1526. You may not vote on this poll
  • Hertz do not exist anymore

746 48.89%
  • Hertz survive but play in a lower league

560 36.70%
  • Hertz survive and stay in SPL

49 3.21%
  • Don't care about them

171 11.21%
Page 1491 of 1582 FirstFirst ... 4919911391144114811489149014911492149315011541 ... LastLast
Results 44,701 to 44,730 of 47452
    Quote Originally Posted by Russian Hibs View Post
    Tonight I have just had dinner with a PR guy for the SNP ...he told me that there is no way will Edinburgh council give planning permission for tynecastle to be developed. This is too big a political issue and he is confident that the Budge proposal will succeed.
    The delay is due to the Bank trying to get round this and it's the Bank v politics!
    Wonder if anyone in the know can check this out as this guys seems quite certain that this will happen,,I hope he is wrong and this information is ****!
    So to gain the Jambo vote, say 30/40,000 in Edinburgh and a few more around the country they are willing to piss of every other teams supporters as well as all non football fans. I think not. Whatever you think of the SNP they are not stupid people. Also they are within touching distance of their ultimate goal and I doubt that they will do anything crazy like supporting the yams in any way shape or form

Tonight I have just had dinner with a PR guy for the SNP ...he told me that there is no way will Edinburgh council give planning permission for tynecastle to be developed. This is too big a political issue and he is confident that the Budge proposal will succeed.
    The delay is due to the Bank trying to get round this and it's the Bank v politics!
    Wonder if anyone in the know can check this out as this guys seems quite certain that this will happen,,I hope he is wrong and this information is ****!
    Do Hibbies not get the vote nowadays like?

Quote Originally Posted by NYHibby View Post
    Based on my experience making policy in my little corner of this country, it wouldn't surprise me if this was the case before the referendum. There is a pressure on public bodies to avoid doing things which might upset people before the vote.

After the referendum however...
    Might piss off our side mind. Do we not get an equal vote?

My source wouldn't be wrong about pre 2007 they might of changed their view but they think not.

Any obstacles to change of use or planning permission have been hastily invented recently by Hearts sympathisers among the politicos and the press. Why would any blast zone affect the use when it's already agreed that part of the distillers works will be moved when the build their offices on the school. Even the cost of the land has, on first glance, been tampered with somehow. A piece of land two-thirds the size of another piece adjoining going for under a million when the larger section was valued at eighteen million not too long ago. There's been fluctuations but that's a bit hard to swallow. It was all gung-ho when Cala were building homes - the biggest bull****ters ever.

On yackback the yam seem to think the £1.5m they say they will be donating every year (so long as the DD's don't decline) will not be subject to tax. Can any of our experts confirm if this is correct please - it doesn't seem right to treat income in this way, they are not a registered charity so not exempt - their charity record is not great - and its not clear the donation is a charitable one.

If it was turned down for non-planning reasons the result would be reversed on appeal.

Don't believe bull**** especially from the SNP.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    On yackback the yam seem to think the £1.5m they say they will be donating every year (so long as the DD's don't decline) will not be subject to tax. Can any of our experts confirm if this is correct please - it doesn't seem right to treat income in this way, they are not a registered charity so not exempt - their charity record is not great - and its not clear the donation is a charitable one.
    Companies are taxed on profits, not income

There's no precident, as far as I am aware, for a Scottish council blocking such a move and plenty precident where football stadia have become supermarkets.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member ...WentToMowAnSPL's Avatar

Gamertag: satvis1
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    There's no precident, as far as I am aware, for a Scottish council blocking such a move and plenty precident where football stadia have become supermarkets.
    Lidl to worry about yam lookers in !
    "At the end of the day, we all aspire to bigger things in our lives but one thing I can truly say from my heart is if I never kick a ball for one of these bigger clubs I would be delighted to stay with Hibs for the rest of my career. That's how highly I regard this club." Ivan Sproule

Quote Originally Posted by SurferRosa View Post
    I`m fairly certain that St Mirren`s Love Street Stadium was a sports ground......shortly before they flogged the lot to Tesco. Who then promptly re-sold it for housing development.

Where these morons get their information from is a real mystery.
    For the first time ever something comes up on Hibs Net that I actually know something about (I'm a planner).

The Council's new Local Development Plan zones the Tynecastle Pitch (but not the stands) as Open Space. So it seems that it's only the pitch that's protected. Also, it's not an absolute ban on development on the pitch. The Council acknowledges that development could be permitted in exceptional circumstances. This could include, for example, a development of community benefit which also provides for a replacement pitch being created elsewhere.

Having said that, this plan would give the Council the reasons it might need if it was determined to refuse permission for political reasons. A developer could then appeal to the Scottish Government but that would cost time and money with no certainty of success. All that will be reflected in the valuation of the PBS.

The Council also zones the Easter Road pitch as open space.

My post was a general comment, and it was about delaying bad news until a time when it is more "palatable" to deliver. While I can't speak about the other parties, it wouldn't surprise me if they have adopted the same policy at the councils they control.

However, while planning applications are outside my area, even if Hearts were liquidated tomorrow and the stadium was sold, I would have thought that a planning application would not be decided before September anyway. Therefore no delaying would be needed and my comment does not apply.

If the application is in process, why would the SNP lose votes from Hibs supporters? They wouldn't be blocking anything.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Pretty sure that the donations will be treated as repayment of the loan from AB. Therefore not taxable.
    It's late though. ..I'll rethink it tomorrow.

Quote Originally Posted by mim View Post
    Companies are taxed on profits, not income
    Agreed - Sorry ,wrong phrase I guess, never knew what to call it - it just doesn't sit easy that this large intake of what is basically unearned cash won't be taxed - what's to stop other businesses moving cash to subsidiaries and calling it a donation thus avoiding tax. Not my area so keen to understand - I seem to recall an earlier comment on the point but can't find it.

My post was a general comment, and it was about delaying bad news until a time when it is more "palatable" to deliver. While I can't speak about the other parties, it wouldn't surprise me if they have adopted the same policy at the councils they control.

However, while planning applications are outside my area, even if Hearts were liquidated tomorrow and the stadium was sold, I would have thought that a planning application would not be decided before September anyway. Therefore no delaying would be needed and my comment does not apply.

If the application is in process, why would the SNP lose votes from Hibs supporters? They wouldn't be blocking anything.
    Same logic applies to the yams surely? Oh and lest we forget, we're not voting for the SNP in September

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Pretty sure that the donations will be treated as repayment of the loan from AB. Therefore not taxable.
    It's late though. ..I'll rethink it tomorrow.

Based on my experience making policy in my little corner of this country, it wouldn't surprise me if this was the case before the referendum. There is a pressure on public bodies to avoid doing things which might upset people before the vote.

After the referendum however...
    Agreed

Quote Originally Posted by Paisley Hibby View Post
    For the first time ever something comes up on Hibs Net that I actually know something about (I'm a planner).

The Council's new Local Development Plan zones the Tynecastle Pitch (but not the stands) as Open Space. So it seems that it's only the pitch that's protected. Also, it's not an absolute ban on development on the pitch. The Council acknowledges that development could be permitted in exceptional circumstances. This could include, for example, a development of community benefit which also provides for a replacement pitch being created elsewhere.

Having said that, this plan would give the Council the reasons it might need if it was determined to refuse permission for political reasons. A developer could then appeal to the Scottish Government but that would cost time and money with no certainty of success. All that will be reflected in the valuation of the PBS.

Thanks for that. What would happen, though, if Hearts themselves decided they wanted to ground share with Livingston, for financial reasons. Does this mean that they would struggle to sell Tynecastle to a developer?

First Team Breakthrough VivaHiberña's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BarneyK View Post
    Might piss off our side mind. Do we not get an equal vote?
    Yes, but we're just a wee team so there's no way the 400,000 could ever be outvoted.

Over the past few years in Edinburgh we've seen school sports grounds sold off left, right and centre for private development. The council is currently hell bent, for better or for worse, trying to build the new Porty High School on a public park.

Edinburgh Council would be hard pushed justifying protecting a football pitch that doesn't measure up to modern specifications.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar

If UKIO take control of the PBS they should clear the site of all stands, pitch, infrastructure. This would not require planning permission of any sort and once any prospect of the place being used as a football stadium has gone, politicions will move on, and planners and developers can work on an acceptable scheme.

NewCo Yam will already have found a new venue, Murrayfield, Meadowbank, Saughton enclosure or who ever will share with them.

The idea that a vacant 6 acre site 1 mile from the city centre could never be developed because a corrupt football club who went bankrupt owing millions, once played there, is just a Yam fantasy.

My brain cell is working overtime, but "community benefit" sounds like a property developer could improve facilities for amateur footballers at nearby Saughton to satisfy the "exceptional circumstances" test. And it would be very difficult for the Council to refuse that offer on the basis that there is no benefit to the Yams.

I've also floated the idea before that a developer could offer to let Yamco stay rent free at the PBS for a couple of years in exchange for supporting the housing application. Since the alternative would be to become homeless and pay rent, they'd have little choice but to agree (assuming they have any financial sense) which would make it even harder to refuse permission. However their support would hate the idea of moving which will lead to plenty of bickering within Save Hearts In Trouble
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    So to gain the Jambo vote, say 30/40,000 in Edinburgh and a few more around the country they are willing to piss of every other teams supporters as well as all non football fans. I think not. Whatever you think of the SNP they are not stupid people. Also they are within touching distance of their ultimate goal and I doubt that they will do anything crazy like supporting the yams in any way shape or form
    this is all very complex!?!! if you are reffering to the forthcoming referendum vote on the 18th of September, can I remind you and a few others on here that the vote is for YES/NO AND IT IS FOR INDEPENDENCE OR NOT for Independence. It Is not a vote for Alex Salmond, and it is not for the SNP. all very confusing. there are/will be thousands who will vote for YES, who have no allegiance with the SNP or otherwise.

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    If it was turned down for non-planning reasons the result would be reversed on appeal.

Don't believe bull**** especially from the SNP.
    aye awrite, the SNP are experts on bull****ting. top of the league, leaving the tories/lab/libs in their trail eh?

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    this is all very complex!?!! if you are reffering to the forthcoming referendum vote on the 18th of September, can I remind you and a few others on here that the vote is for YES/NO AND IT IS FOR INDEPENDENCE OR NOT for Independence. It Is not a vote for Alex Salmond, and it is not for the SNP. all very confusing. there are/will be thousands who will vote for YES, who have no allegiance with the SNP or otherwise.
    And yet the white paper reads like a party manifesto rather than a serious proposal for a constitution.

People will vote for all sorts of reasons in September, and both sides are anxious not to do anything that will hurt their cause. That is why the politicians will stay well clear of being seen to help out the Yams, because there will be justifiable outrage from the voters that don't care about football.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    My brain cell is working overtime, but "community benefit" sounds like a property developer could improve facilities for amateur footballers at nearby Saughton to satisfy the "exceptional circumstances" test.
    They could stick up a CCTV camera outside a kids playground in West Edinburgh which would "benefit the community" as a deterrent for Savile Perverts in maroon sniffing around the bairns playing there.

With a recent history of having a fiddler Manager, PlayerS and fans they need a watching.

While they're at it the could maybe pay for financial crime awareness training for the Poppy Factory, Charities and Local business that they robbed from.

The club with no shame/the sh !te that wouldn't flush.

Hope they die soon.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Over the past few years in Edinburgh we've seen school sports grounds sold off left, right and centre for private development. The council is currently hell bent, for better or for worse, trying to build the new Porty High School on a public park.

Edinburgh Council would be hard pushed justifying protecting a football pitch that doesn't measure up to modern specifications.
    especially if it is a diddy fitba team that went bust,privately owned business failure ......and before they did ,they ripped off the people of Edin. all and sundry. and yet they are trying to build a school on publicly owned common land!

I'm stuck on a crossword clue:

The chances of Heart of Midlothian finding happiness this week (4, 3)

[QUOTE=Eyrie;3964886]And yet the white paper reads like a party manifesto rather than a serious proposal for a constitution ...The same could be said about the quotes made from the Chancellor re-the pound difference being, he popped up to Embra, said his piece, refused to speak to the media and was whisked off in a big shiney black Bentley back to wherever he comes fi'.

Quote Originally Posted by Sergey View Post
    I'm stuck on a crossword clue:

The chances of Heart of Midlothian finding happiness this week (4, 3)
    did you try "good god" ?