well when it comes tae saving the huns is there any rule that cannae be changed?This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
Results 14,191 to 14,220 of 45185
-
28-06-2012 11:23 AM #14191
-
28-06-2012 11:24 AM #14192This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-06-2012 11:25 AM #14193
This has to be slapped down asap. It's Div 3 or oblivion and there is no road in between if any integrity is to remain.
-
28-06-2012 11:25 AM #14194This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think Petrie is many things, but he's not daft and this would be a spectacular OG with a a support who are, it has to be said, a tad on the fickle side.
Doncaster is a clueless fud out of his depth.
I truly hope that I'm right.
I also think one more report inth media shouldnt have us wetting ourselves until we hear what's actually happening. That Bury story didn't last long, did it? Spin, hype, posturing, bu tat the end of it a decision has to be made within a legal framework. Huns to Div 1 would, looking at the Raith statement yesterday alone, be starting a legal challenge roller coaster that would kill the game.
-
28-06-2012 11:25 AM #14195This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-06-2012 11:25 AM #14196
My understanding of that paragraph is that Petrie is looking to change the structure of the game (something he's been a huge supporter of for many years) and he, in his role at the SFA, has told Gree what they want to do. It seems it won't just be a simple "drop into division 1" and carry on as normal. There are some pretty big caveats attached. The most important one is
Rangers newco's acceptance into the Scottish FA would only be approved if they accept responsibility for the football debts and fines incurred by the pervious club along with their waiving of rights to a legal challenge.
-
28-06-2012 11:26 AM #14197
"It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has
been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on
the plans to gain their approval."
Have read this sentence over a good few times now and it does not seem to me to be English. It does not, for example, say that Rod has briefed Charliebhoy on how to gain the approval of club chairmen for the plans. It just runs briefed, Rod, plans and approval together in a grammatically disjointed way to give a certain effect. I suspect weejia hunduggery, intended to undermine the 'tache.
-
28-06-2012 11:26 AM #14198This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-06-2012 11:27 AM #14199
-
28-06-2012 11:30 AM #14200This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-06-2012 11:30 AM #14201
-
28-06-2012 11:32 AM #14202
1st division is only a punishment for old Rangers, New co starting in Div1 is not a punishment it is a gold watch.
Any new club no matter what they offer MUST with no if's,buts or maybes MUST start at the bottom of the leagues. Allowing a new club to bypass 2 divisions without kicking a ball is wrong on every level of what football is all about. We may as well scrap leagues if this is allowed and debate every season who finishes in what position.
We hear of teams that have been accused of buying league titles Man City etc at least they had to play games, being dropped up 2 divisions would go beyond any team buying a title it would go way beyond all that is right in the game.
Total disgrace if put into Division 1 without playing
-
28-06-2012 11:33 AM #14203
- Blog Entries
Luke Shanley on SSN just now.
restructure for season 2013/14
Playoffs from 'next season' - old SFL1 2nd,3rd,4th and old SPL1 11th.
Surely next season means 2013/14 and not 2012/13 ? (panic)
-
28-06-2012 11:33 AM #14204This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If the BBC report is true, they do.
-
28-06-2012 11:34 AM #14205
-
28-06-2012 11:35 AM #14206
Roderick McKenzie Petrie, aka The Tache, please make a statement to us, the fans of Hibernian FC (oh no I'm sounding like one of the weeping Huns on FF now) as to whether the BBC news item regarding you and Charles Green in talks to have Sevco in SFL1 are true or false. Thanking you in advance.
-
28-06-2012 11:36 AM #14207This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-06-2012 11:37 AM #14208This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The decision making now lies in the hands of the SFL chairmen who could say no but I predict that the inducements on offer will be enough to persuade many. I retain optimism on that front though you may be pleased to hear
This is my honest reading of the situation as it has unfolded which you may see as pessimistic but if this is what happens then I think a fair bit of pessimism may befall Scottish football.Last edited by Spike Mandela; 28-06-2012 at 11:40 AM.
-
28-06-2012 11:37 AM #14209This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
You begin to wonder if the SPL chairmen announcing 'no' to Newco in the SPL has been a deliberate side show and smokescreen, and all along they have been angling on the compromise of getting Rangers into Div 1. What proposal will the SPL Clubs actually be voting for/against on 4 JulyLast edited by The Harp Awakes; 28-06-2012 at 11:40 AM.
-
28-06-2012 11:42 AM #14210
Unless sevco are applying for a place in div 3 then I'm out.
If Petrie has been behind this then the club are ****** as not only will they see home crowds drop but away fans will be justifiably boycotting ER too. If this is nonsense then they better put out a statement pronto.
-
28-06-2012 11:44 AM #14211
-
28-06-2012 11:44 AM #14212This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-06-2012 11:45 AM #14213This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-06-2012 11:45 AM #14214
If this is true, Petrie has betrayed us all. We are told the club monitor the message boards closely, so he will have determined that our collective opinion is worthless, or certainly worth less than a few quid from playing Rangers is.
This club will be dead by the end of the season if true.
-
28-06-2012 11:47 AM #14215
Sounds to me like another nice trade off/deal for the huns: accept a new voting structure, the paltry fines coming your way for oldco crimes, £160k, and a few lost league titles for the dual contracts scam, maybe a ban from the Scottish Cup for a year (whoopy do!) .... and you get to keep your history and walk in debt free to spl land in 2013. I call that a sham and no punishment for the crimes of RFC.
-
28-06-2012 11:47 AM #14216
-
28-06-2012 11:48 AM #14217
-
28-06-2012 11:48 AM #14218
-
-
28-06-2012 11:49 AM #14220
At this stage, with needing season tickets sold, that's a bit dangerous.
I'd like to see what the proposals are, who is leading them and what the process is.
What do you think you are pre-empting and what influence do you think you currently have?