Only thing worse is when you get a pint served in a glass not long out the glass washer that hasn't been dried properly.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Head on the beer just dies and you get bar staff standing looking confused when you complain about it, it's not difficult to work out what's happened.
Thread: Pet Peeves IV
-
30-08-2015 08:02 PM #751PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
30-08-2015 08:08 PM #752This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Or when (and I don't know why it happens) your drink is served in a glass that smells like a damp dog.
-
30-08-2015 08:15 PM #753
******* lorry drivers who fill their tanks so full that they leave a diesel slick on every roundabout. Total nightmare for bikers. Rode through Glenrothes this morning on the way to work and every roundabout was covered
-
30-08-2015 08:37 PM #754This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-08-2015 10:58 PM #755This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-08-2015 05:48 AM #756This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
https://www.question.com/why-my-clea...wet-95373.html
https://answers.yahoo.com/question/i...1045605AAihfdU
-
31-08-2015 09:30 AM #757
Getting to the end of an online booking and clicking submit then the system crashing or timing out!
-
31-08-2015 10:38 AM #758
-
31-08-2015 09:11 PM #759This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
We went to Edinburgh zoo today. What a disappointment.
So many animals missing since I was young. Camels, giraffes, polar bears, seals, sea lions, elephants, etc. Are they all extinct? On the bright side we were treated to a host of mechanical dinosaurs who no doubt are cheaper to feed.
Alas, the wee train that took you to the top of the hill is deceased.
To crown it all they include a 'volentary' donation to the quoted entry fee in the hope that you will be too embarrassed to say that you don't want to pay it.
Certainly my last visit to this sadly depleted menagerie.Last edited by snooky; 31-08-2015 at 09:16 PM.
-
31-08-2015 10:50 PM #760
I don't drink alcohol anymore and it really irritates when I'm out and I'm told "Oh, you're no fun" when I don't drink. I have a laugh with everyone else, I have as good a night as I ever did when I did drink, I can give people a lift home, I don't get a hangover and I don't feel miserable the next day from the boozy blues. I have a really good Saturday night and my Sunday isn't ruined, everyone else in the group has a few pints and has a really good night, where's the hassle?
Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction
-
01-09-2015 08:13 AM #761
How did her discipline go?
-
01-09-2015 08:42 AM #762This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
01-09-2015 10:24 AM #763This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think the washing and drying process is usually responsible for the "wet dog" smell also. In my experience, it's usually most obvious when someone has left glasses in the washer for a period of time and they've been sitting in an unclean steam fog, or when the glass is taken straight from the washer after the cycle finishes. The best washers rinse glasses with cold water after the washing cycle finishes and allow the tray to be removed completely from the machine to air somewhere appropriate.
Of course, solving these issues requires a pub with lots of space, the right washer, experienced bar staff and enough of each type of glass to cope when the pub gets extremely busy. There's not too many of those around.
-
03-09-2015 10:31 PM #764
What is it with grown women on Facebook telling each other how "gawjus" they are?? WTF?? Is Ali G writing dictionaries these days???
-
-
04-09-2015 09:25 AM #766
The use of the word "dystopian".
It seems that it is the new word to use to show that you're intelligent. Every other review in the Festival used the word. Even the review of Lanark (which was brilliant, by the way) used it twice in the same freaking paragraph.
I'd also mention the word "narrative", but Limmy has that covered....
-
04-09-2015 09:32 AM #767
-
04-09-2015 02:03 PM #768This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's an American company which is taking off over here. They use Sales Reps to both sell products and recruit others to do the same. You get a cut of whatever you sell and of whatever is sold by someone you've recruited. The result is essentially a gigantic pyramid scam with folk selling to their friends and relatives, some of whom feel obliged to buy to support the person in their new venture.
That alone doesn't necessarily bother me, but the products are massively overpriced IMO and the whole sales rhetoric is based around selling to people you know, which I think puts those people in an awkward situation - especially when multiple friends are doing it.
I know this type of thing has been around for a while in different forms and usually dies off quite quickly, but I think the combination of targeting people you know, mixed with the pervasiveness of Facebook, has meant this is easier for people to front whilst putting in very little actual effort.
There may be some people who genuinely like the products, can't buy similar elsewhere for cheaper and believe they are, therefore, worth the price. However, I think this will be a tiny minority and it basically boils down to people asking their friends and family for money, of which numerous other people are actually getting a cut.
-
04-09-2015 02:15 PM #769
-
04-09-2015 02:31 PM #770
I'm not on FB etc but, I just cannae get my head round the numerous begging websites out there (gofundme etc), I doubt I could start asking strangers for dough, whatever it was for. Wouldnae sit well with me at all.
Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 04-09-2015 at 02:33 PM.
-
04-09-2015 02:57 PM #771
Jamie Oliver. Just **** off.
-
04-09-2015 03:10 PM #772This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-09-2015 03:43 PM #773
-
04-09-2015 05:42 PM #774
Cash Machines.
If the first menu gives me the option of checking my balance or getting a receipt with my cash, and I select cash only, why the hell does it then ask me again if I want to check my balance and if I want a receipt before giving me my money? If I wanted either of those things I would have said yes the first time.
-
04-09-2015 08:07 PM #775This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Checking your balance? Do it online. Topping up your phone? Do it online. Have 3 cards? Do your financial management at home.
45 seconds max at a cash machine. Any longer and you're either a dithering pensioner or taking the piss.
-
04-09-2015 08:30 PM #776This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuotePM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
04-09-2015 09:11 PM #777
-
05-09-2015 03:04 PM #778This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-09-2015 03:52 PM #779This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-09-2015 05:53 PM #780
People who think the parking space outside their house on a public highway belongs to them.