View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 615 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1155155656056136146156166176256657151115 ... LastLast
Results 18,421 to 18,450 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by magpie1892 View Post
    Bollocks.
    It's not bollocks. Just look at some of the 'reporting' of this fiasco, scaremongering, entirely fictitious figures being portrayed as fact, etc. Either you work for one of these rags or are at the wind-up.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    Magpie1892..... I present to you....

The "Daily Record" and The "Scottish Sun".

Not to mention the Hootsmon

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...mise-1-2412834

utter, utter garbage. Where do they get these figures from??

On the other hand, the Observer had this the same day

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/b...ngers-optimism

Take your pick.
    Last edited by Moulin Yarns; 16-07-2012 at 07:37 AM.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Bollocks.
    Albeit not a newspaper, STV had Craig Whyte deducting VAT from players' wages.

Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    It's not bollocks. Just look at some of the 'reporting' of this fiasco, scaremongering, entirely fictitious figures being portrayed as fact, etc. Either you work for one of these rags or are at the wind-up.
    Then the op should have qualified the statement. Yes, I am a journalist, and work (freelance) for one of the red-tops which does have a (well earned) reputation for ****mery but to say all papers print whatever is the bigger lie.

Please quote me on where I said "all" papers. Because I don't recall saying that.

"Some" tabloids take risks and print off stories before they have their facts straight, so they can be the first in there.

Take the Daily Records story on Leigh Griffiths headbutt for example. They were forced to retract their statement and issue an apology to the club after they were informed that it never happened and couldn't provide any evidence that it did happen.

brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinCharles Green and Ally McCoist arrive at Hampden for SPL agm

Craig Ewing@CraigyBhoy88Why is Green and McCoist at the SPL meeting, they are an SFL club so have no right to be there

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNo But View Post
    brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinCharles Green and Ally McCoist arrive at Hampden for SPL agm

Craig Ewing@CraigyBhoy88Why is Green and McCoist at the SPL meeting, they are an SFL club so have no right to be there

The oldco will still have a share in the SPL, until it's transferred to either Dundee or Dunfermline.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    The oldco will still have a share in the SPL, until it's transferred to either Dundee or Dunfermline.
    But are Green and McCoist still employees of the oldco? I thought they had already jumped ship.

Charles Green at Hampden as SPL allow Rangers representation at AGM

Rangers are being represented at Monday’s annual general meeting of the Scottish Premier League.

STV understands Charles Green is at Hampden with Ally McCoist, as the SPL has so far failed to request Duff and Phelps to relinquish the company’s member share. The member clubs of the league voted against the newco Rangers assuming the old company’s share at a ballot on July 4.

Under the SPL’s rules, the old company should have ceased to be entitled to hold a share on that date, as they had already ceased to be the owner and operator of a club.

Nobody at the SPL was available for comment at the time of publication.

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...tation-at-agm/

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNo But View Post
    Charles Green at Hampden as SPL allow Rangers representation at AGM

Rangers are being represented at Monday’s annual general meeting of the Scottish Premier League.

STV understands Charles Green is at Hampden with Ally McCoist, as the SPL has so far failed to request Duff and Phelps to relinquish the company’s member share. The member clubs of the league voted against the newco Rangers assuming the old company’s share at a ballot on July 4.

Under the SPL’s rules, the old company should have ceased to be entitled to hold a share on that date, as they had already ceased to be the owner and operator of a club.

Nobody at the SPL was available for comment at the time of publication.

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...tation-at-agm/
    What a mess, do these boys work for two companies now?

And what other managers attend the SPL meetings?

Is Pat Fenlon at Hampden with Petrie today?

They are not the oldco though are they? they have **** all tae dae with the SPL......

.....or

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    They are not the oldco though are they? they have **** all tae dae with the SPL......

.....or
    BBC Sport ‏@BBCSport
    SPL chairmen tell BBC Scotland there is no chance of a reprieve for the new Rangers at their annual meeting http://bbc.in/NsLg8i
    Retweeted by Chris McLaughlin

This is unbelievable

Grant Russell@STVGrantOldco had vote on share transfer. Presumably they'll have voting rights today as well and decide which club, if any, replaces them.

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    BBC Sport ‏@BBCSport
    SPL chairmen tell BBC Scotland there is no chance of a reprieve for the new Rangers at their annual meeting http://bbc.in/NsLg8i
    why have they invited them then if it has f all tae dae with them?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    BBC Sport ‏@BBCSport
    "Reprieve"?? They haven't been punished. How could they be reprieved?

Surely today's meeting should be used to remove the Oldco SPL membership. How long do these things take???

It makes a total mockery of Scottish Football that the owner and manager of a 3rd division team are at the SPL meeting.

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    "Reprieve"?? They haven't been punished. How could they be reprieved?
    I appreciate what you're saying, however for me it's just badly worded (not your post BTW), the meaning is crystal clear though no way back for oldco/newco FC. And that's what really matters.
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    Is Pat Fenlon at Hampden with Petrie today?
    They'll be there because SFA are deciding on their punishment today.

Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    They'll be there because SFA are deciding on their punishment today.
    What exactly has that got tae dae with the SPL AGM?

Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post
    Lets not forgot why all SPL slubs are in as much debt as they are in because the SFA demanded a 10,000 seater stadium that half empty every week at the cost of 10's millions of pounds..most clubs are probably still trying to pay this off and will be for years to come
    You cannot be serious!

Name a club who are in financial difficulty because the authorities forced them to build 10,000 seater stadiums?

Is that why Hibs have a 20,000 seater stadium? How about Killie, who built an 18,000 seater stadium long before the SPL were even thought of? Similarly did they put a gun to the head of Hearts to build a 17,000 seater ground?

It cannot be Inverness or St Mirren because they have much smaller stadia. It obviously is not the reason for Rangers' economic difficulties because the development was carried out many years ago. Nor for that matter Celtic because the 60,000 seater stadium was build 15 years beack before Fergus McCann handed over a debt free club to the new owners.

The only sizable development at Motherwell took place in the mid 1990s. St Johnstone's stadium was built in the 1980s. Dundee United's development largely took place in the 1990s. Finally Aberdeen have had no development since the early 1990s.

The fact that SPL clubs are in financial trouble is nothing to do with stadia. It is all to do with paying too much money for players. So clubs cannot blame the SPL or the SFL for current finacial problems.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    What exactly has that got tae dae with the SPL AGM?
    Both events taking place today I think. Was in papers over weekend?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ginger_rice View Post
    I appreciate what you're saying, however for me it's just badly worded (not your post BTW), the meaning is crystal clear though no way back for oldco/newco FC. And that's what really matters.
    Yes but everything that's come out of the MSM since Feb 14th has been 'badly worded'. Taken together, the hunners and hunners of badly worded reports have amounted to a tissue of lies. And it's still going on. DodoHun is ******d, and this is at last being acknowledged. What still needs to be acknowledged more widely imo is that Scottish 'journalism' is ******d.

Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    Both events taking place today I think. Was in papers over weekend?
    I'm no disputing that, they may both conveniently be taking place at Hampden today but they are two different things, why are McCoist and Green in the SPL meeting, it has **** all tae dae with them.

Is there ANY chance a line can finally be drawn in the sand today and then we can all get on with it? An announcement from the SPL/SFA/SFL saying all the decisions are now final, announce whether it's Dunfermline or Dundee in the SPL, confirm SevCo will have to earn promotion from SFL3 and let's all just look forward to the new season?

Quote Originally Posted by LancashireHibby View Post
    Is there ANY chance a line can finally be drawn in the sand today and then we can all get on with it? An announcement from the SPL/SFA/SFL saying all the decisions are now final, announce whether it's Dunfermline or Dundee in the SPL, confirm SevCo will have to earn promotion from SFL3 and let's all just look forward to the new season?
    Anyhting less would be a joke.

They should also be making clear just when the clubs will talk about changes in the voting structure and money distibution and it should also be made quite clear where ongoing plans to merge the governing bodies and make some of those other changes comes into it.

As it stands it has all been mixed up and mixed in to various different decisions and proposals. Someone needs to take this by the baws now and make pretty clear what is happening, when and why.

@hibs.net private member Bighoose's Avatar
    Scottish Sun reporting today that D3 clubs will need to stump up £50,000 to cover the costs of cops of to "baby sit" the Rangers fans on each visit.

Simple answer is then dont invite them, they wont be losing out much anyway.

And does this mean we will save £100K by not playing them, not to mention the savings in domestos and air freshner?

Bet you Regan and Doncaster didnt have this in their Armageddon Powerpoint presentation.

@hibs.net private member mayo hibee's Avatar
    How is it that when lower league teams drew Rangers in the cup it was a nice money spinner for them despite only getting half the gate, yet when they get them twice at home in the league and get all the takings we get stories about them being crippled by policing costs.

More media bull****.

Quote Originally Posted by mayo hibee View Post
    How is it that when lower league teams drew Rangers in the cup it was a nice money spinner for them despite only getting half the gate, yet when they get them twice at home in the league and get all the takings we get stories about them being crippled by policing costs.

More media bull****.
    I thought that too, but PTS pointed out the games were always on telly, and that paid for any extra cost incurred. I cant believe the sevco games wont be covered by tv, so if thats the case, i agree it is more bull**** from the west coast media.

BREAKING NEWS ... latest scenes from SPL AGM at Hampden!