I'm with you on the pragmatism thing. The debate has been, and still is, muddied by the emotional desire to F the Huns.... and that's understandable, given the real and perceived injustices over the years. However, there is an argument that says "let's stand back and look at things".This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Allowing them to start again in D3 gives Scottish football to calm down, look at things rationally over a decent length of time, and sort things out "for the greater good". I agree with you that Rangers will come back, probably stronger.... but that's unavoidable, given their support. The trick is to change things so that they don't have an advantage which is out of kilter with that economic strength.
Allowing them into D1 shortens that time span, and reduces the opportunities.
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
Results 16,801 to 16,830 of 45185
-
06-07-2012 05:14 PM #16801
Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 06-07-2012 at 05:18 PM.
-
06-07-2012 05:16 PM #16802This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I keep hearing about this new club being put in to the third division as a "punishment".
As you point out, that is not a punishment, it's the correct and only possible outcome for a new club starting life in the football league.
Rangers aren't being punished anymore as they do not exist.
I don't think a lot of people are fully comprehending that. This new club will just happen to be playing at Ibrox, play in blue and white and have Ally McCoist as their new manager.Last edited by Sir David Gray; 06-07-2012 at 05:20 PM.
-
06-07-2012 05:21 PM #16803This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 05:25 PM #16804This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
You may well be right though, the only thing I am sure of is that what happens next is anybody's guess.Every gimmick hungry yob,
-
06-07-2012 05:26 PM #16805
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLast edited by Saorsa; 06-07-2012 at 05:38 PM.
-
06-07-2012 05:28 PM #16806This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If a random club in the highland leagues were to buy Ibrox, start playing in blue and sign Ally McCoist as manager, do people think that it would be alright for them just to jump straight up into the 2nd highest tier of Scottish Football?
Because thats basically whats happening with Sevco. (A new highland league club)Last edited by Hibercelona; 06-07-2012 at 05:33 PM.
-
06-07-2012 05:28 PM #16807This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Now... I'll let you back to your fight wi Dan
-
06-07-2012 05:30 PM #16808
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quoteand I'm of tae the pub
Last edited by Saorsa; 06-07-2012 at 05:39 PM.
-
06-07-2012 05:42 PM #16809This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 05:47 PM #16810This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
good question.
It's noticeable that, amid all the hoo-haa about the votes and stuff, Bomber Brown has yet to have his question answered. It would have been very simple, I would have thought, for CG to have proven his/Seb Coe's ownership of Greyskull.
Cynique, moi?Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 06-07-2012 at 05:53 PM.
-
06-07-2012 06:22 PM #16811This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If they want any benefit because they are rangers then they can take the punishments as well, otherwise they should truly start at the bottom and that aint div 3
-
06-07-2012 06:33 PM #16812
-
06-07-2012 06:34 PM #16813This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 06:41 PM #16814This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I don't actually understand why there needs to be any discussions about this.
There is a vacancy in the 3rd division of the SFL, which has been caused by Rangers going out of business and everyone being bumped up a place as a result. All of the clubs who wish to fill this vacancy should apply to the SFL by a certain date.
Once all of the applications have been received, the 29 member clubs will vote on which application is best and which club they wish to accept into the SFL for next season.
It really shouldn't be any more complicated than that.
-
06-07-2012 06:41 PM #16815
Not sure if posted elsewhere but an excellent interview by Steven Pressley.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/18741679
-
06-07-2012 06:42 PM #16816This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm sure though that Charlie boy will get his money back by selling Murray park and the lease of the car park, then recovering the rest from the rent of Greyskull to Newco2 over three years.
He may be pretty thick but he's not daft.
-
06-07-2012 06:45 PM #16817This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 06:49 PM #16818This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Some just like to play dumb.
-
06-07-2012 06:50 PM #16819This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteEvery gimmick hungry yob,
-
06-07-2012 06:51 PM #16820
-
06-07-2012 06:53 PM #16821This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's my belief, also posted elsewhere, that a European NFL style league is a certainty further down the line and the OF both have a decent chance of making it though the huns have seriously undermined their chances. Scottish football needs to make sure it can operate in the future without the OF."Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire
-
-
06-07-2012 07:05 PM #16823This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If they want the 3rd, let them ****ing beg for it
-
06-07-2012 07:33 PM #16824This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If any other club wants to apply for membership of the SFL next season then they should be allowed to do so and then a vote should take place.
-
06-07-2012 07:59 PM #16825
Originally Posted by bighairyfaeleith
-
06-07-2012 08:03 PM #16826
Sevco should think themselves lucky that Scotland hasn't already introduced some kind of pyramid system by now.
Way behind the times as usual.
They'd find themselves applying to the west of Scotland league.
Imo a few more levels below div3 is needed.
These teams at the bottom with no ambitions are causing poor standards which must have a ripple effect going up.
Sort it out SFA.
-
06-07-2012 08:26 PM #16827
Reprezentin' the H.I.B.S.
The story has now been filed under 'Kilmarnock' on the BBC Sports website so for anyone who hasn't ended themselves looking at this yet here's an updated link:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18732086
And if you can't get to the link or it stops working here's the photo:
-
06-07-2012 08:26 PM #16828
Originally Posted by lapsedhibee
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
(1) They are a new club and therefore cannot be 'punished' (=sanctions) if they play in Div 3
(2) If they play in Div 1 it would be appropriate for them to be 'punished' (=sanctions)
This is illogical captain.
They are either a new club or they're not.
If they're a new club it wouldn't be appropriate to punish (=sanctions) them, whatever division they play in.
If they're not a new club and sanctions are appropriate, then they can be punished (=sanctions) whatever divsion they play in.
The Donkey Pack frenziedly fuzzying all this is a singularly lamentable attempt to ensure that NewhunFC is oot the SPL for as short a time as possible. Aw blaw.Last edited by lapsedhibee; 06-07-2012 at 08:53 PM. Reason: gramer
-
-
06-07-2012 08:47 PM #16830This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I am accepting the reality of the situation. Whether they are Oldco, Newco, Sevco or Seb Coe they will still be Rangers. Do you seriously think they will be thought of as anything but Rangers in a couple of years? Allowing entry to SFL1 subject to accepting the punishment applicable to the wrongs done by Murray, Whyte and co is a perfectly valid negotiating tool. I am not saying that is wholly desirable, but it may turn out to be the best option. If they are empatically NOT Rangers and go in to SFL3 then they will effectively be escaping any punishment. Three years of low costs and high income will see them stronger than ever. Still, if thats what you want.
Don't mistake me for part of the 'donkey pack.'' The man is a buffoon and should go, his incompetence has caused further damage but those who employ him have more questions to answer. They will be delighted that he is the main fall guy here.Every gimmick hungry yob,