View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 629 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1295295796196276286296306316396797291129 ... LastLast
Results 18,841 to 18,870 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    Assuming that some of the top-level players who agreed to TUPE thinking they'd be in division 1 can be sold, the transfer fees will be easily enough to pay signing-on amounts for a team capable of being at the top of division 2 in January 2014. Livingston showed that virtually any full-time team can win divisions 2 and 3 against the part-time sides at that level.

Paying wages and maintaining Ibrox might be more of a problem, but I think this is a major success for Rangers. Effectively the SFA have totally backed down on the embargo.
    Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    When is an embargo not an embargo? When it involves the SFA it seems. Every time I just about get round to thinking that, just maybe, there is a chance Scottish football can drag itself out of this mess and give the impression it has the tiniest bit of credibility and is not corrupt, along comes another kick in the teeth. If only the shower in charge of our game had shown the slightest sign of having a pair at any stage of this pantomime........well they have just stuck the tin lid on it. What a joke.
    Agree completely. The fact that the BBC story is headed "Sevco will accept transfer embargo" and goes on to report"... following a week of negotiations between Green's consortium and the SFA, Scottish football's governing body revealed an agreement..." says it all. New huns but same old corruption.
    ​#PERSEVERED

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Must have missed this. Who are they being linked with (other than a part time painter and decorator fae Tranent)
    A part time painter that ran the brush over our fulltime squad time and time again.

If Black goes there, then they must have stupid cash for a 3rd division side.

If he had to take up part time painting because he wasn't getting his full wages at hahaHearts, then I can't see him signing for a club who would offer him 3rd division wages (unless of course, they have stupid cash coming in from somewhere)

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    A part time painter that ran the brush over our fulltime squad time and time again.

If Black goes there, then they must have stupid cash for a 3rd division side.

If he had to take up part time painting because he wasn't getting his full wages at hahaHearts, then I can't see him signing for a club who would offer him 3rd division wages (unless of course, they have stupid cash coming in from somewhere)
    That he did but it seems unlikely he'll join the new huns so who are the other high profile signings they're linked with?
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    That he did but it seems unlikely he'll join the new huns so who are the other high profile signings they're linked with?
    Gazza, for one or two.

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    Gazza.
    This is how it feels

98% of Killie fans

Quote Originally Posted by Mainboy19 View Post
    This is how it feels

First Team Breakthrough Hibby Mike's Avatar
    Ole!

Cheers, I'd heard about that but not seen a pic yet...surely the percentages are wrong, closer to 100 no?

Quote Originally Posted by vanNISHtelroy View Post
    Cheers, I'd heard about that but not seen a pic yet...surely the percentages are wrong, closer to 100 no?
    Nope it's accurate. The other 2% put the word total in front of it
    This is how it feels

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post
    How many divisions are the Huns playing in next season?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/scottish/
    They still haven't put Rangers in the 3rd division table yet and are adamant that "club 12" hasn't be decided yet.

Is it really that difficult for them to accept?
    lets set it straight for them

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    Gazza, for one or two.
    Get the Andy gorams signed up and that's nearly half a team

Nope it's accurate. The other 2% put the word total in front of it
    Of course! I thank my learned friend for pointing that out!

Quote Originally Posted by jonty View Post
    lets set it straight for them

been moaning about the same thing - its so out of date / in denial its not true.....and yet if you look at Div3 page its all about them

I would love them not to get promoted... wonder if we should loan some decent U21's out to dive 3 sides with a chance

Assuming that some of the top-level players who agreed to TUPE thinking they'd be in division 1 can be sold, the transfer fees will be easily enough to pay signing-on amounts for a team capable of being at the top of division 2 in January 2014. Livingston showed that virtually any full-time team can win divisions 2 and 3 against the part-time sides at that level.

Paying wages and maintaining Ibrox might be more of a problem, but I think this is a major success for Rangers. Effectively the SFA have totally backed down on the embargo.
    Might? It's their fundamental problem. It's been said before on here, but the Cash Flow is just not there IMO.

I don't think this is a "major success". If they had been forced to play kids, on low wages, they would have been able to build up slowly, and get used to cutting their cloth, as all other clubs do. This way puts the temptation there for them to buy success, and I just don't think they have the means to sustain that.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 20-07-2012 at 09:10 PM.

This was a guarantee

Ok Sevco buy yer self a team just now to ensure you get back up then we'll put a ban on........ Couldnae make it up

SFA - corrupt and rotten to the core

Mr Regan - I'm sorry Chas that I broke ma promise about div 1 so I'll let you have a chance to rebuild before we put your ban in place as a wee apology. Now would you like me to rub yer back or shine your shoes next
    Last edited by AlbertK86; 20-07-2012 at 09:16 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Might? It's their fundamental problem. It's been said before on here, but the Cash Flow is just not there IMO.

I don't think this is a "major success". If they had been forced to play kids, on low wages, they would have been able to build up slowly, and get used to cutting their cloth, as all other clubs do. This way puts the temptation there for them to buy success, and I just don't think they have the means to sustain that.

I think that Green wanted Div 1 with little sanctions...quick sticking plaster job and then share issue to make him big wedge (under fan ownership smokescreen)

Plan B Div 3 with transfer embargo...sorry fans...can't sign anyone..SFA/Other clubs have picked on us...show your support / stick your fingers up by buying ST's etc and we will fight our way back (low over heads / decent income = cash building up/ syphoned off)

The way it has worked out will not suit Green at all as the hordes will expect signings as sign of faith...

While I agree that cashflow is a problem for them, to buy success they don't have to spend much over the two windows in the next four in which they're now allowed to buy players. All they have to do is assemble a team of the quality that Livingston had in the 2010-11 season, and I repeat my suggestion that they can easily do that from transfer fees payable for a couple of Goian, Bocanegra etc. One transfer fee of £250,000 will pay a season's wages for half a team at the level needed to reach division 1 (there might even be enough left to allow the PAYE to be forwarded to HMRC).

While the underlying gap between income and spending will still be there, a winning team will attract more orcs to Ibrox and buy time for Green and the club to regroup. I still have doubts about Rangers' ability to get through the coming system, but I think that today's decision will alleviate their difficulties.

While I agree that cashflow is a problem for them, to buy success they don't have to spend much over the two windows in the next four in which they're now allowed to buy players. All they have to do is assemble a team of the quality that Livingston had in the 2010-11 season, and I repeat my suggestion that they can easily do that from transfer fees payable for a couple of Goian, Bocanegra etc. One transfer fee of £250,000 will pay a season's wages for half a team at the level needed to reach division 1 (there might even be enough left to allow the PAYE to be forwarded to HMRC).

While the underlying gap between income and spending will still be there, a winning team will attract more orcs to Ibrox and buy time for Green and the club to regroup. I still have doubts about Rangers' ability to get through the coming system, but I think that today's decision will alleviate their difficulties.
    Now you're just being silly.

As an aside, did Goian and Bocanegra actually transfer to Seb Coe? IIRC, there is a period during which they can elect not to.

Now you're just being silly.

As an aside, did Goian and Bocanegra actually transfer to Seb Coe? IIRC, there is a period during which they can elect not to.
    I don't know. I've assumed that the players who're still around have accepted the transfer by receiving pay for June, but that could be either factually or legally inaccurate.

I still think that deferring the transfer ban allows Rangers to assemble a team that will win divisions in the next two seasons with expenditure they can cover from football income. This makes their ultimate recovery more likely. Let's hope that if they return to the SPL they'll find an organisation that has voting and income distribution procedures that are not designed to benefit only the top two clubs.

I don't know. I've assumed that the players who're still around have accepted the transfer by receiving pay for June, but that could be either factually or legally inaccurate.

I think that apostrophe is inappropriate.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby

Lack of ambition (players signing for Third Division Sevco)

I have to say, I'm slightly confused by players like Black, Beattie, sandaza that are pimping themselves to a SFL3 club.
    I can't see how this club are able to match wages of SFL1 and SPL clubs, and also why these players would want to play at a level much lower than they are capable of. They could play at SPL level for the next few years before moving to sevco. And some of these players may also have a chance at playing for Scotland (especially if they have a Levein connection). Yet they are grovelling to a club that are in the shadows of a club that didn't pay taxes, other clubs, etc. I am baffled!!

I still think that deferring the transfer ban allows Rangers to assemble a team that will win divisions in the next two seasons with expenditure they can cover from football income. This makes their ultimate recovery more likely. Let's hope that if they return to the SPL they'll find an organisation that has voting and income distribution procedures that are not designed to benefit only the top two clubs.
    I suspect that any of the players who are on big wages will be 'ecouraged' to leave. There will not be the cash flow to sustain this in the Third Division particularly with the pressure on Green to sell to a 'Rangers minded' consortium. Rangers will not be able to afford to throw money to gain promotion as this could extend their three year European ban. I would guess that the exceptions given in the first couple of reporting periods for Financial Fair Play will have expired by then and Rangers will have to break even.

In some respects the transfer ban may be good for Green as it will remove the pressure from the fans to spend big. Rangers should be able to assumble a side capable of winning SFL3 based on the few senior pros including Kirk Broadfoot, Lee McCulloch, etc augmented by some under-18 players. They may be able to post a profit in the first two years allowing scope for spending big to get out of SFL1 and buil a competitive SPL side.

They must be getting wads of cash from somewhere if they are attracting such players.

I honestly don't buy into the idea that they are completely skint. I believe they are getting short term hand outs from sources that have plenty to gain from it in the long run.

A strong Rangers in the SPL is a huge financial benefit to some companies.

They must be getting wads of cash from somewhere if they are attracting such players.

I honestly don't buy into the idea that they are completely skint. I believe they are getting short term hand outs from sources that have plenty to gain from it in the long run.

A strong Rangers in the SPL is a huge financial benefit to some companies.
    maybe "newco" is continuing from "oldco" and have decided not to bother themselves with paying any taxes

First Team Regular muirhousehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    I have to say, I'm slightly confused by players like Black, Beattie, sandaza that are pimping themselves to a SFL3 club.
    I can't see how this club are able to match wages of SFL1 and SPL clubs, and also why these players would want to play at a level much lower than they are capable of. They could play at SPL level for the next few years before moving to sevco. And some of these players may also have a chance at playing for Scotland (especially if they have a Levein connection). Yet they are grovelling to a club that are in the shadows of a club that didn't pay taxes, other clubs, etc. I am baffled!!

Is football all about trophies,not any more it isn’t thats for sure. Players who have plenty money like van persie etc all want trophies other pro players who have cash but not enough for life ,want big money moves rather then trophies. Rangers paying higher wages in div3 is why everyone has mortgages and family's.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    Genuinely wouldn't surprise me if there were still several players at Sevco who walk straight into the national set up. Theyv'e got more chance than anyone here anyways

Quote Originally Posted by muirhousehibby View Post
    Is football all about trophies,not any more it isn’t thats for sure. Players who have plenty money like van persie etc all want trophies other pro players who have cash but not enough for life ,want big money moves rather then trophies. Rangers paying higher wages in div3 is why everyone has mortgages and family's.
    Can they really be paying more than SPL clubs tho?

Quote Originally Posted by Sean1875 View Post
    Genuinely wouldn't surprise me if there were still several players at Sevco who walk straight into the national set up. Theyv'e got more chance than anyone here anyways
    Under any other manager I would say no chance. But under Levein, nothing surprises me!