I wear shirts every work day and travel a lot. Never tried them but was curious as to whether they were effective. Are they really that bad?This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
(Top travel tip - if you do have to pack shirts, iron them first, then when you unpack, hang them in your hotel bathroom and turn the shower on full heat for twenty minutes - all the creases come out due to the steam).
Results 6,061 to 6,090 of 14214
Thread: Pet Peeves IV
-
04-11-2018 03:43 PM #6061
There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
04-11-2018 03:53 PM #6062
Good tip - I usually just unfold and hang up. If really bad I get the iron out (again)...
-
04-11-2018 03:57 PM #6063This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-11-2018 04:17 PM #6064This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As for hotels, their irons are usually horrendous and spill brown staining water. Best avoided. The other thing to do is a cheap investment in a couple of foldable travel hangers - lots of hotels have those ones that clip into a lock on the rail so you can't take them into the bathroom.There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
04-11-2018 04:19 PM #6065This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It wasn't just jet packs we were promisedThere's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
04-11-2018 05:29 PM #6066This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-11-2018 06:01 PM #6067This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
From what you've posted, you earn your income in the aviation industry though, which obviously contributes to positive climate change
Think you are in a glass house throwing stones and I bet my occasional shower with a shirt in the bathroom doesn't add up to 0.0001% cent of what you do on a daily basis.
Either way, air travel isn't environmentally friendly, and me using electricity to steam shirts isn't either. I try to limit it by hacks like hanging my clothes up while I shower.
To end on a positive note, maybe you could share what passengers could or should do on flights to be more eco-friendly? Most sensibly-minded folk would be receptive IMO.There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
04-11-2018 06:49 PM #6068This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-11-2018 09:16 PM #6069This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
P.S. You didn't say you were in the shower at the time so I had visions of you at the bar whilst your shirt was er......... ironing
-
04-11-2018 09:52 PM #6070This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
They are definitely easier to iron than a lot of normal shirts so still an improvement.
-
05-11-2018 09:02 AM #6071
Vaping. I got a whiff of strawberry recently behind a vaper.
Surely, you'd want your vape to taste like tobacco?
It's a free world I suppose.
-
05-11-2018 09:54 AM #6072This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-11-2018 12:47 PM #6073
Work colleagues. Not anyone specifically, just in general. I'm convinced workplaces are made up of about 5% of people who actually do the job they are paid to, 4% who do their job and then go 'over and above' to pick up the slack, 1% who have the authority to delegate to the above groups and then 90% of people are essentially just being paid appearance money and maybe send the odd email or shuffle some paper on a Monday morning.
I've sat opposite the same woman since I started. She has been at our company about double the time I have and anytime anything a bit out the ordinary comes up there's a sigh and always, ****ing always, a 'I don't even know where to start with this'. So I show her something she has seen 50 times before and we move on then it's 'can I just check....' then I check and inevitably say 'no that's wrong you need to...' and I get a 'I'm just not getting it' so I end up just taking the whole thing as it saves time for everyone. She sits with a little smirk and goes back to reading the Daily Mail online or whatever she is paid to do. I just want to grab her and tell her this is your ****ing job you lazy, workshy, coniving freeloader. This is repeated across the board. Someone calls for accounts and you try to hand it over: 'take a message' so you take a message, pass it on and 3 days later get a phone call from an irate person who hasn't had a call back. Try to pass that on? 'Just take a message'. Someone requests a call back about a product and their account handler will 'get round to it'; as sure as night follows day you'll get a call back the next day asking why no one has been in touch. 'Oh I forgot, you couldn't just sort that for me mate?' Aye no bother I'll push back stuff for my customers so I can bump up your sales figures.
I'm going to set up a business as a dog walker or something. Talking to dogs all day has to be preferable to dealing with the shower of cretins I share a carpet with all week. And they wonder why I don't go on work nights out.
-
05-11-2018 04:40 PM #6074
You have hit the nail on the head, Pretty Boy.
It used to astonish me that these type of slackers survive, but they do. It's called playing the game. Do as little as possible but just enough
to not arouse managerial concerns. They rely on someone with a conscience to unwittingly cover for them. They truly don't give a hoot.
The only thing they get is their just deserts - they will always be sitting across the desk with no hope or ambition whereas you will move higher.
Just remember to move up asap. Good luck!
-
05-11-2018 05:57 PM #6075
What I find strange is that, for me at least, the working day seems to pass a lot quicker if you, erm, work.
I'm lucky in that I enjoy my job, but last week I had a situation where I was at an impasse on each of the 3-4 projects I'm working on (waiting for information, client decisions, etc.). It was brutal as I couldn't find anything worthwhile to get my teeth into.
I'm well capable of stopping for a blether or having a squint at the Internet, but I definitely find working far more fulfilling than kidding on.Last edited by Peevemor; 05-11-2018 at 06:26 PM.
-
05-11-2018 06:14 PM #6076This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
. Thankfully they’ve let me start working from home so I at least now get to spend about half my week doing nothing while at home!
-
06-11-2018 09:57 AM #6077This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller
-
06-11-2018 07:56 PM #6078This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Always travel with a wee plastic bag and a few elastic bands, bag over detector and elastic band over them, hey presto.
-
06-11-2018 07:59 PM #6079This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-11-2018 02:55 PM #6080
Food that has a bit of wrapper that sticks to it when you open it.
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=18491...rshare_creator
https://youtube.com/@longbangers?si=N9JL5Ugx2l2aKEC8
-
-
08-11-2018 05:10 PM #6082
WHAM bars are terrible for this
-
08-11-2018 06:24 PM #6083
-
08-11-2018 06:39 PM #6084This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
09-11-2018 07:47 AM #6086
Not always wise to cover detectors as some systems can show this up as a fault and can say which room or section is faulty
-
09-11-2018 09:07 AM #6087This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-11-2018 03:09 PM #6088This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-11-2018 06:00 PM #6089
Folk who get on the train carriage at the opposite end to where their seats are with big bags/suitcases and haul them the full length. It’s not difficult to look at the seating numbers at the door before you board.
-
09-11-2018 11:57 PM #6090This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote