View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 474 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3744244644724734744754764845245749741474 ... LastLast
Results 14,191 to 14,220 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by hibs13681 View Post
    If rangers go into the 1st Division they cant be promoted the next season, they require a UEFA license to compete in the SPL, to get a UEFA license you need 3 years audited accounts. So they need to be elsewhere other than the SPL for 3 years before they can get entry. Unless this revamp of the leagues also means scrapping that rule.
    well when it comes tae saving the huns is there any rule that cannae be changed?

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    well when it comes tae saving the huns is there any rule that cannae be changed?
    UEFA Rules.

This has to be slapped down asap. It's Div 3 or oblivion and there is no road in between if any integrity is to remain.

Do you trust these people that run our game going on the past? I wouldnae trust them as far as I could throw a grand pianae.
    I think Regan is a good guy without any of the OF baggage and is changing a lot in the background of Scottish football, especially grassroots and organisation.
    I think Petrie is many things, but he's not daft and this would be a spectacular OG with a a support who are, it has to be said, a tad on the fickle side.
    Doncaster is a clueless fud out of his depth.

I truly hope that I'm right.

I also think one more report inth media shouldnt have us wetting ourselves until we hear what's actually happening. That Bury story didn't last long, did it? Spin, hype, posturing, bu tat the end of it a decision has to be made within a legal framework. Huns to Div 1 would, looking at the Raith statement yesterday alone, be starting a legal challenge roller coaster that would kill the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Think about it. After all he has been saying there is no danger this has been arranged by Rod!
    Rod has never came out and said they should be in the 3rd division though has he? What if this turns out to be correct Andy? what defence will you have for us all? If it is indeed false, bit to detailed for it to be rubbish for me btw then Petrie should rubbish the claims right away as it may have a huge effect on season tickets.

My understanding of that paragraph is that Petrie is looking to change the structure of the game (something he's been a huge supporter of for many years) and he, in his role at the SFA, has told Gree what they want to do. It seems it won't just be a simple "drop into division 1" and carry on as normal. There are some pretty big caveats attached. The most important one is

Rangers newco's acceptance into the Scottish FA would only be approved if they accept responsibility for the football debts and fines incurred by the pervious club along with their waiving of rights to a legal challenge.
    That leaves the door open for sufficient punishment without the idiot Huns going back crying to the court of session.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    "It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has
    been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on
    the plans to gain their approval."

Have read this sentence over a good few times now and it does not seem to me to be English. It does not, for example, say that Rod has briefed Charliebhoy on how to gain the approval of club chairmen for the plans. It just runs briefed, Rod, plans and approval together in a grammatically disjointed way to give a certain effect. I suspect weejia hunduggery, intended to undermine the 'tache.

PSN ID: FleshCabbage
    Think about it. After all he has been saying there is no danger this has been arranged by Rod!
    E-mail the board? We need to know, if it is true I will feel stitched up by the whole of Scottish football, what an absolute farce.

Well then the rumours about underhand deals need tae be squashed before they dae any mair damage. Petrie can have my season ticket money on Monday if I can get a written and signed guarantee that I will get my money back if that team end up anywhere bar division 3.

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    Rod has never came out and said they should be in the 3rd division though has he? What if this turns out to be correct Andy? what defence will you have for us all? If it is indeed false, bit to detailed for it to be rubbish for me btw then Petrie should rubbish the claims right away as it may have a huge effect on season tickets.
    Because that's little to do with Rod. That's the SFL's call.

Quote Originally Posted by Salt & Sauzee View Post
    E-mail the board? We need to know, if it is true I will feel stitched up by the whole of Scottish football, what an absolute farce.
    Why don't you email the board? Me, I'll wait and see what all this is about before getting too upset about it.

1st division is only a punishment for old Rangers, New co starting in Div1 is not a punishment it is a gold watch.

Any new club no matter what they offer MUST with no if's,buts or maybes MUST start at the bottom of the leagues. Allowing a new club to bypass 2 divisions without kicking a ball is wrong on every level of what football is all about. We may as well scrap leagues if this is allowed and debate every season who finishes in what position.

We hear of teams that have been accused of buying league titles Man City etc at least they had to play games, being dropped up 2 divisions would go beyond any team buying a title it would go way beyond all that is right in the game.

Total disgrace if put into Division 1 without playing

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Luke Shanley on SSN just now.
    restructure for season 2013/14
    Playoffs from 'next season' - old SFL1 2nd,3rd,4th and old SPL1 11th.
    Surely next season means 2013/14 and not 2012/13 ? (panic)

Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    Are you arguing with anything I said in that post?
    What about the bit where you say "no plans exist"?

If the BBC report is true, they do.

Why don't you email the board? Me, I'll wait and see what all this is about before getting too upset about it.
    or wait 'til it's too late?

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    Roderick McKenzie Petrie, aka The Tache, please make a statement to us, the fans of Hibernian FC (oh no I'm sounding like one of the weeping Huns on FF now) as to whether the BBC news item regarding you and Charles Green in talks to have Sevco in SFL1 are true or false. Thanking you in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Because that's little to do with Rod. That's the SFL's call.
    If it's nothing to do with him then he shouldn't be advising anyone on anything then. That's why I'd like this cleared up. I've already bought my ST for next season but will demand my cash back if he really has had any involvement in Newco getting into the first division.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Twa Cairpets View Post
    There you go again Spikey Boy.
    Assuming the worst before seeing what the actual truth of it is.
    If its true, then Petries position for me becomes untenable, but let's wait and see eh? Don't assume the worst all the time my pessimistic friend.
    This has been my position all along TC. What do you honestly think was discussed in the six hour meeting of the 3 authorities prior to all the SPL chairmen announcing their no to a newco? Petrie will be a major architect In this reconstruction as he was in the proposal for a top league of 10.

The decision making now lies in the hands of the SFL chairmen who could say no but I predict that the inducements on offer will be enough to persuade many. I retain optimism on that front though you may be pleased to hear

This is my honest reading of the situation as it has unfolded which you may see as pessimistic but if this is what happens then I think a fair bit of pessimism may befall Scottish football.
    Last edited by Spike Mandela; 28-06-2012 at 11:40 AM.

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18625293

If this happens then I'm not going back. I'm sick of these allowances being made for a club that cheated.
    This story is pretty much consistent with what I was told at the weekend and mentioned on here, minus the RP spokesman bit. Although Jim Traynor is undoubtedly a trumpet, it looks like he had been fed the same information which is not far from the truth.

You begin to wonder if the SPL chairmen announcing 'no' to Newco in the SPL has been a deliberate side show and smokescreen, and all along they have been angling on the compromise of getting Rangers into Div 1. What proposal will the SPL Clubs actually be voting for/against on 4 July
    Last edited by The Harp Awakes; 28-06-2012 at 11:40 AM.

Unless sevco are applying for a place in div 3 then I'm out.

If Petrie has been behind this then the club are ****** as not only will they see home crowds drop but away fans will be justifiably boycotting ER too. If this is nonsense then they better put out a statement pronto.

or wait 'til it's too late?
    It's always helpful to have some facts before doing anything.

Quote Originally Posted by Bajillions View Post
    My understanding of that paragraph is that Petrie is looking to change the structure of the game (something he's been a huge supporter of for many years) and he, in his role at the SFA, has told Gree what they want to do. It seems it won't just be a simple "drop into division 1" and carry on as normal. There are some pretty big caveats attached. The most important one is

That leaves the door open for sufficient punishment without the idiot Huns going back crying to the court of session.
    It's also inconceivable that the SPL clubs won't have been discussing and horse trading in the background. It may be this is the best "integrity" deal RP has managed to push through and if he'd gone for the full on D3 approach, his fellow chairmen might've let the *******s straight into the SPL.

It's also useful to pre-empt situations.

If this is true, Petrie has betrayed us all. We are told the club monitor the message boards closely, so he will have determined that our collective opinion is worthless, or certainly worth less than a few quid from playing Rangers is.

This club will be dead by the end of the season if true.

Sounds to me like another nice trade off/deal for the huns: accept a new voting structure, the paltry fines coming your way for oldco crimes, £160k, and a few lost league titles for the dual contracts scam, maybe a ban from the Scottish Cup for a year (whoopy do!) .... and you get to keep your history and walk in debt free to spl land in 2013. I call that a sham and no punishment for the crimes of RFC.

IMO it's best tae keep the pressure on tae try and stop the the wrong thing from happening befor it does and until the right thing is done. I wouldnae dismiss this out of hand or Petrie's involment, he was right at the front pushing for the 10 team league naebody wanted.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    UEFA Rules.
    Is it a rule that the SPL have that to play in the top flight you need a UEFA license or is it an UEFA rule. Is it is just an SPL rule I can see that one getting scrapped.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    What about the bit where you say "no plans exist"?

If the BBC report is true, they do.
    Even the BBC state that it is merely a proposal.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    i'm sick and tired of all this pish

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    It's also useful to pre-empt situations.
    Well all that's happening here is, yet again, people taking any little shred of news that Hibs, or someone at Hibs, can be seen in a bad light, then everyone running with it.

At this stage, with needing season tickets sold, that's a bit dangerous.

I'd like to see what the proposals are, who is leading them and what the process is.

What do you think you are pre-empting and what influence do you think you currently have?