View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 959 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 459859909949957958959960961969100910591459 ... LastLast
Results 28,741 to 28,770 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by Cropley10 View Post
    Wasn't it reported, glowingly, that King was going to "over-invest" to make sure they're competitive in the top flight though??

Bit strange. What's happened to the war chest??

Sent from a phone
    Nobody gave him any of their money to invest.
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Nobody gave him any of their money to invest.
    A bit harsh surely? The orcs welcomed the latest multi millionaire messiah and you could say he has already over invested, assuming he is personally funding their three recent signings to the tune of several million each.

I hope it never dawns on them that king has no track record of parting with his own money on "ventures" like the new boys. Still at least he seems to be a the rangers man.
    Last edited by Bostonhibby; 09-07-2015 at 09:50 AM.

[QUOTE=brog;4409683]
    Quote Originally Posted by Gettin' Auld View Post
    I found this after a wee search - From someone who attended day 1 of the appeal.

Ghosh, well done!! Have the MSM picked up on this? I'm in London but don't see anything in DR today.
    Probably because the guy's saying the previous decision was wrong - and if the decision is over-turned, you STILL won't read it in the 'Daily R*tard' !

[QUOTE=Deansy;4410119]
    Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post

Probably because the guy's saying the previous decision was wrong - and if the decision is over-turned, you STILL won't read it in the 'Daily R*tard' !
    The relevant points have been reported in the media.
    Last edited by marinello59; 09-07-2015 at 10:34 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    A bit harsh surely? The orcs welcomed the latest multi millionaire messiah and you could say he has already over invested, assuming he is personally funding their three recent signings to the tune of several million each.

I hope it never dawns on them that king has no track record of parting with his own money on "ventures" like the new boys. Still at least he seems to be a the rangers man.
    TBF it seems he did part with £20m to them previously and had his fingers severely burned to the tune of around £18m! Considerably more than he's currently worth apparently.

Part of me is thinking his plan was to recoup this loss by milking sevco for all they're worth.

Not getting promotion scuppered that plan and he's now desperately seeking plan B without [comparatively speaking] a bolt to his name.

TBF it seems he did part with £20m to them previously and had his fingers severely burned to the tune of around £18m! Considerably more than he's currently worth apparently.

Part of me is thinking his plan was to recoup this loss by milking sevco for all they're worth.

Not getting promotion scuppered that plan and he's now desperately seeking plan B without [comparatively speaking] a bolt to his name.
    Yep. He will likely be after recovering his losses rather than "over investing" this is a guy with a proven record of keeping his money close.

Weren't there questions raised previously as to whether King really had invested, or lost, £20M?

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Weren't there questions raised previously as to whether King really had invested, or lost, £20M?
    I think he's on the list of creditors published by BDO. That says to me that they have accepted his claim.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I think he's on the list of creditors published by BDO. That says to me that they have accepted his claim.

Possibly, but it doesn't actually answer my question.

Accountants? Pah!

Possibly, but it doesn't actually answer my question.

Accountants? Pah!

If they've accepted his claim, it means that he has been able to show that he did invest the £20m.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    If they've accepted his claim, it means that he has been able to show that he did invest the £20m.
    How do you define "invest"?

Would that purely relate to "shares" or "loans", rather than straight cash "gift" to improve playing squad?
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Probably tried to write the loss off to tax - in South Africa naturally......................

Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    How do you define "invest"?

Would that purely relate to "shares" or "loans", rather than straight cash "gift" to improve playing squad?
    If BDO are including him as a creditor... which seems to be the general opinion in the mainstream and social media.... it means that he gave them a loan. If he took shares in the company, he wouldn't be getting that money back. If he gave them a gift, he wouldn't get it back either.

It's a very strange one. I don't think a list of creditors has been issued since Duff & Phelps did so in 2012. Neither King nor his company Ben Nevis appeared on that list. However, as you say & based on reports in the MSM it appears King's claim that he loaned David Murray £20m some 14 years ago has been accepted & he's now the 3rd largest creditor behind HMRC & Ticketus.
    Just how he was added to the list is the real mystery & way beyond my knowledge of insolvency but the arrest of 3 Duff & Phelps employees & the multi million payment by Whyte's lawyers may not be coincidental!

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    It's a very strange one. I don't think a list of creditors has been issued since Duff & Phelps did so in 2012. Neither King nor his company Ben Nevis appeared on that list. However, as you say & based on reports in the MSM it appears King's claim that he loaned David Murray £20m some 14 years ago has been accepted & he's now the 3rd largest creditor behind HMRC & Ticketus.
    Just how he was added to the list is the real mystery & way beyond my knowledge of insolvency but the arrest of 3 Duff & Phelps employees & the multi million payment by Whyte's lawyers may not be coincidental!
    It had always been my assumption (based on nothing more than .... well, nothing actually ) that the famous £20m was for shares. That is, until the social media guys started on about the £1.4m that he's supposedly getting back.

Perhaps I have fallen into the old trap of believing that those who say they're ITK are actually ITK. To be fair, nobody with any authority has actually said he's getting any money back..... and the supposed dividend has become one of those internet myths.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 09-07-2015 at 03:03 PM.

Any updates regarding the appeal?

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs07p View Post
    Any updates regarding the appeal?

Day 2 summary here

http://www.sfm.scot/hmrc-vs-mgh/?cid=59607

Quote Originally Posted by bringbackbenny View Post
    Thanks for the link, but as clear as mud. My own biased opinion is that they ****ed over HMRC, FWIW.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    http://m.heraldscotland.com/news/134...ne/?ref=twtrec

One of the reasons they are skint is that they now have no retail income.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

that was a very pleasing read that link, thanks for posting it - shows how much of a shambles they are

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

Interesting Article ,and indicates King hasn't managed to renegotiate very much and nothing to bring in
    more money from the Retail side of things Club Crest ,Emblems Aye Ready, all nicely stitched up by Ashley

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    Interesting Article ,and indicates King hasn't managed to renegotiate very much and nothing to bring in
    more money from the Retail side of things Club Crest ,Emblems Aye Ready, all nicely stitched up by Ashley

is it true that the club motto, 'Aye Ready', it to be replaced with a new one, 'Aye, Right!' ?

"Nae readies"?

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    "Nae readies"?

Quote Originally Posted by AlbertK86 View Post
    Express shocker..... headline doesn't reflect the facts.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Express shocker..... headline doesn't reflect the facts.
    We may not be Real Madrid Mr Warburton however, we HAVE beaten Real Madrid.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.co...s-on-1-3564916

Oldco on the other hand have a record defeat.

http://www.worldfootball.net/teams/r...eal-madrid/11/
    Last edited by Spike Mandela; 19-07-2015 at 07:57 AM.

Mind games mind games!

I fully expect the west coast media to up the ante big time as the week goes on regarding Scott Allan and potential moves away from HIBS!

Anything to try and disrupt our preparations leading up to Der Hun game!

He didn't like the reaction to it? That'll be from the fans and media that witnessed hibs dismantle the Hun multiple times last season and they've seen hee haw yet to suggest their gonna be any better this year, while we're (IMO) a little stronger and a year further on together.

Nail it to the wall. Show these weegie *******5 Real Madrid.

The one thing I agree with him on is that it's an ideal game for both teams preparations for the season. However, I really hope we beat them, again. Not only that, that we completely play them off the park. Again. Would then play the youngsters for rest of petrofac cup.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    We may not be Real Madrid Mr Warburton however, we HAVE beaten Real Madrid.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.co...s-on-1-3564916

Oldco on the other hand have a record defeat.

http://www.worldfootball.net/teams/r...eal-madrid/11/

...and we are Rangers Football Club.... er, well erm, slighty awkward Mark...you do realise you are not ACTUALLY Rangers Football Club don't you?? They were liquidated