View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 472 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3724224624704714724734744825225729721472 ... LastLast
Results 14,131 to 14,160 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    Hopefully arresting Sally as part of the ongoing investigation.
    Lodge meeting?

Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

Thumbs Down

Basically, 12 months down the line newco Huns walk back into the spl debt free to compete with eleven honest clubs saddled with debts. And will be free to do it all again and shaft us all because they arra peepul! That'll be shinging bright!!

@hibs.net private member Ryan91's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bajillions View Post
    BBC reporting the Huns will parachute into division 1.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18625293

Disgusting and if true, I will have no further involvement in Scottish football.
    Apparently Petrie is briefing Green. WTF is our Chairman doing if this turns out to be true? He called for integrity and as such should not be seen to support these plans. They need to be removed from Senior Football and told to re-apply to join 3rd division, not just parachuted into division one. It all seemed to be going so well, if they do get put in D1, I'll be telling the club I don't want a season ticket any more and see if it's possible to get the money back for it.

Scottish Football appeared to be moving forward ever so slightly towards a new era, but now it appears as if it's prepared to shoot itself in the foot to accommodate the cheats.

Quote Originally Posted by northgreen24 View Post
    totally agree if this happens then all over for me. This could jsut be old news but if it happens then JT was correct re the sporting integrity being a smokescreen. if they start anywhere other than the bottom like every other club would then Scottish football is finished.......

just had a quick look on followfollow, even a couple of them think it's laughable

hun 1

It's good for us too. We would therefore only need one promotion to get back into the top league.

I still believe that Division Three is the "right" thing to do but these are exceptional circumstances.

hun 2

Sporting integrity my butt, if they want sporting integrity, then give them true sporting integrity and go to the third division. That way we the Rangers decide our own fate and not be used as a cash cow for clubs who want to penalise us more than is merited.

Left by mutual consent! AL-Qaholik's Avatar
    "It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval."

Makes it sound like Petrie is the driving force behind letting the cheating bassas start from in the 1st Division??

Really, REALLY not a clever move just a day after the club releases a statement begging for lapsed season ticket holders to return.

Not to mention, being the complete ****in opposite of "sporting integrity"!!

I think we all collectively need to contact the club (and encourage other clubs to do likewise) and make sure they are under no illusions that 'relegation' to Division 1 is nowhere near good enough!

I'm fuming!

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibby View Post
    Basically, 12 months down the line newco Huns walk back into the spl debt free to compete with eleven honest clubs saddled with debts. And will be free to do it all again and shaft us all because they arra peepul! That'll be shinging bright!!

exactly

Quote Originally Posted by AL-Qaholik View Post
    "It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval."

Makes it sound like Petrie is the driving force behind letting the cheating bassas start from in the 1st Division??

Really, REALLY not a clever move just a day after the club releases a statement begging for lapsed season ticket holders to return.

Not to mention, being the complete ****in opposite of "sporting integrity"!!

I think we all collectively need to contact the club (and encourage other clubs to do likewise) and make sure they are under no illusions that 'relegation' to Division 1 is nowhere near good enough!

I'm fuming!
    I did not read it like that, i think Petrie is just the spokesman for the clubs? I hope i'm right.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    I did not read it like that, i think Petrie is just the spokesman for the clubs? I hope i'm right.
    Yep this does not sound good but I would definitely want clarification of RP's role here before I go off on one....

Left by mutual consent! AL-Qaholik's Avatar
    I hope so too...

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Yep this does not sound good but I would definitely want clarification of RP's role here before I go off on one....
    You might want clarification of the truth of the story first.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    I think it will be because he is on the SFA committee.

Events have moved significantly even since they would have started talking about these ideas a couple of weeks ago.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval

all those on here wanting a nighthood for RP should think again, and that goes for the other chairmen that have been getting plaudits the last few days, they want sporting integrity....but only if it's for one season
    Quote Originally Posted by northgreen24 View Post
    totally agree if this happens then all over for me. This could jsut be old news but if it happens then JT was correct re the sporting integrity being a smokescreen. if they start anywhere other than the bottom like every other club would then Scottish football is finished.......
    Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibby View Post
    I dinnae like the way this keeps cropping up, it could be just mair media pro newhun propaganda but if it turns out tae be true then then it's good bye Scottish fitba from me.

I'll not be puting my money in tae bent fitba leagues that fund the gravy train on which twisted b******s like doncaster and ogilvie grow rich.

There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that this has been planned for weeks now. All the guff about 'no' votes was a smokescreen to keep the 'plebs' happy. I also expect most of the players to make a u turn when it's officiall and the ownership of Rangers is sorted out. Rangers will have lost a few battles but there's only going to be one winner of the war.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    You might want clarification of the truth of the story first.
    Yes definitely...but you'd probably have been better directing that at those who actually have gone off on one!

I agree there would need to be clear clarification of what is going on.

In saying that I think the default position at present re Rangers should be not to believe the press given the blatant scaremongering and lies that have been shamelessly peddled throughout this whole sorry affair.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    "but Neil Alexander, Kirk Broadfoot, Lee McCulloch, Ross Perry and Lee Wallace attended Murray Park with assistant manager Kenny McDowall on Wednesday.
    Darren Cole, Kane Hemmings, Kyle Hutton , Kal Naismith and Andrew Mitchell were also there but manager Ally McCoist was absent."

its a 'whos who' of football stars!

i cant see them getting the required support to enter Div 1.....and the SPL pay $1 million to broadcast there games....what a joke if that goes through

Yes definitely...but you'd probably have been better directing that at those who actually have gone off on one!
    Ken...... I'm just trying to stop you doing the same. The rest are lost causes

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    I agree there would need to be clear clarification of what is going on.

In saying that I think the default position at present re Rangers should be not to believe the press given the blatant scaremongering and lies that have been shamelessly peddled throughout this whole sorry affair.
    Yup

http://www.sonstrust.net/

Get your vote in

Ken...... I'm just trying to stop you doing the same. The rest are lost causes
    I'd managed to keep ma trap shut on all this until 10 mins ago.... then just had a wee "WTF" moment

Ok....there have been many of those since 14 February

Remember... there needs to be 22 SFL clubs to vote for this nonsense.

Warning!....before everyone goes off on one after reading this...ther is not a single quote in article or info attributted to anyone...on the other side its got pretty specific 'details'

BBC Scotland has learned of plans being put in place that would allow Rangers to move directly into Scottish Division One in the coming season.
    Rangers FC plc is soon to be liquidated and Charles Green's consortium are reforming the club.
    But Green's Rangers newco has not gained support to replace the old club in the Scottish Premier League.
    And senior Scottish football figures are proposing that Rangers start season 2012-13 in the second tier.
    There are also plans for the SPL and Scottish Football League bodies to be merged into a new organisation called 'The Scottish Professional Football League' in 12 months' time.
    The main points of the proposals are:
    • Rangers are to be relegated with immediate effect and replaced in the SPL by Dundee.
    • Television rights for Rangers matches in Scottish Football League Division One are to be bought by the SPL for £1m.
    • The SPL and SFL will merge into one body at the start of season 2013-14.
    • Play-offs between the top two divisions will be introduced in time for the coming season with one team from the top flight and three from the second tier competing for a place in the following season's SPL.
    • There will be an increase in the parachute payments made to clubs relegated from the SPL.
    • Changes will be made to the distribution model for clubs in the top two tiers with teams in the lower leagues earning a similar amount to the current set-up.
    • A new pyramid system will become effective from season 2014-15 that will allow a potential place in the new league format for a team from either the Highland league or newly-created 'Lowland League'.
    • Rangers newco's acceptance into the Scottish FA would only be approved if they accept responsibility for the football debts and fines incurred by the pervious club along with their waiving of rights to a legal challenge.
    It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval.
    All these changes have to be approved by SPL and SFL clubs over the next few days and should the proposals not gain support, it remains possible that Rangers could begin next season in Scottish Division Three, the lowest league in the senior set-up.
    Division One clubs Falkirk, Raith Rovers and latterly Morton have voiced their opposition to any plans to place the Rangers newco in the second tier.
    With no Rangers currently in the SPL, 'Club 12' is listed on the league's fixtures for season 2012-13 and Dunfermline, who were relegated from the top flight last season, expected to be reinstated.
    Dundee, who finished second to promoted Division One champions Ross County last season, have not gone public with their view on who should take the place of Club 12.

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Rangers newco's acceptance into the Scottish FA would only be approved if they
    accept responsibility for the football debts and fines incurred by the pervious
    club along with their waiving of rights to a legal challenge.
    So punishment for debts and fines could be points deduction? what happened to ongoing deduction in points for liquidation?

Assuming the following goes against them.....
    Bix tax case - not a footballing matter?
    Dual contracts - dismissed from SFL? History books amended?
    EBTs - loss of sfl/sfa membership?

(also the decision on suspension of signing players - what happened to that?)

All these changes have to be approved by SPL and SFL clubs over the next few days and should the proposals not gain support, it remains possible that Rangers could begin next season in Scottish Division Three, the lowest league in the senior set-up.

we need the pressure applied to get this result

Quote Originally Posted by down-the-slope View Post
    Warning!....before everyone goes off on one after reading this...ther is not a single quote in article or info attributted to anyone...on the other side its got pretty specific 'details'
    It's also got our Rod's name in it...

Ok....there have been many of those since 14 February

Remember... there needs to be 22 SFL clubs to vote for this nonsense.
    So its basically - BBC journo thinks that CG has approached RP as SFA spokesperson to get advice on how Newco get into Div 1. RP may have advised to say you've nae chance as you'll need 22 votes...

Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    Very wide of the mark. People like Traynor still live in the land of power brokers and succulent lamb, and have no comprehension of how this process works.

1. the SFA can only broker a proposal between the different authorities, in no way are they king-maker in this situation
    2. any SPL proposal requires ratification by the SPL clubs, and would probably require a 11-1 majority due to there being a material change to the SPL financial arrangements
    3. likewise any SFL proposal can only be ratified its members once it had been formulated and circulated.

Whilst the guys in the comfy seats might have had some informal discussion no proposals from either the SPL or the SFL exist, never mind any votes or discussions scheduled.

I can only conclude that Traynor has been overdosing on X-Files re-runs to come up with that stuff.
    Looks like Traynor wasn't as far off the mark as you thought.

Looks like he was spot on.

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    Well there was me foolishly getting ready to buy a posh leather card holder for my first ST and head to ER after work on Friday to get ma free Home top, and I slept like a log this morning, thinking that the Hun was slipping down the drain faster than butter off a hot knife, then I wake up to read this:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/mobile/football/18625293

"It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has
    been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on
    the plans to gain their approval."

So the ridiculous rumours we heard that the Tache was at Edinburgh Airport talking to Green over a week ago were true then and this has already been done and dusted and the Hibs FC chairman has been implicitly involved? :O :<

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    "but Neil Alexander, Kirk Broadfoot, Lee McCulloch, Ross Perry and Lee Wallace attended Murray Park with assistant manager Kenny McDowall on Wednesday.
    Darren Cole, Kane Hemmings, Kyle Hutton , Kal Naismith and Andrew Mitchell were also there but manager Ally McCoist was absent."

its a 'whos who' of football stars!

i cant see them getting the required support to enter Div 1.....and the SPL pay $1 million to broadcast there games....what a joke if that goes through
    So Alexander won't be pitching up here then.

Quote Originally Posted by down-the-slope View Post

BBC Scotland has learned of plans being put in place that would allow Rangers to move directly into Scottish Division One in the coming season.
    Rangers FC plc is soon to be liquidated and Charles Green's consortium are reforming the club.
    But Green's Rangers newco has not gained support to replace the old club in the Scottish Premier League.
    And senior Scottish football figures are proposing that Rangers start season 2012-13 in the second tier.
    There are also plans for the SPL and Scottish Football League bodies to be merged into a new organisation called 'The Scottish Professional Football League' in 12 months' time.
    The main points of the proposals are:
    • Rangers are to be relegated with immediate effect and replaced in the SPL by Dundee.
    • Television rights for Rangers matches in Scottish Football League Division One are to be bought by the SPL for £1m.
    • The SPL and SFL will merge into one body at the start of season 2013-14.
    • Play-offs between the top two divisions will be introduced in time for the coming season with one team from the top flight and three from the second tier competing for a place in the following season's SPL.
    • There will be an increase in the parachute payments made to clubs relegated from the SPL.
    • Changes will be made to the distribution model for clubs in the top two tiers with teams in the lower leagues earning a similar amount to the current set-up.
    • A new pyramid system will become effective from season 2014-15 that will allow a potential place in the new league format for a team from either the Highland league or newly-created 'Lowland League'.
    • Rangers newco's acceptance into the Scottish FA would only be approved if they accept responsibility for the football debts and fines incurred by the pervious club along with their waiving of rights to a legal challenge.
    It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval. All these changes have to be approved by SPL and SFL clubs over the next few days and should the proposals not gain support, it remains possible that Rangers could begin next season in Scottish Division Three, the lowest league in the senior set-up.
    Division One clubs Falkirk, Raith Rovers and latterly Morton have voiced their opposition to any plans to place the Rangers newco in the second tier.
    With no Rangers currently in the SPL, 'Club 12' is listed on the league's fixtures for season 2012-13 and Dunfermline, who were relegated from the top flight last season, expected to be reinstated.
    Dundee, who finished second to promoted Division One champions Ross County last season, have not gone public with their view on who should take the place of Club 12.
    IF (and its a big IF) the is true, does this mean Rod is the spokesperson letting the huns skip 2 divisions?