View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 597 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 974975475875955965975985996076476971097 ... LastLast
Results 17,881 to 17,910 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Though surely it could only be proposed by the SPL?

I would hope Hibs would have no part in promoting or agreeing this.
    Wouldn't all the SPL clubs have to agree to this, and those who'd be joining from the SFL? I cant see this happening that quickly, surely this has no chance?

@hibs.net private member Ryan91's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Wee Hibby View Post
    It would appear that given the WARNING bit on the front, this was said after the vote.
    Confirmed - alex thomson ‏@alextomoThat's what really went on. Ignore any guff about "Rangers" definitely heading for D3. This fight has only just started.

Wouldn't all the SPL clubs have to agree to this, and those who'd be joining from the SFL? I cant see this happening that quickly, surely this has no chance?
    I also notice that the SFL refer to an alternative arrangement that they have turned down - was that the restructure or the simple Huns in Div 1 option?

@hibs.net private member the_ginger_hibee's Avatar
    Neil Doncaster and SFA counterpart Stewart Regan gave to clubs last week that the SPL will introduce a plan for SPL 2 - which would include Rangers - and invite existing Division One members to join.
    The long con continues....

Fight goes on...

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    what does that mean?
    Nice try ;)

"Oh give me a home where there's no Huns at all and no bigots to sadden my eyes"

Symapthies to the poor wee towns who will suffer the Rangers invasion next season but this was the only correct decision and there had better be no dark arts to fast-track der Hun back to the SPL. Jim White close to tears on SSN.

Gordon Smith looks a bit teary..

And can I just say, to every other "Diddy Team" and every other "Diddy Fan" who spoke against this criminal act. I thank you !

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    RANGERS STATEMENT ON CLUB WEBSITE

"Rangers' future remains uncertain after the Scottish Football League clubs voted against the Light Blues playing in the First Division next season.

"At a meeting at Hampden today, the 30 member clubs agreed to accept Rangers into the SFL but voted against the SFL board being allowed to broker a deal with the SPL and SFA over new structures and procedures which would also include Rangers playing in Division One.
    "It is now understood that on the back of a briefing SPL chief executive Neil Doncaster and SFA counterpart Stewart Regan gave to clubs last week that the SPL will introduce a plan for SPL 2 - which would include Rangers - and invite existing Division One members to join."

It's not over yet lads. The real stitch up is about to come.
    I think after a while some fans could have came to terms with them being properly voted into division 1

IMO there are very few who could accept the above

The former woudnt have been a tipping point for me

The latter certainly will

SPL would be absolutely mental to even try for that option, so it figures they probably will
    Last edited by BSEJVT; 13-07-2012 at 02:38 PM.

The combination of Jim White and Gordon Smith on the screen is sheer delight.

Confirmed - alex thomson ‏@alextomoThat's what really went on. Ignore any guff about "Rangers" definitely heading for D3. This fight has only just started.
    Depends on whether Regan has the backing of the SFA Board and SPL Club Chairmen. I suspect he has lost the war and does not realise it yet. Expect to see him become an increasingly isolated figure over the next few days as those who previously supported him behind the scenes now race to distance themselves from him in public. At least I hope that's what's going to happen.

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNo But View Post
    SFL press statement

http://www.scottishfootballleague.co...-statement-49/

PRESS STATEMENT

Friday 13th July 2012

The Member Clubs of The Scottish Football League have today voted to willingly accept The Rangers Football Club as an Associate Member of The Scottish Football League. Furthermore, The Scottish Football League’s only acceptable position will be to place Rangers F.C. into the Third Division of the IRN-BRU Scottish Football League from the start of this season, 2012/13.

This decision followed our tried and tested process and was taken in cognisance of the other option which was available for consideration and approval. Today’s decision has been one of the most difficult for all concerned, but it has been taken in the best interests of sporting fairness which is the fundamental principle of The Scottish Football League.

The Scottish Football League has been entirely consistent in our willingness to work with other bodies to ensure that we focus on rebuilding our game, restoring pride in our game and exploring revenue streams which allow the game to prosper. Our willingness to achieve these aims does not alter.
    Why are they referring to Rangers F.C. when Rangers don't exist?

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    The combination of Jim White and Gordon Smith on the screen is sheer delight.

Both to be placed on suicide watch very shortly.

poor souls

"I'd be hoping Green declines our invite to enter the Scottish Cup.

Let's **** them all right over now the ball's back in our court (kind of)"

The idea of getting an SPL2 up and running before the beginning of the season is an utter non-starter. That idea should be firmly rejected before the end of the day.

SFA and the Leagues should commit to having a new structure in place for the beginning of 13/14 season - this would give time for proper consultation between now and Christmas, followed by 7 months to implement the new structure properly. This would include a proper pyramid system and one governing body.

I'm not sure how Doncaster and Regan can keep their jobs after this. It is simply preposterous that it has taken this long to reach the most obvious and just conclusion. Now, Dundee / Dunfermline??

To be fair, the Rangers fans on the BBC at least are taking this well, saying that Div 3 is the best outcome. It DOES allow newco Rangers to enter the new season untarnished, and their fans should have some fun along the way. The SFL clubs will no doubt be licking their lips at the thought of enhanced gates from Rangers fixtures, and why not? They should enjoy a little boost in attendance and increased media profile.

The season starts in 2 weeks and the SPL have to announce on Monday whether Dundee or DAFC will be in the SPL, so this will be a short sharp fight.

IMHO Regan and Doncaster to be out of their jobs come Monday.

Quote Originally Posted by big-mo View Post
    Makes me sick to my teeth.

They talk about it as if Rangers have been voted down!

When actually, this "new team" have been promoted directly into the SFL!

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    I wonder if Traynor is looking forward to visiting these unambitious social clubs that rangers will be playing against next season.

Quote Originally Posted by big-mo View Post
    Sevco bought the brand, ie the name.

Rangers, on the club website, said they faced an "uncertain" future.

The club added: "Now understood that on the back of a briefing SPL chief executive Neil Doncaster and SFA counterpart Stewart Regan gave to clubs last week that the SPL will introduce a plan for SPL 2 - which would include Rangers - and invite existing Division One members to join."

Quote Originally Posted by Paisley Hibby View Post
    Depends on whether Regan has the backing of the SFA Board and SPL Club Chairmen. I suspect he has lost the war and does not realise it yet. Expect to see him become an increasingly isolated figure over the next few days as those who previously supported him behind the scenes now race to distance themselves from him in public. At least I hope that's what's going to happen.
    He probably has the backing of the majority of the SFA Board, not so sure about the SPL Chairmen, I could see some support from them, not much though. Regardless of whether or not he has the backing the fact is, is that he is seemingly hell bent on getting Rangers a few steps closer to the SPL.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    The idea of getting an SPL2 up and running before the beginning of the season is an utter non-starter. That idea should be firmly rejected before the end of the day.

SFA and the Leagues should commit to having a new structure in place for the beginning of 13/14 season - this would give time for proper consultation between now and Christmas, followed by 7 months to implement the new structure properly. This would include a proper pyramid system and one governing body.

I'm not sure how Doncaster and Regan can keep their jobs after this. It is simply preposterous that it has taken this long to reach the most obvious and just conclusion. Now, Dundee / Dunfermline??

To be fair, the Rangers fans on the BBC at least are taking this well, saying that Div 3 is the best outcome. It DOES allow newco Rangers to enter the new season untarnished, and their fans should have some fun along the way. The SFL clubs will no doubt be licking their lips at the thought of enhanced gates from Rangers fixtures, and why not? They should enjoy a little boost in attendance and increased media profile.
    Gordon Smith on SSN a few mins ago suggesting that "Rangers" fans knew who the "25" clubs are and may well choose to boycott them - i.e. not travel to away matches. Lovely people.

Quote Originally Posted by Dalkeith View Post
    SFL indicated this would be no goer as all sfl clubs had indicated they would stick together in their aim for a better structure for all 42 teams in scotland
    Gordonhun smith said same that spl2 was dead as sfl clubs are looking for a 42 team structure

Nae mair rangers.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

ENDOF

@hibs.net private member Off the bar's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bad Martini View Post
    Nae mair rangers.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

ENDOF
    best summing up of the days events I love it!

Quote Originally Posted by Dalkeith View Post
    Gordonhun smith said same that spl2 was dead as sfl clubs are looking for a 42 team structure
    We can hopefully see a 14/16 team league soon.

Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    Gordon Smith on SSN a few mins ago suggesting that "Rangers" fans knew who the "25" clubs are and may well choose to boycott them - i.e. not travel to away matches. Lovely people.
    Hmmm. It would be good if they boycotted us all in the spl too, but assuming they ever get promoted oot the pub league.

The smell.... Ahhhh. Fresh air.

ENDOF

Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    But the SFL clubs only gave the "Rangers" supporters what they wanted according to their poll as reported in the press. Why would they now boycott them?

No SPL 2 this season

There should not be any thought of a new SPL 2 this season. I'm all for reconstruction of the league, but not to satisfy the greed of one club or to cover up the ineptitude of two senior officials. Regan and Doncaster should be out ASAP!!!!!!!!

@hibs.net private member neilmartinrocks's Avatar

Gamertag: sum1stolemytag
    imagesCA6KG3FI.jpg

yer oot!!

Quote Originally Posted by EdinMike View Post
    Gordon Smith looks a bit teary..

And can I just say, to every other "Diddy Team" and every other "Diddy Fan" who spoke against this criminal act. I thank you !

Not out of the woods yet according to Tomo

alex thomson ‏@alextomo
    ‪#c4news‬ tonight the fight intensifies: Scottish FA pledged to over-rule fanpower and their own clubs.