In terms of grammar and spelling French is far more complicated than English and, even though I often have to ask my 9 year old daughter for clarification when writing stuff, I can't believe some of the errors made by people I know in texts, emails, FB, etc. I'm convinced that there are some on here who, if they were in my situation, their heads would have exploded long ago.
Results 5,131 to 5,160 of 14208
Thread: Pet Peeves IV
-
07-05-2018 11:10 AM #5131
-
07-05-2018 11:26 AM #5132
There is nothing worse than listening to a language spoken by natives who don't speak it properly.
You have my sympathy.
-
07-05-2018 11:32 AM #5133This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
07-05-2018 03:21 PM #5134This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
07-05-2018 03:47 PM #5135This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
United we stand here....
-
07-05-2018 04:09 PM #5136
When you speak French do you subconsciously speak in the local dialect?
-
07-05-2018 06:33 PM #5137This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
07-05-2018 10:47 PM #5138
Not being able to read a thread that I started about westworld season 2 as I want to wait till the end and watch them all one after the other. It’s torture every time I see it.
United we stand here....
-
07-05-2018 10:53 PM #5139This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
United we stand here....
-
08-05-2018 01:07 AM #5140This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-05-2018 11:01 AM #5141This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-05-2018 04:55 PM #5142This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-05-2018 05:12 PM #5143
Just had to pull yet another prick up about trying to get on the bus before other people hat had been there longer, currently in the seat right behind him and burning a hole through his heid
-
08-05-2018 05:20 PM #5144
Scrap that earlier whinge, some dude who must be in his early 50s just got on the bus with a ghetto blaster and is pumping out 80s soundtrack tunes hahahaha
-
08-05-2018 06:14 PM #5145
Job adverts that request "no 9-5 mentality".
Aye no problem mate, 8 till 9 and no getting paid for 5 hours of it suits me grand.
Adding to that, the cringeworthy pish written by recruitment types portraying bog standard office jobs as offering an Indiana Jones esque adventure.
-
08-05-2018 08:39 PM #5146This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Nae bother, eh?
-
08-05-2018 09:57 PM #5147This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Aye very good, make a video of myself whoring myself out to another employer with no guarantees of it ever coming to anything. Even allowing for the fact it’s very unlikely my current employer would ever find it, why would anybody ever put themselves through that?
One of the most ridiculous things I’ve ever read. If that’s the sort of nonsense coming up in the future if recruiting staff I better find a job for life soon.
-
08-05-2018 10:21 PM #5148
When we recruit now we always pass by an agency, it's relatively expensive but we can't afford to end up with the wrong person just for the sake of getting someone. The agency selects the best candidates who then have to film themselves answering 3 questions (set by us) with 30 seconds maximum per answer. Obviously none of this ends up in the public domain. We then choose who we want to interview.
That's 3 times we've used this system and each time our favourite on the wee videos has went on to get the job.
-
08-05-2018 10:28 PM #5149This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm actually coming across more and more online interviews, questionnaire's, even product reviews where they're asking for video feedback.
-
08-05-2018 11:52 PM #5150This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Pity the person being interviewed can't see a video of the boss they will be working for before they make the interview video.
-
09-05-2018 12:20 AM #5151
You could send them a video and do really well however I'm guessing the candidate would be judged on how they look on camera as well, would be interesting to see what the male/female success ratio is with these video things.
-
09-05-2018 09:15 AM #5152This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm sure old guys have just as much chance as young girls.
-
09-05-2018 09:32 AM #5153This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
And we're far from impersonal. After the wee video thing we'll do normal interviews. In one case we were still undecided so invited 2 of the candidates to an informal lunch (separately) with 3/4 of us to try and see them as 'natural' as possible. As with a lot of jobs, communication is very important and the lunch thing removed any doubts we had - the two candidates were like chalk and cheese.
-
09-05-2018 11:32 AM #5154
That sounds awful. Avoid avoid avoid.
-
09-05-2018 12:14 PM #5155
I can see the merits in applying for a job overseas/long distance using video technology.. in fact, I think it's brilliant that it can be done this way. But like a number of people have said... otherwise it's not for me when traditional face-to-face methods are available.
-
09-05-2018 12:24 PM #5156
I think the ideal position to be in is working your way up high enough internally in one company to be in the position to be "headhunted" so you don't have to bend over and take it from all angles just to get a face to face interview.
-
09-05-2018 12:34 PM #5157This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-05-2018 12:43 PM #5158
Yes, I'm sure they have the same chance...
-
09-05-2018 01:21 PM #5159This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-05-2018 03:34 PM #5160