Mash - brewing tea
Dab in - hurry up
Tabs - ears
Mardy - spoilt, childish
Thread: The Way the English Speak
-
03-04-2010 03:22 PM #31
-
03-04-2010 03:44 PM #32This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Rocks-sweets
Jitty-Alleyway.
-
03-04-2010 04:51 PM #33
Jitty - close
Dont know if you fellow midlands notice but here they say "I brought a TV" Instead of "I Bought a TV" , never got this one , why? Just why?
Also Chewing Gum - Chuddy
-
03-04-2010 05:30 PM #34This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
There's lots for baby talk in Nottm too. 'Bobbars' is sometimes said to young children to take their hands off something.
Best are some of the old expressions. 'So hungry I could eat a 'oss between two bread vans'.
-
03-04-2010 06:29 PM #35This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm finding this stuff from the Midlands very interesting. It seems that whereas further north we're speaking a Germanic version of English, the language of that area seems more Norse. Anybody able to put me straight on that?
-
03-04-2010 07:21 PM #36This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Maybe you're onto something there?
-
03-04-2010 07:34 PM #37This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis is how it feels
-
03-04-2010 07:44 PM #38This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-04-2010 07:47 PM #39
- Gamer IDs
-
-
-
03-04-2010 08:53 PM #41
Slightly off topic but my cousin Patricia was down from Aberdeen one time when we were Kids. We were all sitting at the dinner table when she fell off the seat and bumped her head. The conversation went some thing like this.
Lex's Ma - You awright Hen.
Pat- (To her Ma whilst greetin her eyes oot) Fir why is Auntie Marion cryin me a Hen Ma? Sure I'm nae a Hen.
Like it happened yesterday.
-
03-04-2010 09:01 PM #42This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Calling your son a loon outside of Aberdeen brings some nasty disapproving looks, that's for sureEvery gimmick hungry yob,
-
03-04-2010 09:31 PM #43This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It has been said that English started around the Leicester area as it was on the border between the Danish(viking) area of Britain and the Anglo Saxon half. English was the hybrid language used when trading between the 2 groups.I don't know how true that is though.
-
04-04-2010 09:04 AM #44This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I've always been struck by the way people from Nottingham especially have strong northern traits to their dialect and accent. It's a wee bit like Stranraer in that you get a mix of different influences - there it's partly Strathclyde, with a hint of Cumbrian, and a strong hint of Irish.
-
04-04-2010 09:15 AM #45This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-04-2010 09:36 PM #46
A few years ago there were a number of road accidents on Humberside caused by people going through red lights. The sign said "Halt while lights are red". In the local dialect while means until.
One that gets me is "I was made up". I think it's a Lancashire phrase. Is the speaker invented or simply covered in cosmetics?
-
05-04-2010 04:46 PM #47This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-04-2010 08:43 AM #48This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Ye ano
-
06-04-2010 09:24 AM #49This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
07-04-2010 12:26 PM #50
And although it took me a while to pick up on the little Scottishisms, I must say I like and use a lot of them - "outwith" is a brilliant word and "juice" is a much nicer way to describe "pop".
I still haven't warmed to "who's first" being called when Im waiting in a queue though.
-
07-04-2010 12:28 PM #51
Oooh, another Scottish one:
"just now".
Love it!
-
07-04-2010 12:37 PM #52This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-04-2010 10:22 AM #53
Another one I only hear in Edinburgh is "the next again day" . Fair annoys the weegies that one.
-
08-04-2010 01:47 PM #54
- Blog Entries
Big argument with a guy offshore many moons ago who wanted to know where to get tools from. Sent him to the Toolpusher as he was a driller. Came back even angrier wanting tools to dry himself.
-
08-04-2010 07:56 PM #55This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Us yins say "the now".
-
08-04-2010 08:03 PM #56
Has anyone ever heard Darren Gough on TalkSport? Hopeless.
-
08-04-2010 08:24 PM #57This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Was in a place called normanton right in the middle of Derby, Nottingham, Mansfield. Its like a farmers accent. Think hot fuzz with a yorkshire hint
Really weird how different it all is withing a small(ish) area.
-
08-04-2010 08:32 PM #58
I thought having your tea lifted (i.e. it was ready and being served) was Scottish, but talking about it to other folk, it sounds like it might just be Edinburgh?
My personal favourite is probably 'clapping' a dog or a cat. Those unfamiliar with the expression must wonder what the pet has done to deserve such acclamation......There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
08-04-2010 08:36 PM #59
- Gamer IDs
-
-
08-04-2010 08:45 PM #60This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote