader of Scotland's biggest political party and a long-serving Westminster MP. Fair to say he's occupied high office.

In what way is Johnson 'openly criminal'?

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    He was First Minister of Scotland for seven years, twice leader of Scotland's biggest political party and a long-serving Westminster MP. Fair to say he's occupied high office.
    "was" totally irrelevant to the next PM

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Bojoke doesn't beat people up. But he is happy to discuss having others beaten up.
    I got it
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

"was" totally irrelevant to the next PM

He's the man who would have led us into the supposedly sunny new world of an independent Scotland had the result gone the other way in 2014. If found guilty of any or all of the 14 charges he faces it would have been irrelevant had the allegations surfaced before or after he took up the highest political position in the country.

Again, relevance to our new 2019 PM?

This whole place is literally a pissing contest of political points scoring

Genius

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Again, relevance to our new 2019 PM?

This whole place is literally a pissing contest of political points scoring

Correct. It smacks of the Old Firm whataboutary.

“Aye, but they Tims/Huns did (insert outrage)”.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Guilty of what in Johnson's case?
    He's definitely a bigot, almost certainly racist, undoubtedly misogynist and now suspected of domestic abuse. No way should he even be considered for the job but he's being chosen as leader by our morally corrupt Tory party.

Can you clarify, are you suggesting a guilty Alex Salmond is equivalent to the current gaffe prone and buffoon Boris Johnson?
    See above post and no. I'm say if guilty the none of them should ever be allowed to lead and represent a country.

As soon as I've finished my time machine I'll pop back and let us know that there's a few accusations hanging over Alex Salmonds head. On the mean time you sort Boris out.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    See above post and no. I'm say if guilty the none of them should ever be allowed to lead and represent a country.
    Agreed, thanks for clarifying. Some of our fellow posters were not so forthcoming.

Just the minority non-racist ones.

If you want to write off openly racist comments as "gaffe ridden", then that's your business. Although i'd imagine most people in Scotland would disagree with you.

Scotland probably has the same percentage of racist bigots as England.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Scotland probably has the same percentage of racist bigots as England.
    I think we have less.

Do you agree with Fife that the majority of English are racist bigots whilst it’s a minority in Scotland?
    I wish I could find it but the last research I saw showed that we shared pretty much the same values as our Southern neighbours.

I wonder if the English think the majority of Scots are a bunch of sectarian bigots?

I think we have less.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/uk-sc...itics-44040251

Scotland had a higher rate of murders that were known or suspected to have a racist element than the rest of the UK, at 1.8 murders per million people compared to 1.3 between 2000 and the 2013.

SNP MSP Ivan McKee, the deputy convener of the group, said: "We have never shied away from the fact that Scotland is no more immune from Islamophobia and racism than anywhere else and that this serious problem must be tackled head-on.

Does not really back up your point does it?

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    I wonder if the English think the majority of Scots are a bunch of sectarian bigots?
    That is a decent point.

We have a cultural acceptance of certain types of bigotry in Scotland, which makes it harder to point the finger elsewhere.

I don't know whose racism problem is worse overall but the 2 are certainly different. I have a few Scottish/ Asian mates who would all swear that they experience significantly less racism than family members of theirs do down South. Having said that, would you fancy your chances much in Larkhall or Kilwinning if you were from the emerald isle? It may be that Scots express less anti-English sentiment than vice versa but the attitude our Union Flag wielding hun chums display towards the Irish means that we can't really claim too much moral high ground here. A fair bit of islamophobia has crept in amongst this mob too.

Not sure exactly what side of what argument I'm on here.
    Last edited by Smartie; 25-06-2019 at 09:44 AM.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/uk-sc...itics-44040251

Scotland had a higher rate of murders that were known or suspected to have a racist element than the rest of the UK, at 1.8 murders per million people compared to 1.3 between 2000 and the 2013.

SNP MSP Ivan McKee, the deputy convener of the group, said: "We have never shied away from the fact that Scotland is no more immune from Islamophobia and racism than anywhere else and that this serious problem must be tackled head-on.

Does not really back up your point does it?
    What do you think of Hibs new strips, the sponsorship thing, the guys we've signed, the rumoured signing targets?

Oh I forgot, you don't have an opinion on any of that do you?

Your posts are exclusively political and I wonder how many forums you are currently pleasuring with your non-Hibs, non-football contributions.

There's a lot of racism, bigotry and intolerance in Scotland. It's nonsense to suggest that being born north of the border somehow renders people more multicultural.

The fact that people who openly admit that their default position is to dislike/hate "The English" are tolerated, even on this forum, in itself debunks the myth that we're all Jock Tamson's bairns.

FWIW, I know loads of English people, none of whom are racist.
    Last edited by Hibbyradge; 25-06-2019 at 09:39 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    What do you think of Hibs new strips, the sponsorship thing, the guys we've signed, the rumoured signing targets?

Oh I forgot, you don't have an opinion on any of that do you?

Your posts are exclusively political and I wonder how many forums you are currently pleasuring with your non-Hibs, non-football contributions.
    Put me on ignore, do us both a favour.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    That is a decent point.

We have a cultural acceptance of certain types of bigotry in Scotland, which makes it harder to point the finger elsewhere.

I don't know whose racism problem is worse overall but the 2 are certainly different. I have a few Scottish/ Asian mates who would all swear that they experience significantly less racism than family members of theirs do down South. Having said that, would you fancy your chances much in Larkhall or Kilwinning if you were from the emerald isle? It may be that Scots express less anti-English sentiment than vice versa but with the attitude our Union Flag wielding hun chums display towards the Irish means that we can't really claim too much moral high ground here. A fair bit of islamophobia has crept in amongst this mob too.

Not sure exactly what side of what argument I'm on here.
    I think you've made a decent argument for us being pretty much the same whichever side of the border we live.
    I don't think its a case of claiming the moral high ground. There are problems due to bigotry of whatever kind all over the UK but to suggest that the majority of either country are bigots just seems plain wrong to me. The vast majority of us, Scots or English, are decent human beings willing to live and let live. Unless I'm mixing with the wrong people of course.

Put me on ignore, do us both a favour.
    You can ignore me if you want or just continue to avoid the question.

This is a forum for Hibs supporters or those of other clubs to talk about Hibs and all things football.

I've yet to see a single post that suggests your in any way interested in football, let alone Hibs.

As for the non-sport topics, I think it's both informative and healthy that different political views are represented. You're pretty lucid in your anti-SNP posts, but outwith that you contribute nothing.

So is your sole objective on here to try to influence how .netters vote?

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    You can ignore me if you want or just continue to avoid the question.

This is a forum for Hibs supporters or those of other clubs to talk about Hibs and all things football.

I've yet to see a single post that suggests your in any way interested in football, let alone Hibs.

As for the non-sport topics, I think it's both informative and healthy that different political views are represented. You're pretty lucid in your anti-SNP posts, but outwith that you contribute nothing.

So is your sole objective on here to try to influence how .netters vote?
    Pathetic post.

Show me the rules that say it's mandatory to post on other forums on here.

You think it's healthy that other points of view are represented, apart from mine.

There are plenty on here who are the opposite of me in their anti Union and anti Tory stance, but your comfortable with them because they are on the same side as you.

A truly awful post.

Your on ignore from now on.