1526. You may not vote on this poll
  • Hertz do not exist anymore

746 48.89%
  • Hertz survive but play in a lower league

560 36.70%
  • Hertz survive and stay in SPL

49 3.21%
  • Don't care about them

171 11.21%
Page 957 of 1582 FirstFirst ... 457857907947955956957958959967100710571457 ... LastLast
Results 28,681 to 28,710 of 47452
    @hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PapillonVert View Post
    Indeed a public servant paid by the public who is prepared to overlook the wilful non-payment of PAYE-deducted income tax, national insurance, VAT, council tax, police bills, rental payments to publicly-subsidised HW University not to mention the numerous charities ripped off along the way. Still, as long as he can have four hours a week to indulge his "hobby" what do the millions owed to the public purse matter?

A massive disservice being done to the honest, tax-paying, bill-paying public by this alleged "public servant" as well as to all those football clubs competing with HMFC who didn't refuse to pay their dues so that they could employ players they otherwise couldn't afford.
    Why are decent journalists not asking Murray this question?
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Why are decent journalists not asking Murray this question?
    Because there are very few decent sports journalists in Scotland who have any concept of business or fiscal matters in addition to their 'specialist subject'. Same thing happened with Sevco. As I mentioned above, there is a deliberate ploy by most media to try and keep the situation as light as possible. The worry about the sort of negative headlines and copy we should be reading lies on the part of publishers and television. It is not just about Sevco and the Yams, it's a fear that Scottish Football is a house of cards and the whole lot could come crashing down and we end up like LoW or suchlike. With many sports journalists becoming even more surplus to requirements than is already the case.

This is one reason. There's plenty others.
    Last edited by magpie1892; 22-08-2013 at 11:56 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNoBut View Post
    OK who complained then??
    The question I'd asked (via his MP website) was:

I've just been reading the creditors list for Hearts of Midlothian, and it's pretty grim.
    The particularly galling parts for me to read are where charities and taxpayer-funded bodies have been left being owed money (in effect stolen from).
    These include Macrae's Battalion, the Poppy Fund, universities, police, local authorities, the NHS.
    As an MP, do you have a view on what the punishment should be for businesses who act in such a manner?
    Kind regards

The response I got was:

Thank you for contacting Ian Murray MP. Unfortunately, Ian is not your Member of Parliament and therefore is unable to take your issue up due to strict parliamentary protocol. Mark Lazarowicz is your MP and can be contacted by email at [email protected] or by telephone on 0131 557 0577. His constituency office is based at 5 Croall Place, EH7 4LT.

Regards
    Lesley Gulland

Office of Ian Murray MP | Shadow Business Minister | Labour Member of Parliament for Edinburgh South
    Constituency Office: 31 Minto Street, Edinburgh, EH9 2BT
    Telephone Number: 0131 662 4520

Quote Originally Posted by magpie1892 View Post
    It's getting to the point where the Scotsman (£1.20!!!) is going to have to fold or go online only. On a financial basis, there's no reason to continue. When I left (2004) it was still doing just under 90,000 copies daily. I've not been in the building for a couple of years but I know a couple of 'high ups' in addition to the 'rank and file' who tell me that the atmosphere in the place is poisonous with back-biting and internal politics at an all-time high.

Most of the poison and manoeuvring is coming from those who remain in the building who are (certainly in journalism), unemployable elsewhere. When I was there the place was stacked with people who came in, surfed the net, filed a 500-word story and went home. There's still a few of them left.

FWIW, I think the Evening News is still a decent paper. It needs to be.
    All believable until your last point.

EEN is a self serving, bitching, antagonising, shallow, ****-stirring rag of a 'paper'.

So the only reason I couldn't get a reply was I don't live within Edinburgh South constituency boundary.

Anyone out there within that boundary who wants to cut and paste the question and put it to the bold Mr Murray MP?

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post

I've just been reading the creditors list for Hearts of Midlothian, and it's pretty grim.
    The particularly galling parts for me to read are where charities and taxpayer-funded bodies have been left being owed money (in effect stolen from).
    These include Macrae's Battalion, the Poppy Fund, universities, police, local authorities, the NHS.
    As an MP, do you have a view on what the punishment should be for businesses who act in such a manner?
    Kind regards

The response I got was:

Thank you for contacting Ian Murray MP. Unfortunately, Ian is not your Member of Parliament and therefore is unable to take your issue up due to strict parliamentary protocol. Mark Lazarowicz is your MP and can be contacted by email at [email protected] or by telephone on 0131 557 0577. His constituency office is based at 5 Croall Place, EH7 4LT.

Regards
    Lesley Gulland

Office of Ian Murray MP | Shadow Business Minister | Labour Member of Parliament for Edinburgh South

Thr reply from murray's office is bollocks.

A - he's a member of the UK parliament, so should be willing to answer

B - he's a shadow business secretary, so must be obliged to acknowledge and/or answer!

First Team Breakthrough Joy Zipper's Avatar
    So the only reason I couldn't get a reply was I don't live within Edinburgh South constituency boundary.

Anyone out there within that boundary who wants to cut and paste the question and put it to the bold Mr Murray MP?
    Done :-)

Kind regards

The response I got was:

Regards
    Lesley Gulland

Simples...state.an address that would be in his area. Id love to hear hear his reply....though that reply that was given is shocking. He is supposed to represent normal people is he not?

Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post

EEN is a self serving, bitching, antagonising, shallow, ****-stirring rag of a 'paper'.
    We'll agree to differ on my last point then. Think more the point I wanted to make is that it's keeping the whole show on the road.

Evening papers are supposed to 'stir it up' a bit!

Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post

Agreed. It's The Edinburgh Evening Curtain-Twitcher as far I'm concerned.

Interesting post in the Scotsman forum from someone who claims to be ITK re the HMFC bid, he claims they will be back in with a bid that will blow FoH out the water.

Can they still make a bid now that FoH have been named as preferred bidder?

Details of bid are as below, with no 10 being an interesting one with the Yams applying to play down south.

Some wild claims that would need substantial funding, someone taking the pi ss, fantasy or some substance.

1 HMFC Limited's bid will provide a new 25,000 capacity stadium as a valuable income generator for the Hearts over the next 30 years.

2 There is no need for fans to dip into their pockets.

3 The ownership will be in the hands of local Hearts supporters.

4 Hearts fans will be represented on the new BoD.

5 Tynecastle will be retained for posterity and developed like Highbury, retaining Hearts HQ, conference & exhibition facilities and museum etc in a newly modified main stand.

6 The three stands will be dismantled and sold to Knockhill Racing Circuit.

7 The ground will be tastefully developed into an open space with surrounding 'terracing' available for former fans ashes and a memorial fountain in the centre circle.

8 The funding will come from new money generated by the stadium.

9 Bob Jamieson has worked on this proposal for over two years.

10 He has also instructed three top QCs and an advocate at Ampersand to provide a report on the possibility of a successful application to join the English Championship. Their report was ready in May and the advice is that the application would be 99% successful.

Haha seemed like absolute nonsense and point ten just fully confirmed it

Interesting post in the Scotsman forum from someone who claims to be ITK re the HMFC bid, he claims they will be back in with a bid that will blow FoH out the water.

Details of bid are as below, with no 10 being an interesting one with the Yams applying to play down south.

Some wild claims that would need substantial funding, someone taking the pi ss, fantasy or some substance.

1 HMFC Limited's bid will provide a new 25,000 capacity stadium as a valuable income generator for the Hearts over the next 30 years.

5 Tynecastle will be retained for posterity and developed like Highbury, retaining Hearts HQ, conference & exhibition facilities and museum etc in a newly modified main stand.

7 The ground will be tastefully developed into an open space with surrounding 'terracing' available for former fans ashes and a memorial fountain in the centre circle.

10 He has also instructed three top QCs and an advocate at Ampersand to provide a report on the possibility of a successful application to join the English Championship. Their report was ready in May and the advice is that the application would be 99% successful.
    This has got be a wind up - it's like Vladspeak all over again mixed with a bit of Hunthink.

Almost all (sorry, all) of this is bollocks.

If the group behind HMFC just wanted to buy a football club as I'm assuming some Americans who've never been to a game don't count themselves as dyed in the wool Mutants, they would not buy Hearts, they would buy Hibs, or, (for the amount of money they seem to be prepared to splash if by some insane chance it is real) the Huns.

Ignore.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    He pulls all that off and I'll bring up my youngest a Jambo.

The deluded ones just keep getting more and more deluded!

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar

This is all great, apart fi a couple of things, where's the money coming from for the new stadium, where's the CVA bid, nothing about creditor's here, just more spending beyond their means Oh aye, how they gonna retain a stadium that has a major security over it (mair money)......hud oan, this is just a load oh pash aint it? .

Seriously, if they're gonna pretend they are ITK then make it believable at least

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

OK who complained then??

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...role-1-3056761

Hearts administration: Ian Murray defends role

AFTER some growing unease about the amount of time he is devoting to the cause of saving a football club that is not based in his constituency, Federation of Hearts chairman and Edinburgh South MP Ian Murray yesterday presented his case for the *defence.

The politician estimated the amount of time he spends on important business which relates to the club as only four hours per week.

Murray yesterday said he has only had one visitor to his constituency office on Minto Street in Edinburgh to complain about the time he is committing to FoH, who were last week named preferred bidders by BDO, Hearts’ administrators. Murray’s involvement as a figurehead has been invaluable – not just because of the profile he is able to command, but also because of his background in business. He is Labour’s Shadow Minister for employee relations, postal and consumer affairs.

However, not everyone is happy with Murray’s association with the task of saving Hearts, further details of which were revealed at Tynecastle on Monday when the politician fronted a press conference that explained many of the ins and outs of how the supporters’ group intended to finance their bid to purchase the club. A statement said “the process is far from complete and is likely to take a significant time working to achieve”.

A letter to The Scotsman from someone claiming to be an Edinburgh South constituent has called on Murray to step aside from his role as chairman and “re-direct his full attention to the job we elected him to do”. The letter also claims there is a petition being prepared that is to be delivered to Murray’s office. However, the MP was eager to set his detractors straight yesterday. He pointed out that he was only speaking to The Scotsman after he had completed his parliamentary duties for the day. With the exception of the two big press conferences, I have been doing this in my own time,” he said. “I answer the odd email and take the odd phone call – I genuinely am doing this in my own time.”

“Another thing I would say is that some people go swimming, collect stamps or go train spotting in their spare time, I am spending my spare time on Hearts. I don’t see what the problem is.

“What people won’t report is the dozen and dozens of letters and emails I have had from constituents thanking me for getting involved and representing their views. Because although Tynecastle is not in the constituency a lot of the fanbase is.”

He estimated that his involvement takes up about four hours a week. “Unless I have the audacity to watch a match – but that is in my own time too,” he said.

“I do regularly 70 to 80 hour weeks so four hours is tiny in comparison. I still receive and answer some 700 emails a day and do more than 175 open surgeries a year. My commitment and life is to my constituency first and foremost.”

Murray will be present at Saturday’s game against Aberdeen which is being sponsored by FoH. He will address the supporters during the half-time interval at Tynecastle in an attempt to promote the FoH bid to take control of the club.

While admitting that his original prediction that FoH’s bid would take only three months to push through was a “a little on the optimistic side”, Murray denied that his involvement is impacting on his parliamentary commitments and says he has the support of his fellow MPs at Westminster.

Murray stressed he is committed to fulfilling the aims set out when he emerged as the fans’ figurehead in April. Full supporter control of the club is the objective and he is due to speak about the fan-owned model in a debate on Radio 4 this weekend – and in his own time. “If I am at Westminster the [FoH] meetings take place either late on a Thursday evening and or a Friday evening, and if I am not at Westminster they take place on a Tuesday,” he said. “We have probably three meetings a month – we don’t have them every week.

“The only time where I have taken time during my working day if I am being completely honest was two media calls we have done – once when we put a bid in and once when we were given preferred bidder status. They took about an hour and a half.

“All the other political parties have supported me in this, so I don’t think it is a political thing,” Murray added. The politician acknowledged, however, that he had personally faced down one unhappy visitor to his constituency office.

“He was a Hibs fan who wanted to talk about Hearts,” he recalled. “I said I am sorry I *cannot talk about Hearts this is my parliamentary office and that is something I am doing in my own time. Then he explained that he was a constituent so I was happy to talk to him. He went away satisfied with my explanation. He said he was glad to have come in and chat to me.”

“I have helped out dozens of businesses locally, including high-profile ones,” Murray added. “I would do the same if any business was asking me to give them assistance to save jobs and save the business. It is just because it is the emotional cocktail of football that creates the problem – but it is still a business that employs a lot of people.”
    Ian Murray had better revise his 'only 1 person has complained' - I have the e-mail trail to prove it, and live in his constituency and was on his (Labour's) mailing list. I know others have too. He replied same to my e-mail same day. My e-mail was not to criticise him for helping his club - I wanted answers as to why he was not using the media to not just support Hearts, but to condemn non payment of tax, people not being paid wages in a time of austerity, people being made redundant, money not being collected that could be spent in my (and his) constituency in relation to sport and activities for young people, and a football club that was not paying local rates and taxes, yet able to sign football players on the side. His reply was typical of a politician.....'whilst I agree.........'

Jeez the boy uses Twitter to condemn Wonga and high interest loan companies yet fails to see the irony that his team and said Wonga are in partnership and his team relied on a payment from them to see them through........

I will progress this and e-mail him personally to retract the 'one complainer' statement - that is clearly wrong - oh and my e-mail was very clear not to mention my football leanings. I know other Labour supporter friends have e-mailed him too.........so he is being economical with the truth I would say......or (in fairness) being very 'literal' when it comes to answering the question 'has anyone complained' - not many people attend surgeries, but I bet plenty e-mail and write in

He's wasted his money instructing QCs (I'm assuming they mean Queens Counsel?) as the FA recently indicated that they would not look favourably on any requests to join from clubs playing outwith the English border. At the time their representative said that Berwick Rangers had only gained entry as they played south of the River Tweed and that they had turned down requests from lower level teams in Wales as they would not do anything to weaken another football association.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    He pulls all that off and I'll bring up my youngest a Jambo.
    I'll lay a wager that Locke came up with the 'fountain' idea though eh.......old habits die hard as they say

Quote Originally Posted by magpie1892 View Post
    It's getting to the point where the Scotsman (£1.20!!!) is going to have to fold or go online only. On a financial basis, there's no reason to continue. When I left (2004) it was still doing just under 90,000 copies daily. I've not been in the building for a couple of years but I know a couple of 'high ups' in addition to the 'rank and file' who tell me that the atmosphere in the place is poisonous with back-biting and internal politics at an all-time high.

Most of the poison and manoeuvring is coming from those who remain in the building who are (certainly in journalism), unemployable elsewhere. When I was there the place was stacked with people who came in, surfed the net, filed a 500-word story and went home. There's still a few of them left.

FWIW, I think the Evening News is still a decent paper. It needs to be.
    I left in 2010 and the circulation had dropped drastically. The atmosphere described by your friend is spot on.

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    He's wasted his money instructing QCs (I'm assuming they mean Queens Counsel?) as the FA recently indicated that they would not look favourably on any requests to join from clubs playing outwith the English border. At the time their representative said that Berwick Rangers had only gained entry as they played south of the River Tweed and that they had turned down requests from lower level teams in Wales as they would not do anything to weaken another football association.
    He's added a long reply re this, about Scottish Football Clubs v The FA and how it's Bosman for the Clubs, and adds details of how Ampersand's Eoghainn MacLean writes on Competition Law.

If you can be bothered reading it all it's on this link under the reply at his post - Imperial Echoes @ 3:33pm

He also claims BDO and Valnetas are also fully aware of this proposal which is worth £7.5m for the CVA and that when Club 9 let him down it has taken a couple of weeks to amend the HMFC Limited bid.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...role-1-3056761

@hibs.net private member the_ginger_hibee's Avatar
    All this is true.

FoH have prepared a counter offer however which is being kept very secret. The 'on-the-ball' Evening News has re-tweeted this picture proving #IamanMP has gazumped the HMFC bid by going one better -

muz.jpg

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    I still receive and answer some 700 emails a day

So he is receiving and answering an email every 2 minutes , 24 hours a day . Really ?

Slavering fat

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Quote Originally Posted by hibees 7062 View Post
    I still receive and answer some 700 emails a day

So he is receiving and answering an email every 2 minutes , 24 hours a day . Really ?

Slavering fat
    As he says he works '70-80' hours a week its actually a better rate than one a minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Agreed. It's The Edinburgh Evening Curtain-Twitcher as far I'm concerned.
    Cracking description.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Treadstone View Post
    As he says he works '70-80' hours a week its actually a better rate than one a minute.
    I know , hes good eh
    Last edited by hibees 7062; 22-08-2013 at 06:34 PM.

Ha-ha-ha - absolutely reeks of - "Honestly, we ARE a big club, please believe me, we've been thinking it for years so it must be true" !!!

5. Developed like Highbury, that will be Highbury Square with 750 flats, has anyone told Ian Murray?
    As for the newly modified main stand.

Highbury does still look like a stadium though - it's quite bizarre - I've got two friends that live in those flats