View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 538 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 384384885285365375385395405485886381038 ... LastLast
Results 16,111 to 16,140 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by MB62 View Post
    Other poster have mentioned something similar to this but there is a problem here (not for me there's not).
    Newco need three years of audited accounts before they can apply, which they have obviously not got.
    With either Dundee or Dunfy moving back to the SPL, this leaves the SFL a club short.
    Does this mean the SFL play a club short until newco get 3 years of audited accounts then invite them to apply, or do they ask for invitations now from e.g. Spartans?
    If Spartans or whoever get in, that means there is no longer any vacancies so newco can have as many years audited accounts as they want, there is no vacancy available for them to apply for.
    Is this really the case? It's been said on here a lot but that doesn't make it true. Part of the Clyde statement mentioned that there is nothing in the rules to stop a new club entering SFL1, 2 or 3 despite it being set in stone on here that they have to start at the bottom.

Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    Well that's my faith in Scottish football restored : Part One.

Part Two comes on the 12th July when I fully expect the SFL clubs to politely suggest to Sevco that they apply to join Div 3 when their application will be duly considered. I then expect Sevco to go into Adminstration.

Meanwhile, with no evidence to show that RP has done anything wrong, and having led the sporting integrity movement in the SPL, let's lay off him.

Too many folks here already had him hung drawn and quartered before any facts have come out, and, still to do so

PSN ID: FleshCabbage
    Quote Originally Posted by ginger_rice View Post
    Time for all true football supporters to email their MPs, let's get our voices heard at Westminster.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...itics-18706453
    I am arranging a meeting with my MP, he is a Yam but I reckon in this case we will be able to find some common ground and hopefully have a good discussion about our concerns.

On the SPL threats, is there any chance of setting up an SPL 2 for next season given that there are only 4.5 weeks till the start of the season? Could SFL 1 clubs resign from the SFL and join an SPL 2 this season or is there a notice period?

IMHO, there is no chance of an SPL 2 happening this season, so the SFL clubs should just call the SPL's bluff and put the newco into SFL 3 next season.

@hibs.net private member MacBean's Avatar

Gamertag: macbean8 PSN ID: paulmchfc
    In all seriousness do we not thinking waiting another 8 days to completely decide the fate of the Newco is rather a long time.

In the event that they are not allowed into Div1, how long will it take for Newco to apply for Div3, and then how long for them to vote if they are to be allowed into Div3? By the time all this is through the next season will be upon us. Surely it cannot be the quickest of processes to get a new team into a league?

Also when are we likely to hear who are "Club 12"?
    Last edited by MacBean; 04-07-2012 at 03:00 PM.
    Hibernian Football Club

Quote Originally Posted by Gingertosser View Post
    Thats the fist corner of the coffin nailed down.

Now to see whether they go ahead and start up SPL2

This might be pushed thro' before the SFL have their vote, still too early to celebrate
    How could they possibly push SPL2 through if nobody votes for the changes?

Thats something I don't quite understand.

@hibs.net private member Brooster's Avatar
    I'm hearing it was Killie who abstained. May be wrong but thats what Ive heard.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    Not if the decision is based on the SPL's bribes and threats which were a disgrace. If newco huns are in SFL 1 and teams are receiving money from the SPL because of that then it's still a pile of *****. There's naebody in the SPl comes out of this smelling of anything other than ***** as far as I'm concerned. Doing the right thing because you're forced in tae it and threatening or blackmailing others at the same time isnae the same as doing the right thing because you should. If they're no in the 3rd division at best then todays decision will make nae difference tae me.
    Do you know the full facts regarding Rod Petries position then? I only know that he has now done exactly what he said he would do all along, long before the mob started gathering a head of steam. The SPL interference into SFL affairs appears to be a commitee decision and we don't know Petrie's take on that yet. Based on what we know so far, our club has done the right thing for the right reasons.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    You calling me bent?
    Actually, no. I was being pedantic, so I guess I was calling myself bent. But that's a bit pedantic.....

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    But that doesn't make sense.

That would mean that Dunfermlines fate is put down to the time that Rangers went bust.

If Rangers had gone bust during open season, then Dunfermline would still be in the SPL.
    That's right because all of Rangers results would have been exhunged and they would have finished bottom instead of Dunfy. Didnae happen though.

Quote Originally Posted by rcarter1 View Post
    What saved Aberdeen when they finished bottom?
    I don't know, I'm just going on what the rules say: "the Club finishing in last place in the League in the immediately preceding Season shall not be eligible to participate in the League". It gives Dundee a strong legal argument if they want to use it.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    How could they possibly push SPL2 through if nobody votes for the changes?

Thats something I don't quite understand.
    They can't without the agreement of the top 12 clubs in SFL 1. I don't think any SFL clubs will break ranks though.

Quote Originally Posted by Brooster View Post
    Someone said to me that it was Ross County as they are the new kids on the block

Rebecca Gray@Rebecca__GraySPL vote on #Rangers newco entry to SPL: 10 teams voted no. One team - #Rangers - voted yes and Kilmarnock abstained

A number of other tweets saying the same thing.

That sounds the most likely to me. Celtic had nothing to lose by backing a decision which was already inevitable. Killie don't want to face a boycott from either of the Old Firm so sitting on the fence was probably their only option.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    The planets are obviously perfectly aligned.

HMRC take Rangers down.!

Their loyal Majesty is in Glasgow celebrating her jubilee on the day they get kicked out of SPL!

SFL vote takes place on July 12th!

Party, party time
    Its funny that you say this.

Our solar system will soon be aligned with the galactic centre, a very rare occurance.

Their could be something to it all.

@hibs.net private member Brooster's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by goldenhibby View Post
    Someone said to me that it was Ross County as they are the new kids on the block
    Quite possibly mate. A Killie fan just txt me from Egypt to say it was Killie, he's probably half canned on the all inclusive Don Revie.

Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    They can't without the agreement of the top 12 clubs in SFL 1. I don't think any SFL clubs will break ranks though.
    If thats the case, then how on earth can they threaten the SFL with these changes (for not letting newco in) if its the SFL that controls if these changes take place or not in the first place?

It just doesn't seem to add up.

Quite possibly mate. A Killie fan just txt me from Egypt to say it was Killie, he's probably half canned on the all inclusive Don Revie.
    Lots of conflicting stories, but the main thing is they are OUT

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post

Is this really the case? It's been said on here a lot but that doesn't make it true. Part of the Clyde statement mentioned that there is nothing in the rules to stop a new club entering SFL1, 2 or 3 despite it being set in stone on here that they have to start at the bottom.
    I read the rules somewhere, but can't find them now. It's something like financial details for the last three years based on audited accounts but doesn't need the accounts themselves. I guess a newco could avoid the requirement by stating that their financial details were nil as they weren't in existence, and audited accounts would support this when they were available within the normal legal timeframe.

First Team Breakthrough muzzhfc's Avatar

PSN ID: muzz-a-bear
    with rangers gone, we now need to instantly change the voting structure of the SPL. No more 11:1 ratio. Celtic can vote no, then the other 11 clubs can say yes to change. Then the SPL can move forward and make the drastic changes that are neccessary.

That sounds the most likely to me. Celtic had nothing to lose by backing a decision which was already inevitable. Killie don't want to face a boycott from either of the Old Firm so sitting on the fence was probably their only option.
    How could Rangers fans boycott Kilmarnock when they won't be going there for the foreseeable future?

Do you know the full facts regarding Rod Petries position then? I only know that he has now done exactly what he said he would do all along, long before the mob started gathering a head of steam. The SPL interference into SFL affairs appears to be a commitee decision and we don't know Petrie's take on that yet. Based on what we know so far, our club has done the right thing for the right reasons.
    It disnae matter who's decision it was as far as I'm concerned, once it was known about anybody who thought it was wrong should have spoken out against there and then it if indeed they were against it. If they were not involved with the dirty dealings then those who said nothing at the very least gave it their tacit approval by saying nothing.

As I said earlier in another thread let's not forget about Petrie's involvement in the doncaster's and the OF's 10 team league farce which 98% of fans were against. He's nae stranger tae going against what the fans want tae push his own agenda so lets no be holding him up as an example some sort of protector of the good and righteous or the fans.

His time's been up for a long time as far as I'm concerned.

Quote Originally Posted by muzzhfc View Post
    with rangers gone, we now need to instantly change the voting structure of the SPL. No more 11:1 ratio. Celtic can vote no, then the other 11 clubs can say yes to change. Then the SPL can move forward and make the drastic changes that are neccessary.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    With the joint sponsorships and the Old Firm itself being a money spinner I'd have my money on Celtic abstaining.
    Celtic abstaining makes no sense what so ever . It's a given it was going to be a NO to the newco so even if they want them in, why risk peeing of their own fans. At this time they've nothing to gain from it.

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    Celtc voted no it was killie who abstained.

That's what I'm hearing. Wonder how they will feel when it's them next season and there's none of this calamity to safe them. I wont be back at Rugby park, that's for sure.

Quote Originally Posted by MacBean View Post
    In all seriousness do we not thinking waiting another 8 days to completely decide the fate of the Newco is rather a long time.

In the event that they are not allowed into Div1, how long will it take for Newco to apply for Div3, and then how long for them to vote if they are to be allowed into Div3? By the time all this is through the next season will be upon us. Surely it cannot be the quickest of processes to get a new team into a league?

Also when are we likely to hear who are "Club 12"?
    Agreed - surely a quicker vote is benefit to all to then move on

It disnae matter who's decision it was as far as I'm concerned, once it was known about anybody who thought it was wrong should have spoken out against there and then it if indeed they were against it. If they were not involved with the dirty dealings then those who said nothing at the very least gave it their tacit approval by saying nothing.

As I said earlier in another thread let's not forget about Petrie's involvement in the doncaster's and the OF's 10 team league farce which 98% of fans were against. He's nae stranger tae going against what the fans want tae push his own agenda so lets no be holding him up as an example some sort of protector of the good and righteous or the fans.

Seems a bit funny to be picking out the guy who has been 100% for the sporting integrity side of this from day 1 and has followed this up with his vote.

If thats the case, then how on earth can they threaten the SFL with these changes (for not letting newco in) if its the SFL that controls if these changes take place or not in the first place?

It just doesn't seem to add up.

Money. If they don't go for it, they can forget the million pound a season they get from the SPL.

My feelings on the future of Donkey Doncaster are perhaps summed up by the words of one who for some reason remains a hero to many Rangers partisans:

* "YOU HAVE BEEN SAT TOO LONG HERE FOR ANY GOOD YOU HAVE BEEN DOING. DEPART, I SAY, AND LET US HAVE DONE WITH YOU. IN THE NAME OF GOD, GO!."

(Cromwell
    Addressing the Rump Parliament. April 1653)

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Seems a bit funny to be picking out the guy who has been 100% for the sporting integrity side of this from day 1 and has followed this up with his vote.
    So he voted no tae them being in the SPL, so did most others, does that mean any of them couldnae be party tae trying tae fudge them in tae SFL one? It's two different things. None of them have denied being part of it and it would be a bit late now. They all knew about it, none of them spoke against it, guilty by association.

Or was doncaster was just out there doing his own thing? If so why is he still in a job?
    Last edited by Saorsa; 04-07-2012 at 04:53 PM.

Don't go putting words in my mouth Given the facts we have then our club has acted exactly as they said they would so credit where credit is due. Until the full facts of the attempt to interfere in SFL business is known I will be holding fire.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Money. If they don't go for it, they can forget the million pound a season they get from the SPL.
    I like to think that these clubs have far more dignity than that.

If they had any common sense, they would realize that the extra 1 million wouldn't benefit any of them, because they would all then be spending more, meaning none of them would actually gain any advantage out of it.

Thats why i've never understood the whole hype of injecting loads of cash into a league, because it doesn't give any of the clubs any clear advantage over the others.