I think it's safe to assume a divorce costs both sides money...quite how much this one would cost is anybody's guess.
All the talk of 10% of this and 10% of that seems fanciful...let's be honest the UK Government doesn't really have a balance sheet like a private company does nor any real idea of its assets and liabilities (part of the bonus of being a government, you can get away with shoddy accounting) so gawd only knows where such negotiations would begin!
View Poll Results: Should Scotland be an independent country?
- Voters
- 662. You may not vote on this poll
-
Yes
458 69.18% -
No
175 26.44% -
Undecided
29 4.38%
Results 3,751 to 3,780 of 26549
Thread: Scottish Independence
-
27-08-2014 07:00 PM #3751
-
27-08-2014 07:00 PM #3752This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
But on a more realistic point, an iS would not be able to replace all the governmental mechanisms that the UK currently offers it, within an 18 month period. I think its accepted by both sides that an iS would still be reliant on rUK for certain facilities and governmental mechanisms, for several years and in some cases longer. There is just too much to do for it all to be done in 18 months realistically. So rUK will use these vital services and facilities as a powerful bargaining chip IMHO.Last edited by over the line; 27-08-2014 at 07:31 PM.
-
27-08-2014 07:05 PM #3753This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by over the line; 27-08-2014 at 07:12 PM.
-
27-08-2014 07:09 PM #3754This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by over the line; 27-08-2014 at 07:32 PM.
-
-
27-08-2014 07:42 PM #3756This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Would anybody like to explain what use the UK WMD is?
http://www.ploughshares.org/world-nu...FabLtAodbBwANA
When would our 225 warheads be used? Who is the threat? Who is it aimed at deterring.
we have got 2% of the USA warheads, so really, why?
Remember the other name for WMD is MAD, Mutually Assured Destruction.
You fire yours and I'll fire mine, which is why they should be dismantled, like Canada did to theirs. Canada thought, what is the point, Russia has them and the USA has them, if either use them we are right in the middle so are f ucked regardless. Why do you think Netherlands or Denmark don't have them? There is no point for the same reason, with Russia and France and us all having them so if it kicked off they would be obliterated.There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.
-
27-08-2014 07:55 PM #3757This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I personally would rather the UK had nuclear weapons as a deterrent and never had to use them, as opposed to not having them and relying totally on the US for protection. I can see the argument for not having them, I just don't agree with it myself.Last edited by over the line; 27-08-2014 at 07:57 PM.
-
27-08-2014 08:01 PM #3758
Their's more than one way to skin a cat.
Do you remember the cod wars with Iceland?
The Royal Navy were rammed by Iceland fishing trawlers/patrol vessels, who were wanting an extension to their fishing waters.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cod_Wars
You know that the Trident subs patrol for 12 weeks and then come back into faslane (HMS Neptune) again with the help of the local Pilot to guide them up the gare loch. Whose to say the entrance to the waters leading to Faslane could not be blocked or the Pilot's might be at home, rendering the Sub with no access to the port.
A wee trip doon to Devonport for the grumpy matelots, but the wives would be the ones to avoid at all costs
-
27-08-2014 08:21 PM #3759This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-08-2014 08:27 PM #3760
-
27-08-2014 08:29 PM #3761
This is interesting, or annoying, depending on your point of view
http://scienceofindependence.wordpre...paign-predict/There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.
-
27-08-2014 08:39 PM #3762This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-08-2014 08:40 PM #3763This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
We keep comparing it to a divorce, I would rather think of it as the slightly troublesome child thinking about leaving home. They know they will have to learn to stand on their own two feet, get their own bank account, maybe a mortgage, and court some girls to find the best partner (miss Norway is always popular) and at the same time they will need to keep in with Mum and Dad (England) and remember to be kind to little brother and sister (wales and NI) The bit that sort of suspends reality is where Mum and Dad don't want to let troublesome child go.
Maybe it is the £53bn pay check that he brings to the family home.
There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.
-
27-08-2014 08:41 PM #3764This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
:)
-
27-08-2014 08:55 PM #3765This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-08-2014 08:58 PM #3766
-
27-08-2014 11:14 PM #3767This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
A) rUK take ownership of the debt and become the successor state, meaning treaties, NATO membership, EU etc all remain as is, the new iScotland would need to negotiate it all.
Or
B) both rUK and iScot have legal ownership meaning that the UK is disbanded and we now have 2 successor states both who would have to renegotiate all those treaties.
The reason (I'm surmising) that iScot is willing to support the ongoing payments is to ensure they get ownership of some of the assets?
PS I also agree the family scenario sounds better than the divorce one!
-
28-08-2014 06:02 AM #3768
Yeah, the divorce thing is bogus. It's funny how we imagine ourselves as equal partners in that relationship... it's not how our partner generally views it.
-
28-08-2014 07:09 AM #3769This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-08-2014 09:31 AM #3770This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What a shame, Labour "fears" that they might come to Scotland
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.co...ears-1-3523234
Being a tax haven hasn’t exactly hurt Monaco, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Bahamas, OH AYE and PANAMAThere is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.
-
28-08-2014 09:45 AM #3771This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
However, if they do, and those companies decide to base themselves here, that has to be a good thing. The tax revenue lost by a 3p cut..... vs 17% of Google's profits.
-
28-08-2014 10:16 AM #3772
Anyone else see the results of the RIC mass canvass?
Looks pretty promising for yes considering that the sample was way larger than any poll, albeit targetting working class areas.
Apologies if this has already been osted in the thread, just been on holiday for a week with limited .net access.
http://radicalindependence.org/2014/...mple-released/
-
28-08-2014 10:36 AM #3773
Tory MP Douglas Carswell has defected to UKIP, is this the start of a trend and does it increase the likelihood of the next UK government leaving the EU.
UKIP might not win the next election but they'll certainly have an influence on centre right policy.
-
28-08-2014 10:40 AM #3774This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-08-2014 10:56 AM #3775This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteEvery gimmick hungry yob,
-
28-08-2014 10:58 AM #3776This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lit...sidential_poll
-
28-08-2014 11:10 AM #3777
A wee reminder of what is at stake in 3 weeks time.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wqGF...=RDgApwpSWAhbQThere is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.
-
28-08-2014 11:22 AM #3778This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What was the song that was being sung?
-
28-08-2014 11:25 AM #3779This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-08-2014 11:27 AM #3780This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
God help us