Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs-1875 View Post
    Done a bit of snooping on the Colchester fan forums, some of them seem bitter that he left and are incredibly arrogant concerning the stature of their club, i.e. laughing at the fact he is coming to Scotland etcetera
    Looks like Ipswich Fans don't think the same ... http://www.ipswich.vitalfootball.co....e.asp?a=286793

Town Target Signs For Hibs

Any hopes Ipswich had of signing the highly-rated keeper Ben Williams have been dashed after he joined SPL giants Hibernian.

The Hibees swooped for the out-of-contract goalie who has just left Colchester United after the Blues failed to follow up initial interest.
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cocopops1875 View Post
    He Came across well on the news
    As long as he comes for crosses well on a Saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by Bobo View Post
    Looks like Ipswich Fans don't think the same ... http://www.ipswich.vitalfootball.co....e.asp?a=286793
    Interesting, new found respect for Ipswich.

clearly too tall to be a hibs goalie.

If a didnae awready have 1 , this would have me scurrying off to buy ma season ticket. C.MON guys back Paddy and his dream, things are looking up.

I hope he proves to be a good solid keeper. Imagine one of those at Hibs, it's unheard of! Four signings now, let's hope we're on the right course.

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    As long as he comes for crosses well on a Saturday.
    You will find out on a Sunday at around 10pm I guess

Can he kick the ball? Does he come and catch crosses? The two key attributes of goalkeeping.

Signing number 4 things are moving, but need tae move a wee bit quicker, I dont think we will see any big signings coming to the club especially if the article below is anything to go by,
    http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...nlon-1-2403648
    Are we really that short of cash we couldnae keep Billy?

Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    Signing number 4 things are moving, but need tae move a wee bit quicker, I dont think we will see any big signings coming to the club especially if the article below is anything to go by,
    No big signings? McPake was a big one really. Williams had offers from Championship clubs and came here.

Brown I think would have been a nice to have for Pat but its right we focus on the playing side and put any resource we have into that.

Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    That depends on whether you believe the article, whether you feel we needed 2 assistant managers (coz that's what we had) and whether you feel billy is a miss at our club who's wages wouldn't be better spent topping up a players weekly wage ?

Testimonial Due Tha Cabbage Kid's Avatar
    cant seem to find it but does anyone know what his games to goal conceeds ratio was?
    was looking on wiki but it only shows how many games he's played and how many goals he scored (which was obviously 0)

Quote Originally Posted by cocopops1875 View Post
    You will find out on a Sunday at around 10pm I guess
    Ha ha! Touche`! :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Tha Cabbage Kid View Post
    cant seem to find it but does anyone know what his games to goal conceeds ratio was?
    was looking on wiki but it only shows how many games he's played and how many goals he scored (which was obviously 0)
    As posted by Bobo on this thread.

A quick look at his stats from last season don't look too bad:

He conceded 53 goals in 39 appearances and kept*10*clean sheets.

He conceded*6*against Stevenage,*5*against MK Dons and*4*against both Bury and Notts County so outwith these games he conceded*34*goals in his other*35*appearances.

Colchester finished 10th in League 1 last season, so he had a fairly reasonable team in front of him.

Testimonial Due Tha Cabbage Kid's Avatar

He conceded*6*against Stevenage,*5*against MK Dons and*4*against both Bury and Notts County so outwith these games he conceded*34*goals in his other*35*appearances.

Colchester finished 10th in League 1 last season, so he had a fairly reasonable team in front of him.
    cheers F17. that is good stats! :) so what your saying is he's no Zibi?

I'm not sure we can just erase the 19 he conceded over those 4 games!

Has a few "player of the year" awards under his belt for Carlisle and Colchester.

Seems like a good find.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I'm not sure we can just erase the 19 he conceded over those 4 games!

Who was our goalie when Rangers did us 7-0 at Ibrox?

Ben is a good keeper and Colchester would have been happy to keep him but he wanted to move on from League One and at 29 that is probably a wise move. He's done very well for us over three seasons. Don't take any notice of the heavy defeats last season because that wasn't down to Ben, just a defence which chose to go completely AWOL. In fact he has been remarkably consistent over three seasons and I doubt that he will let you down. Overall he has been pretty consistent which some see as an attribute with a keeper.

He has kept Colchester in several games this past season and hopefully will be able to do the same for you. I wish him well. Not perfect but not many are but commands his area well and is vocal enough.

He is a far better goalkeeper than Mr Brown ever was. Will look to see how he is getting on but I fully expect him to be up to standard.

Good luck for your season.

Quote Originally Posted by From Colchester View Post
    Ben is a good keeper and Colchester would have been happy to keep him but he wanted to move on from League One and at 29 that is probably a wise move. He's done very well for us over three seasons. Don't take any notice of the heavy defeats last season because that wasn't down to Ben, just a defence which chose to go completely AWOL. In fact he has been remarkably consistent over three seasons and I doubt that he will let you down. Overall he has been pretty consistent which some see as an attribute with a keeper.

He has kept Colchester in several games this past season and hopefully will be able to do the same for you. I wish him well. Not perfect but not many are but commands his area well and is vocal enough.

He is a far better goalkeeper than Mr Brown ever was. Will look to see how he is getting on but I fully expect him to be up to standard.

Thanks for the good wishes. I think Ben will play a significant part in the Hibs team next season. All the best to Colchester next season.

thanks for that, its always good to hear from someone who's actually seen him play.

PS: I am not sure what Colchester folk have said about Hibs but I can't believe it would be a general view and neither would I think many would be "bitter" about Ben going - he was out of contract and we are cutting back on wages and I would think that many would have expected him to go if he had a decent offer from elsewhere which clearly he has. Colchester have a very able deputy (fortunately) who has now earned his chance to be No 1 so to me "it's just football." They come and they go but yes he is a good keeper or has been for Colchester.

He is probably best not to have gone to Ipswich which, in recent seasons, has been pretty much a graveyard for any custodian employed. Still is, for that matter.

Thanks for taking the time on here to give us that information. Appreciated!

He has to be better than the last keeper we got from Colchester surely. Simon Brown is the worst keeper i've seen play for Hibs

Quote Originally Posted by allezsauzee View Post
    He has to be better than the last keeper we got from Colchester surely. Simon Brown is the worst keeper i've seen play for Hibs
    Debatable ............................. he's had plenty of competition.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Who was our goalie when Rangers did us 7-0 at Ibrox?
    Who?

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post
    Who?

IIRC Jim Leighton ....

Good keepers can have bad days.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Debatable ............................. he's had plenty of competition.
    Definitely plenty of competition, though don't see how anyone can see past Zibbi as the worst - was arguably at fault for all four goals in THAT semi final, and made several more errors to cost us points against Hearts at both ER and Tynie.

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Definitely plenty of competition, though don't see how anyone can see past Zibbi as the worst - was arguably at fault for all four goals in THAT semi final, and made several more errors to cost us points against Hearts at both ER and Tynie.
    I would actually say Brown was worse than Zibi.

I can remeber Zibi having a few decent games for us, he was very good in the 'unbeatable' Derby and the first 0-3 game against Third Lanark. Sadly things went downhill and he had a massive confidence crisis that led to poor decision making and a noticeable nervousness whenever he played.

Brown was just consistently poor, never looked comfortable and lost so many preventable goals. Although he did make one of the best saves I've ever seen from a Bob Malcolm shot in the second 0-3 game.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    I would actually say Brown was worse than Zibi.

I can remeber Zibi having a few decent games for us, he was very good in the 'unbeatable' Derby and the first 0-3 game against Third Lanark. Sadly things went downhill and he had a massive confidence crisis that led to poor decision making and a noticeable nervousness whenever he played.

Brown was just consistently poor, never looked comfortable and lost so many preventable goals. Although he did make one of the best saves I've ever seen from a Bob Malcolm shot in the second 0-3 game.

Brown was undoubtedly *****, but Zibbi takes it for me as he has caused me more depression than any other Hibs goalkeeper. And that's saying something.