View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 984 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 484884934974982983984985986994103410841484 ... LastLast
Results 29,491 to 29,520 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyM_1875 View Post
    Correct. They do owe the tax man both in respect of VAT and the Wee Tax Case which is a share option thing from 2000-2003 used against the contracts of two players. Minus HMRC's penalties in total they owe about £9m.

The BTC is HMRC chasing a precedent they can use to chase other Companies for backdated taxes although right now the Tax man is 0-2 down and it's not exactly looking hopeful for them.
    Even if what the Old Huns did is eventually declared mostly legal by tenuous loophole, they still pursued an immoral policy of aggressive tax avoidance that HMRC is obliged to go after. Therefore they laid themselves open to everything that came to them. They tried to fund overspending by ripping off the rest of us (taxpayers).

So no sympathy for the *******s!

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Even if what the Old Huns did is eventually declared mostly legal by tenuous loophole, they still pursued an immoral policy of aggressive tax avoidance that HMRC is obliged to go after. Therefore they laid themselves open to everything that came to them. They tried to fund overspending by ripping off the rest of us (taxpayers).

So no sympathy for the *******s!
    Rangers get no sympathy from me (horrible club) but there is nothing tenuous about what they did. It was legal and no amounts of spoofery and fake outrage from unqualified muppets like Mad Phil changes that.
    It is the alleged bungled application of it by Rangers that is the issue on the BTC and right now the Tax Man is losing 0-2.

Whether or not Tax Avoidance (itself not a crime) is immoral is another debate entirely and not really relevant as there isn't any shortage of companies in the UK that will not seek to reduce tax liability if they have the option and if it is possible and legal.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Rangers get no sympathy from me (horrible club) but there is nothing tenuous about what they did. It was legal and no amounts of spoofery and fake outrage from unqualified muppets like Mad Phil changes that.
    It is the alleged bungled application of it by Rangers that is the issue on the BTC and right now the Tax Man is losing 0-2.

Whether or not Tax Avoidance (itself not a crime) is immoral is another debate entirely and not really relevant as there isn't any shortage of companies in the UK that will not seek to reduce tax liability if they have the option and if it is possible and legal.
    The wee tax case was ruled illegal and the side letters were against the rules of Football.

Remember the old club did get found guilty for some cases just not the "big one". So they were guilt of not paying tax and used that to their advantage. Don't fall for the "victims" spin put out by the MSM.

Edit See Ozzy has beaten me to my comments. Glad I am not the only way who thinks like that.
    Last edited by PatHead; 02-10-2015 at 11:00 AM.

https://johnjamessite.wordpress.com/...e-in-the-park/

If it wasn't tenuous, HMRC wouldn't have been able to bring a claim in the first place. If you're going to play that far on the edge of the law, then you need deep pockets in case you have to defend yourself.

Which the Old Huns didn't have. Ha ha.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Remember the old club did get found guilty for some cases just not the "big one". So they were guilt of not paying tax and used that to their advantage. Don't fall for the "victims" spin put out by the MSM.

Edit See Ozzy has beaten me to my comments. Glad I am not the only way who thinks like that.
    My point was in relation to the BTC, the Tax Avoidance scheme. The wee Tax case isn't even up for debate. They owe on that.

I'm not interested in spin of any sort whether its the "we need Rangers" drivel from the compliant lackeys in the MSM and certainly not the tear stained, spittle fuelled, outbursts of utter futility from Phil, Clumpany & the various other Sellik minded simpletons.

I like my information untainted & factual which is why I enjoy CWG's posts on this thread.

Slurp!

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    My point was in relation to the BTC, the Tax Avoidance scheme. The wee Tax case isn't even up for debate. They owe on that.

I'm not interested in spin of any sort whether its the "we need Rangers" drivel from the compliant lackeys in the MSM and certainly not the tear stained, spittle fuelled, outbursts of utter futility from Phil, Clumpany & the various other Sellik minded simpletons.

Much as I appreciate CWGs posts I don't think they have the same coverage as the bloggers you mention, and with the continual highlighting of the inconsistencies of 2012 events the court case may never have got going. The msm were never going to raise it.

BDO got away with their dishonest scam when they confirmed Hearts CVA because nobody, out with few posters on here , were interested.

Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post
    Much as I appreciate CWGs posts I don't think they have the same coverage as the bloggers you mention, and with the continual highlighting of the inconsistencies of 2012 events the court case may never have got going. The msm were never going to raise it.
    I'd perhaps pay attention to these bloggers and not treat them with contempt if they didn't come out with outright lies and I hadn't realized long ago that they were trying to sell me something.

https://audioboom.com/boos/3626056-t...source=twitter

Worth a listen

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    If it wasn't tenuous, HMRC wouldn't have been able to bring a claim in the first place. If you're going to play that far on the edge of the law, then you need deep pockets in case you have to defend yourself.

Which the Old Huns didn't have. Ha ha.
    Not commenting on the Rangers case, but HMRC dines out on tenuous claims. Unlike a legal court with an HMRC charge there is no presumption of innocence. You are guilty until you prove otherwise. As most people have neither the means or sophistication to fight this over the long term HRMC coins it in tenuous claims.

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar

Untainted & factual - while some are blindsided by "outbursts" from individuals they dinnae like, the big picture goin back a long time is that 2 & ONLY 2, teams in Scotland used devious means to gain advantage against ALL teams in Scotland, but the one that sticks wi me is all the savs & huns times getting above Hibs, but, whoever the individual & whatever their main leanings, the fact that said savs & huns beat my team, namely Hibernian FC, in leagues & cups, while ILLEGALLY doing so financially, (while my team suffered defeats but followed the law & guidelines) means that anyone, regardless wether I respect them from afore cos they were good, but if your sticking up for the the's or the savs sorry but thats not my cup of tea. They want their "history" but they don't want mention of how it's tainted? Sorry. It's tainted.

Quote Originally Posted by majorhibs View Post
    Untainted & factual - while some are blindsided by "outbursts" from individuals they dinnae like, the big picture goin back a long time is that 2 & ONLY 2, teams in Scotland used devious means to gain advantage against ALL teams in Scotland, but the one that sticks wi me is all the savs & huns times getting above Hibs, but, whoever the individual & whatever their main leanings, the fact that said savs & huns beat my team, namely Hibernian FC, in leagues & cups, while ILLEGALLY doing so financially, (while my team suffered defeats but followed the law & guidelines) means that anyone, regardless wether I respect them from afore cos they were good, but if your sticking up for the the's or the savs sorry but thats not my cup of tea. They want their "history" but they don't want mention of how it's tainted? Sorry. It's tainted.
    Pass the hatstand, Mildred.

Quote Originally Posted by hctroubador View Post
    Not commenting on the Rangers case, but HMRC dines out on tenuous claims. Unlike a legal court with an HMRC charge there is no presumption of innocence. You are guilty until you prove otherwise. As most people have neither the means or sophistication to fight this over the long term HRMC coins it in tenuous claims.
    Absolutely, nothing to do with football but this is my personal bitter experience of them

@hibs.net private member Libby Hibby's Avatar
    Add in to the fact that the players involved had to sign 2 contracts, one for the EBT's and one to comply with SFA rules...Ogilvie served on the RFC board and the on the SFA at the same time, directly making the SFA aware of what was going on...and they say FIFA is corrupt???

Quote Originally Posted by Kaff View Post
    Absolutely, nothing to do with football but this is my personal bitter experience of them
    I'd agree with that :)

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by majorhibs View Post
    Wouldn't you add Dundee, Gretna and (with particular reference to Hibs ) Livi to that list?

https://johnjamessite.wordpress.com/...ning-on-fumes/

Money running out?

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

Money running out?

if his numbers are right then someone needs to bail them out or they doomef again!!!

Money running out?

if his numbers are right then someone needs to bail them out or they doomed again!!!

https://johnjamessite.wordpress.com/...ertible-facts/

Here are his numbers.

Money running out?

I will believe that only when it happens, they have more lives than a cat.

Here are his numbers.

He starts off slagging Phil for having no legitimacy to his claims, and then makes assertions of his own which would require inside information of an extremely detailed nature. He may well have that, of course.

However, he then blows his "incontrovertible" claims out of the water by making a complete pig's ear of the question of VAT.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    He starts off slagging Phil for having no legitimacy to his claims, and then makes assertions of his own which would require inside information of an extremely detailed nature. He may well have that, of course.

However, he then blows his "incontrovertible" claims out of the water by making a complete pig's ear of the question of VAT.
    VAT was their downfall the last time wasn't it?

Maybe they've still not got to grips with it!
    Space to let

Here are his numbers.

He seems to think the 13-14 revenue includes the share issue and Ashley loan. I think that's wrong and that the projected loss for this season should be around £4 million. It's still a serious problem for them, but doesn't indicate that the cash will run out this month.

Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    He seems to think the 13-14 revenue includes the share issue and Ashley loan. I think that's wrong and that the projected loss for this season should be around £4 million. It's still a serious problem for them, but doesn't indicate that the cash will run out this month.
    The share money he is talking about is the loans from the 3 bears. Not sure what year that was though.

Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    Yeah, I picked up on that, too. By that time, his incontrovertible evidence was shot to bits and my eyes were glazing over.

The other thing worth bearing in mind is that the VAT should still be included in the cash flow. Albeit, at some stage, it has to be paid over to HMRC, it doesn't mean that they will. As in the previous situation, non-payment of VAT and PAYE can be used to buy time.

The share money he is talking about is the loans from the 3 bears. Not sure what year that was though.

He seems to be saying that it is income, though. Ie that it counts towards profit.

I don't think finances are his speciality.