Page 45 of 474 FirstFirst ... 3543444546475595145 ... LastLast
Results 1,321 to 1,350 of 14211

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by #FromTheCapital View Post
    Watching a YouTube video and it starts buffering just as its getting to the good bit.
    I've got a dirty mind so I'm making no further comment on this post

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    I've got a dirty mind so I'm making no further comment on this post
    Haha! Yes it's not strictly YouTube this particular annoyance relates to 😂

Scottish tap water. 2nd to Atlantis we must be the country with the most water on this planet but we pump it full of chemicals that make it taste like it's piped directly from the Commie Pool. Minging.
    I agree people keep telling me we have the best tap water in theworld

I think.it's honking

Quote Originally Posted by hibs#1 View Post
    I agree people keep telling me we have the best tap water in theworld

I think.it's honking
    No chance. Christchurch nz (prior to the quake anyway) had the purest untreated mineral water straight from the Canterbury mountains as mains water.

I agree mains water in scotland is poor. NI too unfortunately.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    No chance. Christchurch nz (prior to the quake anyway) had the purest untreated mineral water straight from the Canterbury mountains as mains water.

I agree mains water in scotland is poor. NI too unfortunately.

I've been arguing with people for years That the water here is rotten to no avail
    Happy to have found some like minded individuals at last

Quote Originally Posted by hibs#1 View Post
    I've been arguing with people for years That the water here is rotten to no avail
    Happy to have found some like minded individuals at last
    I ended up using bottled water to make a brew when I was over recently, even after boiling it the taste of chemicals in the tap water was minging.

I didn't think it was just me and I'm starting to use the 17p stuff out of tesco instead when I make any drink. The water in Duloch is even worse than that in Edinburgh which is saying something.

Even a drop of our national tap water ruins our national drink while the spring water just does its job without altering any taste.

Standard definition tv channels, especially for sport of any kind. Just do away with it.

People that put loads of salt on their food, often before even tasting it first.

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Students walking about our city like the own the place. Walking in groups of about 10 taking up the full pavement and if they were walking any slower they'd be going backwards.

Get the **** out of my way you sponging, Pot Noodle eating, Countdown watching, tax avoiding pricks!

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Chihuahuas. Just got attacked by one while out jogging.... Thank God it was only a chihuahua, if it had been the guy's bull terrier (which was thankfully on the lead) I wouldn't be typing this!

Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post
    I didn't think it was just me and I'm starting to use the 17p stuff out of tesco instead when I make any drink. The water in Duloch is even worse than that in Edinburgh which is saying something.

Even a drop of our national tap water ruins our national drink while the spring water just does its job without altering any taste.
    I'm at Duloch and can't say i've noticed the water tasting any worse than anywhere else, to be fair.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Tutting, if the women sat next to me on the bus does it one more time then I'm fast tracked to Saughton

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    I'm at Duloch and can't say i've noticed the water tasting any worse than anywhere else, to be fair.
    I know people from just down the road in Pitcorthie who say that our water tastes a lot better than theirs so maybe it's partly a mental thing.

You people complaining about Scottish tap water should try living down here. The water's very hard, which means kettles, coffee-makers and shower heads fur up in no time at all and you don't get any lather from soap and shampoo. Wee white bits floating in your tea and coffee that catch the back of your throat and it tastes like s***e. I dream of nice soft Scottish water.

The Brita filter jug is the best thing I've ever bought.

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    You people complaining about Scottish tap water should try living down here. The water's very hard, which means kettles, coffee-makers and shower heads fur up in no time at all and you don't get any lather from soap and shampoo. Wee white bits floating in your tea and coffee that catch the back of your throat and it tastes like s***e. I dream of nice soft Scottish water.

The Brita filter jug is the best thing I've ever bought.
    Statistically the tap water in Berlin has been filtered through 7 people's kidneys before it reaches your taps. The water here is recycled from sewage plants and goes through several filtration processes before it's returned to the mains. Despite all that it tastes better than most bottled water and has received better results in purity tests than the majority of bottled water. Maybe I only notice the terrible chemical taste in UK water because I'm not used to it?

People that leave jam/marmalade/mustard etc residue in butter/margarine, I mean FFS just use another knife!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    People that leave jam/marmalade/mustard etc residue in butter/margarine, I mean FFS just use another knife!
    Not forgetting bread/toast crumbs.

People that wipe their bogies on public toilet walls. Why the **** would you do that when you're sat next to a roll of toilet paper?

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Not forgetting bread/toast crumbs.
    It's the opposite for me ....... leaving traces of butter and other foodstuff in the jam/marmalade. It makes the preserve go mouldy ten times quicker.

Folk driving with front fog lights on. Now it's getting darker at nights I'm starting to notice it again. I'm going to take to blinding them with my full beams.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Folk driving with front fog lights on. Now it's getting darker at nights I'm starting to notice it again. I'm going to take to blinding them with my full beams.
    Hate this, there's no need for it (unless it's foggy of course!)

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    Hate this, there's no need for it (unless it's foggy of course!)
    The "4 headlight complaint" has been regurgitated by myself in Pet Peeves I to IV so I'll take this chance to say to all the Stevie Wonders out their "Two headlights please and ONLY two fog lights (with no headlights) IF it's foggy.

Phew, I fell better after that.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    The number of minutes/hours/days/weeks/months dedicated to something,
    cycle to work day (aye right! cycle the 20 miles to my work?)
    Earth Hour - sit in darkness for an hour
    Movember, Sober September, shave yer head week.

Bollocks to all that

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post

Bollocks to all that
    Agree with this.

The amount of folk in my work who go on about 'dry January' does my nut in. I'll have a drink when I fancy thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    The "4 headlight complaint" has been regurgitated by myself in Pet Peeves I to IV so I'll take this chance to say to all the Stevie Wonders out their "Two headlights please and ONLY two fog lights (with no headlights) IF it's foggy.

Phew, I fell better after that.
    ... and as I posted before, on some cars it's impossible (including both our current cars and the 406 estate that I had before).

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post

Bollocks to all that
    Agree - I also loathe the requirement of enforced wackiness on Red Nose day or Comic Relief. I understand its a good cause, and I'll donate, but don't look at me as if I'm evil if I decline to turn up wearing all red "for the bants". Just F Off.

The current advert for "imagine what a month without a hangover would feel like" really, really gets my goat. Self righteous gash and for me a pointless way to address a genuine problem of excessive drinking.

Finally, and unrelatedly, adverts on telly that use puppets. Get tae.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Agree with this.

The amount of folk in my work who go on about 'dry January' does my nut in. I'll have a drink when I fancy thanks.

"Dryathlon" is probably one of my least favourite words ever.

The term "bants" does my ****** head in, someone tries to be funny with you at work usually in front of other folk and then proclaim "it was just bants" when you pull them up for being a dick.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    The term "bants" does my ****** head in, someone tries to be funny with you at work usually in front of other folk and then proclaim "it was just bants" when you pull them up for being a dick.
    There should be a law that whenever anyone uses that word you are allowed to smash them square in the face without fear of reprisals