Page 37 of 474 FirstFirst ... 2735363738394787137 ... LastLast
Results 1,081 to 1,110 of 14211

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    The to$$ers working on the school behind my hoose using power tools since 0800! Its sunday ffs
    I think you'll find that's illegal. It's ok on a Saturday which is classed as a working day up to a point. Check with the council (good luck!).

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    I think you'll find that's illegal. It's ok on a Saturday which is classed as a working day up to a point. Check with the council (good luck!).
    Have had a wee word through the fence, going to work til 1200 and keep the tools down to a minimum. Doubt they were expexting a p'd off scotsman in deepest Hertfordshire!

Vodafone

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Just had a nice workman trying out his new pneumatic drill at five to eight this morning in the role of an unrequested alarm clock.
    If I was a braver man I would have got up and hit his snooze button - hard.

Any packaging that says "Pull or tear here" to open and when you do the tab just rips off or the plastic does not remove. This must be really awkward for elderly people/arthritic hands etc

People eating on TV. Especially when they go "mmmmmm that's great!" while eating.
    I didn't pay my licence fee to watch folk filling their faces and talking while they do it.

People eating on TV. Especially when they go "mmmmmm that's great!" while eating.
    I didn't pay my licence fee to watch folk filling their faces and talking while they do it.
    Good one. That and when they smack their lips when eating. Minging.

In fact doesn't need to be on tv doing that to irritate me. Why do you need to smack your lips when eating?!

Eating related, pictures of food on social media made worse by a "nom nom" caption. Why?

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Umbrellas, I've just walked home through what can't even be described as rain, more like mist, but everyone these days is scared of a wee bit water, means I'm having to dodge about like a ninja to avoid getting my eyes poked out by the spokes on these ****s brollies

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Electronic hotel room keys that can't go near your mobile for fear of being locked out .

H0t3L W1fI Pa55W0rD5.

Hotel wifi in general.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Umbrellas, I've just walked home through what can't even be described as rain, more like mist, but everyone these days is scared of a wee bit water, means I'm having to dodge about like a ninja to avoid getting my eyes poked out by the spokes on these ****s brollies
    When you have hair like mine, needs must 😂

People in a bus stop queue who get annoyed when I drive through a muckle big puddle and drench them.
    FFS, wear a diving suit if it bothers you.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    People in a bus stop queue who get annoyed when I drive through a muckle big puddle and drench them.
    FFS, wear a diving suit if it bothers you.

:Faf:

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    I'll say that for the tourists. They don't go in for brollies. They tramp the city doggedly with their hoods up.

It's our lot with the brollies.

When people call Dunfermline 'dunfy'

United we stand here....

The different pronounciations of Dalziel & Menzies

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    The different pronounciations of Dalziel & Menzies
    If you pronounce Menzies as Mingis you're doing it wrong. Quite obviously.

Shopping for furniture/carpets/curtains. I love my wife very much but on these I. Just. Don't. Care.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    If you pronounce Menzies as Mingis you're doing it wrong. Quite obviously.
    My auld Dad used to drive me nuts calling it John Meenises.
    WTF?

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    My auld Dad used to drive me nuts calling it John Meenises.
    WTF?
    the z represents an obsolete letter known as a yogh, from older versions of English and Scots. Which looked like this: Ȝ - it apparently had variations of a y sound. With the onset of printing, and with early printing machinery not having that letter available, printers used z or y to replace it. In most cases, pronunciation eventually followed, but a few words retained their original pronunciation, such as Menzies and Dalziel and Culzean. MacKenzie used to be pronounced Mackenyey (or something like that).

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    the z represents an obsolete letter known as a yogh, from older versions of English and Scots. Which looked like this: Ȝ - it apparently had variations of a y sound. With the onset of printing, and with early printing machinery not having that letter available, printers used z or y to replace it. In most cases, pronunciation eventually followed, but a few words retained their original pronunciation, such as Menzies and Dalziel and Culzean. MacKenzie used to be pronounced Mackenyey (or something like that).
    Tell that to the kids today and they won't believe you.
    (source: The 4 Yorkshiremen)

People making up their own 'traditions'.

Not content with destroying the face of the Greyfriars Bobby statue it now seems rubbing the toe of David Hume is also a 'tradition' and lo and behold the whole foot has become discoloured.

I've lived in Edinburgh almost my whole life and had never heard of this nonsense until the effects of what is essentially vandalism became apparent.

Probably already been touched upon in this thread, but nuisance calls seem to be as plentiful as ever, despite laws being introduced. For example, I read that companies, who cold call, now have to reveal their phone number. Some get round this by somehow transferring their number to a local number that tricks you into thinking it's an important call. Some companies appear as International on the display, but it turns out to be a wee lassie from Liverpool.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Obvious spelling mistakes in thread titles on the MB not being corrected

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Obvious spelling mistakes in thread titles on the MB not being corrected
    There's an advert in the window of Scotmid on Easter Road advertising vacancies for "Shift Supervisor ,s".

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    There's an advert in the window of Scotmid on Easter Road advertising vacancies for "Shift Supervisor ,s".
    Did you see the person who was charging their electric car from the first floor flat on the other side of the road? Only in Leith

United we stand here....

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Social media videos proclaiming to show events that they clearly are not with the intention of causing racial tension. No different to 1930's Nazi propaganda.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Did you see the person who was charging their electric car from the first floor flat on the other side of the road? Only in Leith
    I trust both the car and the culprit were charged.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    I trust both the car and the culprit were charged.
    Ha ha.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    Cheers for that.

Very interesting :