Saw this gem on the raingurz forum
I'll be there.
I'll have no ticket (probably), no cash to buy one, and I'll have to travel 3 hours to get there.
But I'll be singing from outside the stadium if I have to, to show my support for this club.
Thats called being a drunk skint jakey, you drunk skint jakey.
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
-
13-02-2012 09:26 PM #331
-
-
13-02-2012 09:48 PM #333This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
There is absolutely no room for any glee or rejoicing whatsoever. Rangers are about to pull off the biggest con in football.
-
13-02-2012 09:52 PM #334This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 10:00 PM #335This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Maybe they don't have the right security?
-
13-02-2012 10:02 PM #336This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 10:20 PM #337
Pat Nevin interviewed on Newsnight Scotland about Rangers.
Was he being interviewed in the car park at Easter Road?
-
13-02-2012 10:22 PM #338
Is Whyte doing a "Petrie" Rangers?
Does anyone think what Whyte is doing for Rangers Petrie did for Hibs?
BTW, I could not give a toss about Rangers....Last edited by SonOfTortolano; 13-02-2012 at 10:27 PM.
-
-
13-02-2012 10:31 PM #340This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
13-02-2012 10:38 PM #341This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
14-02-2012 06:42 AM #342
-
14-02-2012 07:33 AM #343This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Thats how I see it... the HMRC money isnt debt yet because it is being contested in the courts as to whether or not they owe it - Rangers say naw, Her Maj says aye.
Going into administration before the case is settled would just mean their current debts surely?
I dunno, its all too confusing to me!
-
14-02-2012 07:42 AM #344This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
14-02-2012 07:48 AM #345This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
He can now say to HMRC that as they are now entering into admin, when HMRC win the court case, it's unlikely HMRC will get the full amount.
Rangers will try to make them an offer now for a much reduced amount before the 10 days are up, try and come to an out of court settlement for a fraction of the full amount.
Once they settle out of court for a lesser amount before 10 days, Rangers then pull the plug on the adminastration.
They then have a much discounted HMRC payment and don't have to follow through with the adminastration.
I reckon it all depends on HMRC, they should be acting on behalf of the Public and doing there best to get what they can.
When HMRC win and already knocked back an out of court settlement, Rangers will already be in adminastration and they'll probably not get the full amount due.
Rangers are attempting to blackmail HMRC by saying take the lesser amount now, if you don't, we go ahead with the adminastration and you don't get the full amount when you win anyway.
-
14-02-2012 07:53 AM #346This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
14-02-2012 07:54 AM #347This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
14-02-2012 08:07 AM #348This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Financially the IP is duty-bound to get the best possible price from Newhun for the assets of Oldhun. That is all subjective, but usefully their accounts value freehold property at a "recoverable amount" of £112m. That would cover pretty much all of their debts, and HMRC would be justified in questioning why that amount isn't recovered by the administrator. Sadly, there are plenty of legitimate answers to that. Newhun however, would still have to find a fair chunk of cash to buy those assets.
On the footballing front Newhun would have neither a UEFA licence nor membership of the SPL (as I understand it the single share is non-transferable) which would mean no European football for the next three years and a requirement for the other clubs to vote for their membership. The UEFA thing could be remedied by Newhun actually being an existing club (as in Airdrie/Clydebank), the SPL membership could see a serious split between clubs and their fans, since I imagine the majority of clubs would vote for, while most fans would almost certainly be against. I could see Celtc fans in particular mounting a campaign, and it's one time I would back them all the way.
-
14-02-2012 08:16 AM #349This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
14-02-2012 08:16 AM #350
Looks to me like Rangers are doing this purely to force HMRC to reduce their tax bill or get next to hee haw.
So Rangers are trying to cheat the country out of the money it's due and why should they get away with it when others have paid in full, cheating barstewards.
-
14-02-2012 08:18 AM #351
-
14-02-2012 08:32 AM #352This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Clubs like celtic and ourselves have looked after the pennies and while i dislike both of the infirm equally at least the leasser greens are run properly.The only good thing that may come out of this is hertz not getting the wallace money owed and put them in ever more brown stuff.Feel sorry for the other clubs owed money but surely gate money has to be ring fenced to other clubs as they cant get away with taking in the gate money and not paying utd.As usual the spl will no doubt bend over backwards to help rangers and we will see the worst of scottish football in the next few months.Sad times for scottish football when those that waste the most money still profit and small businessmen get shafted by them.sums up modern life does it not.
-
14-02-2012 08:33 AM #353This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If this is the case, expect a robust response from HMRC.
-
14-02-2012 08:35 AM #354
The sale agreement between Murray and Whyte has been published on the rangers tax case website.
-
14-02-2012 08:37 AM #355This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
14-02-2012 08:43 AM #356This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
On the face of it, in this case, it looks like the principal (first priority) debt due here is due to the owner or one (or more) of his companies and that may be why it appears that administration will enable the club assets to be retained within a new vehicle owned by the current owner with the pre administration liabilities being left in the old vehicle where they arose and for RFC (under the new vehicle) to "continue" to operate in the SPL (assuming they get the dispensations that have been highlighted in this and other threads as if it is a right).Last edited by TornadoHibby; 14-02-2012 at 08:46 AM.
-
14-02-2012 08:45 AM #357This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
14-02-2012 08:47 AM #358
I might be wrong, and my source for this is the excellent rangerstaxcase.com, but the c£50m debt to HMRC has already been assessed and established. They have served a demand for that amount - being tax due and interest. The First Tier Tribunal is Rangers' first attempt to appeal that demand on the basis that the scheme is legitimate within the legislation that applied at the time. The FTT will then rule on that appeal and potentially assess a further penalty on top of the c£50m - which is where, I think, Craig Whyte gets the potential total liability of £75m.
For all intents and purposes, HMRC will strongly argue that this can be taken into account when Rangers are trying to get a CVA agreed and their standard policy is not to agree. They might even be in a position to object to administration and, in fact, could potentially persuade a court to proceed straight to liquidation. In that circumstance, Rangers' SPL membership could effectively be put up for sale by the IP, which is where a Newco Huns may come into the picture, the only problem being that they wouldn't necessarily have a stadium to play in!
If there is any hint that HMRC could be potentially be excluded from the process, then I would expect a protracted legal battle to take place. This would not provide the certainty that Whyte is clearly pleading for and I wouldn't expect HMRC or the courts to take much notice of the 31st March deadline to have their financial affairs in order.
-
14-02-2012 08:50 AM #359
It seems that Whyte has paid £1 for the club and may yet walk away with £Ms as secured creditor, while depriving the public purse of its due (as well as other smaller creditors having to accept either nothing or at best peanuts). Meanwhile New Gers Ltd gets resurrected under new ownership with assets mostly intact and debt free to carry on as if nothing happened.
What a bunch of shysters if that is what transpires!
Any new club should be relegated to the juniors, with a 50 point handicap for the next 10 seasons!!!!
-
14-02-2012 08:57 AM #360This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Re the stadium, if Newhun can afford to pay more than a developer then they will get it. The £112m valuation is for current use and the market of large Glasgow-based football clubs in need of a stadium is not huge. I do wonder if Whyte really is a front man and his mission was to get rid of the debt and investigation problems before the real buyer steps up to save the day....
I didn't think I'd ever say this, but I'd love HMRC to win their case.