View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 728 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 2286286787187267277287297307387788281228 ... LastLast
Results 21,811 to 21,840 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by Prof. ****gy View Post
    Yes, but not as much as he's Galloway-minded.
    Indeed. Likes to keep in the background, doesn't he?

At last Galloway has done something I approve of. No Scottish MP will sign it of course, they are as cowed by hun fear as the media.

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibby View Post
    At last Galloway has done something I approve of. No Scottish MP will sign it of course, they are as cowed by hun fear as the media.
    Dundee is in Scotland

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    http://www.parliament.uk/edm/2012-13/913

this could be interesting.
    Can we sign a petition backing him !!!!

I see Dundee U have sold 200 tickets to Sevco fans, despite Charles nae Green's boycott. Hope they all get their ****** hieds kicked in, plus Green.

Does Galloway think we are as dumb as the Sevco masses who hang on Charles Greens every word as he plays to the gallery? Gorgeous George is playing exactly the same game here. Nothing more than self serving bawbaggery from the man who's only solid political achievement has been to enrich himself.
    There is a serious point to be made here about Phoenix companies. It's just a shame that it hasn't been taken up by serious politicians in the past.

It doesnt matter what his 'self serving' intentions are. Hes launched an Early Day Motion on the subject, and for that he should be applauded.

If its the same list I saw last night, it includes lifelong Cellic fan and ST holder Jim McGovern also.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    It doesnt matter what his 'self serving' intentions are. Hes launched an Early Day Motion on the subject, and for that he should be applauded.
    Is this the culmination of years of campaigning against companies who rise from the dead and continue trading then? Obviously this Early day motion will actually achieve something other than promoting Galloway and I stand corrected. Given his odious utterings the last time he raised his head over the parapet I will applaud nothing he does. Do you really think he is raising this motion in order to change things? I have a healthy contempt for any politician who gets involved in football for whatever reason but I reserve an extra dollop of contempt for Galloway.
    Last edited by marinello59; 26-01-2013 at 07:53 AM.

I hear your contempt loud and clear. I dont like him much either. Would you support the text of the EDM if it was introduced by another politician?

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...g-fa-1-2760303

"If Mr Scudamore and his colleagues have, indeed, been saying "no" consistently for 14 years, then the club has been wronged continuously since, at least, 2000 when the Act came into force."

It will would be fun to see The Rangers win their case only to discover that they have no claim to any advantage that the former Rangers Football Club may have had and they start at the very bottom wherever that may be.

First Team Breakthrough littleplum's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post

"If Mr Scudamore and his colleagues have, indeed, been saying "no" consistently for 14 years, then the club has been wronged continuously since, at least, 2000 when the Act came into force."

It will would be fun to see The Rangers win their case only to discover that they have no claim to any advantage that the former Rangers Football Club may have had and they start at the very bottom wherever that may be.
    Wow, that's even madder than anything Charles Green has come up with. Rangers should exploit EU competition law which, if successful, would compel the Bundesliga to accept Ajax, Serie A to accept Portsmouth and La Liga to accept Hibs. However, if they do, UEFA can impose appropriate sanctions for using the courts anyway.

Did the guy get paid for writing this guff?

I hear your contempt loud and clear. I dont like him much either. Would you support the text of the EDM if it was introduced by another politician?
    No. It's a meaningless gesture.

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    But it still made me smile. Imagine GG and CG debating it on national tv. There would only be one winner. The viewers

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post

It seems to me that Mr MacLean is talking through his learned erse. Regardless of anyone's views on whether or not The Rangers are the same club as the old Rangers, it's very clear that in law they are not. That's the same law that enabled them to evade at least £55m of tax and other debts and the law they would be depending on for any action of this nature. For an Advocate to miss or disregard that basic fact is staggering. There are several other holes in his argument as well but that single point kills it stone dead.

I wouldn't. The current insolvency laws are far from perfect, but they are better than they have ever been. For one thing, the concept of the phoenix company protects employment, and helps to minimise the burden on the state of redundant workers.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    If they do go down the legal route then they do have a case and would likely win. However they may have to start at the bottom as they are a new club.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Maybe. I don't much care for Galloway either, but I am glad to see somebody at least publicly standing up to the endless threats, bullying, whining and intimidation from Green and his horrible "institution", whether it will succeed or not. Because nobody else seems prepared to do it, on any issue.

Drew 1-1 wi Montrose at the bigot dome. Green's Euro masterplan on course.

Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    Maybe. I don't much care for Galloway either, but I am glad to see somebody at least publicly standing up to the endless threats, bullying, whining and intimidation from Green and his horrible "institution", whether it will succeed or not. Because nobody else seems prepared to do it, on any issue.
    I am sure his Bradford constituents agree with you and are delighted to see their MP waste precious parliament time on this.

It's an injustice on a massive scale that nobody seems prepared to fight. And MPs don't only concern themselves with issues exclusively from within their own constituency.

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    It's an injustice on a massive scale that nobody seems prepared to fight. And MPs don't only concern themselves with issues exclusively from within their own constituency.
    It seems to me, as an ordinary joe whose tax is deducted at source, that the current system is farcical. Liquidation and reincarnation appears to favour the seedy businessman/crook at the expense of those to whom they owe money. The current situation at Ipox underlines the ease with which companies can jettison their obligations and continue to operate....and in the case of Sevco, actually boast of how successful their machinations have been.

I don't care that it's Galloway who's highlighting this issue, though the man emanates a truly bad smell. I just hope it leads to a shake up of the law. Sadly though, too many politicians are up to their necks in business ventures, while they should be concentrating their minds on running the country for the benefit of the people rather than themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hackett View Post
    It seems to me, as an ordinary joe whose tax is deducted at source, that the current system is farcical. Liquidation and reincarnation appears to favour the seedy businessman/crook at the expense of those to whom they owe money. The current situation at Ipox underlines the ease with which companies can jettison their obligations and continue to operate....and in the case of Sevco, actually boast of how successful their machinations have been.

I don't care that it's Galloway who's highlighting this issue, though the man emanates a truly bad smell. I just hope it leads to a shake up of the law. Sadly though, too many politicians are up to their necks in business ventures, while they should be concentrating their minds on running the country for the benefit of the people rather than themselves.
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Good post. I see marinello's point about wasting Mps time (although I must say I have precious little faith in any of them) but I just want someone, anyone, to flag this up in any way they can rather than just accept it, as so many people who are in a position to do/say something (media) seem to prefer to do.

Well said.

Good post. I see marinello's point about wasting Mps time (although I must say I have precious little faith in any of them) but I just want someone, anyone, to flag this up in any way they can rather than just accept it, as so many people who are in a position to do/say something (media) seem to prefer to do.
    ..and this.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    When does the Nimmo-Smith enquiry take place?

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    It was due to start in November. I don't think it is public, so chances are that it is ongoing at the moment.

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

This week. Tuesday.

Jabba is mouthing off again on the official Sevco site about the investigation. The usual **** about how unfair it all is and how the stripping of any titles will be tantamount to armageddon for Scottish football.

I smell fear. I've been looking forward to this week for a long time. Hopefully common sense will prevail and severe punishments follow.

The interesting thing is you can bet your bottom dollar Chuckles will prefer stripped titles to a financial penalty, and it'll give him another chance to whip the maggot-folk up into another frenzy.

The worse it is for them the better in my opinion.