View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 515 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 154154655055135145155165175255656151015 ... LastLast
Results 15,421 to 15,450 of 45185
    Henry McLeish on SSN saying:

"I go along with the need for integrity in the game and it's absoloutely vital that Rangers are punished but we have to step back and think of the greater good of the game, far too few people do this. We can not continue for another six months to be discussing Rangers, find a home for them, move onto the important things"

On straight interprretation thats a cracking statement and one that the football authorities and chairmen of clubs would do well to listen to. This ***** has gone on long enough and the danger of it actually afectin thestrt of the new season is now all too real.

The only caveat that should be put in there (IMO) is that "home" should be SFL3 end of debate. Of course he is a politician and has covered his bases as the always do by not nailing his colours (hardly going to be blue ) to the mast...

Quote Originally Posted by SiMar View Post
    Surely supporting Ross County instead of the merged club would be like supporting Hearts if Hibs had merged with Meadowbank Thistle!!
    It is more like supporting Meadowbank (or Dunfermline ir Raith) if Hearts merged with Hibs.

However the most likely scenario in the event of the Mercer takeover would have been a Newco Leith Hibernian applying for the SFL2 and picking up the bulk of the Hibs support.

see, savings already

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...d-Firm-KO.html

COPS could save more than £1million next season because there are no Old Firm games are scheduled

Each of the four clashes between Rangers and Celtic costs taxpayers around £280,000 for extra officers

not that the buns bother about decent law-abiding tax payers right enough

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by H18SVG View Post
    Proves the man is a tit.
    It's not about punishing rangers.
    rangers are soon to be liquidated, a new company wishes to have the old compny's place in the SPL.
    It appears that wont happen so the new company have to apply within the structure of the foorball association.
    It's that simple yet people want to make it difficult.

I now don't care either way, what ever division they are in I'm going to continue to support Hibs.
    So what if it's a waste of money, it'll be mine I'm wasting.
    In fairness to him, his perfectly reasonable report has been gathering dust for the last two years. Now some of the league and SFA executives are picking it up and using it as a means of getting newco in at the highest level possible. I think he can be forgiven for being a wee bit excited that something might actually come of his report after all.

Quote Originally Posted by SiMar View Post
    Missing the logic here...so he was a Caley or a Thisle fan and when they merged instead of supporting the new entity he chose to support St Mirren? And this proves what exactly?
    Never appreciated any proof of anything was required, The merger of the 2 highland clubs was mentioned as was the reaction of some of the fans, I was just sharing what I knew an actual fan chose to do rather than pack up altogether, in response to the merger which he wasn't happy about, he switched to St Mirren, odd but true.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    For a while we were conned in tae thinking some in the SPL had principles, what a sham that turned out tae be.
    Conceded, and I'm still raging about Petrie's duplicity in the matter. Your scepticism turned out to be well founded.

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    Conceded, and I'm still raging about Petrie's duplicity in the matter. Your scepticism turned out to be well founded.
    I wisnae specifically referring just tae him. As we've had naebody from the SPL criticise the document containing the bribery and threats I can only assume they're all in it up tae their necks.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 02-07-2012 at 09:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbySpurs View Post
    Henry McLeish on SSN saying:

"I go along with the need for integrity in the game and it's absoloutely vital that Rangers are punished but we have to step back and think of the greater good of the game, far too few people do this. We can not continue for another six months to be discussing Rangers, find a home for them, move onto the important things"

On straight interprretation thats a cracking statement and one that the football authorities and chairmen of clubs would do well to listen to. This ***** has gone on long enough and the danger of it actually afectin thestrt of the new season is now all too real.

The only caveat that should be put in there (IMO) is that "home" should be SFL3 end of debate. Of course he is a politician and has covered his bases as the always do by not nailing his colours (hardly going to be blue ) to the mast...
    Where was his integrity when he was cheating the taxpayer through his expenses claims??? Best ignored.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/in_depth/...on/1644816.stm

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    More utterances from Green. Noticed the second last paragraph where it's IF they go back to tribunal, as if it's his choice.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18683697

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    More utterances from Green. Noticed the second last paragraph where it's IF they go back to tribunal, as if it's his choice.

He also fails to answer John Brown's question about the properties. I don't see why he has to wait seven days for that....

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    In fairness to him, his perfectly reasonable report has been gathering dust for the last two years. Now some of the league and SFA executives are picking it up and using it as a means of getting newco in at the highest level possible. I think he can be forgiven for being a wee bit excited that something might actually come of his report after all.
    For me the problem with the McLeish report was that it was associated with a return to a 10-team SPL. The vast majority of supporters did not want that and last year was a complete stand-off with Doncaster forever issuing press statements that agreement had been reached. Fortunately Dundee United and other stood firm and the propsal was blocked.

That really prevented any implementation of the bulk of the McLeish report which most agree on.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    He also fails to answer John Brown's question about the properties. I don't see why he has to wait seven days for that....
    Because if they don't get entry to SPL or SFL1 he is going to walk away and won't need to answer any awkward questions.

But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Should this saga end with Rangers/Sevco starting life in the third division, it appears that SPL clubs will be out of pocket from lost gate receipts and in time, reduced TV money. I am certain that most clubs should be able to navigate through this but extra revenue would be welcome.

I wonder if the SPL clubs could organise a joint event for the close season (2013) to raise a few bob. The clubs could participate in a 7-a-side tournament using a number of stadiums over a few days throughout Scotland during the preseason period. Fans of all clubs could come along to each of the stadiums without segregation and watch their teams in a light hearted family orientated kind of event. After costs were covered, all gate receipts could be split equally by all of the clubs. If it were promoted early enough, and took advantage of summer holidays etc, it might generate enough interest to provide all our Rangers starved clubs with a wee cash boost, while serving as a preseason training exercise for the players and a first hand look at new signings etc.

Or is this pie in the sky nonsense?

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post

Quote Originally Posted by Green
    "There are some big decisions and none are more material than Rangers being excluded from the league and the financial incomes this club drives for the benefit of all Scottish clubs."
    We've obviously got this all wrong. Rangers "drives" income "for the benefit of all Scottish clubs". Whatever that means. Sounds good, though!

And he's continuing with his threat to seek compensation for something to do with players who weren't in his club not transferring to his club to allow Green to make a profit on their sale. He's nothing if not bold!

Honestly, if you made this up, no one would believe you.

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    As it says on the tin. Could anyone who is familiar with these matters help explain.

As the CVA wasn't succesful, why are Duff and Phelps still in charge of Rangers and they are still in Admininstration, instead of being liquidated? The CVA decision was quite a while back, so I don't understand why they're still there, presumably charging fees, and the liquidators have not yet replaced them. Is there any genuine reason why this should be the case?

Couldn't liquidate them afore the Twelth now could they?

Quote Originally Posted by H18SVG View Post
    Proves the man is a tit.
    It's not about punishing rangers.
    rangers are soon to be liquidated, a new company wishes to have the old compny's place in the SPL.
    It appears that wont happen so the new company have to apply within the structure of the foorball association.
    It's that simple yet people want to make it difficult.

I now don't care either way, what ever division they are in I'm going to continue to support Hibs.
    So what if it's a waste of money, it'll be mine I'm wasting.
    It might be the drink affecting the old grey matter finally, but was the kernel of his plan not a return to a ten team SPL! WTF then are the blazers even associating their monstrosity with McLeish's ?
    And why oh why MUST we accommodate Rangers as a sine quo non of Scottish football?

looks like the hamilton accies will vote for the buns

http://www.acciesfc.co.uk/index.php?...ews&Itemid=140

We would urge all clubs to work together to reshape the leagues in a fair and equitable manner and to make decisions purely for the long term prosperity of our game and the enjoyment of the supporters of all clubs.
    Harmony must be restored between all clubs for the good of our game and the continued existence of all Scotland’s Clubs.

not a single mention of any sporting integrity :(

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    not a single mention of any sporting integrity :(
    the rest of them shouldnae have bothered mentioning it either probably wouldnae ken what it wis if it slapped them in the coupon.

Story in the ****** tomorrow that at least 3 spl chairman in secret talks to get sevco into spl.

Wonder which chairmen that will be, assuming traynor hasn't just made it up of course.

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    Story in the ****** tomorrow that at least 3 spl chairman in secret talks to get sevco into spl.

Wonder which chairmen that will be, assuming traynor hasn't just made it up of course.
    Lawwell, Johnston and ?........

......Petrie?

Lawwell, Johnston and ?........

......Petrie?

wouldn't surprise me in the slightest, i hope sally McCoist asks for the names to be revealed

......Petrie?
    Hope not.

A serious question here.

Why does anyone, certainly any of us, still read the Daily Record?

I mean come on, it's a total rag that still just mindlessly churns out whatever Rangers PR is required. I wouldn't be surprised to see a 'Rangers invited to join new Euro Super League' story any day now.

Come on people, every paper bought, every click on their website puts money in muppets like Traynor's pockets. Just don't!

Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    A serious question here.

Why does anyone, certainly any of us, still read the Daily Record?

I mean come on, it's a total rag that still just mindlessly churns out whatever Rangers PR is required. I wouldn't be surprised to see a 'Rangers invited to join new Euro Super League' story any day now.

Come on people, every paper bought, every click on their website puts money in muppets like Traynor's pockets. Just don't!
    I neither buy it nor read it, I just comment on what is posted on here. It maybe *****, it maybe true, what this situation has proven as far as I'm concerned is that none of them can be trusted so I wouldnae put it past them tae be up tae something underhand, most of them would sell their granny for thirty bob. I wouldnae trust any of them as far as I could throw a grand pianae.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 02-07-2012 at 11:44 PM.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Even if the required number of chairmen could be convinced to change their mind and vote Sevco into the SPL there is still EUFA who will insist on them being relegated.

The chairmen and even Doncaster must know this, so why would they even consider starting a mutiny by their own fans to save the Huns from the consequences of their own actions.

Seems there are some SPL chairmen who are desperate to kill the game dead.

It's starting to look like Petrie's up to his neck in all the machinations going on to preserve Rangers(RIP).
    Why?

I think he's not alone. The SPL is just another cartell.

Viva la revolution!!!
    Last edited by gramskiwood; 03-07-2012 at 12:03 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Seems there are some SPL chairmen who are desperate to kill the game dead.
    Maybe they will all happily move their clubs to Division 3 so they can stay in the same league with their beloved Rangers...

CHARLES GREEN has hatched a last-ditch plan to keep crisis-torn Rangers in the SPL.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...cape-plan.html

Back SPL voting reform and slash the Old Firm’s influence

Agree a fairer split of revenue and cut payments to the Old Firm

Accept the transfer embargo given by the SFA appeals body

Pay all Gers’ football debts at home and abroad

Take a points deduction for at least one, possibly more seasons

Issue a public apologise for Gers’ past wrongdoing

i think that should be enough to kick the 'sporting integrity' p@sh right into touch

petrie will be twirling both ends of his tache into a wee knot in the middle

have to laugh at this, speaking about whittakers move to norwich -
    “I don’t accept that this is a career move — it’s for financial gain, no other reason.”

******* hypocrite

Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 03-07-2012 at 12:24 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    CHARLES GREEN has hatched a last-ditch plan to keep crisis-torn Rangers in the SPL.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...cape-plan.html

Back SPL voting reform and slash the Old Firm’s influence

Agree a fairer split of revenue and cut payments to the Old Firm

Accept the transfer embargo given by the SFA appeals body

Pay all Gers’ football debts at home and abroad

Take a points deduction for at least one, possibly more seasons

Issue a public apologise for Gers’ past wrongdoing

i think that should be enough to kick the 'sporting integrity' p@sh right into touch

petrie will be twirling both ends of his tache into a wee knot in the middle

have to laugh at this, speaking about whittakers move to norwich -
    “I don’t accept that this is a career move — it’s for financial gain, no other reason.”

******* hypocrite

So for what reason does he want other chairmen to vote them anywhere