What really grips your ****?This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Results 1,741 to 1,770 of 14211
Thread: Pet Peeves IV
-
15-11-2016 03:43 PM #1741
-
-
15-11-2016 07:44 PM #1743
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLast edited by #FromTheCapital; 15-11-2016 at 07:48 PM.
-
15-11-2016 08:13 PM #1744
Which leads me to - as a ref - throw ins as a pet peeve. Here's a bit of the law (law 15):
At the moment of delivering the ball, the thrower must:- face the field of play
- have part of each foot on the touchline or on the ground outside the touchline
- throw the ball with both hands from behind and over the head from the point where it left the field of play
This means that as long as a player has at least his heel on the line, its a legal throw even if the rest of his size 14s are on the pitch. It's a legal throw. So gonnae shut the F*** up and stop claiming "Foul shy ref".
-
16-11-2016 12:55 PM #1745This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think the majority of foul throw shouts (as annoying as they are) are for the last bullet point of your point, which relates to the requirement to throw the ball from behind the head.
Also, in terms of that bullet point, how frequently these days are throw-ins not taken where the ball left the field of play. People have always tried to steal yards towards the opposition goal, but it can be just as much of an advantage to do go in the opposite direction. Hibs took one late on during Saturday's game which I reckon was 20-30 yards from where the ball went out.
-
16-11-2016 04:10 PM #1746
The new Sainsburys christmas tv show, I mean advert.
It's rubbish, it's cheesy not funny or sentimental (which is what I think it's going for), its far too long, and has James Cordon singing all the way through it. You think it's about to end, then it just goes on and on and on again. You've no idea what it's actually advertising until you've watched all 15 mins of it, and it comes up with "Sainsburys"
-
16-11-2016 04:28 PM #1747
I may have mentioned this before but anyway....
Folk that go on about the works Christmas night out for months. The women in my office are already discussing what they are wearing, how they are getting there, where they are getting their hair done, what they will be having from the menu, how much they will drink. They try to get me involved and my answers have been;
Some of my clothes
A bus
In my bathroom by the mirror
I'll decide when I get there
As much of the free stuff as I can manage
Who the **** gets their hair specially done for a works night out? I turn up because it's less hassle than the 101 questions if you don't but for these folk it seems to be the highlight of their year which I really don't get.
-
16-11-2016 05:13 PM #1748
-
16-11-2016 05:20 PM #1749This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I've had the same chat for a month or so now, got asked if I was going straight to ours from work, they were dumbstruck that I was going home to get changed first as "I wouldn't have enough time", I told them that going from town to Leith and back again in 2 hours was a piece of piss, they just weren't buying it
-
16-11-2016 05:30 PM #1750
The office do is important to women. It's their chance to dress up and outdo their pals. They're not getting dolled up for you, although with a wee dab of Hai Karate behind the earlobes, you never know your luck.
-
16-11-2016 05:49 PM #1751This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-11-2016 07:25 PM #1752
Just drove back from the fort to Leith and a few things I notice every time I drive this way that really annoy me.
People that slow down to 30 when passing the speed camera on Sir Harry Lauder Road. Why do they think they'll get a speeding ticket for drinking the correct speed.
People that use the right hand lane going towards Seafield Road but then drive at 30 slowing everyone else down.
The same people usually speed up to 40 just in time for the road to change back to 30.
-
16-11-2016 11:41 PM #1753This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
They should Keep right on to the end of the Road doing 40mph.
-
17-11-2016 06:39 AM #1754
The whole concept of work Christmas parties. All depends on the makeup of your office I suppose, and my current one is 80% female, mostly my age with a lack of craggy alcoholic harridans so it'll be OK, but some of the ones in previous jobs have been absolute purgatory.
-
17-11-2016 08:07 AM #1755
When you are chatting to someone and the subject of children come up and you say "do you have kids" to which they reply "no but I have 2 cats see the pictures"
Aye then , like its anywhere near the same !No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn
-
17-11-2016 08:35 AM #1756
Dog owners that feel the need to take their mutts to the pub and proceed to let them sit on seats and/or run amok in the pub. (Even worse when they are wet).
-
17-11-2016 09:51 AM #1757
-
17-11-2016 09:51 AM #1758
Workaholic bosses who think all the folk they employ or oversee should be workaholics too.
-
17-11-2016 11:49 AM #1759This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuotePM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
17-11-2016 11:52 AM #1760
-
17-11-2016 12:02 PM #1761
In my new job I manage 3 staff. We are a small company and there are endless opportunities for anyone who has a bit of ambition. It pisses me off seeing one of them in particular, who picks up a pretty decent pay, just treat his job as an inconvenience, when it could be so much more. He is very settled and genuinely doesn't care too much about his work. He even kicked off last month when his bonus wasn't as much as he expected. It wouldn't do any harm to show a bit of enthusiasm now and again.
-
17-11-2016 12:03 PM #1762
Traffic alerts on the car radio just as your favourite tune is about to kick in or when your listening to some interesting news.
-
17-11-2016 04:24 PM #1763This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Tell your boss you're leaving an hour early for the next couple of weeks and want the same pay. Okay? Not fine, I'll bet.
I take your point, FTC.
It's great to show a bit enthusiasm & ambition however, be careful you're not just another enthusiastic, ambitious mug.
-
17-11-2016 04:51 PM #1764This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm enthusiatic about my work and good at my job (and in fairness acknowledged as such) but I just can't be ersed with all the motivational pep talks, implication that nothing should be more important than the job and the sycophants who lap it up.
It's a cliche but I work to live not the other way round. Any ambitions I have in the workplace are 100% fuelled by the desire to have more income to spend on what I want to do as opposed to career aspirations.
-
17-11-2016 06:05 PM #1765
I agree with you,my last job was an absolute nightmare for this it was a small company run by the two owners who were control freaks and expected the rest of us too drop everything at short notice too suit them sometimes they were too ignorant to ask us to stay on late pretty much gave us no choice as we were miles away from home without transport home
What didn't help was the 2 guys who had been there for years encouraged this behaviour by never saying no to anything and encouraging this awful patter that work is everthing
Best of it was it was dead end job with zero prospects
It's no surprise after 2 years of this crap I chucked it.
-
17-11-2016 07:19 PM #1766This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
But I'm comfortable with that because it works in the two directions. I'm reasonably well paid and in 10 years with the firm have always had at least a month's salary as a Christmas bonus.
When my mother died a few years ago, one of the first things my boss did was make sure that I had enough money to organise flights to get back to Scotland as well as other expenses.
I've also been basically given a share in the business.
With an employer like that, you go the extra mile without a second thought.
-
17-11-2016 07:25 PM #1767
Absolutely but they're very owners/bosses that will be like yours most of them Ive come across have been arrogant greedy gits
When they act like they are doing you a favour by paying you at all is mind boggling.no I've worked for it I'm due it.
-
17-11-2016 09:19 PM #1768
Most of the jobsworths I encountered in my younger years of employment wouldn't last very long in self employment. That's a real test of commitment when there's no benefits or company policy to fall back on when the fan gets hit with *****.
-
17-11-2016 10:06 PM #1769This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I've experienced both sides of this. One job eventually led me to feel sick to my stomach as I travelled to work, genuine shivers down my spine any time the phone rang at work, and stress related depression.
now I work for a company and manager who make me feel valued, respected, wanted and a positive part of what happens, doing a job I genuinely love doing, and am very good at.
When my fiancé (now wife) was diagnosed with cancer (3 months before our wedding), my work and particularly my manager were simply amazing. Nothing was too much trouble, my boss even taking the time to work out for herself when the chemo sessions were, and coming to tell me I was taking each of those days off to be with my fiancé, gave me time to take her to hospital when the operations took place, on every occasion there wasn't a word said about it being unpaid or I'd need to make the time back.
There's a saying that people don't leave jobs, they leave managers. In the original job, I was treated like crap (like everyone else). In my current job, I'll happily go out my way to help or support my manager, because I know it's appreciated and reciprocated.
-
18-11-2016 06:16 AM #1770