24 teams, only one winner! Who will it be?
Printable View
24 teams, only one winner! Who will it be?
Can't wait for the action to begin!
Sadly, I think our southern neighbours are going to win it. They've got some excellent young players and one of the best strikers in Europe.
Probably England's best shout in decades tbh.
England or France surely
Telling me I've already voted ... ah huvnae :confused:
Anyway, went for Engerlund. If they cant win it with the crop of players they have now they might as well chuck it and stop entering tournaments. The only fly I can see in their ointment is France.
Having said that. After their games on Sunday Newcastle and Spurs immediately got on a plane to play each other in a money grabbing friendly in Australia. If that's the attitude England could have a team out on it's feet before they kick a ball ... mental.
Scotland. Easy.
It's between France and England.
Think it'll be England this time.
France for me. England have the players but they have a weak manager who is more worried about the opposition in big games than focusing on his own team.
Yep, I think Southgate is England's weakest link. They have more pressure than anyone else to deal with as well (Andy Murray ending the tennis drought syndrome). Having said that, they've got to be in with a shout.
I wouldn't rule Germany out since they're at home and have recently beaten France and Holland, looks like they've turned a bit of a corner.
Anyway, the more interesting question is can we get out the group at last? :dunno:
England look frightening in attack.
If they can put it altogether they are the team to beat imo.
There were a few weird selections in the French squad but they will be close. I think Spain will do well too.
I do think this is likely to be England's time. 🫤
England will bottle it as per.
France will win it.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Germany. They're starting to click, their players all play in 3 of the strongest leagues in the world and they have home advantage.
ENGERLAND! ENGERLAND! ENGERLAND! 🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴 🏴🏴🏴🏴🏴
So that’s me officially put the bogey on them by backing them to win! 😜
SCOTLAND 🏴 to get knocked out in first round using the same logic 😜
As long as Southgate is manager of England, with Pickford and Maguire in the side, they won’t be winning anything.
France for me.
Marcus Rashford Raheem Sterling and Jordan Henderson to be left out of England Euro Squad
SSN
Don’t fancy their Manager Gareth Southgate tbh too negative and cannae take penalties
Only ever going to be Scotland. The place will be a celebrating, drunken wreck until Christmas
If England had a better goalkeeper, better defenders and a better manager they would have a chance.
England 🏴 Winners
Scotland 🏴 Runners Up
😀
I was worried about England winning it. But then I remembered they have Harry Kane, guys never winning a trophy.
In all honesty though, they have to be favourites. Glad they've stuck with Southgate. A good manager and they'd already have won the last Euros.
through gritted teeth... England.
Fancied them in the last 3 tournaments, 2018, 2020(21) and 2022 and they've found a way to not win any of them.
They can't underachieve forever, they have the players to do it.
I think it's a final 4 of England, France, Portugal and maybe Germany.
Looking at their squad today though, England have some issues down the left side. Probably going to have Joe Gomez or Trippier at LB (Shaw unlikely to be fit) and no obvious option at left wing.
Without Rashford and Sterling, the only wide player who wants to run in behind is Saka and he's not got that electric pace. They have a few issues to solve to get the balance right but clearly they've got tonnes of quality.
France have been there and done it, they have a great defence and it's hard to look past Mbappe. They're the team to beat
Anyone not that particularly fussed about the Euro’s or just me? I’ll watch the Scotland games obviously and would be delighted to see us do well but international football just doesn’t float my boat. May watch the England games if I’ve nothing on (to cheer on the opposition😂) but doubt I’ll watch other games until very latter stages.
I’m the complete opposite. I enjoy the odd English game but the only domestic football it truly care about are Hibs games.
World cups and a the Euros are the peak of football for me. 3/4 games a day, top players playing in squads that’s can’t be bought, all shown on tv that anyone can access. That’s before you remember that Scotland are there and actually have a decent chance at getting past the groups.
I’ll be drinking pints in the blazing German sunshine a few weeks from today and I couldn’t be more excited.
I wasn’t all that excited for the winter World Cup 2022 and it ended up being the most I’ve enjoyed a football tournament since the 2016 Scottish cup.
Espana 🇪🇸
Think Italy decent outside bet. England don’t think good enough defensively certainly clearly very good chance given the quality they have. Still a bit vulnerable in one off matches imo.
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7666656]Pickford is consistently one of England's best players. Never lets them down. Maguire sure, but Pickford is a big strength for them.[/QUOTE
Never see why Pickford gets pelters. Been a great keeper for England and Everton. You don't get to hang around as long as he has unless you deserve to.
Germany to win it, after defeating England on penalties in the semis.
Sadly think England might
Host nation will come good at the right time imo.
I'm quite looking forward to it, given I don't watch much EPL or Elite football these days.
Other than the big stars, I won't know most of the players nowadays, a bit like it was 40 years ago when these tournaments came round.
England with a decent manager yes but not with the current one
France should be favourites but got a feeling it will be a bit of an upset like when Denmark won in 92.
Les Bleus
Could be any one of England, France, Germany, Spain.
It's time for this England group to start winning tournaments, they've been coming close the last few times. Could the emergence of Bellingham and Fodden be the difference this time? Maybe.
Southgate needs to be a bit less cautious with his approach, which I'm not convinced he can.
France have the Mbappe factor, unplayable on his day and they know how to win tournaments.
Hosts Germany look like they're coming good at the right time and Spain are a strong side.
If Scotland can get out a really tough group then who know what could happen, I can't wait for it to start.
I think England stand a very good chance, better than I've seen before actually. Can't believe folk think pickford is an issue for them, great keeper
Hopefully they have the red button option on the bbc like at the world cup so you can listen to the far superior radio 5 coverage of games instead of listening to the likes of Jenas and Danny Murphy boring everyone to tears
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
With a couple of big exceptions, France have never really excelled at the Euros. They've got a weakness for believing their own hype too. They've very much got it in them to be out before the semis.
I like Pearce and Matterface. As well as the main job, they both pull in a lot of background stuff about players' lives and drop in carefully crafted social comment about host cities and competing nations. Liam Macleod is good for that too but hopefully I'll be too busy cheering to hear him!
England to make the quarter finals, Italy to win.
Going to be a hard shift for Scotland, but we live in hope.
I voted Scotland
Being delusional helps when you support Hibs and Scotland
Having lived here for 32 years, I hope and want England to win it , I also want Scotland to do well and would love to see them go far. Hard for some folk to understand I know.
I understand Scouse I'm the opposite lived in Angleterre for 36 years and still want the English skelped at everything :greengrin
On a serious note I think this could be England's tournament to lose. Great team to watch tbh. Hoping Scotland manage to do the unthinkable and get through the group phase.
Germany will do well being at home. Hummers, Goretzka and Gnabry can’t even get in to their squad.
England won’t do as well as they should, again.
England Hibs.net favourites? You lot have gone soft, William Wallace will be turning in his grave.
In retaliation ive voted for Scotland.
I’ve been down here 35 years and want England to lose at everything. My mates and English family completely understand.
My pick is Germany. Home advantage will be massive. They will have a point to prove after being crap for the last couple of tournaments, and the fact they will have dropped points in their opening game.
Any team except England. PLEASE.
It's an Andy Murray moment. Who do you want to win? Anyone that is playing England.
England winning it will take away the fear of England ever winning it....
Germany.
Italy and Portugal will be thereabouts. France are still excellent. England will ***** themselves first decent opponent they get, as per.
Scotland will do well to get out the group but I think we might just sneak through.
I actually quite fancy Germany. They’ve got some brilliant players coming through and other less good players have turned decent. Great blend of youth and experience. Keepers are excellent Sclotterbeck and Rudiger are cracking defenders. Kroos and Gundogan in midfield. Havertz has come good and I really like Fulkrug up front. Players like Pavlovic, Wirtz and Musiala coming through. Add the likes of Sane, Muller and Kimmich. I think they’re strong in every area.
England are incredible midfield to front but have real problems in defence. At centre back, Stones has only played 16 league games all season. Maguire’s currently injured. Other players like Guehi, Colwill have also been injured and are just back. Gomez rarely starts for Liverpool, Dunk has been poor second half of the season and Konsa has been playing right back. They’ve real problems at left back as well. They’ve left out Chilwell, Shaw hasn’t played since Feb. They’re going to end up continuing to pretend that Trippier can play there, and he’s just back from injury and has really struggled.
Yeah, again, to an extent. He does the basics well, certainly not let them down, but still quite limited for them. France have a very different dynamic because the centre backs are brilliant on the ball too.
Don't think England will win it, but they could. A back 5 of James, Walker, White, Stones and Shaw would be much better than what they've got. But injuries and White walking away have prevented that.
I can’t remember how he played in the previous ones, but i remember thinking him getting in team of the tournament in Qatar was a very generous call, Otamendi was better and Guardiol was clearly the standout in the position. The french centrebacks were the weak point in their excellent team so i think the competition was weaker than you would normally expect. Hes not ‘world class’.
To be fair I always wanted any of the home nations to do well when I lived in Liverpool. I remember my local pub being decked out in tartan and Scotland flags and the whole pub supporting Scotland as England weren’t there. That’s the difference between being Scouse and being English😀
👍
To be fair, near every English person I know or have met understand (and in most cases enjoy/join in) me always wanting England to get beat at football, in the same way most football rivalries work.
It’s only really Scottish people (often on social media or hibs.net) that don’t even follow the national team that I see trying to create some sort of bizarre issue with it… and of course Huns, in general.
FWIW I generally want wales and the two irelands to get beat too 😁
England hopefully as they have the best fans by far who have a real depth and knowledge of the game and are desperate for success.
The manager is pragmatic and their team is attractive and balanced up to a point as you wonder about the defence. But they have worked very hard on overcoming the lack of mental strength and bottle that has so plagued previous endeveours and undermines their nations confidence on a more general level.
Germany as hosts and France must be close behind and Portugal are a wild card so it should be a great tournament.
Have the Scots started whining about the BBC yet because inevitably they will but every other national broadcaster in the world get jinguistic about their national team so I cant understand the fake outrage when the BBC get right behind "their boys".
Italy to win it cos they know how.
The only thing, for me anyway, preventing England winning it is Southgate.
Biggest question probably is does Scotland have its own TV coverage rather than have to deal with English based one.
Even if he is basic - I always think the role of actually being good at defending is overlooked when it comes to defenders, as folk fawn over stuff like passing ability.
England have done well in recent tournaments, a huge part of which has been built around a robust defence that gives little away.
He’s been part of that.
Obviously he’s become a figure of fun in other quarters but he is deserving of respect for being a consistent contributor towards their excellent defensive efforts and good results.
Portugal will win it.
Struggling to get up for it if I’m being honest, Hibs have scunnered me this season maybe that’s why.