Drank in the Dodger for about ten years, and rarely saw any bother. Mind you I could hardly see anything when I drankThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
Thread: Roughest/Worst pubs in Edinburgh
-
20-03-2015 04:17 PM #31"There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull
-
20-03-2015 05:26 PM #32This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Quite liked the place to be honest but I was from there so I was safe
Dodger and the Patio too.
Re The Gauntlet , I knew a guy that was killed outside there in the 80's.No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn
-
20-03-2015 05:53 PM #33
Actually after stating earlier I had never found a pub as bad as I expected I forgot one exception:
Thr 524 Cocktail Lounge in Aberdeen. When I lived there I frequented a few of the rougher pubs in the city, was chased out The Scotia (another *****hole) with a few pint glasses shattering behind me after letting slip to some former ASC guys I was a Hibs fan. However the 524 was something else just for it's utter crapness. Crap beer, place reeked of dog pish (there was always dogs in and they must have been pi55ing on the 'carpet'), toilets that would have terrified lesser men and always, always bother. A Friday or Saturday wasn't complete without a fight and whilst calling the police wasn't the done thing in the pub if it spilled out onto the street they regularly appeared.
I was only in a couple of times but we regularly saw the goings on as we regularly drank in either The Butchers Arms or The Kings Arms just up the road which were decent local boozers. The place was just utterly depressing and full of the absolute dregs.
Obviously not in Edinburgh but a total dump.
-
20-03-2015 05:58 PM #34This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-03-2015 06:00 PM #35This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteEvery gimmick hungry yob,
-
20-03-2015 06:07 PM #36
The Busy Bee was an absolute hovel but the worse place I've ever been by a long long way was a pub down in granton, I'm not 100% sure of its name but I think it was the Willie Muir. The Duke of Wellington down Leith was also horrible
United we stand here....
-
20-03-2015 06:20 PM #37This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Could be nonsense though as a lot of nyths tend to grow around rough pubs.
-
20-03-2015 06:43 PM #38This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-03-2015 07:01 PM #39This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
United we stand here....
-
20-03-2015 07:07 PM #40
Anyone ever visit a pub on Paisley Road West near Castle Greyskull? It was called "The Halfway House". A very scary place.
I worked there on Saturdays in the late '60s to help pay for my digs. Must have been out of my mind. The bar staff used to listen anxiously for the Rangers result on the radio (it was pre Sky Sports) and pray that they had won since that meant the fans would be in a good mood. If they'd lost, which wasn't very often in those days, bears with sore heads doesn't get close. They'd come swarming in not long after the final whistle and, if they thought they weren't getting served quickly enough, lean over the counter and grab at you, shouting abuse as if they were still at the game. (It was often four or five deep in the bar and the beer was so lively you had to pour three glasses to get one full pint.) As the evening wore on, some of them would be joined by their wives, start fighting among themselves or slide unconscious to the floor.
As well as serving pints, I was supposed to help break up the fights but, whenever anything happened, I luckily always seemed to be doing a bit of sweeping up in the cellar. (Not completely daft.) At closing time, I had to help drag the unconscious ones by their jacket collars and feet and drop them on the pavement outside. If they'd been particularly horrible earlier, the barmen would release their heads from quite a height. I can still hear the crack their skulls made when they hit the kerb.
Once the place was shut and the glasses cleaned, we could have a free cigarette or a half of heavy (I was sick of the smell of beer by then so usually chose a smoke). Then I'd run to my ancient parked car with the keys in my hand to get in quick and lock the door - just in case some blue-nosed thugs were waiting for me for taking too long to serve them or inadvertently looking at them earlier.
A few years ago, I went back to see if the pub was still there but there was no sign of it. The regulars probably knocked it down.
-
20-03-2015 07:21 PM #41
Not the roughest or worst, but the Phoenix on broughton street was a pub i could never quite understand at one end of the bar you have an old mans boozer and the entry seems like that. Then the level up is like a newly decorated pub with trendy wall paper this portion was always filled with english Edinburgh uni types. All in all a very confusing place. Must say never had any bother in there and always quite liked stopping for a pint on my way home.
-
21-03-2015 09:22 PM #42
Back to Edinburgh. I take it I'm the only person to have been in the Niddrie Marischal Arms? I didn't witness this particular story from the 70s but it rings true with other events there.
A group of workies were enjoying their Friday tea time beers, there was about a dozen of them and ones just got the round in when the doors burst open and this wee scary wumin shouts "Where are yi, yi ba$£@&%?" She rages over to the chap who's just bought the round f'in and c'in about her housekeeping. When he points to the round he's just bought and shrugs she explodes, picks up one of the pints, smashes it on the side of the bar and sticks it in his neck. The blood is pishing from the wound and he turns to the barman and says "You'd better make that another pint o special" before collapsing in a heap!
There's many other great stories about that place, that's my favourite!Last edited by Jack; 21-03-2015 at 09:34 PM.
-
21-03-2015 09:53 PM #43
The Blacker in Coolock, Dublin not a window in the place with travellers frequently helping themselves to cases of beer behind the bar, lucky I was working with a local lad.
That was back in 1998 mind you, some place it was !!
-
21-03-2015 10:14 PM #44
There's a boozer in Broxburn called The Green Tree which has bars on the windows
Might be a myth but I got told it doesn't even have a ladiesI've never been brave enough to try it out.
-
21-03-2015 10:38 PM #45This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-03-2015 07:48 AM #46
-
-
22-03-2015 08:40 AM #48
-
22-03-2015 08:49 AM #49This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-03-2015 08:57 AM #50
-
22-03-2015 09:35 AM #51This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What you say about the set-up was right though - it tended to be regulars in the lower section and others in the upper section. It actually got weirder than you've described when there was an event in the cellar bar which had a separate entrance which people didn't always notice. There was a book club every week and, during the festival the cellar bar was used as a venue, so people used to wander in looking for a comedy show or jazz gig.
The only negative about that pub was that the bar manager was a complete ****. He was probably the grumpiest, most depressing and sour-faced person I have ever known (and that's some accolade). I'm convinced that the owners kept him around because he had no life and, with no personality, very little chance of ever living one. He also had zero inclination towards good customer service and the breaking point for me was when he physically threatened a customer for no real reason one night. Don't know if he's still there as I haven't been back even as a customer.
-
22-03-2015 09:47 AM #52This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I live on Broughton Road so have a few decent pubs in walking distance. Smithies on Eyre Place (even if the owner is a Hertz fan), Leith Walk and all it has, The Bonnington and then the pubs on Broughton Street. The Phoenix would always be below Mathers, Barony and Cask & Barrel when it came to choosing one. There's nothing I can put my finger on I just don't really like it.
-
22-03-2015 02:02 PM #53This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-03-2015 02:38 PM #54This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-03-2015 02:56 PM #55This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-03-2015 03:06 PM #56
Aye not the most social guy in the world. Then again ive worked in tons of pubs and most would probably say the same thing about me
-
22-03-2015 03:35 PM #57
We used to go to the Phoenix a lot years ago good starting boozer always remember a very tidy goth barmaid.
-
22-03-2015 07:30 PM #58
There used to be a pub in Inverness called The Thornbush. You couldn't walk straight in, you had to knock on the locked front door and then a wee hatch opened through which you were quizzed by the bar staff before you were allowed in. Some real characters in there selling all sorts of stuff. It was next to the ship repair yard so as ships crew we were accepted as locals. Our telly was nicked one night when we were all ashore. We mentioned it in the pub and a couple of nights later it was returned. :-)
Last edited by marinello59; 22-03-2015 at 07:33 PM.
-
22-03-2015 07:45 PM #59This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-03-2015 08:09 PM #60