Mash - brewing tea

Mardy - spoilt, childish
    They're Leicester too .Also

Rocks-sweets

Jitty-Alleyway.

Gamertag: lewyhfc
    Jitty - close

Dont know if you fellow midlands notice but here they say "I brought a TV" Instead of "I Bought a TV" , never got this one , why? Just why?

Also Chewing Gum - Chuddy

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibeeleicester View Post
    Jitty - close
    :
    You'll find the word 'jitty' used in D H Lawrence's works, HL. 'Ginnel' is another word for it but I think that's more at home in Yorkshire.

There's lots for baby talk in Nottm too. 'Bobbars' is sometimes said to young children to take their hands off something.

Best are some of the old expressions. 'So hungry I could eat a 'oss between two bread vans'.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibeeleicester View Post
    Jitty - close

Dont know if you fellow midlands notice but here they say "I brought a TV" Instead of "I Bought a TV" , never got this one , why? Just why?

Also Chewing Gum - Chuddy
    In Dublin, when they get in a cab they say "bring me to". For example, "bring me to Temple Bar".

I'm finding this stuff from the Midlands very interesting. It seems that whereas further north we're speaking a Germanic version of English, the language of that area seems more Norse. Anybody able to put me straight on that?

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    It seems that whereas further north we're speaking a Germanic version of English, the language of that area seems more Norse. Anybody able to put me straight on that?
    I'm not sure of the language connections you're thinking of FR but I can tell you that there was plenty of Viking activity in the area I live in just north of Nottingham. Danes are recorded as marching down the main road here in the late 800s' on the way from York to sack Nottingham. There are also a good amount of local place names that are of Norse origin such as Woodthorpe and ****horpe - 'Gunni's steading (home) etc.

Maybe you're onto something there?
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

Quote Originally Posted by thekaratekid View Post
    using "how" instead of "why" seems to confuse non-scots
    Same with shot instead of go
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Same with shot instead of go
    In Nottingham a 'shot' is something you wear underneath your jumper (ganzie)!
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by deano88 View Post
    I never knew that.

My flatmate is from Hull and says "do one" as in 'do you want to do one?' i.e. leave.

I'm not sure if it's an English thing but it's a horrendous phrase.

He also calls rolls 'breadcakes'.
    I would say that was an Americanism. Heard it in loads of movies.

Why do we say a half loaf, when we really mean a whole one.

Slightly off topic but my cousin Patricia was down from Aberdeen one time when we were Kids. We were all sitting at the dinner table when she fell off the seat and bumped her head. The conversation went some thing like this.

Lex's Ma - You awright Hen.

Pat- (To her Ma whilst greetin her eyes oot) Fir why is Auntie Marion cryin me a Hen Ma? Sure I'm nae a Hen.

Like it happened yesterday.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Slightly off topic but my cousin Patricia was down from Aberdeen one time when we were Kids. We were all sitting at the dinner table when she fell off the seat and bumped her head. The conversation went some thing like this.

Lex's Ma - You awright Hen.

Pat- (To her Ma whilst greetin her eyes oot) Fir why is Auntie Marion cryin me a Hen Ma? Sure I'm nae a Hen.

Like it happened yesterday.

Calling your son a loon outside of Aberdeen brings some nasty disapproving looks, that's for sure

First Team Regular Leicester Fan's Avatar

I'm finding this stuff from the Midlands very interesting. It seems that whereas further north we're speaking a Germanic version of English, the language of that area seems more Norse. Anybody able to put me straight on that?
    It's the East Midlands really. We're totally different to the West Midlands/Birmingham.

It has been said that English started around the Leicester area as it was on the border between the Danish(viking) area of Britain and the Anglo Saxon half. English was the hybrid language used when trading between the 2 groups.I don't know how true that is though.

Quote Originally Posted by Leicester Fan View Post
    It's the East Midlands really. We're totally different to the West Midlands/Birmingham.

It has been said that English started around the Leicester area as it was on the border between the Danish(viking) area of Britain and the Anglo Saxon half. English was the hybrid language used when trading between the 2 groups.I don't know how true that is though.
    That's interesting and makes perfect sense to me. As a dialect/language, the East Midlands words are strikingly different from those used a hundred miles, or so, up the road.

I've always been struck by the way people from Nottingham especially have strong northern traits to their dialect and accent. It's a wee bit like Stranraer in that you get a mix of different influences - there it's partly Strathclyde, with a hint of Cumbrian, and a strong hint of Irish.

That's interesting and makes perfect sense to me. As a dialect/language, the East Midlands words are strikingly different from those used a hundred miles, or so, up the road.

I've always been struck by the way people from Nottingham especially have strong northern traits to their dialect and accent. It's a wee bit like Stranraer in that you get a mix of different influences - there it's partly Strathclyde, with a hint of Cumbrian, and a strong hint of Irish.
    It's quite complex really and within a very few miles in this area the dialect can be quite different. The suburb four miles north of Nottingham I live in has a much different sound to the one in the town of Hucknall which is barely four miles West as the crow flies. You tend to find that towns like the latter, with strong former mining communities have a much more 'Northern' sound. A lot of the former coal mining areas of Nottingham are situated to the North and West of the county and some will have had the influence of miners and familes settling there from the North of England and indeed Scotland
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

A few years ago there were a number of road accidents on Humberside caused by people going through red lights. The sign said "Halt while lights are red". In the local dialect while means until.

One that gets me is "I was made up". I think it's a Lancashire phrase. Is the speaker invented or simply covered in cosmetics?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    One that gets me is "I was made up". I think it's a Lancashire phrase. Is the speaker invented or simply covered in cosmetics?
    ... or constructed from parts like a robot. Example: Michael Owen, the most boring speaker in the world.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    ... or constructed from parts like a robot. Example: Michael Owen, the most boring speaker in the world.

Ye ano

Gamertag: ????? PSN ID: Nae ID. Wii Code: 69
    I go mental at all these adverts that are selling "hay kay" products like Pantene, and Silvikrin.
    Shirley Paz is the best hay kay product?

Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    A few years ago there were a number of road accidents on Humberside caused by people going through red lights. The sign said "Halt while lights are red". In the local dialect while means until.

My girlfriend is from deepest, darkest Lancashire and somehow manages to use that when talking about birthdays: "My Dad made up 60 last year". I know someone who is even doing a PhD on the peculiarities of the language/accent in that neck of the woods (Rossendale).

And although it took me a while to pick up on the little Scottishisms, I must say I like and use a lot of them - "outwith" is a brilliant word and "juice" is a much nicer way to describe "pop".

I still haven't warmed to "who's first" being called when Im waiting in a queue though.

Oooh, another Scottish one:

"just now".

Love it!

Quote Originally Posted by Posh Swanny View Post
    My girlfriend is from deepest, darkest Lancashire and somehow manages to use that when talking about birthdays: "My Dad made up 60 last year". I know someone who is even doing a PhD on the peculiarities of the language/accent in that neck of the woods (Rossendale).

And although it took me a while to pick up on the little Scottishisms, I must say I like and use a lot of them - "outwith" is a brilliant word and "juice" is a much nicer way to describe "pop".

I still haven't warmed to "who's first" being called when Im waiting in a queue though.
    One that seems peculiar to Edinburgh, is shop assistants who say "that'll be £5.99 thanks". Surely it should be "£5.99 please"?

Another one I only hear in Edinburgh is "the next again day" . Fair annoys the weegies that one.

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Big argument with a guy offshore many moons ago who wanted to know where to get tools from. Sent him to the Toolpusher as he was a driller. Came back even angrier wanting tools to dry himself.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Posh Swanny View Post
    Oooh, another Scottish one:

"just now".

Love it!
    Now that is posh.

Us yins say "the now".

Has anyone ever heard Darren Gough on TalkSport? Hopeless.

Gamertag: lewyhfc
    Quote Originally Posted by stu in nottingham View Post
    It's quite complex really and within a very few miles in this area the dialect can be quite different. The suburb four miles north of Nottingham I live in has a much different sound to the one in the town of Hucknall which is barely four miles West as the crow flies. You tend to find that towns like the latter, with strong former mining communities have a much more 'Northern' sound. A lot of the former coal mining areas of Nottingham are situated to the North and West of the county and some will have had the influence of miners and familes settling there from the North of England and indeed Scotland

Was in a place called normanton right in the middle of Derby, Nottingham, Mansfield. Its like a farmers accent. Think hot fuzz with a yorkshire hint

Really weird how different it all is withing a small(ish) area.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    I thought having your tea lifted (i.e. it was ready and being served) was Scottish, but talking about it to other folk, it sounds like it might just be Edinburgh?

My personal favourite is probably 'clapping' a dog or a cat. Those unfamiliar with the expression must wonder what the pet has done to deserve such acclamation......
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I thought having your tea lifted (i.e. it was ready and being served) was Scottish, but talking about it to other folk, it sounds like it might just be Edinburgh?

My personal favourite is probably 'clapping' a dog or a cat. Those unfamiliar with the expression must wonder what the pet has done to deserve such acclamation......
    That's a new one on me.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post

I've never heard that