View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 468 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3684184584664674684694704785185689681468 ... LastLast
Results 14,011 to 14,040 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    According to the STV Twitter, Spartans have not and will not be launching any legal challenge to block any Newco application.

Boo hiss! I know the guy who does their accounts, I suspect they will be in slightly better order than Slimeco's.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Strange, if true.

Perhaps CG is backing out of the deal But, that then begs the question... why would anyone bid more for a business that is worth less than it was last week?
    Even though it is worth less this week than it was last week, it might still be worth £8.7m this week. There is just the faint possibility that it was worth more last week than someone actually paid for it. Which the polis and Hector between them may eventually determine (unless The Hun Apologist In Chief "Jim" Traynor eloquently convinces them that there's nothing to see there and they move on).

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    It does seem a strange rule.

How can a new club ever be established?

You cannot have three years accounts without operating. You cannot operate without SFA membership.

I doubt whether such a rule is legally sustainable.

Are the Newco Gretna and the Newco Clydebank members of the SFA?
    Page 11 here clarifies things.

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resource...%20%282%29.pdf

Audited accounts are NOT needed for entry to the SFA. All that is required is the 2011 Accounts......

which Sevco doesn't have.

Are the rules being bent, though?

If a place becomes available, then Sevco and others may apply. If they satisfy the criteria, then they will be considered. If they don't, they won't. It's only if that process isn't followed that anyone can actually complain.

As an aside, although I tend not to believe what STV tell me, it wouldn't surprise me if Spartans have no legal action planned. They may be well-run, but they won't have the cash to splash on legal action which, at the moment, isn't needed.
    I thought I read somewhere that they had tae have a certain number of years worth of financial history/acconuts or whatever tae get a licence from the SFA? (or maybe I read that wrong). They certainly cannae have that. If that is the case there should be nae discussion at all about them getting in anywhere but it is apparently being discussed so they must be going tae dae something which isnae right with that rule (if indeed it is a rule and I've no made it up ).

You cannot have three years accounts without operating. You cannot operate without SFA membership.

Presumably you have to operate for 3 years at junior level first?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

Could be an SFL rather than SFA rule.

Strange, if true.

Perhaps CG is backing out of the deal But, that then begs the question... why would anyone bid more for a business that is worth less than it was last week?
    Because it was worth far more than £5.5 million a week ago so the new figure is still a decent price for the land and trophies to melt down.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    I thought I read somewhere that they had tae have a certain number of years worth of financial history/acconuts or whatever tae get a licence from the SFA? They certainly cannae have that. If that is the case there should be nae discussion at all about them getting in anywhere but it is apparently being discussed so the must be going tae dae something which isnae right with that rule.
    They don't need that. It's another Hibs.net myth.... which I was starting to believe

See above for my interpretation.... which still gooses them, IMO.

They don't need that. It's another Hibs.net myth.... which I was starting to believe

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resource...%20%282%29.pdf

Audited accounts are NOT needed for entry to the SFA. All that is required is the 2011 Accounts......

With good management a new club would have been established in the South of Scotland League as soon as the BTC reared its head. This is what happened with FC United of Manchester.

They would then have been a position to apply for SFL3.

They appear to have missed the boat!

With good management a new club would have been established in the South of Scotland League as soon as the BTC reared its head. This is what happened with FC United of Manchester.

They would then have been a position to apply for SFL3.

They appear to have missed the boat!

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376

Has it come from section 8.1.2??

A club is required to submit a summary of financial information covering the reporting year for 2011 and the
    previous two years i.e. 2010 and 2009 as detailed below.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304

I believe this was the reason that Gretna2012 had to join the East of Scotland league, as the Newco didn't meet the eligibility requirements.

I guess any club would need to join a junior league and gradually develop sufficient finances or credentials to meet the criteria.

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resource...iteria (2).pdf

Cheers for clearing up CWG. To be fair, this myth extends beyonds the boundaries of .net

If the SFL admit Rangers I can certainly see based on the above, why other clubs would take legal action.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by jonty View Post
    Has it come from section 8.1.2??
    The previous page. 8.1.1.... under "Entry", which Sevco would be applying for.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18606923

Looks like Brown has come to a similar conclusion as our own Caversham as to whether Green actually owns the property or not...

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    The previous page. 8.1.1.... under "Entry", which Sevco would be applying for.
    Section 8.1.2. (as quoted above) also appears to apply to the "entry" criteria?
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    Section 8.1.2. (as quoted above) also appears to apply to the "entry" criteria?

So they would get entry but not be able to qualify for Platinum (i have read some of it ), Gold, Silver or Bronze status.
    Which does what exactly? I'm assuming doesn't restrict the club from entering certain leagues?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18614220

Sandy Jardine now taking a pop at the freed 8

Quote Originally Posted by LancashireHibby View Post
    Presumably you have to operate for 3 years at junior level first?
    I have just looked up the record of Gretna FC 2008. They were formed after the liquidation of Gretna FC and applied to both the South of Scotland League and the East of Scotland League. They were admitted to the East of Scotland League.

This is a Senior rather than a Junior League. It is not clear if they are members of the SFA.

Clydebank FC were re-established in 2003 and joined the Scottish Junior Football Association.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    2 options open to them, do a Gretna and join the west of Scotland League

or do an Airdrie Utd and take over an ailing club (Killie?)

from Wiki

Airdrie United were formed in 2002, following the bankruptcy of Airdrieonians.[1]
    Airdrieonians had finished runners-up in the Scottish First Division in the 2001–02 season[2] but went out of business with debts approaching £3 million.[3] The collapse of "The Diamonds", as they were known due to their distinctive kits,[4] created a vacancy in the Scottish Football League (in the Scottish Third Division). Accountant and Airdrieonians fan Jim Ballantyne attempted, with the help of others, to gain entry with a club called "Airdrie United" who were essentially to be a reincarnation of Airdrieonians.[5] Their application however was rejected as the then English Northern Premier League side Gretna were preferred by league members over the new Airdrie United.[6]
    Airdrie United then went on to complete a buy-out of the ailing Second Division side Clydebank[7] and with SFL approval the club was relocated to Airdrie,[8] the strips were transformed to resemble that of Airdrieonians, and the name was changed to Airdrie United. While this means that the club is therefore officially a continuation of Clydebank it is almost universally accepted as a reincarnation of Airdrieonians, with Clydebank having been reformed by supporters groups and entering into the West Region Junior League.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Pitlochry hibee View Post
    2 options open to them, do a Gretna and join the west of Scotland League

or do an Airdrie Utd and take over an ailing club (Killie?)

from Wiki

Airdrie United were formed in 2002, following the bankruptcy of Airdrieonians.[1]
    Airdrieonians had finished runners-up in the Scottish First Division in the 2001–02 season[2] but went out of business with debts approaching £3 million.[3] The collapse of "The Diamonds", as they were known due to their distinctive kits,[4] created a vacancy in the Scottish Football League (in the Scottish Third Division). Accountant and Airdrieonians fan Jim Ballantyne attempted, with the help of others, to gain entry with a club called "Airdrie United" who were essentially to be a reincarnation of Airdrieonians.[5] Their application however was rejected as the then English Northern Premier League side Gretna were preferred by league members over the new Airdrie United.[6]
    Airdrie United then went on to complete a buy-out of the ailing Second Division side Clydebank[7] and with SFL approval the club was relocated to Airdrie,[8] the strips were transformed to resemble that of Airdrieonians, and the name was changed to Airdrie United. While this means that the club is therefore officially a continuation of Clydebank it is almost universally accepted as a reincarnation of Airdrieonians, with Clydebank having been reformed by supporters groups and entering into the West Region Junior League.
    I seem to recall that the rules were changed to stop other clubs 'doing an Airdrie United'.

Is this another hibs-net myth?

This is worth a read, exploring the options of a new club (this was at the time Gretna went under) especially since it was written by a brilliant young journalist...

http://www.heraldscotland.com/fresh-...ytale-1.876500

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Duff and Phelps win award Shocker!!

http://www.business7.co.uk/business-...6408-23901493/

WTF
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post

That Jandy Sardine is a fishy booger!

The smoking gun...

Craigy boy Whyte is still there or thereabouts.
    Last edited by hibs0666; 27-06-2012 at 03:31 PM.

Mike Farrell@mikefstvAccording to title deeds, the floating charge held by Craig Whyte over Murray Park is still valid http://bit.ly/NNblxX

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    Mike Farrell@mikefstvAccording to title deeds, the floating charge held by Craig Whyte over Murray Park is still valid http://bit.ly/NNblxX
    Maybe that was the reason for the apparent fudge in the CVA documentation?

Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    The smoking gun...

Craigy boy Whyte is still there or thereabouts.
    Ouch.

Now we see why the more recent bidders have walked away. He owns the property and would appear to want to keep it that way.

Surely that also rules them out of the SPL full stop since 'The Rangers' do not own their own stadium?

Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post

"If we don't have money from fees for players leaving - which we are completely entitled to - then what are we supposed to build on, fresh air?"

Aye right Sandy............... I very much doubt that newco is entitled to any fee and good luck with the fresh air construction business:giruy:

When you've stopped whinging maybe you'll apologise to all the creditors who are getting zip from the disgrace that is your club

Quote Originally Posted by banchoryhibs View Post
    "If we don't have money from fees for players leaving - which we are completely entitled to - then what are we supposed to build on, fresh air?"

Aye right Sandy............... I very much doubt that newco is entitled to any fee and good luck with the fresh air construction business:giruy:

When you've stopped whinging maybe you'll apologise to all the creditors who are getting zip from the disgrace that is your club

Should it not read?

"..... the disgrace that WAS your club"!