Page 14 of 20 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

Thread: SF ticket sales

Quote Originally Posted by down-the-slope View Post
    and cue moaning about how how wee once season Sammy cant get a ticket for uncle Albert who was last at ER when the big terrace was there
    That's exactly it.

I don't have a season ticket because of work commitments this season, however I've still made about 18 games home and away. If we get to the final I'm in the same position as someone like you mention above. It's why I'm quite pissed off Hibs havent said to keep stubs etc from Saturday as it suggests no priority for those who are there on Saturday.

I understand there has to be a public sale as some really good supporters live abroad etc but they could give every season ticket holder, member and any others who are there on Saturday a ticket and still have about 7000 for a public sale

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    [email protected]

Unless it's changed in the last two months.

That's exactly it.

I don't have a season ticket because of work commitments this season, however I've still made about 18 games home and away. If we get to the final I'm in the same position as someone like you mention above. It's why I'm quite pissed off Hibs havent said to keep stubs etc from Saturday as it suggests no priority for those who are there on Saturday.

I understand there has to be a public sale as some really good supporters live abroad etc but they could give every season ticket holder, member and any others who are there on Saturday a ticket and still have about 7000 for a public sale

The thing is, if they allocate 3/4 tickets per ST holder the extra tickets will end up going to non-season ticket holders anyway. So why not reward those heading through on Sat who are non ST holders?

Quote Originally Posted by SquashedFrogg View Post
    The thing is, if they allocate 3/4 tickets per ST holder the extra tickets will end up going to non-season ticket holders anyway. So why not reward those heading through on Sat who are non ST holders?
    That's exactly my point.

There should be a voucher system or something in place to ensure non ST holders present on Saturday get some kind of priority. I've not seen anything from Hibs yet to suggest this is happening, which seems a bit unfair to me.

As I said above this would still leave a decent number of tickets for a public sale.

There's always this squawking around semi final / final times (i.e. not often one must add!).... Has anyone actually ever not had a ticket for a semi or a final they wanted to be at?

So people could be rewarded with priority for cup final tickets by only attending one match this season?

We all knew months ago what we had to do to gain priority for any potential 'big' matches. The membership scheme in particular provided a cheap route to get closer to the front of the queue. I don't remember anybody saying way back then, ''That's all very well but what about those who attend semi-finals?''
    (And from past experience, whether you are in a priority group or not if we make the final and want to go the odds are in your favour regarding getting a ticket.)

Talk of the final is premature. Hibs fans who go to games always get tickets for finals. Never heard of anyone losing out. But why is this semi final all ticket? it was never going to be a sell out and the crowd will be 25000 max but fans always have to get put out by buying tickets in advance

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    So people could be rewarded with priority for cup final tickets by only attending one match this season?

We all knew months ago what we had to do to gain priority for any potential 'big' matches. The membership scheme in particular provided a cheap route to get closer to the front of the queue. I don't remember anybody saying way back then, ''That's all very well but what about those who attend semi-finals?''
    (And from past experience, whether you are in a priority group or not if we make the final and want to go the odds are in your favour regarding getting a ticket.)
    Erm, yes...

I know what your saying but in my previous experience (not often enough ) of cup final ticket allocation, any extra tickets I've been able to get have ended up in the hands of mates who have barely attended all season. Some not even attending the semi...

So either way, the potential is there for tickets to end up going to someone who hasn't been to ER much. So why not reward "me" by guaranteeing "me" a ticket for attending the semi (and my laddie who'll be there )

I'm off to start an "I need 2 tickets for the final" thread

I don't think anyone has an objection to ST holders and members getting first dibs. They're the ones who put up their cash in advance, fair dos.

Hibs have missed a trick though, as soon as the draw for the semi was made Aberdeen put a notice on their website saying a semi final ticket plus tickets for 2 'qualifying' games at Pittodrie would give priority for a final ticket. This eliminates the reward for attending one game plus it gets more bodies and cash through the gates at a couple of nothing games.

I know realistically I will get a ticket and I'm worrying for nothing but it is a worry nonetheless and something Hibs could have avoided and made a bit much needs cash into the bargain.

Erm, yes...

I know what your saying but in my previous experience (not often enough ) of cup final ticket allocation, any extra tickets I've been able to get have ended up in the hands of mates who have barely attended all season. Some not even attending the semi...

So either way, the potential is there for tickets to end up going to someone who hasn't been to ER much. So why not reward "me" by guaranteeing "me" a ticket for attending the semi (and my laddie who'll be there )

I'm off to start an "I need 2 tickets for the final" thread

I don't think anyone has an objection to ST holders and members getting first dibs. They're the ones who put up their cash in advance, fair dos.

Hibs have missed a trick though, as soon as the draw for the semi was made Aberdeen put a notice on their website saying a semi final ticket plus tickets for 2 'qualifying' games at Pittodrie would give priority for a final ticket. This eliminates the reward for attending one game plus it gets more bodies and cash through the gates at a couple of nothing games.

I know realistically I will get a ticket and I'm worrying for nothing but it is a worry nonetheless and something Hibs could have avoided and made a bit much needs cash into the bargain.
    Yeap, totally agree with that.

Agree with that as well. Could've used the Motherwell match on Sunday as one of the matches.

The thing is, I've not missed a match on TV all season so should be rewarded by getting the wife out shopping and getting priority of the best seat in the living room... I'll even do a one man card display when the teams run out...

IF (a big if) we reach the final, I'm sure Hibs will be knocking out membership cards for priority. Current members and season ticket holders equate to roughly what, 10k? So potentially another 10k memberships could be sold, nice wee earner for the club.

Agree with that as well. Could've used the Motherwell match on Sunday as one of the matches.

The thing is, I've not missed a match on TV all season so should be rewarded by getting the wife out shopping and getting priority of the best seat in the living room... I'll even do a one man card display when the teams run out...
    Check the terms and conditions very carefully. It's no good having the best seat in the house if you don't have the remote.

It has been asked further up, but nobody has answered yet. So i'd like to ask it again, as i dont personally know of anyone who's missed out on any tickets for a semi or a final.

Has anyone who wanted a ticket, who's a regular at easter road missed out on a ticket for Hampden at any time?

Know some who missed out on the (non ticket) 91 final when the gates were shut at the Hibs end, but never heard of anyone not getting a ticket for any all ticket game.

It has been asked further up, but nobody has answered yet. So i'd like to ask it again, as i dont personally know of anyone who's missed out on any tickets for a semi or a final.

Has anyone who wanted a ticket, who's a regular at easter road missed out on a ticket for Hampden at any time?

Unfortunately, yes.

The last time we played Celtc in the final, I'd been to roughly half of home games (makes it fairly regular). I duly attended the semi against Livi, kept my ticket stub, as it was announced that it guaranteed a final ticket, and applied. We got something like 1,000 less tickets for the final and a number of our tickets were also held back by the club to sell as expensive packages. I was gutted to be one of the few that missed out in the "ticket lottery", especially when I saw there were at least 1,000 Tims in the Hibs end jumping up when they scored.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Unfortunately, yes.

The last time we played Celtc in the final, I'd been to roughly half of home games (makes it fairly regular). I duly attended the semi against Livi, kept my ticket stub, as it was announced that it guaranteed a final ticket, and applied. We got something like 1,000 less tickets for the final and a number of our tickets were also held back by the club to sell as expensive packages. I was gutted to be one of the few that missed out in the "ticket lottery", especially when I saw there were at least 1,000 Tims in the Hibs end jumping up when they scored.
    Sorry to hear that, to be told you were guaranteed a ticket and then miss out is wrong, i'd have been gutted too.

We have 1 now, anymore?

Unfortunately, yes.

I remember this scenario. I was fortunate to have the funds and available free time (no children - ah, them were the days!) to own a season ticket back then. I can't remember how mony tickets ST holders were allowed back then but I do remember collecting quite a few, along with mates who were also ST holders, for friends and family to attend. The ex-Mrs Frogg and dad (Jambo) even got tickets.

That's why more than 1 per season ticket isn't any fairer than semi final stubs.

Sorry to hear that, to be told you were guaranteed a ticket and then miss out is wrong, i'd have been gutted too.

We have 1 now, anymore?

For that game itself, there had to be quite a few, as there were 1,500 tickets less for ordinary punters for the final than we took to the semi. I remember hearing stories of people who got to the final that had little to no connection with Hibs and being, to put it mildy, rather annoyed.

In saying that, I'm almost certain that history won't repeat itself this season.

It definitely won't with me because I'm now classed as a part-time, nae-user, glory-hunting barsteward that only comes over for the big games

---

EDIT: I just remembered that not only did I miss out in the ballot for a ticket, but the Ticket Office sent my "nae luck, ye didnae get a ticket" letter to the wrong address. The only reason it ever reached me was because the nice gentleman in Clackmannan that received it (his and mine were in the same envelope) brought it to my house in Alloa personally.
    Last edited by Keith_M; 11-04-2012 at 12:12 PM.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    That's exactly it.

In the same boat as you PB, not a STH or on membership scheme, but haven't missed a home game this season been to every cup game and attended a few away games too, and of course have my tickets for the semi-final, but i am not certain to get a ticket if we make it to the final, the club should have stated anyone who went to the semi would have first dibs of a ticket to the final if we make it.

Sorry wasn't at the Cowdenbeath game.

1993 League cup final. I was away on my honeymoon when Hibs (unannounced) gave out cup final vouchers at a random league game. We got something like 15000 tickets at Parkhead for the final, all went to ST holders and vouchers. I was a regularish walk up at the time, went to the semi (at Tynie) but missed out.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Think he's being ironic there.

It's decent gate if that figure materialises, I was expecting around 21,000. Anything 25,000 would be a jolly decent show in the circumstances.

Yeah, i was just having a laugh, although I genuinely would love it to be full. I have 4 pals up from Wales for the game and i've been to Wembley with Cardiff with them when it's been full but those were finals...

Hopefully they'll get to see it more full with Hibbies come final day :)

Just went and get out 2 tickets ticket office showed us only 60 left. If that's off an initial allocation that we recieved could anyone roughly work out how many that is?

2-1 Hibs 129th Header by Garry

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    1993 League cup final. I was away on my honeymoon when Hibs (unannounced) gave out cup final vouchers at a random league game. We got something like 15000 tickets at Parkhead for the final, all went to ST holders and vouchers. I was a regularish walk up at the time, went to the semi (at Tynie) but missed out.
    I lived in London then, never went to many games that season, 2-3 at most, not the semi, but went to the final. My mates got me a ticket, and never thought anything about it, but can see it is wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    In the same boat as you PB, not a STH or on membership scheme, but haven't missed a home game this season been to every cup game and attended a few away games too, and of course have my tickets for the semi-final, but i am not certain to get a ticket if we make it to the final, the club should have stated anyone who went to the semi would have first dibs of a ticket to the final if we make it.

Sorry wasn't at the Cowdenbeath game.
    The membership was a no brainer if you attend a few games a season. Top deal and I'm surprised not everyone took this up.

I got one and I only attend a few, well worth it as I know if they get to final I should be there. That's worth 20 quid on its own never mind the free game, money off hearts game, club shop voucher and no admin fees.

I lived in London then, never went to many games that season, 2-3 at most, not the semi, but went to the final. My mates got me a ticket, and never thought anything about it, but can see it is wrong.

Even though I missed out once before, I don't agree with all this Uberfan nonsense that some people spout about people going to finals that hardly ever attend.

There are different levels of devotion to Hibs, from the 'go to every game' to the 'look up the scores in the newspaper' level. Most Hibbies I know have moved back and forth between those levels in their lifetime but it p*sses me off when some people think that they're currently a better Hibs fan.

If the club could come out with some system that guarantees a cup final ticket for those currently in the upper echelons of Uber-fandom, that would be great but it wouldn't matter what they tried as I'm sure it wouldn't please everybody.

Even though I missed out once before, I don't agree with all this Uberfan nonsense that some people spout about people going to finals that hardly ever attend.

There are different levels of devotion to Hibs, from the 'go to every game' to the 'look up the scores in the newspaper' level. Most Hibbies I know have moved back and forth between those levels in their lifetime but it p*sses me off when some people think that they're currently a better Hibs fan.

If the club could come out with some system that guarantees a cup final ticket for those currently in the upper echelons of Uber-fandom, that would be great but it wouldn't matter what they tried as I'm sure it wouldn't please everybody.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    I think that the information leaked out that the vouchers would be given out. One was for a midweek League match against Raith Rovers which attracted a crowd of around 9,000 (50% higher than expected).

I collected 4 vouchers from the two matches. That was sufficient to get four terrace tickets or two seats in the stand. I was queuing from 9:00 in the morning for the ticket office on Leith Walk next to the railway bridge. I was still queuing coming up to 6:00 pm when the staff were due to knock off. Douglas Crombe and other directors then took over in the box office. I finally emerged with two stand tickets for myself and my son at around 7:30pm.

Unfortunately, yes.

That's not strictly true, it gave you a chance of getting a ticket after season ticket holders had taken up theirs, there was no guarantee. I got my final tickets through that route. (I actually thought i had missed out until I checked my bank account the day before the game and found I had been charged for tickets. They were still in the ticket office, full marks to Hibs who arranged for them to be sent up by courier to Aberdeen so I got them in time.)