Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    Don’t you do online? I bank with Santander business and personal all my business pay ins I can do through the atm.
    RBS are also getting rid of atm's that are attached to the sites that are closing.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Grieves View Post
    RBS are also getting rid of atm's that are attached to the sites that are closing.
    They'd be much better getting rid of some of the heavily bonused knobs at the top.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by johnbc70 View Post
    Yes - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-42192760

Rarely use a branch these days but the fact that in the last 3 years people using branches is down 40% and online banking is up 73% you could see what was coming.
    Cheers.

It would be interesting to know how much of that 40% is driven by a reduction in demand and how much is due to a reduction in branches.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    They'd be much better getting rid of some of the heavily bonused knobs at the top.
    Who would you replace them with?

Bank branches and ATMs of course

Ha ha, fair enough!

What would be the point in that?
    If you read this thread you'll see that hardly anyone uses branches these days.
    Hence the closures.

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    What would be the point in that?
    If you read this thread you'll see that hardly anyone uses branches these days.
    Hence the closures.
    I do and the queue is generally out the door.

Yes I know you do, and I sympathise.
    But I'm wondering whether you need to go to the branch to transact your business.
    (I know you've said you prefer doing business with a real person, and I understand that, but could the business you do not be done online?)

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Yes I know you do, and I sympathise.
    But I'm wondering whether you need to go to the branch to transact your business.
    (I know you've said you prefer doing business with a real person, and I understand that, but could the business you do not be done online?)
    Every time I get paid by cheque, i groan. That means i have to go to a bank and pay it in. Now, the pay in facilities are dead easy.... today I was in and out in 5 minutes (whilst the queue for tellers was 15 people long).... but it's becoming increasingly difficult to find a branch to do that sort of business, and it takes ill-afforded time.

Either people have to be educated to pay online....perhaps by making it too expensive to pay by cheque.... or the banks have to provide pay in facilities at the ATM's.

For me, education is the key to, as you suggest, changing people's habits.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Every time I get paid by cheque, i groan.
    Me too. But fortunately people are being weaned off cheques. I just had a look at my cheque book. Last one I wrote was in May 2014. And that was to the bank, so probably didn't need to be a cheque.

Every time I get paid by cheque, i groan. That means i have to go to a bank and pay it in. Now, the pay in facilities are dead easy.... today I was in and out in 5 minutes (whilst the queue for tellers was 15 people long).... but it's becoming increasingly difficult to find a branch to do that sort of business, and it takes ill-afforded time.

Either people have to be educated to pay online....perhaps by making it too expensive to pay by cheque.... or the banks have to provide pay in facilities at the ATM's.

For me, education is the key to, as you suggest, changing people's habits.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
    You can pay in cheques up to £500 online via Barclays App. Sure other banks will be the same, maybe for higher amounts.

AFAIK, it's only Barclay's that do it.

The rest shouldn't be far behind, though.

AFAIK, it's only Barclay's that do it.

The rest shouldn't be far behind, though.
    Bank of Ireland let you pay them in at the ATM. Which slightly offsets the 5 working days they insist on squeezing out of them before they clear. I've stopped taking cheques without any complaints so far.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Bank of Ireland let you pay them in at the ATM. Which slightly offsets the 5 working days they insist on squeezing out of them before they clear. I've stopped taking cheques without any complaints so far.
    I've found a security hole in the paying-in machines at RBS branches. Inadvertently, I found that I could pay cheques made out to someone else into my account. The machine reads the amount, but not the name.

Would that get picked up before the funds clear? I often use the ATM on my local high street for paying in cash out of business hours. Sometimes it takes a few goes before it accepts some of the notes if they're a bit crumpled. I feel a bit exposed standing there in the street with a wad of cash when that happens.

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Close branches = drive people online = get them to do their own account maintenance (set up standing orders, bill payments, etc.) = hold customers liable for mistakes they make when doing so. Bank then a) saves on back office staff and b) can deny liability for cases where customers suffer fraud. There might be an economic case for closing branches, but please don't then pretend you are the Royal Bank for Scotland. Because you most certainly are not.
    ​#PERSEVERED

Would that get picked up before the funds clear? I often use the ATM on my local high street for paying in cash out of business hours. Sometimes it takes a few goes before it accepts some of the notes if they're a bit crumpled. I feel a bit exposed standing there in the street with a wad of cash when that happens.
    Apparently not.

Having done it by mistake, I then did it on purpose a few times to test it. (the 3rd party got their money )

It seems to me that there's no human involvement now, and that the software just reads the amount, and the payer's details. All very well in my situation, but it does suggest that cheques aren't as secure as they used to be.

Apparently not.

Having done it by mistake, I then did it on purpose a few times to test it. (the 3rd party got their money )

It seems to me that there's no human involvement now, and that the software just reads the amount, and the payer's details. All very well in my situation, but it does suggest that cheques aren't as secure as they used to be.
    It certainly does. I'm now extra glad I've bumped them. Cheers

I pay money into the bank at the atm after I finish work sometimes, and I agree, you do feel a bit vulnerable. Thankfully the machines are definitely becoming more reliable at taking the money first time, but I’ve been standing in the street re entering my money three or four times in the past.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I pay money into the bank at the atm after I finish work sometimes, and I agree, you do feel a bit vulnerable. Thankfully the machines are definitely becoming more reliable at taking the money first time, but I’ve been standing in the street re entering my money three or four times in the past.
    Aye the ones over here are probably second-hand ones from the mainland

Laundered 😁

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post
    Close branches = drive people online = get them to do their own account maintenance (set up standing orders, bill payments, etc.) = hold customers liable for mistakes they make when doing so. Bank then a) saves on back office staff and b) can deny liability for cases where customers suffer fraud. There might be an economic case for closing branches, but please don't then pretend you are the Royal Bank for Scotland. Because you most certainly are not.

I used to work for RBS and we used to have an event called techstock. One of the presenters said that the people that use branches are dying off and more people are using digital/online. Also that that the costs couldn't be justified. For you to make a transaction in a branch was just over £4 and a transaction on the app/digital was under £1. You can understand why they are doing this while at the same time being pissed off. From going from having Newbridge, broxburn or linlithgow it'll only be Newbridge now if I ever need it.

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    I used to work for RBS and we used to have an event called techstock. One of the presenters said that the people that use branches are dying off and more people are using digital/online. Also that that the costs couldn't be justified. For you to make a transaction in a branch was just over £4 and a transaction on the app/digital was under £1. You can understand why they are doing this while at the same time being pissed off. From going from having Newbridge, broxburn or linlithgow it'll only be Newbridge now if I ever need it.
    It would help if RBS had more of the new style cash machines that allow you to pay money straight into your bank account outwith banking hours. I bank with Santander, and all their branches have those atm machines installed outside.

United we stand here....

It would help if RBS had more of the new style cash machines that allow you to pay money straight into your bank account outwith banking hours. I bank with Santander, and all their branches have those atm machines installed outside.
    I bank with Santander too. The Corstorphine branch will close next May.

They're all at it!

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    I bank with Santander too. The Corstorphine branch will close next May.

They're all at it!
    Awe naw. They were my last hope for turning the trend around.
    That's like discovering your last stashed bottle of whisky empty.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politi..._closure_plan/

I bet RBS are quaking in their boots at the thought of rough Fluff bluffing tough stuff and puffing guff oot his chuff.

Totally. problem being, they spent millions refitting branches and closed them anyway (d'mains being an example). It's faster and easier. I had to go into Newbridge the other day to pay money in. Big queue and only the quick deposit option. Needs a complete refit

Awe naw. They were my last hope for turning the trend around.
    That's like discovering your last stashed bottle of whisky empty.
    Meanwhile Santander have two branches in Morningside Road. It's all about footfall I guess.