Just been reading on 'Lost Edinburgh' Facebook page regarding graffiti around Edinburgh over the years, people were going on about one particular in the 90's 'McCabe Grass' around Sighthill area I do remember it but does anyone know the story behind it? People think its something to do with a drugs!?
Thread: Particular Graffiti in Edinburgh
-
18-06-2012 10:24 PM #1
Particular Graffiti in Edinburgh
-
18-06-2012 10:30 PM #2
Was all over Dalry as well when I stayed there in the nineties. Don't know the full story but whoever was doing it made a grand job of getting the message across. It was everywhere.
-
18-06-2012 10:32 PM #3This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Different name but was along the lines of 'xxxxx grass'. The story with that one was definitely drugs related and the person who was mentioned in the graffiti committed suicide.
-
19-06-2012 03:33 AM #4This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Memory is hazy so might be wrong.Last edited by Pete; 19-06-2012 at 03:44 AM.
-
19-06-2012 07:30 AM #5This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Best source I could come up with was actually Kickback. According to them its all a bit of a non story. One guy grassed another for involvement in relatively small scale drugs, the graffiti was about as bad as the retribution got seemingly.
Also asked around re the other graffiti that I mentioned around Oxgangs. The name that escaped me earlier was 'Fergie' and the graffiti was 'Fergie fat grass'. Sadly that story seems far more sinister. Seems my earlier recollection was accurate and whether through a reaction to the 'publicity' or genuine fear he did indeed take his own life.
The story seems a bit all over the place but rumour has it that the character Feardie Fergie from Ian Rankins Black and Blue was loosely based on him.Last edited by Pretty Boy; 19-06-2012 at 07:38 AM.
-
19-06-2012 07:49 AM #6
There was one on the side of a Hyvots block for aslong as I could remember. It was xxxxxx fat grass cow. Can't remember the name but it was there for years.
There was also a 'mention' young gillie '89' on a shop shutters until a year or two back.
-
19-06-2012 11:21 AM #7
There used to some permanent graffiti on the bus stop on London Road by The Masala Pot heading into town. It was all about some lassie, whose name escapes me, and how she was a cow, slut and god knows what else. Every week it would get scrubbed off, and every week it would come back.
There was also the whole "Who is Ryder" (was it Ryder??) thing around the centre of town, that turned out was by some student of anthropology or some other slightly ****y but interesting subject, as a project to see how people reacted as a mass to a repeated message on a subject they knew nothing of.
-
-
19-06-2012 01:24 PM #9
OE is everywhere in the city. Someone told me it's a group called Own Edinburgh?
-
19-06-2012 02:16 PM #10
There's the letters 'V O M' in Musselburgh, absolutely everywhere, no idea what it means, I like graffiti if it's tasteful/artistic/creative but this "tagging" is just utterly woeful.
-
19-06-2012 02:45 PM #11This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As for other graffiti...I see "mate" and "yeah" everywhere I go in edinburgh. "Mate" and "yeah" and the other ones in their gang who are as frequent should do time because they are responsible for a lot of ugliness. I wouldn't mind if it was artistic.
-
19-06-2012 03:22 PM #12
I've seen 'NSA' written quite a lot around town.
I never really thought much of it, I assume it's more than some proud univeristy student promoting 'Napier Student Association' ?Mon the Hibs.
-
19-06-2012 04:23 PM #13
Cheers for the replies. I also remembered in the early 90's 'Marilyn Clarke is a s***' also not sure the name but 'X fae the Inch has aids' Quite harsh graffiti back then!
As for people's names, FUZZY used to be everywhere late 80's early 90's, I'm sure he was a CCS boy!!
-
19-06-2012 04:36 PM #14
s.h.i.e.l.d
back s.h.i.e.l.d
-
19-06-2012 07:48 PM #15
Anybody remember "Bay City Rollers - FAB" on the Waverley Steps and at the Back Sands in Musselburgh?
Also there used to be one "Free Mike Lynch" on a derelict site - where Scotmid is now - off West Nicolson Street.
(Both circa early 70s).
-
19-06-2012 08:23 PM #16
Just spent an hour looking at the photos wi the football on in the background.
-
19-06-2012 10:05 PM #17This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
, can't remember anyone with Douglas for a surname though??
-
20-06-2012 01:25 AM #18This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I left oxgangs in 1987 and my sister was two years above me. I'm sure Fergus was in the same class as her but maybe he was only one year above. God, that was a long time ago!
Either way the whole school knew who Fergus was. He was one of a kind back then.
Unless I'm going absolutely mad and its a different person altogether I'm thinking about.
-
20-06-2012 06:27 AM #19This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-06-2012 07:14 AM #20
There was a bay city rollers painted on a wall near the RBS at Salisbury place . Recall it was first time I'd heard the name and it was there for some time. About 71/72?
---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?0on1vs
-
20-06-2012 07:35 AM #21This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
You can still see the last vestiges of the one they did on the wee bridge over Niddrie burn between Niddrie Mill and Niddrie Mains. 40 odd years it's lasted.
My two favourite pieces of graffiti were.... (names excluded)
Castlebrae High School on a main wall about a year after it opened....
" Mr Ingles is a baldy c***, by ****** ******** ",
....signed by the 'artist' himself which shows class and balls. Silver spray paint too. Beautiful.
and
"Rab ****** f***** his cat",
.... right outside a first floor window near Hay Drive with an arrow pointing to the guys bedroom. As far as the gossip went the content displayed veracity.Last edited by Kato; 20-06-2012 at 08:19 AM.
-
21-06-2012 07:07 AM #22This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I remember there used to be a couple on the Waverley Steps: "Jimmy Reid" and "Wattie Buchan is a plastic punk just like his shoes". Wonder what became of Wattie.
-
21-06-2012 07:17 AM #23
-
21-06-2012 11:42 AM #24This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote#PERSEVERED
-
21-06-2012 11:46 AM #25
McCabe the grass is classic
-
21-06-2012 12:25 PM #26This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-06-2012 01:26 PM #27
There was practically a novel scrawled on the bus stop outside St Paul's and St George's on York Place for about 2 months, a few years back.
It related to the adjacent buildings which housed some kind of centre which dealt with the rehabilitation and/or monitoring of paedophiles. It was pretty vitriolic and made some fairly serious claims.
-
21-06-2012 05:03 PM #28This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Mr Inglis? Headmaster of Niddrie Marischal/Castlbrae secondary?
Don't care about him he actually was a baldy c***.
-
21-06-2012 06:53 PM #29
-
22-06-2012 12:05 AM #30
Was looking through the photos earlier...cracking page they've put together. Found the next door neighbour of my Grandma photographed aged three in 1950 very coincidental!
Quick question...does anyone know what the "mains" part of area names means? Like saughton mains, colinton mains etc....
Stupid question but its been bugging meScottish Cup Winners 2016 - The Immortals