View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 583 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 834835335735815825835845855936336831083 ... LastLast
Results 17,461 to 17,490 of 45185
    First Team Breakthrough John_the_angus_hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    You obviously haven't read any of the recent posts on this. I posted earlier that the proposal, which you appear to enthusiastically refer to, was outlined on the BBC and according to them, the proposal only goes ahead if the Huns are in Div. 1. If they are in Div. 3 the proposal is binned. The term 'Rangers' may not appear in the proposal but the proposal is totally about Rangers. Sorry, to take the wind from your sails.
    If NewCo is admitted into D3 they will probably be back in the SPL following successive promotions. So is the question not: are the proposals worth the additional 2 years of no NewCo in the SPL? I think if delivered they would worth it.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    16 team SPL???

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...em/9338483.stm

Doncaster, ya Donkey
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by John_the_angus_hibby View Post
    If NewCo is admitted into D3 they will probably be back in the SPL following successive promotions. So is the question not: are the proposals worth the additional 2 years of no NewCo in the SPL? I think if delivered they would worth it.

Don't be so sure. I think they might struggle to get half decent players, if they survuve the humiliation
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by John_the_angus_hibby View Post
    Maybe I'm missing something here but the proposals will have the Huns back in the SPL in one year.

Quote Originally Posted by Pitlochry hibee View Post
    Don't be so sure. I think they might struggle to get half decent players, if they survuve the humiliation

A debt free club with £25 million of funding PA.....struggle

Maybe I'm missing something here but the proposals will have the Huns back in the SPL in one year.
    First to SPL = 1 year

3rd to SPL = 3 years

Diff = Der Hun in SPL for an additional 2 years

Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    First to SPL = 1 year

3rd to SPL = 3 years

Diff = Der Hun in SPL for an additional 2 years

So the fix is to make sure they get back into the SPL in the 3 years, 3 promotion places stacks the odds of a relatively poor Sevco coming back into the SPL.

Do you think the SFL1 plan is now not what they're planning for and that this is a deal which suits more SFL chairmen than not?

Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    So the fix is to make sure they get back into the SPL in the 3 years, 3 promotion places stacks the odds of a relatively poor Sevco coming back into the SPL.

Do you think the SFL1 plan is now not what they're planning for?
    I was explaining a post to Jim44.

FWIW, I think Der Hun will be in SFL3 - the SFL clubs will ensure it, and the SPL won't take the risk of alienating their teams' core support. Least thats what I'm hoping for.

Sorry, I'd lost the thread a bit. It's become a bit of a saga.

I agree with that, but I'm sure the negotiations are centred around getting Sevco back into the SPL quickly. Suddenly, from nowhere today we hear of a fix to get them back in - almost certainly - in 3 years. Which is a bit of a change because I'm sure earlier we were told that SFL1 was the only real choice.

Doncaster should learn from the idiocy of tying the tv rights, such as they are to a guaranteed number of OF games. I reckon Sevco need serious investment and I don't think Green is one. Without big money, I can't see them making such an easy journey from 3 to 1 to SPL.
    Last edited by steakbake; 11-07-2012 at 10:38 PM.

My head is spinning with the vagueness and uncertainty. My understanding is that with the most recent proposal Newco goes into Div.1 (for one year), in season 2013-14 (new structure) if in top 3 in season 2013-14 they will be in SPL1 = 1 year absence from SPL.

Do you think the SFL1 plan is now not what they're planning for and that this is a deal which suits more SFL chairmen than not?

Sorry, I'd lost the thread a bit. It's become a bit of a saga.

I agree with that, but I'm sure the negotiations are centred around getting Sevco back into the SPL quickly. Suddenly, from nowhere today we hear of a fix to get them back in - almost certainly - in 3 years. Which is a bit of a change because I'm sure earlier we were told that SFL1 was the only real choice.

Doncaster should learn from the idiocy of tying the tv rights, such as they are to a guaranteed number of OF games. I reckon Sevco need serious investment and I don't think Green is one. Without big money, I can't see them making such an easy journey from 3 to 1 to SPL.
    Where do you guys get the Huns taking three years to get back to the SPL from? Today's proposal will see them back in one year.

FFS, sorry - yeah you're right. Well maybe this move is more about trying to convince the SFL1 clubs. 3 promo places a year from 2013-2014. I would still come back to my original point though that Doncaster should learn not to tie his ship to a single anchor. What if they don't make it back in year 1?

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar

"...coz, we are the people!"

It is the best video on the internet re. the Huns, total classic and very well scripted! I have watched it over 30 times now. My fave line is, "Is any of this making the slightest bit of sense Jabba?"

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    Type in "Explain debt to a hun".

Beware, this cartoon is very rude and contains lots and lots of sweary words...... DO NOT VIEW IF EASILY OFFENDED!

Sorry if already been posted or if I'm not supposed to mention other sites etc etc

I'm probably being a total fanny here, but I read the statement from sfa, spl & sfl pretty different than the bbc one. To me the sfa one reads more like newhun may not get in to sfl at all but there would be a route in next year, or is that just wishful thinking?
    oh and by the way ma heids spinnin tae.
    My head is spinning with the vagueness and uncertainty. My understanding is that with the most recent proposal Newco goes into Div.1 (for one year), in season 2013-14 (new structure) if in top 3 in season 2013-14 they will be in SPL1 = 1 year absence from SPL.

FFS, sorry - yeah you're right. Well maybe this move is more about trying to convince the SFL1 clubs. 3 promo places a year from 2013-2014. I would still come back to my original point though that Doncaster should learn not to tie his ship to a single anchor. What if they don't make it back in year 1?
    Yes, today's proposal is a wee carrot (3 promotions with Newco a certainty IMHO) But remember, if they don't accept them into Div.1, the new proposal is binned. This means that Newco have to be considered for Div.3 But Regan and Doncaster have said that this WILL NOT happen and they will engineer a situation where Newco will come back to the SFL in one season. As I said earlier, my head is spinning with all these proposals and press reports etc. etc.. I am only absolutely convinced of one thing ........... Rangers will be out of the SPL for no more that one season.

I would a love it if the meeting went something like this on friday:

Doncaster/Regan: We strongly propose that....

SFL: Shut the ****** up. Here's what's happening. You give us cast iron guarantees of reconstruction and distribution of income immediately. Failure to do so will result in Sevco not being admitted at any level in the SFL.

Doncaster/Regan: But but but we'll bring in SPL 2 and you'll be fu...

SFL: Shut the ****** up. You can have Sevco or no Sevco. Give us what we want, NOW, or we'll ****ing ruin you.

Doncaster/Regan: We'll withhold the Settlement monies...

SFL: No, you ****ing won't. Because we'll sue your sorry, quivering ***** and you'll be monumentally ****ed, possibly insolvent and your clubs will be ****ing begging to be part of the SFL again.

SFL: Anything else? No? Well sign here and ****** off with your tails between your legs.

Pure fantasy of course, but it would be absolutely terrific.

So we know the *****y Scottish Sun are banging the drum for Sevco to be parachuted into SFL1...
    I wonder who they'll have acting as cheerleader for Sevco next?
    Will it be..Bomber Brown?
    Will it be...Andy Goram?
    Will it be....Watty Smith?
    Will it be.....Sandy Jardine?

NO...none of them!!!
    It's Theo Paphitis off of Dragon's Den of course!!!

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...-3-Im-out.html

The 11 SPL clubs said NO to Sevco - ten no's and one abstention - but these jokers didn't get the message. Who gives them the right to gerrymander Sevco into SFL1 and wreck Scottish football in the process? Are media creatures like Burley and other OF parasites running (ruining!) our game? It wouldn't matter to me if Hibs signed McFadden on a three year deal if Sevco are in SFL1. The irony being that RFC died due to outrageous office bearer behaviour over decades, but the ones really being punished for it are long suffering fans of law abiding clubs that are going to be forced to accept the newco and their bigoted fans back in the fold in one year. I start supporting Edinburgh Rugby if that happens.
    Last edited by LeighLoyal; 11-07-2012 at 11:28 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by EK_Hibs View Post
    So we know the *****y Scottish Sun are banging the drum for Sevco to be parachuted into SFL1...
    Will it be...Andy Goram?

NO...none of them!!!

Rangers have been "naughty"?

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    You obviously haven't read any of the recent posts on this. I posted earlier that the proposal, which you appear to enthusiastically refer to, was outlined on the BBC and according to them, the proposal only goes ahead if the Huns are in Div. 1. If they are in Div. 3 the proposal is binned. The term 'Rangers' may not appear in the proposal but the proposal is totally about Rangers. Sorry, to take the wind from your sails.
    Sorry it was a bit late in the night for me to send a sarcastic post. I thought the might have given it away

Will it be...Andy Goram?

NO...none of them!!!
    It's Theo Paphitis off of Dragon'
    s Den of course!!!

Beware of Greeks fearing rifts. Just take care of your childrens' inheritance, Theo, keep your big nose out of Scottish football.

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    Sorry it was a bit late in the night for me to send a sarcastic post. I thought the might have given it away
    Sorry for missing the sarcasm and irony. As I've said a few times, my mind is spinning with all this cr@p.

@hibs.net private member Hibby Kay-Yay's Avatar

Gamertag: ps3 - hibby kay-yay
    I reckon there will be a good bit more pant wetting and room for negotiation from our inspired leaders of the game before the voting starts.

I hope that, in the end, integrity (not just sporting integrity) prevails and we see a simple following of the existing rules that place Sevco Scotland into Div 3 (if they are lucky enough for that) with transfer ban and further penalties in place. Plus, the immediate resignation of Doncaster et all with a new unified team/structure in place getting back to grass roots football for the future of our game.

I have a dream...

Will it be...Andy Goram?

NO...none of them!!!

Yet another ill informed opinion that the old firm are scottish football. The rest of us might as well just not bother were only here to make up the numbers

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Maybe I'm missing something, but surely it's to the advantage of the majority of SFL clubs to have der Hun reborn in SFL 3? If they get lifted straight into the 1st Divison then the vast majority of SFL clubs will miss out on the chance of playing them and therefore sacrifice a big pay-day.

@hibs.net private member Hibby Kay-Yay's Avatar

Gamertag: ps3 - hibby kay-yay
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiberlin View Post
    Maybe I'm missing something, but surely it's to the advantage of the majority of SFL clubs to have der Hun reborn in SFL 3? If they get lifted straight into the 1st Divison then the vast majority of SFL clubs will miss out on the chance of playing them and therefore sacrifice a big pay-day.
    That big pay day is not certain though. Some clubs have voiced concerns about the cost of policing, stewards etc. Plus the grounds are only capable of taking limited numbers. Do we know how many supporters Sevco Scotland have and should it be Div 3, will they really follow them to away games?

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    So no TV deal of any sort would be available because Rangers were away for a couple of years extra.

You are suffering from the Stockholm sydrome Mr Doncaster!
    I never said that ...... The figure remains nil until any new deal could be worked out ... nil it would be until that happens, the guy who wrote the article didnt seem very positive about any deal though.

Not sure what the last bit of your post is supposed to mean. If it was aimed at me you can .... well I'm sure you can work it out!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Kay-Yay View Post
    That big pay day is not certain though. Some clubs have voiced concerns about the cost of policing, stewards etc. Plus the grounds are only capable of taking limited numbers. Do we know how many supporters Sevco Scotland have and should it be Div 3, will they really follow them to away games?

Pretty sure it will be big enough to fill most 3rd and then 2nd division grounds. Anyway .. I suppose if you are a fan of the Zombie Huns you have a chance to say in 3 or 4 years time that you have been to every ground in Scotland.

A follow-up to an excellent article that was in yesterday's Herald, http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...r-spl.18131361.

Which went into greater detail on the back of the blog that appeared last week (see +/- 50 pages back).

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BOVRIL View Post
    The figure remains nil until any new deal could be worked out ... nil it would be until that happens, the guy who wrote the article didnt seem very positive about any deal though.
    Donkastrian pish.