Oh I can assure you, there was. You can delude yourself all you like. But Labour were a failing government under Callaghan and were losing public and political confidence rapidly.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Labour knew exactly what they were doing when they backtracked over devolution. They knew it would put the SNP in a lose/lose situation if a vote of no confidence or general election were to be called. I'm just delighted that they took Labour down with them.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
You're right, they were pish. Which is exactly why they were on limited time regardless of anything the SNP did. But there you go again. Talking about the SNP as if it was their sworn duty to keep Labour in government regardless of how poorly they treated Scotland.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
View Poll Results: How did you vote? (anonymous)
- Voters
- 99. You may not vote on this poll
-
Change UK
0 0% -
Conservatives
2 2.02% -
Greens
18 18.18% -
Independent
0 0% -
Labour
3 3.03% -
Liberal Democrats
7 7.07% -
SNP
60 60.61% -
The Brexit Party
9 9.09% -
UKIP
0 0%
-
31-05-2019 12:18 AM #901
-
31-05-2019 12:52 AM #902This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
United we stand here....
-
31-05-2019 01:30 AM #903This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Labour in government in Scotland saw some really progressive legislation introduced - land reform, mental health, incapacity all stand out.
Politics is cyclical and Labour are in a bad place just now in Scotland. Whether they can recover in their present guise is debatable. Since 2010 politics has seemed far more fluid. No one really anticipated the potential for coalition UK government or the rise of populism but that was maybe naive, when allied to the increased instant gratification offered by the growth of tech, the internet and social media.
I don’t see traditional Labour values dying as such, though I worry about how many would cleave to a broad prospectus (and that’s true for all the established parties). People expect single-choice issues now. More than that, the two referenda demonstrated the deep divides within society, not necessarily being down party lines and it is hard to avoid the impression that we are heading towards a la carte politics, which I’m not sure I find reassuring.There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
31-05-2019 02:43 AM #904This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
United we stand here....
-
31-05-2019 03:01 AM #905This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The long-standing freeze on the council tax was at the front of at least a couple of SNP manifestos and that didn’t reflect traditional Labour values. But Labour in Scotland has withered and needs to find a way of tapping back into the R H Tawney-style politics that made it credible in the first place.
FTAOD I mean Tawney and also to an extent John Maxton, Keir Hardie and Ramsay MacDonald and a moralist approach to government and civic society.
The idea that social justice is worth pursuing and that community, whether of place, interest or belief is a good thing. And that acquisitiveness and selfishness are ultimately destructive.Last edited by Mibbes Aye; 31-05-2019 at 03:13 AM.
There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
31-05-2019 04:08 AM #906This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
United we stand here....
-
31-05-2019 06:20 AM #907This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
WE ARE’NT GREECE! In any stretch of imagination we are nothing like Greece.
-
31-05-2019 07:07 AM #908This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
You have no idea if there would have been another motion of no confidence, never mind assure me that there would have been.
Labour didn't backtrack. They changed the rules before the referendum.
I am criticising the Tartan Tories for putting Thatcher in No. 10. It wasn't their duty to support anyone, but they chose to support the Conservative and Unionist Party.
They didn't do that for the good of Scotland. They did it out if spite and as you say, "to take Labour down with them".
-
31-05-2019 07:18 AM #909This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The SNP starred moving to the left after '79 when people like Alex Salmond, who were not comfortable with the SNPs actions that year, started to become more influential.
What FH doesn't understand is that I'm not defending Labour's actions which were deeply disappointing, but I'm criticising the SNPs reaction to it.
They should have used the time remaining to attack Labour's "treachery" etc and galvanise the Yes voters towards their own party. Instead, they acted like spoilt children and threw their toys, and Scotland, out of the pram.
-
31-05-2019 07:22 AM #910This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-05-2019 07:27 AM #911
And I'll go back to the reason I brought these events up in the first place.
People were saying that they could never forgive the Liberals for forming a coalition with Cameron in 2010.
I'm merely pointing out that people's attitudes change.
The Libs will tell you that they couldn't work with Brown as he was universally disliked, was blamed for the recession, and had left the country on the verge of bankruptcy. They'll tell you that their involvement in government mitigated the worst of the Tories austerity measures.
They'll tell you that it was in the interests of the British people.
I think that Thatcher was much much worse than the 2010 government, and there was no upside at all, but I've forgiven the SNP for supporting her, in as much as I voted Yes in 2014 and continued to vote for them until I moved.Last edited by Hibbyradge; 31-05-2019 at 07:31 AM.
-
31-05-2019 07:29 AM #912This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-05-2019 07:30 AM #913
- Gamer IDs
-
Latest polling is erm, interesting
LD winning with 24
Brexit on 22
Lab and cons on 19
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
-
31-05-2019 07:30 AM #914This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-05-2019 07:34 AM #915This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-05-2019 07:37 AM #916This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
No, it's not like going into coalition. The SNP didn't get their hands any dirtier, but they were still culpable.Last edited by Hibbyradge; 31-05-2019 at 07:43 AM.
-
31-05-2019 07:38 AM #917This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-05-2019 08:57 AM #918
-
31-05-2019 09:29 AM #919This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's hard to view the 1979 events objectively "knowing what we know now". Although it was obviously a strategic mistake from the Nats, they had already achieved the big shift in Labour towards devolution. Scotland was never (imo) going to make the jump to Indy in 1 go. In fact I didn't even think it was a possibility in my lifetime until 2014.
-
31-05-2019 09:32 AM #920This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Swinson & Davey, their leadership contenders, were both ministers in the coalition.
-
31-05-2019 09:39 AM #921This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I make what on the face of it seemed like a valid, uncontroversial point that people can and do change their minds only to find myself having to defend it.
The SNP did what they did and I left the party because of it. Years down the line, I find myself voting for them again.
It got messy when FH decided to justify what they did, which wasn't the point, but it suggested that I was wrong to be angry at the time.
Then it just got sillier and sillier with FH twisting and turning, making things up, putting words into my mouth and throwing all sorts of straw men at it, in order not to acknowledge any of my points.
If I was a dog with a bone, FH was the nippy wee bugger trying to get it off me.
"Tartan Tories" though. Ouch. I can understand why he'd like to rewrite history.Last edited by Hibbyradge; 31-05-2019 at 09:42 AM.
-
31-05-2019 09:50 AM #922This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-05-2019 10:01 AM #923This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-05-2019 10:04 AM #924This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-05-2019 10:52 AM #925This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Vote for Corbyn to spite the Tories!
I suppose you'd vote Conservative if those were your choices. Or maybe you'd duck the responsibility altogether and do something else like hide in the lavvy a la Levein.
Oh, and you haven't been paying attention. I'm not mad at the SNP any more.Last edited by Hibbyradge; 31-05-2019 at 10:54 AM.
-
31-05-2019 11:07 AM #926This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-05-2019 11:15 AM #927This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Unfortunately for them, however, is that they are unable to have an adult conversation and find themselves not being taken seriously.
You've already proved that you prefer the Tories, so I guess you don't really need to respond any further.
-
31-05-2019 11:24 AM #928This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
How are Labours prospects looking there these days?
-
31-05-2019 11:43 AM #929
Tornadoes70 and James310 have been quiet the last few days, are they now posting under Hibbyradge & Fife Hibee? 🤔
-
31-05-2019 11:44 AM #930This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThere is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.