Are men more intelligent than women?

First of all I should point out that I'm not one of those tossers that hates women, thank god they exist. Also, by intelligent I don't mean academic intelligence, as there doesn't seem to be any evidence that one is better than the other in that sense. My point is this, as sexist as this sounds I've found that in terms of being able to have an interesting, rational conversation on a variety of subjects, most women seem to be slightly lacking in my experience.

Humour is another one, I've tried hard to think of one but can any of you actually name a well known women who makes you laugh? If you find Jo "ho ho my partner doesn't find me attractive anymore, now what was I saying about periods" Brand funny then fair enough, but I think like all female comedians, she's dire. Also, in groups of girls the things they find funny usually baffles me, there's always one "hilarious" one, who in fact just sprafs nonsense and is about as funny as genocide.

I'd be happy to be proven wrong by any men or women on here, and maybe it's just my experience and others have met many interesting, funny girls, but does anyone agree?

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Rory89 View Post
    First of all I should point out that I'm not one of those tossers that hates women, thank god they exist. Also, by intelligent I don't mean academic intelligence, as there doesn't seem to be any evidence that one is better than the other in that sense. My point is this, as sexist as this sounds I've found that in terms of being able to have an interesting, rational conversation on a variety of subjects, most women seem to be slightly lacking in my experience.

Humour is another one, I've tried hard to think of one but can any of you actually name a well known women who makes you laugh? If you find Jo "ho ho my partner doesn't find me attractive anymore, now what was I saying about periods" Brand funny then fair enough, but I think like all female comedians, she's dire. Also, in groups of girls the things they find funny usually baffles me, there's always one "hilarious" one, who in fact just sprafs nonsense and is about as funny as genocide.

I'd be happy to be proven wrong by any men or women on here, and maybe it's just my experience and others have met many interesting, funny girls, but does anyone agree?

Goldie Hawn. Goldie Hawn is funny. I like Goldie Hawn.

But I agree about sense of humour generally. We were watching "Inglourious *******s" recently, and there came a point in the film where my son and I both burst out laughing (if you've seen the film you'll know the bit I mean, unless you're a woman) and my wife sat there totally confused, wondering what on earth was so funny.

She also considers Groucho marx's humour to be "sexist". I mean - Groucho?
    Last edited by --------; 13-04-2010 at 05:16 PM.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    It really depends on whether you want to read the map, or fold it up.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    It really depends on whether you want to read the map, or fold it up.

IMO the mistake was teaching 'em to talk.

yes, especially when it comes to the ability to STFU

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    IMO the mistake was teaching 'em to talk.
    You know ones that can talk? All I hear is a monotone sound - a bit like the teacher in Charlie Brown.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Apart from being completely unable to anticipate, from the position of being second in a shop queue, that they will eventually be first in the queue and will therefore be required to produce some form of payment for the goods they have selected, wimmin are very very intelligent.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    You know ones that can talk? All I hear is a monotone sound - a bit like the teacher in Charlie Brown.

Oh yes. They can talk all right.

Never make an ounce of sense, mind, but they CAN talk....

....and talk....

....and TALK....

As the Good Book says - "A constant dripping in a very rainy day and a contentious woman are alike...."

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Apart from being completely unable to anticipate, from the position of being second in a shop queue, that they will eventually be first in the queue and will therefore be required to produce some form of payment for the goods they have selected, wimmin are very very intelligent.
    I believe they learn this lesson around about the age of 70, and bump into the person in front - just in case they forget to pay.

Regarding the sense of humour thing, I totally agree, as do many female friends (with the female comedians being universally awful, I mean)

In my group of friends, the women do have a great sense of humour, but it's more of a passive nature - they laugh at funny/witty things (as opposed to just cackling away at any old *****e) but I honestly can't remember the last time a girl said something that made me laugh out loud - unless it was unintentionally ludicrous of course.

I think men differ (not necessarily "are better" in a general sense as that's entirely subjective) from women in 2 ways in terms of personal behaviour. I'm not going to lie when I say that - for me - with regards to the following 2 points men seem to be - overall - the much more seemingly sane gender.

1) In groups, it is perfectly possibly for a group of men to just sit, drinking a beer/eating at a BBQ for 15-20 minutes, whilst watching the football or somesuch, without feeling the need to talk.

Girls - especially slightly younger, say late teens - in groups seem genetically incapable of this. They - in my experience - just prattle on at such pace that it rapidly descends into what I can only call a form of squawking. The topic of conversation is generally something so mind-numbing boring/immature, and will invariably contain references to *****e TV programs or celebrities that I neither know, nor care to know.

Unless you have a wingman to restore your sanity, in the above scenario I almost always find myself drinking until it's more manageable or slyly ogling at the better looking members of the group. Or both. Either that or I purposefully get out of the house whenever my younger sister gleefully tells me that "a few friends are coming over"

2) They are - in the main - so prone to capricious switches in moods with each other. I generally find that it is entirely feasible for girls to be absolutely raging with each other on Day 1 - usually over something trivial like a comment passed about a new hairstyle/boyfriend - and by Day 3 be gossiping away like two peas in a pod.

Guys - unless utter bampots - tend to get pissed off with each other for about 10 minutes, then realise life is too short, have a pint and get on with it. This applies for all but the worst insults/misdemeanours.

Don't get me wrong, I sometimes hear about the behaviour of guys - particularly in the realm of fidelity in long established relationships/marriages - that makes me want to introduce them to the blunt end of a baseball bat, and we are far, far from without our faults.

It would be interesting to hear the female riposte on this - doubtless some will be on here soon, giving it all that........
    Last edited by lyonhibs; 13-04-2010 at 08:18 PM.

Must admit my wife and some of her friends are pretty intelligent in there oen way, but trying to have a conversation about anything outwith the gym, kids and family matters is very haed indeed. Introduce topics such as politics, religion, world news etc and they look at you as if you've got 2 heads.

Humour is something most women have deemed they have no need for, at some point in their lives they've had a humour bypass.

I have grown a severe dislike of student women. I am still astonished the majority of them got into Uni with the level of chat they have.

"OMG Rach did you see Dave on Saturday night? Sooooooooooooo fit....OH MY GOD I have to buy this skirt with some killer heels for our girly night.....Have you seen Jake? omg such a hot body.....I was soooooooooooooo wasted on Saturday night, it was sooooo rad"

Just some of the "chat" I've had to put up with on the way to Uni every f'ing day.

I agree with LyonHibs. Men will quite happily sit and not talk when there is nothing to say or there's nae need to say anything. Women on the other hand feel the need to fill every nano second with complete and utter ***** banter.

Edit. I now realise that had nothing much to do with the topic of the thread, it was just a rant about women .

I don't mind if a woman is funny/intelligent or not tbh. Big chebs are way more important

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Sarah Millican is about the best female comedian I can think of.

YouTube - Sarah Millican does Manchester

Quote Originally Posted by deano88 View Post

That's the comedian I couldn't remember, seen her on a few programmes and she is by far the best I've seen.

Gamertag: HibsMax
    What a funny topic. :)

There are many funny women. Amy Poehler and Tina Fey are just two examples BUT I have to agree with respect to stand up comics, women are not well represented. My wife agrees with me on this point so I know I am not being sexist. Perhaps there are just more male comics? There are certainly a ton of crap male comics.

As for intelligence, men and women maybe of the same species but we think very differently. I work in software and have done since about 1990. I can count the number of female software engineers I've worked with on my fingers and toes. There are far more men in this sector. That doesn't make men more intelligent but I think it shows that our interests differ and, perhaps, it highlights a difference in the way we think.

I definitely don't think that men are smarter than women and I think we've all met enough "evidence" to prove that.

Who's the second smartest person in the world?

EDIT : my last question might not be valid or framed incorrectly. I thought that Stephen Hawkins was the smartest followed by Marilyn Vos Savant.

For the record, and yes I'm gloating LOL, when I took the Mensa entrance examination (the official one, not an online test) my recorded IQ was 144. That makes me pretty smart according to this website:
    http://onemansblog.com/2007/11/08/th...he-highest-iq/
    Last edited by HibsMax; 13-04-2010 at 11:11 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hainan Hibs View Post
    I have grown a severe dislike of student women. I am still astonished the majority of them got into Uni with the level of chat they have.

"OMG Rach did you see Dave on Saturday night? Sooooooooooooo fit....OH MY GOD I have to buy this skirt with some killer heels for our girly night.....Have you seen Jake? omg such a hot body.....I was soooooooooooooo wasted on Saturday night, it was sooooo rad"

Just some of the "chat" I've had to put up with on the way to Uni every f'ing day.

I agree with LyonHibs. Men will quite happily sit and not talk when there is nothing to say or there's nae need to say anything. Women on the other hand feel the need to fill every nano second with complete and utter ***** banter.

Edit. I now realise that had nothing much to do with the topic of the thread, it was just a rant about women .
    Yeah I have to say this is quite accurate, I wouldn't sit for half an hour talking to a girl about why Hughes should play a 4-4-2 with Galbraith on the left, so I don't see why they should ramble away at me about shopping like they do. I just had an interesting conversation with a girl I know, and by interesting I mean *****ing ridiculous. It went something like this:

Girl: I'm going to vote Conservative's, because so and so said they'd buy me a pint if I did.

Me: Conservatives? Jesus.

Girl: Why, are they bad?

Me: Well, are you Scottish or what? (Of course implying that the Tories don't give a ****** about Scotland).

Girl: Listen you, I might be half Italian but I'm just as Scottish as you, say I'm not and I'll throw this drink over you.

Yeah I have to say this is quite accurate, I wouldn't sit for half an hour talking to a girl about why Hughes should play a 4-4-2 with Galbraith on the left, so I don't see why they should ramble away at me about shopping like they do. I just had an interesting conversation with a girl I know, and by interesting I mean *****ing ridiculous. It went something like this:

Girl: I'm going to vote Conservative's, because so and so said they'd buy me a pint if I did.

Me: Conservatives? Jesus.

Girl: Why, are they bad?

Me: Well, are you Scottish or what? (Of course implying that the Tories don't give a ****** about Scotland).

Girl: Listen you, I might be half Italian but I'm just as Scottish as you, say I'm not and I'll throw this drink over you.

Brilliant.

Quote Originally Posted by JC50 View Post
    Must admit my wife and some of her friends are pretty intelligent in there oen way, but trying to have a conversation about anything outwith the gym, kids and family matters is very haed indeed. Introduce topics such as politics, religion, world news etc and they look at you as if you've got 2 heads.

Humour is something most women have deemed they have no need for, at some point in their lives they've had a humour bypass.
    I agree with this. Sometimes I'll try and have a conversation on these topics or watch the odd political debate and she'll switch off at a light.

She said to me the other day 'Did you see some guy who's part of Gordon Brown's thingy, what are they called again, got sacked for slagging old grannies'.

What, you mean Labour? 'I think so'. You don't know who Labour are? Are you a ****ing moron?

Obviously I never said the last part but I thought it!

Jo Brand is awful. All she does on stage is talk about how fat and unattractive she is. I mean she's overwieght and perhaps not the most attractive woman in the world() but so what. You're just not funny...I actually tend to switch channels if I notice her on Mock the Week because it's the same old "I'm fat...teenagers are disgusting...periods are awful...men are *****", pish every time.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post

I've found that this trait can be applied to members of either sex - funny talking about it now but very frustrating when you've already clocked out for lunch and the git in front is wasting your lunch break!

I generally find that my sense of humour (I don't know if thats an accurate reflection of the majority of men...probably not ) does not go down well with my GF. I mean I can make her laugh by being a bit flippant but dare aim a wee joke her way and you'd better take cover...

It's as if when women don't understand a joke your trying to make their automatic reaction is to take offence - even when it's not about them.

Intelligence is a difficult one and because of the way that we think it can at times be incomparable. I think our strengths lie in different places and everyone is different and that maybe can be perceived as being more/less 'clever' than the other but again, it's subjective and mainly down to perception.

I would imagine funny intelligent women avoid you like the plague, oh clever one!

Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    I would imagine funny intelligent women avoid you like the plague, oh clever one!
    Meow.

I was just thinking this thread would be better if there was some women on it providing a good argument back and fighting their corner.

Oh well.

I don't get it - are you saying that female stand-up comedians are good?

Or that women - love them though I do - aren't prone to blabbering on about any manner of crud for incredible lengths of time when in groups?

The only point I mildly disagree in the OP is that conversations on "deeper thinking" subjects are automatically short lived with women - it all depends on who you talk to.

I've got a few good mates - guys - who wouldn't know what a manifesto was if they got slapped in the baws by one.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

Or that women - love them though I do - aren't prone to blabbering on about any manner of crud for incredible lengths of time when in groups?

The only point I mildly disagree in the OP is that conversations on "deeper thinking" subjects are automatically short lived with women - it all depends on who you talk to.

I've got a few good mates - guys - who wouldn't know what a manifesto was if they got slapped in the baws by one.
    I should probably explain that I do find some women interesting, just not too many. I was on a night out with 6 girls last night with no blokes but myself (not complaining ), and I must say I was struggling at times to stay interested in the conversation. They're all lovely people who I like, I'm just saying I felt like a bit of a gay because at one point I was actually wishing some of the lads from my halls were out as well.

Anyway believe it or not this was meant as a discussion rather than a slagging match, so perhaps people like Betty Boop should try and argue their case if they think I'm talking nonsense.

Edit to add: In the interest of fairness it should also be pointed out that when a group of guys become close mates they often end up spending a large amount of the time that they're together talking utter rubbish that we find hilarious but nobody else would know what we're slavering about, so I'm not claiming we're all sophistacated, highly intellectual people either.
    Last edited by Rory89; 14-04-2010 at 02:04 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Teo10 View Post
    There's always one......................

@hibs.net private member GlesgaeHibby's Avatar

If she's the best that pretty much proves the point that all female comedians are hopeless.

She's about as funny as toothache.

Quote Originally Posted by GlesgaeHibby View Post
    If she's the best that pretty much proves the point that all female comedians are hopeless.

She's about as funny as toothache.

My thoughts exactly. Dreadful.

But then, the guy who introduced her's pretty dire, as well.

Miranda Richardson is funny.

Shappi Khorsandi is a very good stand- up comedian, although admittedly female stand-up artists are few and far between. The OP is implying that women are thick, and are unable to have conversations about different subjects, which is just not true. He comes across like a rabid sexist!

Shappi Khorsandi is a very good stand- up comedian
    She really isnt, you know. About as funny as piles. Just my opinion of course.

Women can be funny in normal life and normal situations, but I think stand-up comedians tend to have a big ego which they need to be massaged by having people laugh at their jokes. And thats a man thing really.