View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 954 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 454854904944952953954955956964100410541454 ... LastLast
Results 28,591 to 28,620 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    The Daily Mail could well have just lifted the story from Philmac.The worst that could happen is that they just have to say the story was wrong.Why would they be having "secret "negotiations when Rangers have been shouting for weeks that they want a better deal and Ashley has told them how to get it.

They can't just say the story is wrong, if its not wrong. Ashley could prove otherwise if it was'nt wrong.

The story is not that " they " were having secret negotiations , it is " he " , King who went behind the other directors backs.

Here is another haver/blog from Philmac.

http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/now-the-spin-begins/

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    The Daily Mail could well have just lifted the story from Philmac.The worst that could happen is that they just have to say the story was wrong.Why would they be having "secret "negotiations when Rangers have been shouting for weeks that they want a better deal and Ashley has told them how to get it.
    The fact that hard man King has gone cap in hand to Ashley will not go down well with the peepul has importance. It just reinforces how Donald Ducked and impotent rather than important they actually are.

Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post

Here is another haver/blog from Philmac.

http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/now-the-spin-begins/

Any chance you could summarize it?

I can't stand reading his Blogs as he comes over as so far up his own ar5e that he looks at the world from behind his teeth.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post

I can't stand reading his Blogs as he comes over as so far up his own ar5e that he looks at the world from behind his teeth.
    It's basically what you said in 300 or so words.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post

Basically he says, at last somebody in the media confirms the meeting took place but has spun it as King confronting Ashley to get a better retail deal.

Also points out the Mail article omits any mention of the other directors being aware or unaware of the meeting and no mention of King offering to sell his shares to Ashley.

About 1000 words in Phil's unique style of haver. Speed reading would be a great help to get through his bumph !

I quite enjoy his style.

He knows he is irritating ad nauseam and revels in it because he is generally right

Anything that ruffles the peepuls feathers is OK by me!!

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    So Phil is 3 things
    A. Pretty good at the investigative side of journalism and has good sources.
    B. Terrible writer.
    And
    C. A complete roaster

That's where I'm at with him.

With Mark Warburton looking annoyingly competent so far, I am now very interested in the possibility of a total meltdown at boardroom level.

The Rangers are currently taking season ticket money so cash flow must be quite healthy, and they need to sign players to try and sell as many STs as possible.

But they are still a loss making business and will burn through that cash pretty quick. Then what?

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    With Mark Warburton looking annoyingly competent so far, I am now very interested in the possibility of a total meltdown at boardroom level.

The Rangers are currently taking season ticket money so cash flow must be quite healthy, and they need to sign players to try and sell as many STs as possible.

But they are still a loss making business and will burn through that cash pretty quick. Then what?

Ibrox payday today, last Thursday of the month.

First £70 k of season ticket money goes to pay the gardener.

Ibrox payday today, last Thursday of the month.

First £70 k of season ticket money goes to pay the gardener.
    Ken. But they won't go bust before the summer ends.

On current form, though, they can't possibly last until the end of the season unless they sell out Ibrox or find some fresh investment from somewhere.

I can't believe that Warburton didn't seek assurances about this, but if King has the money why doesn't he just pay back the MASH loan? Doesn't make sense to me at all.

Quote Originally Posted by AndyM_1875 View Post
    He gives his audience what they want just like the tabloids do.

He was right that King met Ashley. He then went on a flight of fancy about what Ashley thinks and what King apparently did. In truth he has absolutely no idea but that's typical of him. He gets one thing right and then makes it all up as he goes along. You can usually tell when he begins a sentence with "I am hearing..." or "My sources tell me ...." that it's absolute garbage.

The tabloid MSM have their audience (newspaper buying weegies generally over 40) and Phil has his (conspiracy theorist Sellik minded fruitcakes).

Believe neither.
    It's not really a question of who to believe though is it? If you choose to believe nothing then you are wasting your time reading anything at all. I prefer to read both sides, dismiss what I see as nonsense, add some common sense and logic and come to my own view of what is probably the truth. Just like is Phil is doing in fact if he does not have a source........ (though I think he probably does)

@hibs.net private member Stonewall's Avatar
    Ken. But they won't go bust before the summer ends.

On current form, though, they can't possibly last until the end of the season unless they sell out Ibrox or find some fresh investment from somewhere.

I can't believe that Warburton didn't seek assurances about this, but if King has the money why doesn't he just pay back the MASH loan? Doesn't make sense to me at all.
    All I can think is that if he pays back the 5 million he's still left with the problem of the disadvantageous retail contract. I presume he wants to renegotiate the whole relationship with Ashley. The threat of non-repayment of the loan, along with the bears refusal to buy merchandise, are the only bargaining tools he has.

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stonewall View Post
    All I can think is that if he pays back the 5 million he's still left with the problem of the disadvantageous retail contract. I presume he wants to renegotiate the whole relationship with Ashley. The threat of non-repayment of the loan, along with the bears refusal to buy merchandise, are the only bargaining tools he has.
    Exactly the situation, despite talks of boycotts your average The Rangers supporter is too set in their ways not to continue to buy merchandise.

Wouldn't surprise me if Ashley kept at this until at least the season started, when most merchandise sales were made by, and then came to an agreement which involved Rangers paying off the £5m and handing him another wedge to change the contract terms.

The present The Rangers board think they are oh so clever playing this game with Ashley, but he will be the only winner out of this, they will need to show something to the hordes to show their "power" but the real deal and the one they claim to have achieved will be light years apart.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BSEJVT View Post
    Exactly the situation, despite talks of boycotts your average The Rangers supporter is too set in their ways not to continue to buy merchandise.

Wouldn't surprise me if Ashley kept at this until at least the season started, when most merchandise sales were made by, and then came to an agreement which involved Rangers paying off the £5m and handing him another wedge to change the contract terms.

The present The Rangers board think they are oh so clever playing this game with Ashley, but he will be the only winner out of this, they will need to show something to the hordes to show their "power" but the real deal and the one they claim to have achieved will be light years apart.
    A boycott does not affect Ashley as SD get paid by new Rangers for any unsold stock.
    I don't think Ashley will concede an inch.

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    It's not really a question of who to believe though is it? If you choose to believe nothing then you are wasting your time reading anything at all. I prefer to read both sides, dismiss what I see as nonsense, add some common sense and logic and come to my own view of what is probably the truth. Just like is Phil is doing in fact if he does not have a source........ (though I think he probably does)
    I said believe neither, not believe nothing. My approach isn't very different from yours. I'll no more believe anything he says than what is rightly referred to on here as "Level5's propaganda of shiny happy stories from Ibrox".

Any story concerning Rangers is to be approached with bull*** detectors on full power regardless of who it's coming from. But I won't apologise for refusing to take as fact anything Phil says because he is an tedious axe grinder, occasional bigot, atrocious writer and basically a complete fanny. If he told me it was raining I'd go outside just to check.
    Last edited by AndyM_1875; 25-06-2015 at 08:34 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Stonewall View Post
    Just a guess, but if he wanted to renegotiate terms with Ashley, maybe King shouldn't have been a pr*** about chucking Ashley's men off the Board?

2 things about Ashley - he's massively wealthy, and he doesn't seem bothered by public opinion. I think King's chances of renegotiating are somewhere between zip and none.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Love reading Phil's stuff and love somebody posting it on here as it always makes me chuckle that andy M 1875 can't let it pass without comment. When Phil gets something right it just makes andy even more furious ha ha.

Only teasing Andy ;-)

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    So Phil is 3 things
    A. Pretty good at the investigative side of journalism and has good sources.
    B. Terrible writer.
    And
    C. A complete roaster

That's where I'm at with him.
    A neat summary.

Looks like Philmac. was on the money with the King/Ashley pow-wow the day of the GM.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...tail-deal.html
    Is King in Handcuffs at this meeting? Thats a caption competition photo if every I have seen one

There is still somethign about Richard Gough that annoys me, even as a kid I didn't like him!

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Love reading Phil's stuff and love somebody posting it on here as it always makes me chuckle that andy M 1875 can't let it pass without comment. When Phil gets something right it just makes andy even more furious ha ha.

Only teasing Andy ;-)

Looks like Ian Cathro the wonder coach who quit Valencia ( according to the weegie rags ) to be available should Sevco require his genius has actually joined Mike Ashley's big team.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/33243251

Looks like Ian Cathro the wonder coach who quit Valencia ( according to the weegie rags ) to be available should Sevco require his genius has actually joined Mike Ashley's big team.

Could he be going to The Rangers on loan at Christmas?

They are going to be forced to rent him for £5m at the next transfer window but they will have to instantly loan him back to Newcastle. The team formerly known as Glasgow rangers will be paying his wages.

He probably failed the fat and protestant person test, or refused to take it.

Did anyone hear Warburtons interview tonight? Jeez- 5 mins in the door & he's a true BS blue nose..

Quote Originally Posted by Swedish hibee View Post
    Did anyone hear Warburtons interview tonight? Jeez- 5 mins in the door & he's a true BS blue nose..
    nope, but I did hear that the huns think he's the best thing since sliced bread

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    nope, but I did hear that the huns think he's the best thing since sliced bread
    So was Super Swally just toast now !

Apparently the New Huns are on the verge of signing the new Dani Alves!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...gers-move.html

Who's just been released by Donaster Rovers ...

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Apparently the New Huns are on the verge of signing the new Dani Alves!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...gers-move.html

Who's just been released by Donaster Rovers ...
    Didn't we sign the new Roberto Carlos once?

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Didn't we sign the new Roberto Carlos once?
    No, it was the Gambian Roberto Carlos