Page 4 of 22 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    Steve Clarke now the bookies favourite.

Right down to 6/4 on Paddy Power, was 20/1.
    Probably more to do with the fact that people are putting money on him.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post

It just shows you how much influence Hibs net can have.

Or maybe there really is more to it than that?

Still a hell of a drop in odds.

I'd be delighted if he was appointed next Hibs manager. Would certainly lift the gloom from the last month or so.

William hill have just slashed odds of 5/1 to 11/10 for micheal o'neil in the last hour as well so don't know if it really means anything

Quote Originally Posted by hibeesjoe View Post
    Either the bookies trawl through forums or theyre in the know but paddy power has Clarke at 11/4 now as the next manager. Some change from 20/1 someone else posted earlier.
    Bookies also adjust their odds on the amounts staked.

People reading this forum and betting on him because there's chat, without substance it would appear, will drive the price down. I suspect that's what's happened but would be great if he was in with a chance.

Opening book is put together by compilers so clarke was seen as a outsider. but Mikey is right in saying it is only after a market has gone live that bets are taken into account which would be the case in this instance. The inside info reason would only see a marginal decress in odds,because this can be unreliable unless they have a wire in rodders office.

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Albion Hibs View Post
    Who plays in the first division? We are a premiership team.
    aye but we wouldn't be if we got relegated would we?

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Puzzle View Post
    Still a hell of a drop in odds.

I'd be delighted if he was appointed next Hibs manager. Would certainly lift the gloom from the last month or so.

He'd be a very welcome breath of fresh air both to Hibs and the SPL.

Victor Chandler had Steve Clarke at 12/1 on Monday now 9/4.

He's also 9/4 with McBookie.
    Last edited by YehButNoBut; 06-10-2010 at 03:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post

He'd be a very welcome breath of fresh air both to Hibs and the SPL.
    common clarky hope to see ya at sansiro next sat

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by essexhibee View Post
    From the off the field problems i have been told about within the squad, Steve Clarke wont touch us with a barge pole. Quite frankly what i have been told about certain players, there needs to be a few contracts cancelled and these numptys sacked.

This new manager whoever it may will have a monumental task installing discipline in this squad.
    By the end of the season he will virtually be able to get rid of anybody he wants without Hibs having to pay a penny.

Only ones contracted to 2013 are Paul Hanlon and David Wotherspoon and they don't cause any hassle.

won't ask for names but what sort of indiscpline are talking. Not on a Craigthompson scale?

If it is as serious as that then why are they not getting arrested? What is still going on that is so bad? Thought most of the rumours related to stokes?

Your point was he has no job so he would take the job i.e. to get an income - my point is that if you have a bundle there is no pressure to take a job - dont you see that?

If you had a load of dosh in the bank and someone offered you a job for £1 to work at a club you know nothing about miles away from home would you take it, when A) you dont need the money and B) you could get £2 working at the bottom of your street?
    You said we couldn't afford him at #38 then you say he doesn't need the money cos he has millions.

What I'm saying is if he has millions then money may well not come into it. He may realise he has to prove himself at a club first.

To use your figures maybe there is nobody at the bottom of his road prepared to pay £2 to get him and he may have to go further afield to get his £1. Once at his £1 club if he cuts it he then might get his £2 club.

To say he knows nothing about Hibs is an insult to the man, he will know plenty about us and Scottish football
    Last edited by scoopyboy; 06-10-2010 at 04:09 PM.

You could argue it is. The problems are very big im afraid.
    The biggest one left in August and the second biggest won't be far behind him.

From the off the field problems i have been told about within the squad, Steve Clarke wont touch us with a barge pole. Quite frankly what i have been told about certain players, there needs to be a few contracts cancelled and these numptys sacked.

This new manager whoever it may will have a monumental task installing discipline in this squad.
    Are we talking about a majority of the squad or just 2 or 3 individuals, not looking for any names. I can certainly think of a couple of likely suspects but find it hard to believe that the problems are with the majority of the players.

Considering he used to work with the likes of John Terry, I'm sure having to knock some numpties heads together won't put him off the job should he want it.

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    The biggest one left in August and the second biggest won't be far behind him.
    Can you elaborate please? Either here or in PM form.

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    I take it the rumours about zemmama frolicking naked with bamba in a field is true then???

I didn't think we where allowed to post about it, but if it's out in the wild then fair play.

Nae wonder zemmama is always injured though, that bamba is monster of a felly

@hibs.net private member MacBean's Avatar

Gamertag: macbean8 PSN ID: paulmchfc
    Quote Originally Posted by Purehibee View Post
    Can you elaborate please? Either here or in PM form.
    Stokes
    Bamba
    Hibernian Football Club

Quote Originally Posted by Whos-the-poster View Post
    Clarke get my vote however surley we need to go for experience in these desperate times

He has a great pedigree as an assitant, but he hasn't done anything as a manager. I think it would be a gamble - there are plenty of highly rated coaches and assistants who have totally flopped as managers in the past.

We MUST go for an experienced manager who has already done AT LEAST a couple of decent jobs elsewhere.

this is what my west ham mate said when i told him we were in for steve clarke.

"oh god,great at chelsea but awful at us.he is so ultra defensive,playing from the back and he killed the west ham spirit of football.if you want boring football well hes your man"

and

"zola was brainwashed by clarke which was zolas downfall,playing defensive at chelsea worked cause the had the best players,big test when he went to west ham and he nearly destroyed us.fear for you if you get him"

West Ham played great football when Zola and Clarke took over. Second year finances killed things.

Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post

This is the stuff we like. The linen delivery man says it's Clarke. I'm off to the bookies!!

Pillow talk

@hibs.net private member BigKev's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by carnoustiehibee View Post
    this is what my west ham mate said when i told him we were in for steve clarke.

"oh god,great at chelsea but awful at us.he is so ultra defensive,playing from the back and he killed the west ham spirit of football.if you want boring football well hes your man"

and

"zola was brainwashed by clarke which was zolas downfall,playing defensive at chelsea worked cause the had the best players,big test when he went to west ham and he nearly destroyed us.fear for you if you get him"
    Without wishing to dicredit your mate - that description sounds like any Italian coach's philosophy over the past 20 years.

If Clarke was so defensively minded he wouldn't have lasted under successive Chelsea managers (Vialli, Gullit, Ranieri and others) - they have their own mindset.

Clarke evidently is someone to trust with players. Managerial material only time will tell but I'd welcome him at ER.

Quote Originally Posted by BigKev View Post
    Without wishing to dicredit your mate - that description sounds like any Italian coach's philosophy over the past 20 years.

If Clarke was so defensively minded he wouldn't have lasted under successive Chelsea managers (Vialli, Gullit, Ranieri and others) - they have their own mindset.

Clarke evidently is someone to trust with players. Managerial material only time will tell but I'd welcome him at ER.
    was he assistant manager under these managers tho? i dono. he goes to most of the games and likes football played the proper way. has been to a few derbys awsell when the nip was bouncing and huns away.

i my opinion id take clarke in a heartbeat as i agree he obviously is well respected with managers and players.

my only problem is if,like collins,the standard he sets and is used to in the prem is far too high for the hibs players to cope with.

Quote Originally Posted by basehibby View Post
    Hibs are hardly a club which Scotsman and ex-SPL-player Steve Clarke knows nothing about - we are a decent sized club - certainly as as big as most championship clubs in prestige and stature if not in turnover - which can clearly open the door to greater things (see Tony Mowbray, Alex McLeish). Hibs also offer the chance to experience european football - something which Steve Clarke would find very difficult to come by as a manager down south - and boast a great youth set up and training facilities only matched by the top sides.
    Steve Clarke obviously has no financial pressure on him to find work but he is ambitious - and Hibs would more than likely represent a good oportunity for him to get on the road to achieving those ambitions.
    No, I dont think so. And on that point I think he could quite easily go to these clubs which is more likely to give him a premiership managerial job.

Yep, His odds have been slashed bigtime because Hibs fans are putting money on him

But to go right down to 6/4 means they know a little more than we do

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    You said we couldn't afford him at #38 then you say he doesn't need the money cos he has millions.

Thats right, I did and I think he does. But I dont think that is relevant. You want paid what you think you are worth. What would you do if your boss said, I know you have money, so this is all I am going to give you?

What I'm saying is if he has millions then money may well not come into it. He may realise he has to prove himself at a club first.

To use your figures maybe there is nobody at the bottom of his road prepared to pay £2 to get him and he may have to go further afield to get his £1. Once at his £1 club if he cuts it he then might get his £2 club.

This guy was the most highly paid assistant in the english premiership, working for one of the top three, to say he could not get a job in the premiership if it came up would be harsh, I would think any championship club would be delighted to have him. So the nobody would have him one does not work for me.

To say he knows nothing about Hibs is an insult to the man, he will know plenty about us and Scottish football

Yes, I am sure he watches that programme on a Friday night every week!
    My view above in bold.

No, I dont think so. And on that point I think he could quite easily go to these clubs which is more likely to give him a premiership managerial job.
    Are you English or just a self loathing Scot?