View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 524 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 244244745145225235245255265345746241024 ... LastLast
Results 15,691 to 15,720 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    What decent paper would that be then Mr Traynor?

Daily Record?

What a complete gobs***e of a man.
    Exactly, the Sunday Sport is a more reliable source than them, Aliens turn my son into Fish Finger is closer to the truth than anything either of them print

I have sent an email to SFA, can't wait to see if they respond, and if so, in what context
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    What decent paper would that be then Mr Traynor?

Daily Record?

What a complete gobs***e of a man.
    The record rarely get things wrong, Craig Whyte is a billionaire with wealth off the radar the record told us. Are you telling me this is not true?

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Jim Traynor again spouting pish, he says 2 west coast clubs will go bust if they dont get the £600k they are due in a couple of months from i think he said SKY? When pressed who the clubs were, he wouldn't say.
    Why would they not get the Sky money in a couple of months?

The existing TV agreement is already in place, so unless Sky (not going to happen) or the SPL (not going to happen) don't pay them the money that they are legally bound to, then it's yet more scaremongering bollocks.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Jim Traynor again spouting pish, he says 2 west coast clubs will go bust if they dont get the £600k they are due in a couple of months
    Going bust is quite a lucrative route to take at the moment!

But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    Why would they not get the Sky money in a couple of months?

The existing TV agreement is already in place, so unless Sky (not going to happen) or the SPL (not going to happen) don't pay them the money that they are legally bound to, then it's yet more scaremongering bollocks.
    You are right, its more pish to bribe/blackmail/convince the stupid that football cant do without the huns. He's scared for his own job, they all are.They are just making any old sheite up now, and some dafty's are still falling for it.

Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post

Im sure a few clubs are watching this sorry saga unfold, and if Newco gets in at a decent level, then precedent will have been set, other clubs may then take same route, and start again??
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

After the dust has settled.

It's probably been said and discussed on other Forums,if so I apologise but here we go.
    I have spoken to numerous Huns,some family friends,some work colleague's,and approximately 95 per cent of them actually want to restart in Division Three.
    The reason being is that they seem to think that without their finance,gate money,for three seasons and the reduced sponsorship from whoever,will lead to afew other Clubs going to the wall.
    Then when they do actually climb back into the SPL they will then carry out their threat of boycotting every Club who had the audacity to vote them down.
    I sincerely believe that this is what will happen and it only strengthens my belief that the sooner we get shot of them and that other mob the quicker and better it will be for the rest of us.
    The Glasgow press and anybody else that has taken the time to warn us of the pitfalls if we do not accept them back into the fold with no more than a rap on the knuckles.
    Do these same people not realise that the game in Scotland is already at rock bottom and more to the point,a major laughing stock which was created by not only the OF but the Heirarchy who run this game and most of all the Glasgow press.
    There are those of us that have waited years for this opportunity and now that it has come along we must grasp it with both hands and change the game for better and for the benefit to all Clubs.
    The problem with these people is FEAR, fear that any other club may challenge them if finances and voting structures were fair and even.
    They have had it sown up for decades now and they know it, and the same people put insurmountable obstacles in the way as to ensure that the two top positions within the SPL will be fought over by the OF.
    I say banish them to Division Three or we are simply wasting our time and returning to the same old humdrum ways,scrapping for third place,and them buying our best players whenever a threat occurs.
    Once again I apologise if all this has been said but I am that angry over the whole stitch up I had to get it of my chest.

Jim Traynor again spouting pish, he says 2 west coast clubs will go bust if they dont get the £600k they are due in a couple of months from i think he said SKY? When pressed who the clubs were, he wouldn't say. What a fanny.
    Trayner is just completely making this up out of absoutely nowhere. SKY have said no such thing and it would be bonkers to think they are just going to stop all TV payments.

The man insults your intelligence and looks down and patronises all football supporters either on air or in his column in the Daily Record. How anyone can buy trash that treats you as a complete imbecile is really beyond me.

Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post

THIS!

All this talk of clubs going bust etc, whats to stop them doing exactly what Rangers have done and coming back as a newco? Oh wait, because the SPL,SFL and SFA wouldn't bend over backwards for any other club.

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Pretty much what Blackpool said above, claimed 3 clubs would go bust in August without £650k of Sky money, English said name them then and he clamped up and said you will read it in a decent paper, just the usual pish spouting really but English pulled him up on everything and asked him to prove it
    Dear me, it was 6 clubs earlier on and 2 clubs after that......they dont even have the brains to co-ordinate their lies.

PSN ID: Dave1875
    If our game wasn't desperate to blow itself up we could follow the rules stick newco in the 3rd and our governing bodies, media, chairmen and fans could get our heads together on how to get more fans through the gates and stop the constant doom and gloom nonsense that's filled the papers since febuary and be prepared for the start of the new season....but naw not untill they wasted all
    Oppertunity trying to save them and keep the same old routine going

No need to apologise mate, you have just summed up how most supporters [other than those blue-nosed variety obviously], feel. Get them to futt, Div 3 at the very least. I for one will be glad of the rest from all their knuckle-dragging neanderthalls coming through and abusing honest, law abiding Edin folk as they go about their buisness. No longer will they be attacked as they walk along London Road, just because they are wearing something green, the kids wont have to witness their loutish behaviour, urinating in gardens/shop doorways, listening them shout/sing about being "up to their knees in fienen blood" and many more anti catholic ditties. Miss them ? Not a chance, match days will be a lot more enjoyable without them. One down, just their other half to go.

From Twitter...

Craig beattie ‏@CraigBeats
    So motherwell have put it to there fans to vote on the newco!!! 83% theoretically have voted there own club into administration!! THOUGHTS

Some more of Beattie's wonderful insights here: https://twitter.com/#!/CraigBeats

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    Rangers' psychological ineptitude has been remarkable. If this type of apology had come as soon as Green took over and been accompanied by the "concessions" he's apparently now offering then Rangers would be looking at a yes from the SPL tomorrow. At least some of the players who've left would still be at Ibrox and he could have sold a few to keep the cash-flow moving.

All that was needed to keep the SPL chairmen onside was a statement that the club was sorry about the behaviour of the previous owner - not in keeping with the club's values blah blah - we accept the transfer ban punishment waffle waffle etc etc. I think the Court of Session appeal was what started turning everything against them.

I'll just throw in another small rules detail. The SFL requires a two year period of notice for a member to leave. The only documented exception to this is a club entering the SPL as 1st division champions. Neither Dunfermline nor Dundee meet this condition so they have to stay in the SFL next season unless compensation for breach of the notice period is paid.
    Agreed. Murray's apology sounded like the last cry from a drowning man mixed with "It wisnae me".
    Once the dust has settled, there should be only one winner emerging from this fiasco and that's integrity (no matter what pain each and every club has to bear - and all will take some kind of hit no doubt).

If not, then shut the shop.
    Last edited by snooky; 03-07-2012 at 06:45 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hainan Hibs View Post
    From Twitter...

Craig beattie ‏@CraigBeats
    So motherwell have put it to there fans to vote on the newco!!! 83% theoretically have voted there own club into administration!! THOUGHTS

Some more of Beattie's wonderful insights here: https://twitter.com/#!/CraigBeats
    Very difficult to take his claims seriously given he's an ex Yam. He knows an awful lot about motherwells finances but knew nothing of Hearts'?

Thats like asking for babysitting advice from Craig Thomson
    Last edited by Gus Fring; 03-07-2012 at 06:52 PM.

posted on twitter, so no idea if its true?

SKY make £398,625,000m per year in Scotland alone yet the SPL is only 'worth' £18m a season...

What do fans do if they allow New Co in to SFL1? I'd like to see fans getting together to boycott all matches one weekend. Do you think it could get close to happening?

SKY make £398,625,000m per year in Scotland alone yet the SPL is only 'worth' £18m a season...
    They're giving it all tae the EPL

Quote Originally Posted by LeithenHibby View Post
    They will, if it's not sorted out fairly!
    Its funny how traynor and his ilk never mention what fifa are going to do.On top of the shambles we have now we still have the transfer embargo that was challenged by rangers in court to be settled.We also have the ebt outcome to come and the sfa investigation into the dual contracts as well as the police investigation into whytes takeover which will rumble on for months.Unless the newco go into the third division this will not be finished by a long chalk and instead of making up improbable stories about what sky might do traynor and the like should be looking into the effect on our game that newco getting shoehorned into div one would cause.As has been pointed out the sky contract is in place for next season so the guff about them not paying an instalment in august is spurious as if they didnt they would be in breach of contract or are they trying to say they only signed the contract if rangers were always in the league even if they faced relegation.In other words sky decide who stays in the spl.Absolutely pathetic.
    The whole saga is now beyond a joke and it could turn off thousands of fans for years to come and the resultant problems that would bring.The saddest thing is that i just cant see a solution that isnt going to damage our game badly.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

I don't think it's true they make £398 billion here, naw.

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    I don't think it's true they make £398 billion here, naw.
    Could they mean 398 million?

To add numbers to all the talk of the SKY deal and its impact you might be surprised that it accounts for 7.28% of SPL income. Not an insignificant amount granted but hardly "financial armageddon". If you deduct Rangers whole income from the figures, not even adding another team to balance this out, then the figure rises to 10.38%. It would hurt but, again, hardly armageddon.

What led to the situation we are in was that prior to Craig Whytes takeover Rangers had trading losses for the previous ten seasons of £87.7m, on top of bumping the taxman for around £60m, and that, gentlemen (and ladies!) is the real "financial armageddon" and should be the story the journalists are pursuing.

I fail to see how a football club that loses this amount of money can be anything other than a complete liability. Shoot the ****ers now and be done with it.
    Last edited by Kaiser1962; 03-07-2012 at 07:09 PM.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Matty_Jack04 View Post
    we could follow the rules stick newco in the 3rd
    If we followed the rules they wouldn't even get into the 3rd!!
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Rod's going to have some explaining to do if the SPL newco vote is postponed tomorrow.

This statement was issued by Hibs last Thursday night:

At an informal meeting of SPL clubs held at Hampden Park yesterday, the views of Hibernian FC were represented by Chairman Rod Petrie. The Chairman articulated very clearly that the Club is ready and willing to cast its vote on the transfer of the Rangers share in the SPL at the formal meeting of clubs on 4 July.

The Chairman made the point that the vote should proceed without any further delay and that Hibernian FC will vote against the share transfer. The resolution will fail if four other clubs vote against it or abstain. If as a result of the vote on 4 July the Rangers newco is not voted into the SPL then it will be for other bodies to decide if and at what level Rangers might be accommodated within Scottish football.

(my emphasis)

Could they mean 398 million?

From less than 2 million households (that's a guess) and a few thousand pubs and clubs ?

Seems a lot, but someone who works in their call centre might be along soon to throw a bit light on it.

The Turnbull Hutton appreciation thread

Just read what he had to say on the SFA / Green document, this guy tells it like it is, why should it be any more complicated than being seen as the high handed overt threat that it is. Turnbull Hutton crazy name, top guy.

Maybe we the protest for the first game after the dodgy deal has been struck is to wear Turnbull T shirts at all the opening games or Hun away fixtures?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18680165

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    Rod's going to have some explaining to do if the SPL newco vote is postponed tomorrow.

This statement was issued by Hibs last Thursday night:

At an informal meeting of SPL clubs held at Hampden Park yesterday, the views of Hibernian FC were represented by Chairman Rod Petrie. The Chairman articulated very clearly that the Club is ready and willing to cast its vote on the transfer of the Rangers share in the SPL at the formal meeting of clubs on 4 July.

The Chairman made the point that the vote should proceed without any further delay and that Hibernian FC will vote against the share transfer. The resolution will fail if four other clubs vote against it or abstain. If as a result of the vote on 4 July the Rangers newco is not voted into the SPL then it will be for other bodies to decide if and at what level Rangers might be accommodated within Scottish football.

(my emphasis)

He's only 1 of 12 though.

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post
    From less than 2 million households (that's a guess) and a few thousand pubs and clubs ?

Seems a lot, but someone who works in their call centre might be along soon to throw a bit light on it.

Average Sky subscription is around £50/month or £600/year. If they make £398m, that works out at 664,000 subscribers. That probably sounds about right.

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post

A years full subscription can't be far off £1000 per household (full package of tv, broadband and phone) pubs and clubs can pay that per month. With a million subscribers that's easily 1 billion.