Page 25 of 36 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Spoke to Rod last night, and asked for some clues on the new manager......

Rod says "it's a male, he is alive and well and breathing".....

Does not give much away, bet he is a great poker player

At least that narrows it down!!!

So basically he is discounting half the population, the Equal Rights Commission will be up in arms and rightly so......

Strip Poker!

First team breakthrough HIBERNIAN 1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jonny View Post
    who told you? unless it was Rod I'm not having it. Lots of rumours flying around but personally I don't believe anyone outside the board room knows anything.
    I'm good friends with a current player....

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jdships View Post

Two of them, under 21, I am related to and they assure me this was not the case with the majority of the young lads - as for the "seasoned pro's" I only know an odd one or two and they felt he was limited on the "man management skills." part of the job.and could be very aloof at times
    As I stated previously he could be very uninterested in their ( young lads) welfare and was always reminding them " if you want help speak to your parents or relatives : remember you are paid to do a job so just get on and do it ....."

When I was a young pro , albeit sixty+ years ago, it was big step forward to leave school and suddenly be thrust into the highly "competitive" world of professional sport.and I would imagine it can be much the same in 2010
    Yes I went to my family for advice but I also got good advice from the manager and club staff on a number of aspects of life outside the football club..
    These included drinking, smoking , gambling and how ro conduct yourself in public etc etc
    I am/always will be a great admirer of JC the player , having met and spoken with him on a number of occasions and he is a pleasure to be with - a true gentleman .
    Unfortunately it appears that he just doesn't have the required acumen to be a good manager

A football club dressing room can be a difficult place to work in
    It brings together a group of people of different educational levels , social upbringing and playing skills for a start.
    It is essentially a team game and again certain players find that difficult to work round and it is the manager's job to undersatand the different pluses and minuses in a players make up and use them to the best advantage.
    To be a successful football club manager must be one of the most difficult jobs around and I can never undersrand why any sane person would want to have the hassle of the job

I personally would like to draw a line under the is he good/is he bad discussion as it has been done to death and would prefer to remember the man for what he has achieved on the football field

Excellent post that one JDships and as usual you're absolutely spot on

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN 1875 View Post
    I'm good friends with a current player....
    Sorry I didn't realise that Rod and the Board were keeping the players up to date. I thought Rod kept his cards very close to his chest during these negotiations. Obviously not, so thanks for the info and keep us posted on what else your friend is getting told please.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Two of them, under 21, I am related to and they assure me this was not the case with the majority of the young lads - as for the "seasoned pro's" I only know an odd one or two and they felt he was limited on the "man management skills." part of the job.and could be very aloof at times
    As I stated previously he could be very uninterested in their ( young lads) welfare and was always reminding them " if you want help speak to your parents or relatives : remember you are paid to do a job so just get on and do it ....."

When I was a young pro , albeit sixty+ years ago, it was big step forward to leave school and suddenly be thrust into the highly "competitive" world of professional sport.and I would imagine it can be much the same in 2010
    Yes I went to my family for advice but I also got good advice from the manager and club staff on a number of aspects of life outside the football club..
    These included drinking, smoking , gambling and how ro conduct yourself in public etc etc
    I am/always will be a great admirer of JC the player , having met and spoken with him on a number of occasions and he is a pleasure to be with - a true gentleman .
    Unfortunately it appears that he just doesn't have the required acumen to be a good manager

A football club dressing room can be a difficult place to work in
    It brings together a group of people of different educational levels , social upbringing and playing skills for a start.
    It is essentially a team game and again certain players find that difficult to work round and it is the manager's job to undersatand the different pluses and minuses in a players make up and use them to the best advantage.
    To be a successful football club manager must be one of the most difficult jobs around and I can never undersrand why any sane person would want to have the hassle of the job

I personally would like to draw a line under the is he good/is he bad discussion as it has been done to death and would prefer to remember the man for what he has achieved on the football field

A good post.

However I'd wager that even the likes of Sir Alex Ferguson is still working on his man management style and his playing squad will no doubt have benefitted from his many, many years of experience.

It's a pity that JC's first Managerial appointment was with us and I'm still of the opinion that he has what it takes to be an excellent Manager one day.

According to the "mighty" Chick Young "Hibernian have spoken to former Chelsea and West Ham assistant Stevie Clarke and Scotland Under-21 manager Billy Stark, with a possible partnership between the two, BBC Scotland's Chick Young informs us. If you see any other out of work managers looking on from the main stand at Easter Road let me know."

Another so-called pundit in the know!
    Last edited by hibs6270uk; 16-10-2010 at 01:32 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs6270uk View Post
    According to the ",ighty" Chick Young "Hibernian have spoken to former Chelsea and West Ham assistant Stevie Clarke and Scotland Under-21 manager Billy Stark, with a possible partnership between the two, BBC Scotland's Chick Young informs us. If you see any other out of work managers looking on from the main stand at Easter Road let me know."

Or another lurker on Hibs.net?

@hibs.net private member Manxhibs's Avatar

PSN ID: purehibee
    According to the ",ighty" Chick Young "Hibernian have spoken to former Chelsea and West Ham assistant Stevie Clarke and Scotland Under-21 manager Billy Stark, with a possible partnership between the two, BBC Scotland's Chick Young informs us. If you see any other out of work managers looking on from the main stand at Easter Road let me know."

Is there anyway can block ip addresses, like say Chick Young, so he cant just scour through our threads and claim to be in the know?

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar

LTYF

Just love the lack of real journalism that goes on these days, he has less of a clue about our next manager than we do!

Class A Fud!

Chisholm

Just been told that Gordon Chisholm is the new Hibs manager.
    Last edited by Dinkydoo; 16-10-2010 at 02:54 PM.

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Quote Originally Posted by Dinkydoo View Post
    Just been told that Chisholm is the new Hibs manager.

Thats just ridiculous.

I've just heard that the word 'gullible' has been removed from the Oxford Dictionary.

PSN ID: asbo
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I've just heard that the word 'gullible' has been removed from the Oxford Dictionary.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Sniff sniff

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    A good post.

However I'd wager that even the likes of Sir Alex Ferguson is still working on his man management style and his playing squad will no doubt have benefitted from his many, many years of experience.

It's a pity that JC's first Managerial appointment was with us and I'm still of the opinion that he has what it takes to be an excellent Manager one day
    Thankyou for your and "Eaststand's" comments.
    The parts I have underlined above say it all IMO
    A good manager will always seek to improve no matter what job he is in and Sir AF is a good example.
    Re JC : again I think you have hit the button . If he had cut his teeth at say a second division club and learnt his trade I genuinely believe he might still be at ER.

First Team Breakthrough grantonhibee's Avatar
    what a load of bollix

Gamertag: WalterSobzcek
    if you say sausages really fast it sounds like gullable - try it

Only posting what I've been told and to see if anyone else has heard similar

Some people really do jump at the chance to get wide on here don't they.

Mair chance of jocky scott or John 'the cowboy' McCormack getting the job.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Good one, never heard that before............next.

Quote Originally Posted by Walter View Post
    if you say sausages really fast it sounds like gullable - try it
    I thought it was if you said snowman really slow, it sounded like gullible.

Ross Chisholm??? he is not playing for Leith Ladies team these days

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post

Teckle.

Thankyou for your and "Eaststand's" comments.
    The parts I have underlined above say it all IMO
    A good manager will always seek to improve no matter what job he is in and Sir AF is a good example.
    Re JC : again I think you have hit the button . If he had cut his teeth at say a second division club and learnt his trade I genuinely believe he might still be at ER.

Or if he'd had a more capable assistant / mentor.

Just love the lack of real journalism that goes on these days, he has less of a clue about our next manager than we do!

Class A Fud!
    Thing is, he wont give a flying ****** about our next manager....,we dinnae play in Glasgow and we dinnae play in blue. The man`s a tosser....!

Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    more chance of the cowboy at the foot of the walk getting the job.

Anybody Spot our new manager today?

Was Steve Clarke there?