Looks like Ipswich Fans don't think the same ... http://www.ipswich.vitalfootball.co....e.asp?a=286793This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Town Target Signs For Hibs
Any hopes Ipswich had of signing the highly-rated keeper Ben Williams have been dashed after he joined SPL giants Hibernian.
The Hibees swooped for the out-of-contract goalie who has just left Colchester United after the Blues failed to follow up initial interest.
-
10-07-2012 09:19 PM #91"The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.
-
10-07-2012 09:44 PM #92This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-07-2012 12:06 AM #93This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
11-07-2012 04:19 AM #95
If a didnae awready have 1 , this would have me scurrying off to buy ma season ticket. C.MON guys back Paddy and his dream, things are looking up.
-
11-07-2012 05:06 AM #96
I hope he proves to be a good solid keeper. Imagine one of those at Hibs, it's unheard of! Four signings now, let's hope we're on the right course.
-
11-07-2012 05:27 AM #97This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-07-2012 07:57 AM #98
Can he kick the ball? Does he come and catch crosses? The two key attributes of goalkeeping.
-
11-07-2012 09:18 AM #99
Signing number 4 things are moving, but need tae move a wee bit quicker, I dont think we will see any big signings coming to the club especially if the article below is anything to go by,
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...nlon-1-2403648
Are we really that short of cash we couldnae keep Billy?
-
11-07-2012 09:22 AM #100
Brown I think would have been a nice to have for Pat but its right we focus on the playing side and put any resource we have into that.
-
11-07-2012 09:27 AM #101This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-07-2012 10:41 AM #102
cant seem to find it but does anyone know what his games to goal conceeds ratio was?
was looking on wiki but it only shows how many games he's played and how many goals he scored (which was obviously 0)
-
11-07-2012 11:24 AM #103This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-07-2012 11:26 AM #104This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
A quick look at his stats from last season don't look too bad:
He conceded 53 goals in 39 appearances and kept*10*clean sheets.
He conceded*6*against Stevenage,*5*against MK Dons and*4*against both Bury and Notts County so outwith these games he conceded*34*goals in his other*35*appearances.
Colchester finished 10th in League 1 last season, so he had a fairly reasonable team in front of him.
-
11-07-2012 12:05 PM #105This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-07-2012 12:22 PM #106
-
11-07-2012 12:34 PM #107
Has a few "player of the year" awards under his belt for Carlisle and Colchester.
Seems like a good find.
-
11-07-2012 01:15 PM #108This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Who was our goalie when Rangers did us 7-0 at Ibrox?
-
11-07-2012 08:28 PM #109
Ben is a good keeper and Colchester would have been happy to keep him but he wanted to move on from League One and at 29 that is probably a wise move. He's done very well for us over three seasons. Don't take any notice of the heavy defeats last season because that wasn't down to Ben, just a defence which chose to go completely AWOL. In fact he has been remarkably consistent over three seasons and I doubt that he will let you down. Overall he has been pretty consistent which some see as an attribute with a keeper.
He has kept Colchester in several games this past season and hopefully will be able to do the same for you. I wish him well. Not perfect but not many are but commands his area well and is vocal enough.
He is a far better goalkeeper than Mr Brown ever was. Will look to see how he is getting on but I fully expect him to be up to standard.
Good luck for your season.
-
11-07-2012 08:36 PM #110This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-07-2012 08:38 PM #111This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-07-2012 09:09 PM #112
PS: I am not sure what Colchester folk have said about Hibs but I can't believe it would be a general view and neither would I think many would be "bitter" about Ben going - he was out of contract and we are cutting back on wages and I would think that many would have expected him to go if he had a decent offer from elsewhere which clearly he has. Colchester have a very able deputy (fortunately) who has now earned his chance to be No 1 so to me "it's just football." They come and they go but yes he is a good keeper or has been for Colchester.
He is probably best not to have gone to Ipswich which, in recent seasons, has been pretty much a graveyard for any custodian employed. Still is, for that matter.
-
11-07-2012 09:19 PM #113This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-07-2012 09:19 PM #114
He has to be better than the last keeper we got from Colchester surely. Simon Brown is the worst keeper i've seen play for Hibs
-
11-07-2012 09:47 PM #115This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
12-07-2012 01:15 AM #117This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
IIRC Jim Leighton ....
Good keepers can have bad days.
-
12-07-2012 09:28 AM #118This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
12-07-2012 09:43 AM #119This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I can remeber Zibi having a few decent games for us, he was very good in the 'unbeatable' Derby and the first 0-3 game against Third Lanark. Sadly things went downhill and he had a massive confidence crisis that led to poor decision making and a noticeable nervousness whenever he played.
Brown was just consistently poor, never looked comfortable and lost so many preventable goals. Although he did make one of the best saves I've ever seen from a Bob Malcolm shot in the second 0-3 game.
-
12-07-2012 09:56 AM #120This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Brown was undoubtedly *****, but Zibbi takes it for me as he has caused me more depression than any other Hibs goalkeeper. And that's saying something.