Page 38 of 474 FirstFirst ... 2836373839404888138 ... LastLast
Results 1,111 to 1,140 of 14214

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Probably already been touched upon in this thread, but nuisance calls seem to be as plentiful as ever, despite laws being introduced. For example, I read that companies, who cold call, now have to reveal their phone number. Some get round this by somehow transferring their number to a local number that tricks you into thinking it's an important call. Some companies appear as International on the display, but it turns out to be a wee lassie from Liverpool.
    Get one of these and say goodbye to nuisance calls.

http://home.bt.com/news/bt-life/putt...11363934197581

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post

I've heard of this phone and might go for it.

While I get seriously peed off with these calls, I find some of them quite funny. On one occasion when I didn't tell the caller to f-off, I let him continue. This Asian voice told me that the warranty on my telly was about to expire. Which telly is that, I asked. Silence, then, ....... Ah, the one in your living room. What make of telly is it, I asked .... Longer silence, then, ......... Eh, Zanussi! ...... f-off ya muppet!

The wee knobbly bit at the end of a banana.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    The wee knobbly bit at the end of a banana.
    Bill Clinton had the opposite problem.

@hibs.net private member goosano's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post

I was getting 5-10 nuisance calls a day and got his phone. I've had it for 3 months now and not a single nuisance call since

I quite like talking to these people and winding them up.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    If I have time and in the mood I do too, especially the ones who call with a distinctly sub-continent accent saying "Hello my name is Philip Smith calling from Windows". I'm either "Whit's wrang wi' ma windaes like - P+D an' that ken - all guid" or adopting a role as a southern Baptist Preacher claiming I will only deal with people who are saved and have been born again to Jee-sus. Ive had one pray with me, where we together requested of the almighty the good health of the sainted Franck and that the chirch of Hibernian thrives. He eventually left the call telling me to f*** off and, a bit oddly, that all my electricity would fail within three days.

If I'm in the mood I partake in this behaviour too, its oddly satisfying! :-)

The wee fannies who stay near me, that think it's perfectly acceptable to play football on the field outside my bedroom at half past midnight. Now can't sleep because I got so worked up banging the window in a fit of rage telling them to **** off.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Spellcheck.
    I spend more time changing words that have been changed automatically by spellcheck than the time I take to correct the words I actually spell wrong.
    The sicko that invented spellcheck must be the same guy that invented automatic indentation and numbering.
    He's a dead man if I ever find him.

Quote Originally Posted by #FromTheCapital View Post
    The wee fannies who stay near me, that think it's perfectly acceptable to play football on the field outside my bedroom at half past midnight. Now can't sleep because I got so worked up banging the window in a fit of rage telling them to **** off.
    This is the problem scottish football faces. Anytime young folk do make it outside for a jumpers for goalposts kick around there's usually a grumpy bassa banging on a window telling them to get back to their playstations and ipads

Tourists who have no perception of pavement/road/danger/traffic

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    fruit flies.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Tourists who have no perception of pavement/road/danger/traffic
    This drives me mad, would they walk out in front of cars in their own country?!

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Spellcheck.
    I spend more time changing words that have been changed automatically by spellcheck than the time I take to correct the words I actually spell wrong.
    The sicko that invented spellcheck must be the same guy that invented automatic indentation and numbering.
    He's a dead man if I ever find him.
    Aye, spellcheck's a pain in the arm right enough, but the guy that invented it died last week. His funfair was hello on Money.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    In short yes. Here in Germany for example pedestrians have right of way on most minor roads and crossings that aren't regulated by traffic lights.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    In short yes. Here in Germany for example pedestrians have right of way on most minor roads and crossings that aren't regulated by traffic lights.
    I remember when i first went to live in Dusseldorf negotiating the red and green man. Locals took a dim view of walking across the road if it was a red man. Also cars coming at you when its a green man can be a bit scary!

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Groups of 3-4 people walking along side-by-side, slow as ****, forcing me to walk around them. Or people standing in groups in busy streets. Generally just people being lacking self awareness and being obstructive does my nut in.

The tit that was eating a bowl of cereal while he was walking down the road this morning.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    Aye, spellcheck's a pain in the arm right enough, but the guy that invented it died last week. His funfair was hello on Money.
    Don't care if you Lee Wallace me. I have a strong alibi

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    The tit that was eating a bowl of cereal while he was walking down the road this morning.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    If I hadn't been taking the bairn to school I would have said something. Never in my life have I thought when I'm running late will I pour myself a bowl of cereal and eat it on the way.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Bellends who think it's acceptable in a public park (literally 100 yards away from a public golf course) to hammer golf balls into the area you're walking your dog in.

3 balls landed about 6ft away from me and the dug.

Fannies.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    Bellends who think it's acceptable in a public park (literally 100 yards away from a public golf course) to hammer golf balls into the area you're walking your dog in.

3 balls landed about 6ft away from me and the dug.

Fannies.
    Moving targets are more of a challenge.

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Moving targets are more of a challenge.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

Would you walk in front of traffic in a foreign country because you'd forgotten which way the traffic was coming from?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Would you walk in front of traffic in a foreign country because you'd forgotten which way the traffic was coming from?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
    No, I'm not that stupid

PSN ID: hibee-87
    No, I'm not that stupid
    You Might not be, but its easy done. Especially in amsterdam where I have looked the wrong way thinking its a clear road/path and had little bells furiously chime at me.......but i blame other things

No, I'm not that stupid
    What you have to remember is that, for a Brit, it's common for us to go abroad and be aware of the change in traffic directions. It's rare for us to travel and NOT have that to deal with.

For most nationalities, though, driving on the left is a very unusual experience... and it's very easy to forget about it if it's the first time you've experienced it.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    What you have to remember is that, for a Brit, it's common for us to go abroad and be aware of the change in traffic directions. It's rare for us to travel and NOT have that to deal with.

For most nationalities, though, driving on the left is a very unusual experience... and it's very easy to forget about it if it's the first time you've experienced it.
    I still do it all the time when abroad, it's just a natural reaction to look a certain way when crossing the road. Thankfully most tourists resorts have zebra crossing style systems at most junctions for idiots like me. When in a foreign city, I just make sure to cross at proper crossings.

United we stand here....