Page 12 of 116 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262112 ... LastLast
    3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    I struggle to believe there are Tories getting any kind of a ride, to be honest. I think if they did, they'd be less likely to be Tories.
    Unless there are pigs in the room.

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jonty View Post
    Unless there are pigs in the room.
    They definitely have a lot of elephants in the room

Scottish Young Conservatives:

Average age about 50

Full size here - https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D5pBUB2XsAAWuxe.jpg

Theresa May heckled at Welsh Tory conference:

https://twitter.com/SkyNewsPolitics/...78893102473216

What she needs is a totally supine gathering that will nod along with any old pish the UK leadership tells them to and to **** with local concerns - so next stop Scottish Tory conference it is then!

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post

Average age about 50

Not only that, but they put out 72 seats, in a hall that could seat maybe 500 and still couldn't fill them all.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Not only that, but they put out 72 seats, in a hall that could seat maybe 500 and still couldn't fill them all.
    You're being a bit mean!.... are you deliberately trying to make it appear worse?!

It's ACTUALLY 76, if you included the speakers desk it's 79 ...... see much, much better!

Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    You're being a bit mean!.... are you deliberately trying to make it appear worse?!

It's ACTUALLY 76, if you included the speakers desk it's 79 ...... see much, much better!
    Average age 50, and that's more than are there, including the cameraman, and the 25 strong press gang.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Boris Johnson supposedly tweeted earlier that he'd voted already despite him living in London where no election was taking place. He removed the tweet but not fast enough.

Ruth is back! And reckons she's going to be the next First Minister apparently.

So quick look at how that's going via last week's yougov poll:

Holyrood VI constituency:

SNP 46
    Con 22
    Lab 16
    Lib 7
    Brexit 4
    Greens 3
    Change 1

Holyrood VI regional:

SNP 37
    Con 20
    Lab 15
    Green 10
    Lib 7
    Brexit 5
    Change 2

Suspending my disbelief for a second ... let's say she has the faintest chance of turning these numbers round to a point where she's largest party by 2021 (that's 2 years against a backdrop of Brexit!)

Who the hell does she think is going to vote along with her to get anything through parliament?

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post

Average age about 50

They're doing a cracking job of bringing the average age down.

Will be a brilliant post meeting party. I can see at least another 4 people under 50 from all over Scotland turning up.

some tory dude using the scouts to deliver leaflets lol

https://www.grimsbytelegraph.co.uk/n...uDFkGuKTyqRaWk

A bitter row has broken out after Scouts were used to deliver election leaflets for Conservative candidates.
    In return it is claimed they were promised money to rent space in an allotment to grow vegetables for a soup kitchen.

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Michael Gove (possible future PM) wants to withhold money from the Scottish Parliament for agriculture and education and have it spent directly by the UK Government, as to control the initiatives that the money is spent on.

Expect a lot of textbooks with union jacks plastered over them in our schools in the coming years.

https://www.scotsman.com/news/politi...iJZ0b***531jEs

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fife-Hibee View Post
    Michael Gove (possible future PM) wants to withhold money from the Scottish Parliament for agriculture and education and have it spent directly by the UK Government, as to control the initiatives that the money is spent on.

Expect a lot of textbooks with union jacks plastered over them in our schools in the coming years.

Are you for real?

I'm definitely not a Tory, I wouldn't want to guess what you are, but your post doesn't stand up to a second of scrutiny!

The Scotsman isn't the most reliable source to begin with, but the text makes clear he is talking about additional money outwith the agreed settlement.

Can you substantiate your point that he is wanting to withhold money from Ag and Fish and from Education? (Clue here - he might not legally have those powers )

'Textbooks with Union Jacks' - really? Is that the level of debate or argument on here?
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I'm definitely not a Tory
    Could have fooled me..... and everybody else on here.

I wouldn't want to guess what you are, but your post doesn't stand up to a second of scrutiny!

The Scotsman isn't the most reliable source to begin with, but the text makes clear he is talking about additional money outwith the agreed settlement.

Can you substantiate your point that he is wanting to withhold money from Ag and Fish and from Education? (Clue here - he might not legally have those powers )
    The UK government is already illegally withholding cash from the Scottish Government regarding farmer subsidies. Little things like the law have never stood in their way. They have previous for changing laws when taken to court.

Are you suggesting that Gove is talking about additional spending over and above what the Scottish Parliament already recieves. So there would be absolutely no cuts to the Scottish budget in order to facilitate this little UK Government spending spree?

'Textbooks with Union Jacks' - really? Is that the level of debate or argument on here?
    I apologize for the standard of debate not being up to the high standards that you grace us with on here.

Could have fooled me..... and everybody else on here.

The UK government is already illegally withholding cash from the Scottish Government regarding farmer subsidies. Little things like the law have never stood in their way. They have previous for changing laws when taken to court.

Are you suggesting that Gove is talking about additional spending over and above what the Scottish Parliament already recieves. So there would be absolutely no cuts to the Scottish budget in order to facilitate this little UK Government spending spree?

I apologize for the standard of debate not being up to the high standards that you grace us with on here.
    Where to start!

Let's take one point at a time.

I'm not 'suggesting' Gove is talking about additional spending, he says it in the article you quoted. And then you then went on to say he was withholding money.

So, which is it?

We can do each one of your points at a time, keep it nice and easy, and have a proper debate?

Then we can get back to you suggesting I'm a Tory because I would love to get into that, because hey, it would be fun and you never know, you might be right. Or I might be a Nationalist provocateur, constantly challenging Nat posters to keep them sharp.

Or maybe I'm just calling it as I see it and I don't expect my opinion to carry any more weight than yours or anyone else but I will call it out if it smells like bull****
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Where to start!

Let's take one point at a time.

I'm not 'suggesting' Gove is talking about additional spending, he says it in the article you quoted. And then you then went on to say he was withholding money.

So, which is it?

We can do each one of your points at a time, keep it nice and easy, and have a proper debate?

Then we can get back to you suggesting I'm a Tory because I would love to get into that, because hey, it would be fun and you never know, you might be right. Or I might be a Nationalist provocateur, constantly challenging Nat posters to keep them sharp.

Or maybe I'm just calling it as I see it and I don't expect my opinion to carry any more weight than yours or anyone else but I will call it out if it smells like bull****
    So you're not suggesting that the Scottish Parliament won't lose funding, but you're not suggesting that money will be withheld either? Which one is it?

It’s an odd statement from Gove. The Scotsman’s headline makes the claim that he is going to hold back funding but thats not what he actually says. He seems to want to spend extra money to stop the Scottish Government taking credit for doing the things they are responsible for doing. Either he does not understand how devolution works or doesn’t like that it does. I’d dismiss him as an oddball but there is a real danger he could become our next PM. That is a scarey thought.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    It’s an odd statement from Gove. The Scotsman’s headline makes the claim that he is going to hold back funding but thats not what he actually says. He seems to want to spend extra money to stop the Scottish Government taking credit for doing the things they are responsible for doing. Either he does not understand how devolution works or doesn’t like that it does. I’d dismiss him as an oddball but there is a real danger he could become our next PM. That is a scarey thought.
    Give for PM is the strongest case for Independence in these many pages of debate.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    some tory dude using the scouts to deliver leaflets lol

https://www.grimsbytelegraph.co.uk/n...uDFkGuKTyqRaWk

A bitter row has broken out after Scouts were used to deliver election leaflets for Conservative candidates.
    In return it is claimed they were promised money to rent space in an allotment to grow vegetables for a soup kitchen.
    This is a strange one in that, based on what I've read, I don't think the Tory councillors did anything wrong.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    This is a strange one in that, based on what I've read, I don't think the Tory councillors did anything wrong.
    For me it's more the scouts that are wrong to a degree, I've always understood them to be non political.

It may be they've done similar for other parties previously/elsewhere, and if that's the case then there's no issue at all, the other parties missed a trick as there would have been nothing stopping them doing the same thing.

Mind you, if the above hasn't been the case and the Scout leader is a Tory then the whole argument opens up again.

A wee look at the the final percentages

https://twitter.com/mikegalsworthy/s...864056320?s=19

So you're not suggesting that the Scottish Parliament won't lose funding, but you're not suggesting that money will be withheld either? Which one is it?
    That’s the best two sentences I’ve ever read in my life.

You offer me two options of things you say I’m not doing and then ask me to say which one I don’t want to do?

A wee look at the the final percentages

https://twitter.com/mikegalsworthy/s...864056320?s=19
    Not really looked closely at the results since staying up half the night for the coverage.

Salient points for me are:

Bad for the Tories but always going to happen, as they were defending the most seats and they are in such a bad place. The damage was severe but probably within their expectations.

Bad for Labour because they are caught between a rock and a hard place - they aren’t appeasing the Brexit element and they certainly aren’t appeasing the Remain majority of their support. That was made clear.

Good for Lib Dems who might just be shrugging off the taint of the Coalition years. There is a real opportunity for them when Cable steps down to reinvent themselves with a new leader. But they traditionally do well at locals and need to translate that into something more powerful.

Good for the Greens, a lot more people elected, but they need to harness that into not just being a protest vote. There is potential to rope in the Extinction sentiment that people are buying into, if they are canny, and use that to become a more significant political player.

UKIP - they weren’t contesting as many seats as before, I think, so I’m not reading too much into vote share. They have effectively splintered though. Farage creating the Brexit Party means that the remainder UKIP will increasingly become a haven for the far-right.

Independents - massive spike. In some parts of the country there is a natural desire and need for Inds but the volume this time feels like many are a protest vote. Maybe that means that party politics is doomed but I suspect there are rich pickings for the main parties if they can get their message right.

Brexit Party and Change UK - good election for them as the results indicate that they would have enjoyed success had they stood. I guess we will see.

Overall, I think the results point to an irrevocable tear in the electorate. I’m a Remainer for idealistic reasons but also pragmatic ones. I always figured the pragmatic reasons would win over the Brexiteers when it came to the crunch but I think we are sadly beyond that now and we are looking at ever deeper entrenchment.
    Last edited by Mibbes Aye; 04-05-2019 at 12:29 PM.

I can't remember who said it but a tory suggests that we are seeing a tsunami with the local elections being the tory tide going out and in 3 weeks all the tory vote will come flooding back.

Cannae see it masel.

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    I can't remember who said it but a tory suggests that we are seeing a tsunami with the local elections being the tory tide going out and in 3 weeks all the tory vote will come flooding back.

Cannae see it masel.
    I refer you to the thread title

With the Scottish Conservative Party conference now over. I wish them all a safe trip back home.

Ah yes, murdo ****ing fraser. The msp who has managed to bring Scotland into line with England by having an appeal system for private parking charge notices and will try to introduce keeper liability to bring us into line with England. Best thing I can say about him is that he has a face you couldn't tire of slapping 😉

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post

i do agree, they were getting something back i just thought it was quite cheeky getting wee laddies to do their job for them, it won't be long before political parties start paying the post office to do all their leafleting

Age concern, aye RIGHT, they ****s are gonna batter pensioners pockets in the near future, they've been desperate to get shot of the pensioners triple lock for a while now, and nearly 70% of scottish pensioners voted No in 2014, that's going to come back and bite them on their er*es, i wonder how many of them actually now know they are paid one of the lowest pensions in Europe, tories and 'age concern' my e*se.