Page 44 of 484 FirstFirst ... 3442434445465494144 ... LastLast
Results 1,291 to 1,320 of 14514
    When Porteous is fit and if Jackson is any good, then Hanlon will be 3rd/4th choice CB. He’s just not really as good as some people make out. More average seasons than good ones.

Quote Originally Posted by NC1875 View Post
    When Porteous is fit and if Jackson is any good, then Hanlon will be 3rd/4th choice CB. He’s just not really as good as some people make out. More average seasons than good ones.
    Porteous isn't as good as folk make out either, certainly wont be walking back in.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Porteous isn't as good as folk make out either, certainly wont be walking back in.
    Seriously? Played mostly last season out of position!

Don’t know where Ryan is in his recovery period, but he’ll not be far away from the 1st team when he’s fit

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post

Don’t know where Ryan is in his recovery period, but he’ll not be far away from the 1st team when he’s fit
    Exactly. And maybe this signing will give us the chance to protect him at times too. Also who's to say Heckmond doesn't fancy playing a 3 back there?

Spoke to him after the Tynie derby Billy and he's raring to go - looked fit as a fiddle too

@hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    20 year auld laddie and probably made less mistakes than either Hanlon or Mcgregor when he was in, not to mention the fact he’s a lot more of a threat at set pieces for us

Not like Hibs Net to take any opportunity to knock our players!

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Not like Hibs Net to take any opportunity to knock our players!
    Not knocking him, great prospect, not the Scotland captain folk are making out just yet though.

He didn't really play out of position, he just played left central defence instead of right to allow a much better player in Ambrose to play out from the back easier.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuart93 View Post
    20 year auld laddie and probably made less mistakes than either Hanlon or Mcgregor when he was in, not to mention the fact he’s a lot more of a threat at set pieces for us
    Thats a pretty small sample size though.
    Hanlon and McGregor have been brilliant for a long time, I'll be delighted if he achieves what they have.

He also did make mistakes, was pretty easily bossed by Kenny Miller as Dundee got a point at Easter Road

Aye that Porteous is rotten. Why did we give him a 5 year deal? Money that could've been spent on signing the new Sean O'Hanlon with all that experience behind him

First Team Breakthrough steve75's Avatar

Gamertag: rowPP
    4th best defensive record in the league was it? And add that to a decent record last year.

All of our defenders are amongst the best in their position by Scottish football standards.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Aye that Porteous is rotten. Why did we give him a 5 year deal? Money that could've been spent on signing the new Sean O'Hanlon with all that experience behind him
    Who called him rotten?

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    Find it funny how much fans look into left/right centre back.

The centre half’s I have played with at various levels don’t seem bothered by it in the slightest.

Seems more a fan problem than one with players.

I wouldn’t have any issue with two right footers playing centre back

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Not knocking him, great prospect, not the Scotland captain folk are making out just yet though.

He didn't really play out of position, he just played left central defence instead of right to allow a much better player in Ambrose to play out from the back easier.

Thats a pretty small sample size though.
    Hanlon and McGregor have been brilliant for a long time, I'll be delighted if he achieves what they have.

He also did make mistakes, was pretty easily bossed by Kenny Miller as Dundee got a point at Easter Road
    He is actually the Scotland captain and has been for the last couple of age groups he’s played in.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Quote Originally Posted by Oscar T Grouch View Post
    He is actually the Scotland captain and has been for the last couple of age groups he’s played in.
    Daniel Boateng and Victor Palsson were captains at Arsenal and Liverpool young levels, doesn't mean that much.

Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    Find it funny how much fans look into left/right centre back.

The centre half’s I have played with at various levels don’t seem bothered by it in the slightest.

Seems more a fan problem than one with players.

I wouldn’t have any issue with two right footers playing centre back

Most clubs don't have a problem with that tbh, it's very hard to get a very good lefty and generally you'll have two right footers. Ryan is a top prospect but lets not all get ahead of ourselves, he's still pretty raw and it's still best to guide him through this season, he'll be played to give McGregor and Hanlon some time off, squad rotation etc.

Quote Originally Posted by steve75 View Post
    4th best defensive record in the league was it? And add that to a decent record last year.

All of our defenders are amongst the best in their position by Scottish football standards.
    I think we can improve defensively. The goals against record is good but, and I might be wrong, I think we lose too many goals for the number of attacks we face. Aberdeen last game of the season is a good example, I think they were up the park about three times but had a couple of goals to show for it. Hearts at Easter Road, one chance and it was a goal. Common theme was centre halves leaving centre forwards standing on their own in the middle of the box.

Particularly since Heckingbottom came in, our defence has rarely been exposed because we were so organised in front of them. On the flip side, we really struggled to score goals. I’d expect the midfield to be a bit more open and attack minded come the start of the season.

Daniel Boateng and Victor Palsson were captains at Arsenal and Liverpool young levels, doesn't mean that much.
    VP has had a decent career since in good leagues.

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    Seen this on Twitter.

#SAFC are heavily linked with a move for Switzerland and Hibernian striker, Florian Kamberi.

The Black Cats would be willing to offload Dylan McGeouch back to the Scottish side.

The 24-year-old scored 9 goals last season in 33 appearances for #Hibs.

I’d take that in a heartbeat!

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    Seen this on Twitter.

#SAFC are heavily linked with a move for Switzerland and Hibernian striker, Florian Kamberi.

The Black Cats would be willing to offload Dylan McGeouch back to the Scottish side.

The 24-year-old scored 9 goals last season in 33 appearances for #Hibs.
    I'm willing to bet without checking that that's Hibs Transfer News copying what was said on here a few pages ago.

James Bree linked on loan. Aston Villa right back.

Also, before this pish starts again: I'll be cheesed off is this is no' happening. Hope they tell him to say "cheese" in his picture. Hecky mozarella done lots of hard work to get this signing. Who did he play for before, Mancheddar United? Haha cheese cheese cheese cause his name is Bree and it sounds like Brie LOLZ

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post

Also, before this pish starts again: I'll be cheesed off is this is no' happening. Hope they tell him to say "cheese" in his picture. Hecky mozarella done lots of hard work to get this signing. Who did he play for before, Mancheddar United? Haha cheese cheese cheese cause his name is Bree and it sounds like Brie LOLZ
    Feta load o' crap....

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby_G View Post
    Patrick roberts has signed for norwich on a season long loan

Awhhhh bless. Celtic fans will be livid. They are like man united fans with ronaldo. “He’s coming home this year”

Summer 2019 transfer thread

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    I think we can improve defensively. The goals against record is good but, and I might be wrong, I think we lose too many goals for the number of attacks we face. Aberdeen last game of the season is a good example, I think they were up the park about three times but had a couple of goals to show for it. Hearts at Easter Road, one chance and it was a goal. Common theme was centre halves leaving centre forwards standing on their own in the middle of the box.

Particularly since Heckingbottom came in, our defence has rarely been exposed because we were so organised in front of them. On the flip side, we really struggled to score goals. I’d expect the midfield to be a bit more open and attack minded come the start of the season.
    Martin Boyle to comeback too. A he featured under heckys tactics yet?

Bree is supposedly one of the players with a promotion clause in their contracts whose wages have now been increased. I'm guessing Hibs would only be covering a very small fraction of his wages in any proposed loan deal.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar

Where is he being linked to us about?

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Spoke to him after the Tynie derby Billy and he's raring to go - looked fit as a fiddle too
    Sat at his table at sponsors night. He has been advised by physio team to not go on summer holiday, work hard and be “ahead” of the rest when they return and that’s what he is doing

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Can’t see anything on twitter linking James Bree to a move here.

Quote Originally Posted by wakeyhibs View Post
    Awhhhh bless. Celtic fans will be livid. They are like man united fans with ronaldo. “He’s coming home this year”

Bit like us with leigh then

Quote Originally Posted by NC1875 View Post
    Poppycock

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Can’t see anything on twitter linking James Bree to a move here.
    Nothing on twitter or google.

I’m guessing it’s one of these daft Facebook pages that have guessed a name.