View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 566 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 664665165565645655665675685766166661066 ... LastLast
Results 16,951 to 16,980 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I agree that the second item is loaded. However, if they vote Yes in item 1, they are in the SFL. If they vote No in item 2, they are not in D1. By implication, since the SFL rules don't have any other option, they are in D3.

You can bet, though, that those clubs who feel they have been railroaded will be all over this.

One other thing .... what happens if another club wishes to apply for the vacancy?
    Perhaps Thommo can explain....................

A senior Football League source has just leaked this to me. Note second section which appears to be a clear attempt to by-pass any vote and shoehorn Rangers Newco into Div 1. Incredible.
    You have been warned:
    Subject: SFL Special General Meeting – Friday, 13th July, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,

NOTICE OF SPECIAL GENERAL MEETING – SCOTTISH FOOTBALL LEAGUE

Notice is hereby given that a Special General Meeting of The Scottish Football League will be held within the Bell/Baird Suite on the fifth floor of Hampden Park, Glasgow on Friday, 13th July, 2012 at 11.00 a.m. for the purpose of considering and, if thought fit, approving the following proposals:-
    (i) That the Scottish Football League Members agree to admit Sevco Scotland Limited as an Associate Member and agrees to permit Rangers F.C. to play in the League during Season 2012/13.
    (ii) That the Scottish Football League Members direct the Board of Management of The Scottish Football League (the “Board”) to provide that Rangers F.C. shall play in the Third Division of the Scottish Football League during Season 2012/13 unless the Board shall have to its satisfaction negotiated and reached agreement with The Scottish Premier League and The Scottish Football Association on a series of measures which the Board shall consider to be in the best interests of the game, how it is structured, how it is governed and how it is financed, whereupon the Board shall be authorised to provide that Rangers F.C. shall play in the First Division of the Scottish Football League during Season 2012/13.
    (iii) That the Scottish Football League Members in terms of Rule 12 approve the resignation of either Dundee F.C. or Dunfermline Athletic F.C., whichever shall be admitted to join the Scottish Premier League for Season 2012/13, such resignation to take effect as at the date of admission of such club to the Scottish Premier League, notwithstanding that the requisite notice under Rule 12 shall not have been given.Details of the series of measures referred to at (ii) above shall be made available to the Members in advance of the meeting and an opportunity for full discussion of those measures will be given prior to the proposals being put to the meeting.
    In accordance with the terms of SFL Rule 53, your club must send one representative to this meeting and I would be most grateful if you could advise me of the name of your representative by return.
    A buffet lunch will be served at the conclusion of the meeting.
    Kind regards,
    David A. Longmuir
    Chief Executive, SFL.

Related posts:

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Thanks to Alex Thomson

A buffet lunch will be served at the conclusion of the meeting
    If they do decide to let Newco into SFL1, I hope they all choke on their lunch.

I just hope they vote No to question 1, although I have a horrible feeling the SFA will railroad through SPL2 or some other corrupt "solution" instead

unless the Board shall have to its satisfaction negotiated and reached agreement with The Scottish Premier League and The Scottish Football Association on a series of measures which the Board shall consider to be in the best interests of the game,
    whereupon the Board shall be authorised to provide that Rangers F.C. shall play in the First Division of the Scottish Football

The letter refers to the SFL Board making the decision and not the Members. So that is Longmuir (for sevco), Ballantyne (gers fan) and goodness knows who else.
    Last edited by alexedwards; 07-07-2012 at 04:31 PM.

If you look up "weasel words" in the dictionary you will find:

... a series of measures which the Board shall consider to be in the best interests of the game, how it is structured, how it is governed and how it is financed, whereupon the Board shall be authorised to provide that Rangers F.C. shall play in the First Division of the Scottish Football League during Season 2012/13.

Total corruption

I'm afraid I will never pay to watch any Scottish football product again if this happens, other than the odd Partick Thistle game with my dad

At least Thistle's chairman wasn't involved with Doncaster & co in this whole process. Rod Petrie well done, Wallace Mercer would be proud

Quote Originally Posted by alexedwards View Post
    unless the Board shall have to its satisfaction negotiated and reached agreement with The Scottish Premier League and The Scottish Football Association on a series of measures which the Board shall consider to be in the best interests of the game,
    whereupon the Board shall be authorised to provide that Rangers F.C. shall play in the First Division of the Scottish Football

The letter refers to the SFL Board making the decision and not the Members. So that is Longmuir (for sevco), Ballantyne (gers fan) and goodness knows who else.

Aye, there`s six of them make up the board but i`ve been all over tinterweb and i cant get any names.....

Quote Originally Posted by alexedwards View Post
    If they vote no to item 1 sevco will not be permitted into the SFL at all.

If they vote yes to item 1 then they vote on item 2.

If they vote no to item 2 they will have to come up with a new proposal for item 2.

If they vote yes to item 2 they allow the SFL Board to negotiate terms with SPL and that would be ongoing - it's the leaving open of this most
    crucial question that opens up room for them to slip in the back door.

There is no straight yes or no to Div 1 or Div 3 in item 2 - it is simply not an option the way that question is worded - it's not that simple.
    Well, we all know that's the perfect excuse for the SPL to renege on any previous agreements, for it to drag on for years, while RFC Newco regain their dominant role within 9 months. Once the SFA/SPL have other things to work on, like new voting systems, new distributions, new league structures, all the previous crimes by RFC will be conveniently forgotten.

It is VITAL while we (and the SFL) still have leverage that RFC Newco are dealt with properly NOW. Once they are in Div1, all bets will be off and it will be business and corruption as usual. We will have lost the fight for justice.

Quote Originally Posted by RossHibs View Post
    Aye, there`s six of them make up the board but i`ve been all over tinterweb and i cant get any names.....

jim leishman, brechin chairman, godon mc dougall (livi), ballantine, longmuir, dumbarton director, alloa director.
    Been advised by div 2 director clubs will make decision.
    Last edited by alexedwards; 07-07-2012 at 05:05 PM.

Gotta love this guy.

alex thomson@alextomoPlease don't worry - am onto FIFA and UEFA but these guys, well, they have weekends etc

The dynamic of this has not changed. If the Clubs want Sevco in D3, they still have that power.

If anything, it may strengthen the resolve of those who were going to vote No, and convince the waverers to vote No. I am sure that Turnbull Hutton and the Livi guy will be saying their bit in the days to come.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    The Rangers way?
    Definitely Rangers way, but too early to say if it's also going to be The Rangers way, what with them only having been going a fortnight or so.

Noises slipping through that certain SFL clubs (particularly in SFL1) may vote if "sufficient measures" (16-team league and 1 governing body are introduced)
    - SPL will try to shaft them IMHO - don't trust anyone in the SFA/SPL.

Did you ever think you'd have to turn your back on Hibs?

The way it's looking I will never be going back to a Hibs game...

Sad as I've had a great time made great friends and had a good laugh

Did you ever think you'd have to turn your back on Hibs due to corruption? I didn't...

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post

Did you ever think you'd have to turn your back on Hibs due to corruption? I didn't...
    Why...?

I'm surprised that none of the major European leagues have offered Sevco (Huns) a place in their top leagues given all the money Sevco bring to the game.

Never entered my head.

Seems to me folk are looking for reasons not to go and when folk do that they tend to find them.

Gamertag: stevesyb

I know times are tough just now and the future looks bleak but the majority of the problems have been caused by others elsewhere.

Being a Hibby isn't easy. Never has been and it never will be but please do not turn your back on our club.

Nope. Although I gave up my season ticket last season, and I didn't make it along to as many games as I'd have liked, I didn't ever think I wouldn't be back at Easter Road. Or Hampden for that matter - I've followed Scotland for ~ 15 years now too, and I'll be asking for a refund on my SSC membership of this corruption does get the go ahead. Part of me thinks that despite how the vote goes on Friday, the game is already well and truly tainted. Totally scunnered just now.

The meeting starts at 11:00am and a buffet 'lunch' will be served at the conclusion of the meeting. 11:00am to lunch time to come to one of the biggest decisions in Scottish football history ........ Eh?

As for the rest of it:

As far as I am aware reading what folk have said on this thread ( I myself am no expert on SFL rules ) there is nothing in the SFLs rules to prevent them voting a new team into any one of the SFLs 3 leagues.

In which case ... If the SFL clubs can get a whole bunch of things put into place which will be to the advantage and betterment of all of their members, then why shouldnt they do that. After all, its not their job to punish old Rangers, its their job to decide what to do with new Rangers, with a view to any benefits it may bring to their member clubs.

I agree that such a move would be unprecedented, and probably could be seen as unashamedly taking advantage of the situation to the Nth degree.

But corrupt ........ I dont think so.

What are you talking about Joey?

BTW, I'd NEVER turn my back on Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by BOVRIL View Post
    The meeting starts at 11:00am and a buffet 'lunch' will be served at the conclusion of the meeting. 11:00am to lunch time to come to one of the biggest decisions in Scottish football history ........ Eh?

As for the rest of it:

As far as I am aware reading what folk have said on this thread ( I myself am no expert on SFL rules ) there is nothing in the SFLs rules to prevent them voting a new team into any one of the SFLs 3 leagues.

In which case ... If the SFL clubs can get a whole bunch of things put into place which will be to the advantage and betterment of all of their members, then why shouldnt they do that. After all, its not their job to punish old Rangers, its their job to decide what to do with new Rangers, with a view to any benefits it may bring to their member clubs.

I agree that such a move would be unprecedented, and probably could be seen as unashamedly taking advantage of the situation to the Nth degree.

But corrupt ........ I dont think so.

ok Blackmail.

Total corruption

I'm afraid I will never pay to watch any Scottish football product again if this happens, other than the odd Partick Thistle game with my dad

At least Thistle's chairman wasn't involved with Doncaster & co in this whole process. Rod Petrie well done, Wallace Mercer would be proud
    Why would Wallace Mercer be proud?

i'D NEVER TURN MY BACK ON HIBS!!!, YES WERE ***** AT THE MOMENT BUT WE WILL COME AGAIN!!

Your missing the whole point mate, were in this together, strength in numbers, it's my family and a lot of people will agree with me.

As much as i piss and moan on here i'm at as many games as i can and have been since 1982, my dad is still going and has seen the greats,we HAVE TO KEEP OUR PROUD TRADITION GOING AND INSTILL INTO UP AND COMING SUPPORTERS AND SHARE THE TRADITION OF THE CLUB WITH THE NEXT GENERATION, THERE IS A NEW DAWN IN SCOTTISH FOOTBALL HAPPENING, THROUGH NO FAULT OF OUR OWN RANGERS HAVE SULLIED THE GAME AND TRY TO NOW BULLY LESSER CLUBS WITH THEIR RHETORIC. IF DUNFERMLINE HAD GONE OUT IN JANUARY AND SIGNED MESSI JUST TO STAY IN THE SPL COULD YOU SAY THEY WERE WORSE THAN RANGERS? NO, AT LEAST THEY HAVE A BIT OF DIGNITY LEFT IN THE CLUB AND KUDOS TO THEM FOR IT.

THE YAMS ARE MERELY A SEASON OR TWO AWAY FROM THE SAME INDIGNATION(AS THERE SUPPORTERS WOULD BELIEVE)AS THE CHEATS FROM THE SOUTHSIDE OF GLASGOW.

HIBERNIAN WILL RISE AGAIN!!!!
    WE HAVE A DUTY TO BELIEVE!!!
    FTHMFC!!!

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Gotta love this guy.

alex thomson@alextomoPlease don't worry - am onto FIFA and UEFA but these guys, well, they have weekends etc
    When we fill in the corners, one of them has to be the @alextomo stand.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Falcon View Post
    Never entered my head.

Seems to me folk are looking for reasons not to go and when folk do that they tend to find them.
    Exactly, and reasons without evidence. I get bored with these drama queens.

The wording of your question gives me the impression that your post is aimed at folk who have already made that decision. Could just be the wording though.

There is no doubt that there are people who appear to already have made that decision, or will make it depending on the outcome of the Rangers situation. They have their reasons and though I may not agree with them it is probably best that they follow their conscience and do what they think is best.

I have said on this board a number of times now that I will never take action which would damage Hibs in order to show my anger at a situation which was and is not of the clubs making .... How Hibs, Rod Petrie, the SPL, SFL, SFA or whoever have acted since the SPL vote against the Newco does not lead me to the conclusion that Hibs should cease to exist as a professional football club as a result.

The same goes for Scottish Football. At the end of the day I am going to stick around in the hope that the future for the game can be better, more honest, and fairer. Which, if nothing else, it should be once the dust settles on this fiasco. ... Please Lord let it be soon !!!

Tell you what though:

The one thing I dont want to see when this is all done and dusted is the folk who did jack it in coming onto this board .. or any other medium for that matter ... to tell me what a sucker, idiot, OF apologist or whatever I am for sticking with it.

If you are done with football altogether, or worse have decided to take the ( I am sure difficult sic ) decision to follow the EPL then BE DONE and leave the rest of us to get on with it.

I can agree with the sentiment, our game has shown itself to be sickeningly corrupt to the core. Many will walk away, and I wouldn't blame a single one for doing so.

What happens on Friday will change things sure, but the journey to this point has been disgusting in the extreme. If come Friday night, and Sevco are happily sat in SFL1, what's the point of it all? Hell even they end up in SFL3, will we ever see real change? Will we ever have any trust in the governing bodies ever again?

The game in Scotland isn't facing death. It's dead. The question is how damaged will it be when it's resuscitated, because despite what fans everywhere want, we aren't going to get the new, fresh start we need.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Falcon View Post
    Never entered my head.

Folks don't need to try all that hard to find reasons not to go and see Hibs these days though, do they? And they don't even need "reasons", they can just choose not to go.

In this particular example, I think refusing to support a totally and openly corrupt game that is set up to favour 2 teams at the expense of all the others is one of the more understandable/valid reasons to stop going.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar

Naw, but like you said elsewhere you will just have to go and watch Partick Thistle with your dad. The rest of us will just have to get on with it, like we always have.
    You might be missed but we'll get over it.

See ya.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    Folks don't need to try all that hard to find reasons not to go and see Hibs these days though, do they? And they don't even need "reasons", they can just choose not to go.

In this particular example, I think refusing to support a totally and openly corrupt game that is set up to favour 2 teams at the expense of all the others is one of the more understandable/valid reasons to stop going.
    Is being in Brazil a good enough reason?