Page 118 of 126 FirstFirst ... 1868108116117118119120 ... LastLast
Results 3,511 to 3,540 of 3758
    Quote Originally Posted by Leishy1995 View Post
    Mackay-Stevens, arguably the best prospect this season was signed from Airdrie. Templeton from Stenhousemuir and I'm well aware there is more. So the point you make on cairney doesn't really fit.
    And if i remember correctly more than a few on.here were 'unconvinced' by Mackay-Stevens when we were linked with him.

It's only since he's done well at United that us 'missing out' on him has become another excuse for the experts to have a go at the club.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cynic View Post
    But we should be. The board constantly drill us with the message that that's where our target is, so we should be making signings to reflect that intention.
    We should be top six but we aren't. Players looking for a top six team therefore won't want to sign for us.

Gamertag: toomanydjs
    Is that really necessary? Why do people feel the need to make disparaging comments like that prior to making a reasonable post?

Yes, they've seen him training and 'rate him enough'. Unfortunately, Kujabi was also 'rated enough', as was Claros (who could turn out to be OK), Doherty, Francombe, Doyle etc. An old player from a mid-table SPL club isn't exactly the signing we should be making to push the club FORWARD. The signing stinks of desperation; the kind of signing a club looking at another relegation battle would make

I suggest that he hasn't hardly set the heather alight in the first division which could be an indicator that he isn't up to the standards of top 4 football in the SPL. Yes, the latter is true, but exceptions don't make a rule. I hope it comes to fruition that he is an excellent footballer, but for me it's a big gamble.

I would like both, actually. A couple of marquee signings supplemented with talented youth. Look at the teams from the top 6 last season compared to ours. The quality is not there, and how anyone can argue that it is, is seriously beyond me.
    All of those players you mention were brought in in the January period when a) it is quite difficult to get players and b) there is a lot less time to properly assess said players. I also think Doherty was a good player despite being an idiot, and I actually like Doyle. The likes of Claros and Kujabi havent been up to it, but not every signing is going to be spot on. Also, a mid-table SPL club is a alot better than where we currently are, so yes, it would imo be a step forward.

We arent going to go straight from relegation candidates to top 4 though. Its all about taking the right steps to achieve that however, by building and developing a proper team. I fear for Fenlons job because too many people want instant success, which is almost impossible given the squad we have. Someone like Cairney, who knows Scottish football, was playing regularly and well for his club, is exactly the sort of signing that should improve us. The gap between SFL1 and the SPL is not big, and Ive no doubts he will be able to step up.

Noone is saying we have quality. Far from it. But if you look at the majority of those top 6 teams, there was a solid core of good, established SPL players, or they signed players with those qualities. Obviously if you have a solid grounding, then you can sign someone like Ojamaa at Motherwell, who was arguably a bit more of a risk. We havent brought in those players for quite a while, although the signings so far this window have taken us closer to that, its just we are so short overall.

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Quote Originally Posted by too_many_djs View Post
    All of those players you mention were brought in in the January period when a) it is quite difficult to get players and b) there is a lot less time to properly assess said players. I also think Doherty was a good player despite being an idiot, and I actually like Doyle. The likes of Claros and Kujabi havent been up to it, but not every signing is going to be spot on. Also, a mid-table SPL club is a alot better than where we currently are, so yes, it would imo be a step forward.

We arent going to go straight from relegation candidates to top 4 though. Its all about taking the right steps to achieve that however, by building and developing a proper team. I fear for Fenlons job because too many people want instant success, which is almost impossible given the squad we have. Someone like Cairney, who knows Scottish football, was playing regularly and well for his club, is exactly the sort of signing that should improve us. The gap between SFL1 and the SPL is not big, and Ive no doubts he will be able to step up.

Noone is saying we have quality. Far from it. But if you look at the majority of those top 6 teams, there was a solid core of good, established SPL players, or they signed players with those qualities. Obviously if you have a solid grounding, then you can sign someone like Ojamaa at Motherwell, who was arguably a bit more of a risk. We havent brought in those players for quite a while, although the signings so far this window have taken us closer to that, its just we are so short overall.
    That's a fair post. Can't say anymore, as it remains to be seen what the future holds. I hope I'm massively wrong in my assumptions though.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    That would be my preferred option.
    It would be 95% of hibs fans' preferred option.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    We should be top six but we aren't. Players looking for a top six team therefore won't want to sign for us.
    Players (at middling SPL level) look for money and the club itself. If the Board/Fenlon are able to sell a vision and back it up with some action/cash, the fact that we finished bottom six in the previous season would be a fairly minor point.

@hibs.net private member FitbaFolkKen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by too_many_djs View Post
    What a lot of nonsense.

Firstly, Maybury will be coming in at some position within the defence (RB or LB) to try and tighten things up. Whats the problem with that? Are you happy for us to keep conceding goals every single week? Im not saying hes going to be the answer, Ive not seen him in the team, but theyve seen him training over the last few weeks and must rate him enough.

You also suggest Cairney wont be up to it because he came from the first division. Do you watch Scottish football? Plenty of players step up from the lower leagues, some of whom are the best players in the SPL.

As for your last paragraph, you moan that we havent signed any marquee players, but then go on to say we shouldnt be signing those players and instead bringing through youth. Which is it? To be successful requires a reasonably good mix of both youngsters, and players brought in. I also dont think the 'marquee' signing is something we need right now. Weve been there and done that, it doesnt really work. Id much rather have a team that works as a unit, stops conceding stupid goals and actually wins games. It wont happen overnight but Fenlon seems to be trying to take us in that direction (whether he gets the time to do so is another question).
    Surely the last paragraph is in relation to the fact that if we do sign players they should be exciting, as the more workmanlike player we should be able to produce through our youth policy?

I agree with the theory that we should sign less players and focus on the youth squad. Might be tough at first but I think we have signed too many players in the past.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    Players (at middling SPL level) look for money and the club itself. If the Board/Fenlon are able to sell a vision and back it up with some action/cash, the fact that we finished bottom six in the previous season would be a fairly minor point.
    The season before as well.

We're a club in what is hopefully only a temporary decline. We're probably not as appealing an option as many think we are.

Oh, sorry Einstein. Yes, I'm brainless.
    Well I'm glad you said it first.

For the record it isn't what I meant, but you're not making yourself out to seem anything other than exactly that.
    Last edited by Vault Boy; 08-08-2012 at 05:16 PM. Reason: To prevent World War 3

What? Hibernian's standards are not, or SHOULD NOT be 11th place. Just because we finished there one season doesn't mean that's where we should be. Based on the size of the club, the wages we pay and the facilities we offer, we should be aiming for no lower than 4th place with Rangers out of the scene. If you want to be facetious, that's fine, but I don't think anyone can argue with that.
    Calm down, I was not bring facetious. Either a player is of SPL standard or he isn't. You seem to be suggesting otherwise.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs-1875 View Post
    Well I'm glad you said it first.
    No, actually you did.

Please direct me to where I called you brainless. I'm quite interested.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs-1875 View Post
    Honestly, I think if anyone with a brain were to judge Paddy on his signings alone, they'd find him to be a very good manager.
    Judging him on his signings alone, I don't find him to be very good. Therefore, I'm brainless. No?

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    In SPL terms they're decent-ish, but in relation to a club of Hibernian's standard, they're poor. I also said 'pretty awful', and not simply awful.
    As much as i love the club please tell me how big a club you actually think we are? We last won something in 2007 and before that i was a laddie so not exactly world beaters, we are signing players that should be good enough on paper to compete in an utter garbage league

And if i remember correctly more than a few on.here were 'unconvinced' by Mackay-Stevens when we were linked with him.

It's only since he's done well at United that us 'missing out' on him has become another excuse for the experts to have a go at the club.
    Same when we were linked to Gardyne.

I'm not sure what point your making but i was pointing out that talent was found a lot in the lower leagues..

Rumour doing the rounds that we are trying to attract Goodwillie [ex-Dundee Unt] to Easter Road on a season - long loan deal. Seemingly he is talking to both us and our neighbours. Anyone any inf on this ? Is it Tom Kite ? Surely some of you that are "in the know" club can shed some light on this rumour.

I'm not sure what point your making but i was pointing out that talent was found a lot in the lower leagues..
    Think he was agreeing with u

As am I!

Judging him on his signings alone, I don't find him to be very good. Therefore, I'm brainless. No?
    No, what I meant by that is if someone who knew nothing else of Fenlon or his time at Hibs were to look at him, and were clever enough, they would see Paddy as a good manager because of the players he has brought in. If you have other reasons to believe differently then do so.

He has tried to bring in good professionals as well as good players, with a very tight budget. The players that have arrived so far are encouraging ones.

Quote Originally Posted by eric.hibsfan View Post
    Rumour doing the rounds that we are trying to attract Goodwillie [ex-Dundee Unt] to Easter Road on a season - long loan deal. Seemingly he is talking to both us and our neighbours. Anyone any inf on this ? Is it Tom Kite ? Surely some of you that are "in the know" club can shed some light on this rumour.
    I ain't in the know but cannae seem him picking us over them !!

Money and current standing will dictate that as it did with Barr and Webster

Gamertag: HibsMax
    In SPL terms they're decent-ish, but in relation to a club of Hibernian's standard, they're poor. I also said 'pretty awful', and not simply awful.
    Decent-ish is better than what we are right now. It doesn't matter what standards we may have had in the past, we have to focus on the present, and the future.

Pretty awful vs awful - sorry but there's not much of a difference there IMO.

@hibs.net private member Hibby Kay-Yay's Avatar

Gamertag: ps3 - hibby kay-yay
    So any rumours then or should we start a new rumours thread?

Sorry, worded badly but I'm agreeing with you.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    I honestly don't know if he will sign or not or even if we are after him.

Am getting so disorientated I don't even know who I want to sign anymore.

Maybury, Kerr, Sheridan. Haven't a clue if they are the answer or not, somedays I think maybe aye other days maybe naw.

I am happy with Williams, McPake, Clancy, Cairney, Griffiths and Deegan though.

A yes to Maybury, the other two can take a hike.

Quote Originally Posted by eric.hibsfan View Post
    The Goodwillie to Hearts rumour has been.doing the rounds on kickback for weeks. Not heard anything about him to Hibs.

Strikes me as strange on a few accounts. Not sure what benefit Blackburn get from sending him up here, they know he can score goals in Scotland, surely League one or bottom half of the Championship makes more sense. Secondly if he was to come to Scotland I'd have thought Dundee Utd would be more appealing to him than Hibs or Hearts.

Alan Maybury like so many of our players is a bottom 6 spl player at best. Cheap option.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    A yes to Maybury, the other two can take a hike.
    Sheridan is a cracking foward. He'd do well up top with Sparky.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnHughes View Post
    Alan Maybury like so many of our players is a bottom 6 spl player at best. Cheap option.
    Yet every season he has played in the SPL the sides he has been with have finished in the top 6 (in the time he was with Hearts I think Hibs only finished top 6 once or maybe twice).......seems to me that he is quite a decent player to have around Easter Road.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnHughes View Post
    Don't think he is a world beater but if he allows Hanlon or Clancy to move to centre back he could be a major signing. Add his experience and reported professionalism to the dressingroom and he could be a big part of the rebuilding process. Sort of Gary Smith player at the right time.

If he is cheap that would free up money for other players. Stop being so negative and see the positives!

Sorry, worded badly but I'm agreeing with you.
    It's one of the most annoying things on this site, new signing has to be a barca youth player or he's no hibs class.