As it says . Who was your favourite all time Hibs player ?
Printable View
As it says . Who was your favourite all time Hibs player ?
Old enough to remember the Tornadoes but still my favorite is Le God....
Tough one. When I was young I remember being absolutely gutted when Kevin Harper left. We've had some decent players since. Latapy a contender for me but I've got to go for SJM.
My favourite all time player happened to play for Hibs...George Best.
Favourite "proper Hibby" Eric Stevenson.
David Murphy was one classy *******, and a good guy too.
Michael O'Neill
Pat Stanton for me, closely followed by Cropley and Brownlie
Lewis Stevenson. He just personifies Hibs. Scottish and League cup winner. Plays like a fan. Incredibly under rated player outside Hibs. Cool as ****. Modest as well.
Le God for me, different class. Even named our pup Franck after him.
Super John
Franck Sauzee every time
Patrick Gordon Stanton
My avatar gives it away
Class in a glass
“ Better than Bobby Moore”
Tommy Docherty
:not worth
Pat Stanton (Mr Hibs)
Latapy for me
Absolute genius must have been about 13 at the time he signed and first real quality player who was just a cut above the rest at the time
Still amazes me we had him and sauzee in the same team
Grew up with Pat Stanton being the man.
Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk
Pat Stanton, no ifs no buts. ….I was fascinated at first by the way he ran …he seemed to glide about the park.
Ma maw used to say he was hen toed …and that that was a sign of a great footballer.
There can be only one …..
Sir David Gray for that day in May. Nobody will ever come remotely close, possibly the most significant contribution (on the pitch) in the clubs history with that goal.
Lewis Stevenson in second.
David Gray.
John McGinn.
He was the embodiment of our spirit that led to the 2016 Scottish Cup. He was a big game player, a huge personality, hugely talented from Day 1, and left us in raptures in Tripolis/treated us with a lot of respect when moving to Villa. Since then, he tore up the Championship, is strolling it in the Premier League and has been class for Scotland.
Franck Sauzee by a country mile!
Was Pat Stanton for about 50 years but now Super John McGinn.
Growing up it was always The King, hurt like hell when he moved to that shower in the west.
It has to be SJM for me, a very special player and a wonderful human being.
Ally McLeod
Darren jackson for me, loved him as a laddie growing up, thats not to say he is the best player ive seen but definitely my favourite
It’s a really difficult one. When we moved through to Edinburgh in the late 70’s, my favourite player was Jackie McNamara, as he was magic
I’ll probably have one for each era though
There has been better players over the years but its Alex Cropley for me. Michael o'Neill ran him a close second.
Pat Stanton for me, with super John McGinn running him close.
One of the few advantages of being an auld yin is you have so many favourites over the years to choose from, in my case from Gordon Smith to Martin Boyle.
My favourite among many contenders is Mr Hibs - Pat Stanton.
Pat Stanton for me - an extremely gifted footballer, Mr Hibs through-and-through and the perfect ambassador for our club.
Pat Stanton, closely followed by Erich Schaedler.
John Collins, closely followed by SJM & SDG.
Wee shout for mickey Edwards
My Avater says it all grew up idolising The Baker boy
When I first watched Hibs Jackie McNamara was my favourite player. I agree that there tends to be one for each era and currently it is Lewis Stevenson by a country mile for me. I suppose what constitutes favourite is different for each of us but I would tend to choose players who always gave 100%, never bottle a challenge and are annoyed when they make a mistake and work to rectify it. They would also need to have been at the club for a while and show some loyalty. SJM would come a close second in this era
Franck Sauzee
When we went down he inspired And gave teammates and club a massive lift some of the football was brilliant when we came back up
Close call between him and Latapy
Pat Stanton, the pro’s pro.
Got to be Lewis Stevenson really. Only player that's still at the club since I first became a supporter.
John McGinn. Fantactic player and loved his attitude. Maybe controversial but Scott Brown in his last season for us was just majestic.
Lewis Stevenson with John McGinn a close second.
Sauzee followed by Ally McLeod
John McGinn quite easily and I see 40 plus games a season from the 68/69 season. The reason not Pat Stanton was I always felt that the team then on the majority of times going to play Celtic at Parkhead or Hampden got hammered too many times and when we went behind in these games the captain should be uplifting the rest of the team. Pat just was'nt a shouter at the rest of the players.
Jimmy O'Rourke, all action goal scoring inside forward/midfielder.
I have 2 or 3 that I flit between, but today I'll say John Collins. What a midfielder.
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
Sir David aside...
Keith.
Mickey Weir and Keith Wright in my younger days.
Darren McGregor for modern times. Exactly what I want from a Hibs player.
Nijinsky.
Others in different eras, but the first hero.
Derek Riordan or Merouane Zemmama for me. But if Boyle can be as good in the next few years as he was in the 2/3 years before he went to Saudi that might become my new answer.
Derek Riordan.
Only got from mid 90s onwards to select from
Le God
Latapy
SJM
Riordan
Special place at top table for SDG and Darren Mcgregor. Both came in at our lowest point and typified that team from 2014-2019. Absolute warriors
Amadou.
Whatever the problem on the pitch, the big man could sort it.
In fact, Brexit, coronavirus and all the misery the last 15 years has brought us would probably never have happened if he'd have stayed in the country.
John Collins,Stevie Archibald, Franck, wee russell,Deeks, the list is endless
Riordan
Erich & Jackie Mac.
Sjm.
Alex Edwards was sublime.
Derek Riordan
Honourable mentions for Lewis Stevenson and Anthony Stokes
It was big John McNamee until he got transferred then Pat Stanton liked Russel Latapy as well
Shades for me
Cropley but mention for Darren Jackson
Without him we would have been relegated in the Airdrie play off
Lex Gold sold him and we were relegated the season he left
I genuinely don’t think I could pick a favourite from the team from the 07 League Cup winning side - my favourite team ever. . Regret that O’Connor and Riordan weren’t amongst them, but otherwise I didn’t dislike a single player.
Favourite Hibs player - Ivan Sproule
Favourite ever - Kenny Dalglish
Dalglish in a Hibs strip at Alan Sneddon’s testimonial v Aston Villa was unforgettable. Ran the game and fed Keith Wright who bagged all four goals in a 4-2 win.
Latapy.
Derek Riordan growing up.
Franck Sauzee for me. Although David Gray gets a very honourable mention!
Sauzee
Gordon Smith
Joe Baker (who I saw at his best outwith Hibs)
Peter Cormack
Alex Cropley
I only started going to games in the 90s, when I'd have said McGinlay.
Of the current squad, it would be Stevenson.
But of all players I've seen for Hibs, it can only be the sublime Latapy.
Sir David. With honourable mentions for Shades, Geebsie and Le God.
Super John McGinn followed by Super Ally McLeod.
Honourable mentions to Jackie Mac, Ralphie, John Collins, Mickley Weir, Keith Keith Keith, Pat McGinlay, Riordan, Sauzee, Latapy, Sir David, Lewis, Steve Archibald
Pat McGinlay
John McGinn but David Murphy a very close second
Derek Riordan. But i loved David Zitelli as well.
Franck Sauzee
John O’Neil
and for some reason Willie Miller from my youth.
I'm old enough to have watched the Tornadoes.
Anthony Stokes for me.