View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 542 of 1508 FirstFirst ... 424424925325405415425435445525926421042 ... LastLast
Results 16,231 to 16,260 of 45223
    Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    Spl clubs vote no, now they should be hounding that fanny Doncaster out his job.
    http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/n...s-post-in-the/

Quote Originally Posted by NJ Hibee View Post
    Finally Celtic say something

http://www.celticfc.net/newsstory?item=2760

Let's see how they react when they want to change the voting system within the SPL
    I actually think they are within their rights to release their statement now.

They've made the right choice, made the vote and explained the rationale once they've taken their action.

They didn't join the clamour of the rest of the clubs to lay their cards on the table, but they didn't really need to - none of them did - until the vote was taken.

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post

That's a wonderful petition-it asks Doncaster to resign as Chairman of the SPL-which he isn't.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ehf View Post
    Not disagreeing with that but the point is quite a few SPL clubs are going to get weaker and we still have have the opportunity to get stronger: we're starting with a fairly clean slate and it all depends on who we can bring in over the next few weeks.
    We need ALL our fans to step up to the plate and support the club like never before. Given the awfulness of last season its a big ask. Ultimately results on the field will determine how many fans turn out.

It is a great opportunity for all non-OF clubs to change Scottish football for the better.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post
    http://www.dundeefc.co.uk/news_detai...NT&newsid=2383

Not being allowed to vote so i'm guessing Dunfermline not be allowed also until they confirm who is up
    Does that mean that Green will be trying to get both their votes,

Left by mutual consent! SouthamptonHibs's Avatar
    Delighted with the result! But tut tut tut Kilmarnock should be ashamed with themselves tonight for not voting! They are likely to loose out big rime next year as alot of fans won't attend there games! They should have voted them out

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    That's a wonderful petition-it asks Doncaster to resign as Chairman of the SPL-which he isn't.
    Excellent. Fk it though, he knows what people mean.

Quote Originally Posted by hoxtonhibby View Post
    you mean a fat wheezing prick!
    You forgot baldy.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    BBC Sportsound pundit Jim Traynor"It's been a good day in the sense that a decision has been made. I can understant the SFL chairmen being a bit annoyed.
    "The SFL will now have to sort it. In certain cases and blogs, they have put us (mainstream media) to shame.
    "We're basically football reporters; we've lost specialists like a dedicated financial writer. Therefore, you will suffer."
    Pity he didn't realise this several months ago, and he could have kept his chubby fingers out of making financial predictions.
    Utterly, utterly pathetic to start coming out with this sort of stuff when his game's essentially up. Craven, cowardly pwick who should be exphunged from the BBC's staff forthwith.

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    We need ALL our fans to step up to the plate and support the club like never before. Given the awfulness of last season its a big ask. Ultimately results on the field will determine how many fans turn out.

It is a great opportunity for all non-OF clubs to change Scottish football for the better.
    Totally agree! A great weight has been lifted now that we will be Rangers free for at least one season. I am a walk up fan, but am pencilling in the Derby, St Johnstone and Kilmarnock as a start. Wont be impressed if Rangers end up in Div 1, but as long as Petrie is not involved in supporting that, I reckon we make the most of the season. The rubber may be pulled out if he is part of the 'shadowy mandarins' of Scottish football however..

An unlikely scenario I know but should all 3 SFL divisions turn down an application from the club formerly known as Rangers to join surely they will be well and truly stuffed?

They would soon have no players and nobody to play against.

Quote Originally Posted by SouthamptonHibs View Post
    Delighted with the result! But tut tut tut Kilmarnock should be ashamed with themselves tonight for not voting! They are likely to loose out big rime next year as alot of fans won't attend there games! They should have voted them out
    To be fair the Killie Chairman played this with a fairly straight bat. Out of all the SPL clubs their existence is probably most dependant on Old Firm cash to survive. He virtually admitted as much. Hopefully more locals will join the decent band of supporters they have and help cushion the financial blow they will take. Their Chairman may have made an unpopular decision but at least he was honest. Rangers are out now, the last thing we should be doing is boycotting any ground.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    To be fair the Killie Chairman played this with a fairly straight bat. Out of all the SPL clubs their existence is probably most dependant on Old Firm cash to survive. He virtually admitted as much. Hopefully more locals will join the decent band of supporters they have and help cushion the financial blow they will take. Their Chairman may have made an unpopular decision but at least he was honest. Rangers are out now, the last thing we should be doing is boycotting any ground.
    I agree with this.

The fans now have a chance to strengthen the league, that means turning up to every game in high numbers and showing that the league can survive without THEM.

The Killie chairman done what he felt was best for his own club, he had to. Killie will seriously struggle financially and will need to make serious cutbacks. But the blow can be softened if more people start turning up for games.

It's a "no Rangers" league right now, that should be incentive enough to get numbers through the gates.

Quote Originally Posted by Supermac View Post
    An unlikely scenario I know but should all 3 SFL divisions turn down an application from the club formerly known as Rangers to join surely they will be well and truly stuffed?

They would soon have no players and nobody to play against.
    One of Green's throwaway lines tonight was along the lines of "if we are playing next season.". There could be more twists to come. The SFL could vote to continue as they are this season leaving the SPL a club short. Unlikely but possible.
    Last edited by marinello59; 04-07-2012 at 07:07 PM.

Left by mutual consent! SouthamptonHibs's Avatar
    Killie were in a no win situation as they give old firm nearly three stands each time they come down, they rely big time on the old firm! The chairmen should have voted against Newco today. By not voting he has already lost the cream buns support, hes now risking loosing thousands off fans over the season from going to there home games! I think what he was trying to achieve was he didn't want ti annoy the cream buns fans as they'll be back in SPL in 3/4 years plus he didn't want to upset the Celts fans....

The Killie Board should be hounded out by their fans for putting the club in such a position - totally dependent on the hand outs from the OF. What a stupid thing to do. We don't need clubs who are forced to vote for money before sporting integrity. Get that Board out and then I'll start going back to Rugby Park.

Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    ... I fully expect the SFL clubs to politely suggest to Sevco that they apply to join Div 3 when their application will be duly considered. I then expect Sevco to go into Adminstration.
    I'm a bit surprised that others haven't picked up on your comment. I agree with you; with the cost of maintaining Ibrox and Murray Park, the SPL-level wages for those players who have made the switch to NewCo, I can't see how the small crowds at SFL3 matches could possibly keep Rangers in the manner to which they have become accustomed. They won't be able to charge SPL season ticket prices. Unless Green finds some generous backers to support NewCo through the next two or three years - and that has seemed difficult enough when they hoped for SPL continuance - then I don't know how they will afford to play in the SFL3.

Here's hoping!

Falkirk FC@falkirkbairnsRANGERS NEWCO APPLICATION: Falkirk FC Board Statement http://bit.ly/Op0RFb

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    If Killie are the one club that abstained, I don't think it's fair of supporters of other clubs to punish them by deciding to boycott Rugby Park.

In the end, the vote has gone the way we wanted. Whether the Killie chairman wanted Rangers to stay in the SPL is now irrelevant. The people that will be ultimately punished by applying financial pressure, basically out of spite, are the fans of that club, who are totally innocent in all of this.

All supporters of us 'Diddy Clubs' should now be doing our level best to show we can live without Rangers, by going to as many games as possible. I'd hate to think that pettiness, spite and small minded thinking ruins the opportunity we have to make something of our league with Rangers out of the picture.

You are bang on mate.

We have the no vote we all wanted.

The worst that should happen to Killie is that the hopefully large Hibs away support there next season take the pee by singing about them being Rangers lovers. To take any action as supporters which would lead to Killie's fans possibly losing their club because of the actions of one man who was acting 'against' their wishes would be a tragedy and totally unfair to the folk who have followed Killie for years and in the face of huge pressure to follow the old firm.

Some of the clubs involved in this vote today voted the way they did under huge pressure from their fans, Hibs not least of these. If the clubs had been left to their own devices there is no doubt that the vote would have gone the other way, due to the fact that a number of them are now scratching their heads wondering how they are going to fill the financial hole this has created. We got what we wanted in the beginning and now its up to US to save our clubs from the consequences ....... Thats the reality.

When I read some of the posts on this board I am reminded of the film Rob Roy:

In the film everybody thinks one of Rob Roy's men has stolen all the money he was given to buy cattle. One of the characters goes on and on saying he thinks that the guy is guilty ........ after a bit Rob Roy ( Liam Neeson ) turn to him and says " bad enough that it should be so without you wishing it"

Thats the impression I am beginning to get here ..... some folk are so bloody determined that Rangers newco should start in the 3rd division ... or even better nowhere ... and go on and on and on about no comin' back, fitbas deid tae me blah blah blah, that I am beginning to think they WANT Rangers newco shoehorned into Division 1 so that they can feel all bloody moral and superior when they do chuck it.

Quote Originally Posted by BOVRIL View Post

You are bang on mate.

The worst that should happen to Killie is that the hopefully large Hibs away support there next season take the pee by singing about them being Rangers lovers. To take any action as supporters which would lead to Killie's fans possibly losing their club because of the actions of one man who was acting 'against' their wishes would be a tragedy and totally unfair to the folk who have followed Killie for years and in the face of huge pressure to follow the old firm.

Some of the clubs involved in this vote today voted the way they did under huge pressure from their fans, Hibs not least of these. If the clubs had been left to their own devices there is no doubt that the vote would have gone the other way, due to the fact that a number of them are now scratching their heads wondering how they are going to fill the financial hole this has created. We got what we wanted in the beginning and now its up to US to save our clubs from the consequences ....... Thats the reality.

In the film everybody thinks one of Rob Roy's men has stolen all the money he was given to buy cattle. One of the characters goes on and on saying he thinks that the guy is guilty ........ after a bit Rob Roy ( Liam Neeson ) turn to him and says " bad enough that it should be so without you wishing it"

Thats the impression I am beginning to get here ..... some folk are so bloody determined that Rangers newco should start in the 3rd division ... or even better nowhere ... and go on and on and on about no comin' back, fitbas deid tae me blah blah blah, that I am beginning to think they WANT Rangers newco shoehorned into Division 1 so that they can feel all bloody moral and superior when they do chuck it.
    You forgot to put your tin hat on. I agree with you though.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Has anyone voiced their approval?
    Hamilton

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    Falkirk FC@falkirkbairnsRANGERS NEWCO APPLICATION: Falkirk FC Board Statement http://bit.ly/Op0RFb
    That smells of 'give us a deal and you can have NewCo in SFL1'

You are bang on mate.

Probably just as well then that some of those folk dinnae actually give a **** what you think!
    Last edited by Saorsa; 04-07-2012 at 07:32 PM.

First Team Breakthrough northgreen24's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    suppose it does but for their yes vote they are expecting much more change that has been offered. As much as i feel "the ranger" should start in division 3 i would accept sfl 1 if it meant changes that falkirk are asking for TBH
    Last edited by northgreen24; 04-07-2012 at 07:31 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    Really?

I read it quite differently.

First Team Breakthrough John_the_angus_hibby's Avatar

You are bang on mate.

This. Sensible and fair. Thanks for posting.

Seems McCoist is claiming at a Rangers Fighting Fund meeting tonight that our very own Rod wanted Rangers in the SPL but with sanctions (from todays vote meeting) - I think our Chairman has some explaining to do if that's the case.

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Seems McCoist is claiming at a Rangers Fighting Fund meeting tonight that our very own Rod wanted Rangers in the SPL but with sanctions (from todays vote meeting) - I think our Chairman has some explaining to do if that's the case.
    https://twitter.com/nmckay82/status/220599812142280704

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    As I understand it, the next set of votes come from the DIV1 league only. (It looks like they're going to overwhelmingly vote "no") to let newco in their league.

Then the next set of votes will then go out to all the SFL clubs (1, 2 & 3) in an attempt to get into DIV3.

I "think" thats whats going on.
    Quote Originally Posted by Eaststand View Post
    Ta for that WH
    So that means that the current Div 1 teams get a vote (except Dundee who say they'll not vote on this) .....but is it a simple majority for them to decide on whether they let the huns into that league.
    Do you know what date the vote will be, cos I hope to celebrate them getting bombed down into Div 3

Sorry, guys, you are both wrong.

ALL SFL clubs vote on the proposal to let Sevco into Division 1. That needs a simple majority, ie 15 clubs out of 29, to pass it. So far, 10 have said they would vote against it, and 1 for.

The vote is on the 12th, of course :0)

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    That just cannae be true, he's as straight as a die is Rod