18 months since Pet Peeves III.
The fitba' season's over so here's PP-IV prescribed as a wee bit therapy for us moaners until the new season starts.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
I hate when temporary roadwork signs are left up when they are not required.
e.g.
"Temp traffic lights ahead" -> None. They're gone and so has the workforce.
"One lane only" -> Maybe I can't count but the two lanes were open for the following 5 miles.
"Accident ahead" -> Correct for the day before maybe but not today.
etc.
Thread: Pet Peeves IV
-
04-06-2015 05:19 PM #1
Pet Peeves IV
-
04-06-2015 06:27 PM #2
"Literally"...**** me I hate the invalid use of that word...
Teenagers starting next to everything with "So,".Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.
-
-
-
04-06-2015 07:00 PM #5
People who wear jackets over suits but the jacket is shorter and the bottom of the suit jacket hangs down!
-
04-06-2015 07:09 PM #6
People on a busy street (usually tourists or old folk) walking in front of you and coming to a sudden halt as if they are the only ones on the street.
Ignorant twats.PERSEVERE
Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
To not give up.
To go the distance.
To stop at nothing.
-
04-06-2015 07:34 PM #7
People who cant use escalators correctly. It aint hard. Stand on the right, walk on the left!
-
04-06-2015 07:49 PM #8
People who say "You either love me or hate me" when describing themselves.
I'm pretty sure I'm going to hate you.
Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction
-
04-06-2015 07:51 PM #9
Also, pulled pork. I don't want pulled pork, I want joined up pork you jump-on-any-bandwagon prick.
Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction
-
04-06-2015 08:14 PM #10
Young folk in the office who say "are you coming for drinks?" No I am not, I am either going to the pub/going for a few pints/going for a pish up or even going on a night out but never, never for bloody "drinks"!!
-
04-06-2015 08:21 PM #11This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
WTF.
-
04-06-2015 08:24 PM #12This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Chronic, Gordon Gecko wannabe ********s
-
04-06-2015 08:58 PM #13This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Fastening the bottom buttons on a waist coat
Buttoning a suit jacket when wearing a waistcoat
Brown belt/black shoes black belt/brown shoes
Buttoning a jacket when sitting down
Black shirt/back suit
Those horrible shiny grey Topman suits (not a price snob comment, you can buy a decent charcoal grey suit from Slaters for less than one of said Topman suits)
Using a Windsor knot with a narrow collared shirtPM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
04-06-2015 09:37 PM #14
Bus lane erseholes who don't realise they can be used at certain times if displayed as such.
-
04-06-2015 09:56 PM #15
Adults who press the traffic light button at the side of a road but cross the road before the light goes to red as they can see there is no traffic. The light then goes to red just as a car approaches and then you're sitting at traffic lights for a number of seconds for absolutely no reason, meanwhile you see the pedestrian going on their merry way down the other side of the street.
If you're old enough to cross the road without assistance, then don't press for the traffic lights to go red if you can see there is no traffic coming and you're just going to cross the road anyway!
-
-
04-06-2015 10:23 PM #17This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
On a similar point, I also cringe when I see people write words which have an "s" on the end and write it down with an apostrophe before the "s".
For example, writing "Hibs" as "Hib's".
-
04-06-2015 10:47 PM #18
Also:
People (usually elderly) who march straight to the front of a bus queue.
People in casinos (usually drunk vanity muscular lads) who sit at a table with no idea how to play the game (usually 3 card poker or blackjack) but then comment on everything everyone else does.
The way some women seem to lose all manners between about 8 months into pregnancy and their child turning 3. If I step off the pavement to let you past with a pram, hold a door for you or help you lift a buggy off a bus when you are struggling an acknowledgement would be appreciated.
Men who make a big thing about 'not being a typical guy' to try and pump birds thus proving they are in fact a 'typical guy'.
People who pass comment on the drink you order in a bar. Yes I'm aware there are many fantastic craft beers in the world but sometimes I just fancy a cheap pint of lager. You've parroting of lines about 'mass produced', 'bland' and 'commercialised' prove you've just as swayed by advertising as me.
The lack of kids playing football in streets, parks, on wasteground etc these days. I walk through the park where I scored many next goal wins winners in 24 a side ganes as a child regularly and there's never any kids about. Probably all indoors pretending to be Messi on their PlayStation.PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
04-06-2015 11:04 PM #19This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Mentioned this on one of these threads before but it still winds me up, people treating bus stairs like its the north face of the Eiger, they are much like any other stairs, just walk up them FFS
The girl at my work who has to go give the boss a running commentary of what she has been up to every 5 minutes even though she is just doing the same as everyone else but is clearly wanting to make herself look so much better, incidentally she also uses "literally" in the complete wrong context as well
People who actually think Ronaldo is better than wee Lionel
The security guy at my work, I know he is just doing his job, but he has seen me everyday for years, why do I still have to show my pass? does he seriously think I'd be there on a jolly
People who think they are being witty when I ask of there is anything I can help you with and use the hilarious response of "can you give me the lottery numbers?" Haha aye never heard that one before
Jakeys asking you for a pound for the bus, it's £1.50 these days pal, **** off
People drinking coffee whilst walking, I really like pizza/beer/apple juice/ medium steaks but I can go half an hour without having one
-
04-06-2015 11:20 PM #20
Divorced women. My gawd are they bitter, hateful specimens, however, in the interest of balance my auntie got divorced from my uncle and had a party, although genuinely think she was getting pumped from various neighbours. This could get ugly, and also run to about 20 pages
-
-
05-06-2015 06:40 AM #22
Self service checkouts, I would stand in a queue of 20 people at a manned checkout before I would use them.
-
05-06-2015 06:50 AM #23This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-06-2015 07:10 AM #24This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-06-2015 07:31 AM #25This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-06-2015 07:46 AM #26This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-06-2015 07:47 AM #27
Work related:
Folk who, in response to an e-mail you sent just to them, asking a question/on a topic that is clearly their sole responsibility, reply but also put every man and his dug on cc: (the boss, the boss' boss, the tea lady etc etc) just to "prove" they're doing their job and/or because they think your request was either stupid or beneath them.
Non work related:
Goths/hipsters/any "against the system" cool group who express their unique individuality by dressing, talking and acting the exact same as hundreds, thousands and (if you're in East London) millions of other knobs. Only applies to members of those "groups" that prance about telling everyone how very alternative they are.
Seems to be a south coast of England thing, but I have several friends (co-incidentally all female) from that neck of the woods who are intelligent, lovely people but insist on saying "You/we was doing/saying XXXXXX" when all it would take is a simple "You/we were ..............." and all would be right with the world.Last edited by lyonhibs; 05-06-2015 at 07:50 AM.
-
05-06-2015 09:48 AM #28
Dafties who, at the first sign of sunshine in the middle of February, go out for their Sunday papers wearing shorts and flip flops.
-
05-06-2015 01:25 PM #29
People reading their phones or e-readers while walking. Especially in London on the tube, when walking between platforms or exiting the station.
-
05-06-2015 03:07 PM #30This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote