Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Royal Wedding

Quote Originally Posted by LustForLeith View Post
    Traveling to Liverpool...or to the 1950s?
    It's 2018 pal, wake-up.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    It's 2018 pal, wake-up.
    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Street party other than on a black and white telly show

It's 2018 pal, wake-up.
    Are there lots of street parties in Liverpool?
    Going down and staying a bit out of the centre and hoping to avoid them?

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    I'll be manning a stand for the yes campaign to remove the 8th amendment from the Irish constitution..

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Trager View Post
    Probably not mate, I posted that for a laugh, I am actually going to Liverpool on Friday night but it's not for the royal wedding or a street party. 😁

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Street party other than on a black and white telly show
    There is actually one in our street in Corstorphine every year for the last couple of years.

Aye whatever.
    The answer the royals and their arse lickers love above all others in response to someone questioning their position in society. There is nothing more guaranteed to keep them in place than the idea that their existence isn't worth scrutiny or questioning and that anybody who does it is making a fuss over nothing.

FWIW you are a poster I have a lot of time for Scouse Hibby ..... I'm surprised at you

If you quote this with an 'Aye whatever' please accept this in advance

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    The answer the royals and their arse lickers love above all others in response to someone questioning their position in society. There is nothing more guaranteed to keep them in place than the idea that their existence isn't worth scrutiny or questioning and that anybody who does it is making a fuss over nothing.

FWIW you are a poster I have a lot of time for Scouse Hibby ..... I'm surprised at you

If you quote this with an 'Aye whatever' please accept this in advance
    Hehe. It brings joy to so many people hence the popularity off the Royal Wedding, people will question the existence of the Royals and that is their right but to belittle people as erse lickers is wrong. Do I get the slipper😁

It'll be a bonus for the drinks industry with licensing hours extended - at least in England.
    Shame they didn't hold the wedding on a weekday and give folk the afternoon off instead.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    My mate is having a BBQ in his front green with the rest of his street, bunting, etc.

I’m using it as an excuse to have some beers and meat with some friends who I don’t see enough of anymore. The wedding is of secondary importance.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    Its hilarious when everyone gets on their superiority high horse over North Koreans who "worship" their Dear Leader and then outdo them by a far amount without any hint of irony when the Saxe-Coburg and Gotha crew put on a show.

'worshipping' the royals may be over the top, daft or even self demeaning behaviour - or it may not - but it's not generally done at the point of a gun, on pain of deprivation of liberty or in order to avoid falling under suspicion by the state police. Your North Korea and the royals analogy is a bit of a reach tbh.

5,500 official ones in 2011 (and, amusingly, arrests after a mass brawl at an unofficial Glasgow one!):

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-13235535

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Trager View Post
    You might want to avoid these events while you're there:

http://www.theguideliverpool.com/8-s...-in-liverpool/

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Its helping to perpetuate a culture in this country that supports and maintains the myth that some people are more worthy of position and deference due to the circumstances of their birth than others.
    Most of the millions watching on Saturday won't be worrying about their position in society. They'll simply be doing so for no other reason than they like the spectacle/want to chat about the bride's dress etc and if it's a sunny day it's an relaxed way to spend the afternoon with an accompanying party/barbeque or a leisurely afternoon in the pub. As somebody else pointed out, while it won't be quite the phenomenon that William and Kate's wedding was it will still attract mind-boggling viewing figures around the globe. Bottom line is a lot of folk enjoy it and for those that don't there are plenty of other things to do.

I was down in Carlisle on the day of Bill and Kathy's wedding and coincidentally will be there on Saturday too. Whilst I had/have no interest in the weddings it has to be said there was a very pleasant atmosphere in most of the drinking establishments (not something you can often say about Carlisle) throughout the day, more of the same on Saturday please.

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    'worshipping' the royals may be over the top, daft or even self demeaning behaviour - or it may not - but it's not generally done at the point of a gun, on pain of deprivation of liberty or in order to avoid falling under suspicion by the state police. Your North Korea and the royals analogy is a bit of a reach tbh.
    Ok it's worse in the UK, North Koreans don't have a choice, in the UK your Follow Follow types don't have that excuse.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    Ok it's worse in the UK, North Koreans don't have a choice, in the UK your Follow Follow types don't have that excuse.
    "it's worse in the UK"

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    "it's worse in the UK"
    He meant to say Great Britain.

We could do so, so much better as a society.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Most of the millions watching on Saturday won't be worrying about their position in society. They'll simply be doing so for no other reason than they like the spectacle/want to chat about the bride's dress etc and if it's a sunny day it's an relaxed way to spend the afternoon with an accompanying party/barbeque or a leisurely afternoon in the pub. As somebody else pointed out, while it won't be quite the phenomenon that William and Kate's wedding was it will still attract mind-boggling viewing figures around the globe. Bottom line is a lot of folk enjoy it and for those that don't there are plenty of other things to do.
    Like join Republic

Full day of Fitba for me, with zero sycophantic bowing or scraping to be seen. Morning match at 10.30 followed by an hour at the trampoline centre followed by the Cup finals.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Wake me up when it's over.
    Monster snorefest, and an expensive one at that.

@hibs.net private member The_Exile's Avatar
    Dinnae really care about it, although sticks in the craw a bit that it'll be costing millions while we've got millions of bairns in poverty but hey-ho.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    Full day of Fitba for me, with zero sycophantic bowing or scraping to be seen. Morning match at 10.30 followed by an hour at the trampoline centre followed by the Cup finals.
    There could be a lot of ups and downs...

I see Charlie is pretending to be the father of the bride, just like he is for the groom.

#harryhewitt

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    I see Charlie is pretending to be the father of the bride, just like he is for the groom.

#harryhewitt
    Funny...but nonsense.

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    Funny...but nonsense.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=pr...w=1552&bih=932

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    It is a remarkable likeness.

United we stand here....

As amusing as it might be to imagine Harry not being 'legitimate' he also bears more than a slight resemblance to Dianas brother which may explain the hair and, more importantly for the purposes of this argument, he is facially very similar to Prince Philip when he was young.

Its totally wrong and unfair for folk to question Harry's parentage .... he should demand a DNA test the result of which should be made public to shut all these idiots up .... shouldn't he?